Titi Arowolo's murder: killer husband once chased her with a knife | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 21 March 2012

Titi Arowolo's murder: killer husband once chased her with a knife

During her testimony yesterday March 20th, Adetoun Oyakhire, Late Titi Arolowo's stepmum, told a Lago High Ccourt that Titi's alleged killer, her own husband, Akolade Arowolo, once chased Titi out of their home with a knife. She said:
Shortly after their wedding, there was a quarrel between them and Akolade pursued her out of the house with a knife. Titilayo was still breast-feeding at the time and her daughter was just three months old. Akolade snatched the baby and took her to his parents’ house at Ejigbo. Titilayo ran to our house that day and told us everything. Titi also told us on another occasion that Akolade had threatened to throw her off the penthouse and her dad told her to report the case to a police station but she never did.
She told her father that she was tired of the marriage and was going to file for a divorce. She stayed with us and when her father was leaving for Kano, he told her not to go back to her husband’s house. But Akolade came back saying he was a changed man and the deceased eventually moved back to his house in April (2011).
By June 2011, Titi was alleged killed by her husband in their home. Her corpse was found on the bed; one of her eyes was gouged out and the upper part of her left breast had an opening. There was a broken knife in her neck and a substance that looked like a body part was on the bed.

71 comments:

When Darwin said that humans came from apes, you now see why he said such. Just look at the monkey looking thing that behaved like a wild animal. kmt. And as for her, why did she remain with such a person?

She stayed cos of d african mentality of 'I must be Mrs'. May God rest her soul sha. *sigh*

Admin said...

Hum! Linda-Linda, you brought this back to memory. That guy needs...Can anyone please help me with words I can use to qualify him?
You have a good, working class wife, instead of you to thank God for making her your saviour, because your are jobless, you now killed her. Her Ghost will be bringing you food now, and you must eat O!...

Bostonian said...

@Bamidele, well said #gbam

Myne said...

Huge sigh. Hope justice is served.

BTW, Linda I sent you an email. Thanks!

ci as em ugly lyk monkey***may her soul rest in peace........

the amazing and annoying part of the story is that the guy na born again xtian...this na y me i dey fear for all the yeye born again brothers... i will rather deal with a player than someone that uses God to cover up his inadequacy to be a man...he was apparently jealous cos the gal had a job and he was a broke ass nigga.. if a guy slaps u by mistake pack ur bags and go cos he go do am again..goes the saying once a cheat/wife beater always a cheat/wife beater.. i pray her soul rest in peace and young ladies out there learn from this

After hearin this, some women are still being abused by their husbands and they are silent about it. My advise is for them to walk out of such marriage/relationship...abo oro lan so fomoluwabi...

Dis case stil dy court waoooo linda u are doing a grt job pls keep it up we most see d end of dis,I really pity d lady so much

Now everyone calls him a wicked man. why didnt you tell her to pack out? the MRS factor. pls let this be a lesson to all of us. Marriage is not by force.

it's simple, the guy was mentally deranged. He was definitely possessed and must have been manifesting this but the wife and his family ignored the signs. Anyone that can comfortable take a life (not even by accident), but by choice and even to the point of cutting the body parts don kolo pata pata...Adaeze O.

BLOGLORD said...

U Kinda right @ ANONYMOUS 7:20pm

so many women in marriages that r not working find it difficult to pull out based on the mentality of "what will people say?"
i am not in support of divorce but when domestic violence is major in a marriage, then i think its better to leave that lifeless marriage alive than dead. MAY HER SOUL RIP.

I no bliv say dis marriage tin na 4beta 4worse! My fellow ladies, mak una find una way wen u notice say ur life don dey unda threat!

NKECHI said...

