James Ibori pleads guilty to fraud & money laundering charges | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 27 February 2012

James Ibori pleads guilty to fraud & money laundering charges

Former Governor of Delta State, James Ibori, today pleaded guilty to 10 counts of money laundering, fraud, conspiracy to defraud, and other offenses in a London court. He pleaded guilty to stealing over $250 million in public funds.
Britain's Department for International Development said today that Ibori “systematically stole funds” during his two terms as governor and deposited the money in bank accounts around the world. It says the money he stole was equal to $60 for every person in Delta state, and that the money could have provided education or clean water for more than 400,000 poor Nigerians. And they've promised that the money stolen by Ibori will be returned to Nigeria's poorest people.

With this plea, Ibori faces up to 10 years in a UK prison at his sentencing, which will happen after the trial ends. Goodluck and Goodbye!

63 comments:

For every action, there is a consequence. Dats the consequence of his action and I am glad he wasn't tried in Nigeria...All u corrupt politicians, if u don't repent, ur time shall come

How are the mighty fallen, others should take note,it can happen to anybody.

Ex Governors are not smiling!!

OLORIBURUKU! NA THERE YOU GO DIE INSHA ALLAHU! LOL!!!!!!!! THIS GUY IS WICKED SHA,FOR REAL....

Sometimes I wonder, must you steal? This guy has wealth that can last two of his coming generations, why then steal? Money is of this world, if you die - which one day you will - that's the end, the people you stole for will enjoy why you are there accounting for every penny you stole before Allah... This mentality of getting shares of 'national cake' is disgusting, not only are you denying the people of their rights, in one way you are also contributing to the violence currently being experienced! A lesson to others wishing to steal from public funds

He still looks fresh. London prison life is good oh. He still lives better than a lot of nigerians even though he is in detention. Smh

OMG!!!Ibori stole N40,000,000,000!!!Ah,criminal ti ko ni rival!Prison lo ma kusi!You wrecked my state to d tune of N40billion!!!And some idiots will still be calling him "our son"!God punish all of una together

And then they will now recover d monies stolen and return it to Delta and then d governor(who is Ibori's first cousin) will receive it "on behalf of we deltans" and still give d money back to Ibori!!! The sad reality of the country we live in

Thank you, Britain! See the ugly face of a thief. I wish more Nigerian politicians will suffer such a humiliating fate. What's so annoying is that some people from Ibori's state are singing his praises! People in that region are that naive and stupid. Ibori, Obasanjo, Alaafin of Oyo, Akala, Atiku etc deserve firing squad for what they have done to Nigeria.

FrenchKissMyButt said...

chei!
dis one na public disgrace

ashi said...

correct! hope the money would be distribute to those they claim it would be distributed to.
one day for the thief, another day for the owner

Adeola Agunbiade said...

About time, pity people don't learn , know his ilks who have been bleedingly stealing would continue hoping they won't drink the same cup, don't pretend to completely know God ways cos he is infinite but I have notice the pattern where he just doesn't allow those with full cups a good jolly ride home.

It would serve the cause of justice more if all that he's ever owned is traced( all the hidden accounts and assests) and confiscated plus the imprisonment term.

To think he had intentions of becoming president after Yar' adua, God gives long ropes but he definitely knows when to put a stop. In btwn @ boko haram and sponsors your days of reckoning are coming keep pulling those ropes....until you have no more to pull. I trust my father...

Ibo men again.
---Gbenga

Str8FrmDaHips said...

This is what all those evil 9ja Politicians should look like....if we lived in a fair society..bloody blood thirsty criminals but it would be their turn one day..nothing lasts forever!!

Ahhhhhh ! OLEEE!!!!
Thief Thief Thief!

Goodbye bitch! You are really the scapegoat. I wish the other thieves will be tried outside of Nigeria where justice will be served.

kcee said...

Please show our country Nigeria how to deal with these corrupt politicians. Enough is enough.

it would've been benefitting if it was najia prison but since na uk, it means no beans but tea and english muffins!I hope this development will touch other corrupt politicians and judges here to change! well, if they don't, they'll soon meet their waterloo someday! ibori pleads, guilty! if na najia, he for plead innocent!

Momen said...

....From Grace 2 Grass!!!

Well he's getting what he deserves because he thinks he's invisible hiring hit men to kill a good number of his political opponents.

Nonny said...

The painful thing here is that British legal system is different from that of the United States. If he gets 10 years he might end up serving only between 2-5 years, before you know it he is back to Nigeria. If it is in America he would serve the whole 10 years. Wish they could catch all the other thieves who pose as politicians in Nigeria and deal with them accordingly!

Tis is someone's father,going to prison because of greed,who would marry his daughter now, how would his son get a job, always think of the future before commiting some acts. Really good-luck and goodbye

olivia said...

Why Uk, they shud bring him back home to suffer like other common criminals like him

Foolish, Dull and Greedy Niger-Delta People.

Good and main thing is, he's facing his consequences and the money is going to be returned. The next question is, hope the authorities in Nigeria won't embezzle the returned money when it has been returned

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ueBCWaWNcY

how this common thief was allowed to leave nigeria in the first place is a bit baffling to say the least

hmnnn, i pity the guy ending up in jail, if he had know the table could turned, he would ve make his people proud like fashola. my appeal to uk pls start a foundation in delta to better the citizen life, the money should not go back to the government, even the devil didn,t trust them

I applaud the British government for having the balls to do what the Nigerian government has been unable (or unwilling) to do: prosecute politicians that steal public money and launder them. The British government has shown that there is a way for foreign goverments to address Nigerian corruption at its highest level without going through a Nigerian court. I hope Ibori serves the full sentence and that the money that is recovered is used for the benefit of the masses and not stolen again by another politician.

THE STUPID GBENGA AT 9.57 YOU ARE A TOTAL DUMB FOR REFERING TO IBORI AS AN IBO MAN. IS BANKOLE FROM ABA? HOW MANY OF YOUR BROTHERS ARE ROTTING IN BRITISH JAIL? FOOL NEXT TIME LEARN HOW TO REASON B4 YOU COMMENT ANUOFIA

ONOME says......................
leave gbenga alone.he's inconsequential.how do u allow a faceless self seeking two-bit nicompoop to rile u up like this?#isigh#
All corrupt leaders must be punished severely

i feel so good, some how God shows Himself when pple r doubting HIS presence. I hope the oda political thieves know God will locate them as well!!!

It's not such a bad mug- shot. Hw the mighty thieves keep falling.

ALL U HYPOCRITES CRITICISING IBORI SHLD PLS SHUT THEIR MOUTHS,IBORI WAS NOT THE ONLY GOV.DAT CHOPPED MONEY,WHY DIDNT DEY ARREST THE OTHER GOVS DURING THEIR TENURE COS DEY STOLE MONEY TOO...HE WASNT OBJ'S FAVOURITE HENCE HIS DILEMMA...MY HEART REALLY GOES OUT TO HIM COS HE WAS A VERY GENEROUS MAN TO A LOT OF PPLE,I JUST HOPE DEY ARE STILL THERE FOR DIS MAN...IT IS WELL!!!!!!!

If only they can nail Lucky Igbinedion too. That was one thieving governor who plundered the resources in his state too.

Mama somtee said...

Ode ni eh gbenga !!!!!!!!! Is delta state. Part of the southEast ? You just have it in for the igbos abi , the babe that broke your sorry heart must have been from igbo land . But your lack of information about delta state is very embarrassing oooh.

LPS said...

I freaking love the MetPolice! I freaking love the UK too. hahahaha

http://personalstuvs.blogspot.com

My thought s exactly! Work done= 0. They should ve the patience to complete the good work by ensuring the money is used for visible infrastructural development. They shouldn't allow the government to be involved in anyway ceterall what stopped them from going after him themselves in the first place? Useless people

From grace to grass. This life sha get as e bi. ka sa me se dada.

wini syno is speaking said...

what a pity. This is a very good lesson for all his partners in crime that have dominated Nigerian system. Linda shikenah, shikenah, shikenah o(2 times)10/10 ur levels don change now

what a shamful thing all because he could not keep his hands off the cokey jar. his children would now have to leave with the shame of a mother a thief, a father a thief, their aunty a thief even his mistress a thief what a shame. this should teach others a lesson.