@Anon 11:20, do you really blame Titi When we live in a society where marriage is seen as do-it-or-you-are-a-falure? A society where you have no respect as a single lady. Peharps Titi wanted to avoid being seen as irresponsible woman who could not make her marriage work, she probably loved her husband that she wanted to be with him believing that every dispute or misunderstanding will be settled. I believe she never imagined that she will be killed by the same man that said 'I do' to her on that special day. Rest in peace dear Titi, We can only speculate, but God whom you have gone to be with knows your story.

Schitzophrenia!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Aaaawwww this is one sad issue that is still very fresh in my memory Ladies please do not marry just any man just becos u want to add R to your MS.....still so so painful that more women will still die all in the name of African mentality God help us

Olori said...

This is just demonic, I just hate dis story, dis guy shud be killed already.

Was so obvious Dude had major mental issues.major .psychotic..she was very lucky to have gotten away and then went back..they can never change..unless after years of therapy..and medication..my advice to women..get out B4 u get killed..

Royal Attah said...

Please let us show forgiveness...dis man has misbehave already, it's the handiwork of the devil. Please, abeg...ejo nitori jèsu

Speechless.....rituals on his mind his just an......*lip sealed*

There are so many women in Lagos who are emotionally and physically abused by their husbands and they stay with them to avoid the "shame" of a divorce or separation. The choice to stay or go is always for the woman, a choice should always consider without bowing to pressures from family and friends. Life is more important than being "Mrs Blah" especially where there are young children to consider. It is such a tough decision but stories like this remind us of why this decision should be made sooner than later. May she continue to rest in peace and may the monster that killed her be held accountable for what he did.

Akolade doesn't deserve to live. He is heartless, with a wife that was the bread winner, and showed his appreciation by killing her.

marriage we that are in want 2 leave those that are singles want 2 enter. patient & endurance is all i can recomend GOD HELP US

Lmao u re nt crious oooo. Bt criously d guy is rili a monkey. Yinka

If this happened in the US...he will be raped till he bleeds to death or since he loves knives so much, he will be knifed as well.

My good Lord! What kind of man is this! God help us with all this animal men in d world! May d man never no peace in his whole life...... Linda I hope he has been arrested o! He will die a very painful death.

GlamNotchApparels said...

i cnt believe this case is still being debated upon. what other evidence do they need to prove that this wicked man actually killed his wife? I hope justice is served.

I am, the no Sender.

Sad, Sad, Sad.

Imagine how society contributed in killing this woman? If she had left,society would have labelled her,I'm sure some people would have even advised her to stay cos of her child and bear cos no marraige is rosy.many people are in similar situations especially in Africa cos women are supposed to endure in their husbands houses na wah may her soul rest in peace-Palo

I think there should be a re union btw them, let d husband go and meet his wife whereva he sent her. Simple.

jescci said...

Just speechless.

Chaunncy said...

It shall be well

umm said...

I am sooo saddened by this. Young deaths are extremely hard to handle talk less of if it was brutal. Reminds me of Susan Peters. Such young women full of life and their young lives taken from them...so sad

JUSTIC MUST BE DONE!

D1- dezire said...

a woman should neva tolerate domestic violence in the name of luv or delude herself that she is puttin up with physical abuse for the sake of her children. ladies run for ur life,if he hit u once,he will do it again.

I hope this story opens the eyes of pastors and people in Pentecostal churches to what is going on in the church of today. Most ladies stay on in abusive relationships because of ‘… what people will say.’ You will not be seen to be a ‘good Christian’ and the lady will always be seen to be the guilty person. I have passed through exactly the same experience that Titi had. When I decided to save my life by leaving, I was blamed and disrespected but I’m glad I made that decision. Anytime I look back, I still thank God that I decided to leave as my case would have been worse than Titi’s story.

He looks demonised. See im eye?
Instead of going to look for job, he probably went to native doctor to find out the easy way to make money and who is hindering his progress.
They told him that his wife was the source of his problems, that if he gets rid of her, he will become rich. And he carried it out himself as he did not have the money to hire a "professinal".(sorry for the term) That is why the method used was so crude.
Im eye no clear before but im eye don clear now that they catch am.
He must pay o!!!!!