Ode! Can't believe you even displayed your name with such on such an ignorant comment.pls in back to your history/current affairs books preferably that recommended for primary school students. Ibo ko hausa ni.

oby said...

that a citizen of naija can still refer to delta,edo and even cross river as ibo speaking states is really laughable oooo,gbenga...im blushing on ur behalf,u r a disgrace to d nite school u attended...chei!!

Ali Baba and the 40 thieves.

yeyyeye dey smell. is ibori not one of men dele momodu praised in ovation for being a good governor.
more reason i will neva vote for dele momodu too. cos apparently, almost everybody he praised in his mag, have been declared a thief.

Why is he in an english jail?wouldnt he be in a nigerian jail?Can you imagine an english money launderer in a nigerian prison cell?

Uniport admission list said...

Why don't they bring him to Nigeria pRISON? That place prison is like Nigeria normal living. Bring him to kirikiri prison. Please?

Ucweb latest cheat said...

No matter what you do? When the karma catch up with you erh?

Etisalat subscription codes said...

All i have to say is.
From
grace
to
grass.
Good mr governor.

@ Anon 9.46, there are people who would consider Hitler a 'generous' man. Does that change the fact that he was a monster? No! Ibori is a common CRIMINAL! Had a criminal record in the UK since the early 90's but falsified documents to win elections here.

I dont care if he's feeding your family. He is what he is - OLE BURUKU!

I dont care if he sent your kids to school- He still remains a common BARAWO BANZA.

You can build a shrine in his honour and teach your kids to idolize him as their role model. Someone steals a bottle of coke and is jailed indefinitely, this man robbed his state blind! Over N40b and you say he was a generous man! Did he not emerge from Abacha's generosity? Lets give Abacha a plaque as well, right? Was ibori not generous to the countless number of girls he had orgies with while the people in his state languished in poofaty?

I REPEAT, HE IS A THIEF AND THE AMOUNT HE GAVE YOU TO SING HIS PRAISES WILL NEVER CHANGE THAT TILL ETERNITY.

Can't imagine how someone can come here and talk about generosity. The fool pleaded GUILTY, DAMMIT!!!

Ekus said...

My own be say it is simply God dat is at wk.

Why bring obasanjo into this mix. He helped expose Ibori in d first place or are you just exposing ur own stark ignorance and sub standard level of creative thinking. He had his problems but ur words against are Ill conceived and fatuous. This also applies to d other folks u mentioned. For me this exposes our weak judiciary and calls for a long term and evolving reform in that sector

Uche said...

Has it occurred to you that this may not be his real name and he may not be Yoruba?

Not everyone thinks like you. This shows you come from a restrictive and possibly backward background- no offence

Gosh, if he comes back he would spend his jail term from hospital to another. Check all the others

Stupid comment

Gbenga may not be Yoruba and this may not be his real name. Sharpen up bro

Think before commenting. Gbenga may not be Yoruba and this may not be his real name. He is as my guy said above inconsequential. Silence is the best answer to fools. Responding to this guy just reveals your insecurities and vulnerability- no offence

Omg ur reply to that comment is soo irrelevant !! If anything he/she is from a conservative background and has high intelligence! Ur d one chatting shiit! And ur 'no offence' ahaha please drink acid ode nie !

itsekiri's finest said...

i dey laff oh! Ibori was just as greedy as many many many more governors and politicians walking freely in Nigeria, US, UK and elsewhere... He just wronged the wrong guys eg. OBJ!
There were many beneficiaries indeed of Ibori's loot, including some present-day lagos gbo gbo bigz gurls... I shant name names *wink wink*

Took the word right out of my mouth.

chief, sorry the tailor sowing the ashebi we wan wear come messed up, he couldn't deliver. we for show that London Judge say khaki no bi leather. but why your face come be like the face of a thief naw???. chief u fall my hand ooh!!! Anyway enjoy your stay in prison and bye forever!!!

Femillionaire said...

Ibori now claims he never pleaded guilty to corruption but only to money laundering and it was in order to save Nigeria from embarrassment.. You go fear fear..http://www.vanguardngr.com/2012/03/i-didnt-plead-guilty-to-corruption-charges-ibori/