Yeye man!!! Violent beast!!!! Wife beater!!!
No-self-control animal in human skin!!
Don't be surprised he is feeling sorry for himself!!!
May God avenge Titi!!!

Why did she go back???
The man just executed typical "abuser" behavior by coming to beg and promise he had changed. Change na for mouth?
It takes time to change and the "abuser" must chanage first on his own, with spiritual, professinal mental and behavioral help, before being allowed back with the "abused".
Soo sad.
She fell for the usual "abuser" sweet talk to come back.

Ofilispeaks.com said...

A crazy thing called marriage!

kenneth said...

I believe the step mum is not motherly.She shouldnt come here to talk rubbish.IF she were ur daughter would you have allowed her to go to that kind of maariage

good said...

This is the problem with Nigerians they'd rather be beating up daily than be divorced but my dear that is not it. My mum left her husband 6 years into the marriage with two kids and till today the man has not seen us. She is brave and when you tell others what to do to save their necks they refuse. See what has happened.
I always say better be alive and single than married and dead
She should have left him fall for smone else make his babies and choose to stay single.

Aaneetar said...

Am rily fed wit women trying 2manage deir marriage o.he needs 2die d way he murdered his wife dats wat he need.dis akolade is a beast

Alaran Wonder said...

Deciet and animalistic attitude are very glaring in that 'husband' eyes. Only a pity the innocent lady could not see or interprete it. To her - RIP, and the gorilla in human skin - sorry justice must be done.

Desperate to answer MRS and she ended up wit a BEAST who sent her to early Grave. RIP **sad face**

Na wa o. How can u live and sleep with someone who chased you with a knife. I just don't get Nigerian woman and this marriage issue. Recently in my area, a man beat his pregnant wife to death bcoz she refused to make eba for him.
I just don't get it.
O God Almighty, I cast and bind such men from my life. They will never see me IJMN. Amen.

babeontop said...

Una don dey talk now...if to say she leave am, na the same una go judge her with bible backings...Naija, I fear una!

i wish d family can just say d truth n lets handle it as it is. d guy wasnt jobless at anytime, was never violent, christian leader whose facebook page i love to read daily bcos of bibilical exposition, well read with 2 masters degree, a minister in church but we never met his wife bcos she doesnt come to church n many more i can say bcos i know him but cant comprehend wat must ve gone wrong on dat day. Devil u're wicked u saw dis beautiful destiny n choose to destroy, may God win atlast.

seun said...

i wish d family can just say d truth n lets handle it as it is. d guy wasnt jobless at anytime, was never violent, christian leader whose facebook page i love to read daily bcos of bibilical exposition, well read with 2 masters degree, a minister in church but we never met his wife bcos she doesnt come to church n many more i can say bcos i know him but cant comprehend wat must ve gone wrong on dat day. Devil u're wicked u saw dis beautiful destiny n choose to destroy, may God win atlast.

"Substance that looked like body part" wats dat supposed to mean? Rest in perfect peace Titi.

Continue to rest in peace Titi!

www.facebook.com/BelmondsFashionstore

amanda said...

o m g sad story...may GoD punish this man for wot he did...

kinky babe said...

if he's not guilty den y did he 3ry 2 commit suicide?justice must prevail ooo.pls i wannt 2 advice mi fellow married women we shouldn't provoke our husbands most especially d hot tempersd ones cos provoking dem leads 2 something like dis most especially if d man does not love u ,and d single ladies 2 shine ur eyes ooo b4 u enter into marriage,wedding is a day bt marriage is 4 lyfe wen u enter no going out let,s be warned

Hira Data said...

I have no idea how some people think or if they do at all, really. How does the head just snap and get so evil! If she saw signs she shouldn't have gone into the marriage in the first place, but if she didn't, from the moment he carried knife, that should be it oh. Some situations don't call for second chances abeg. May she rest in peace. Imagine the nature of the murder sef, eyes out,breast torn? This guy has serious serial killer traits.

women!!! we always think it will get better,that's why i'll continue to fly the flag of violence against women must stop.she(the wife)will think it will never come to that.but we all know that a leopard can never change it's spot.me i pity the baby sha,with mother gone and left with the agony of a beastly father.i sincerely hope senate will go tough on domestic violence,whether child,gender or other wise.as the guy,there's no hiding place,if men can't get you,God will get you.

Like someone once said don't wait for him to slap your face before you take to your heels. The first time he even dares push your head a little bit carry your load and RUN.This guy will rot in jail and rot in HELL and to think the fool was a pastor in RCCG Gbgada, rubbish na dem dey first reach camp siddon for front. STUPID MO FO.

the white enchantress said...

hmmmmm...sad

Married with 50 children or not, I will draw d line where he chased her with a knife with the intent to kill her. God forbid bad thing o! Wen she had d chance, she shuld hav stayed away from him. How can u go back to a man whether husband or not, who beats u like an animal n worse chases u with a knife to kill u?

Unavailable said...

Apinke says;

did i hear sum1 sey susan peters??? Mydear,am sure its a mistake;its susan yusuf. I knw dat susan p.has rily vexed u guys bt pls let go,ok?

Wat story wil they tell the child wen she/he is grown? Your father killed ur mother and he was killed in jail.poor baby
-beembolar

Mariaah said...

Schitzophrenia!!!!!!!!!!!!!
March 21, 2012 8:22 PM

You echoed my thoughts from the first day I saw the story. This is how mental illness starts, he probably can't even remember what happened. Given the circumstance a young man with a beautiful working class wife (RIP Titi) cannot just wake up one day and kill his wife insert** butcher!!?.. The earlier his family gets him a good lawyer to get him out of prison (no offence to late Titi and her family) the better and they should seek help fast!! Because he tried to kill himself, he may kill a fellow inmate and kill himself one day..

My thoughts oo Pls don't chew me with ur keyboards.. THks..

God pls deliver us 4rm evil...Candid advice 2 african women covering 4 dere husbands dat are busy abusing dem becos of shame of marriage failure or divorce, Use ur HEAD nd HEART so help u God. May her soul rest in Peace...

Concerned Nigerian Woman said...

Where are all the female lawyers and law makers in Nigeria??????? why havent they done NOTHING to bring about laws to protect women and children in Nigeria? Im Nigerian and im scared to marry and live in Nigeria, if anything goes wrong who will protect Me? They are quick to jail gay people but muderers, child molesters & wife beaters are allowed to walk free. SMH. The only reason why we are hearing abt this is because she died. How many nigerian womenare suffering things like this in silence? We keep praying for a better Nigeria but no one is willing to stand up for all these defencless women. Even if she had reported him to the police what would they have done?? Told her it was a family matter abi??

Linda, this should be the last time you put a pic of that UGLY IDIOT. Even the way he pose in that picture says a lot. I hope he suffer until he dies.

@ ummm...its suzie Q that died not susan peters...una don to use susan peters cath trips for ds blog,if I was her,I would hang myself...lwkmd

Abeg na SuSsıe Q no b susan peters...hmmn no wake round 3 up Ooo!
...Gbengas sıster!

Exactly storıes from people close to thıs famıly deffer from what the wıfe's famıly spıll to the medıa week ın week out!
The parents are obvıously very bıtter(understandably) but they should let truth prevaıl and stop all thıs medıa frenzy!
The matter ıs ın court,the system ıs corrupt,the court of publıc opınıon has declared hım guılty wıthout the other sıde of the story,ı would have too cos we are only human..God help us may we all never see thıs type of thıng.step mom leave the court to do thıer job!

Adele said...

Err, Anons, March 22, 7.24pm and March 22, 8.35am, a young lady is dead. Brutally and gruesomely murdered! Regardless of whether the husband was a saint and she was a confirmed adulterer and jezebel, it does NOT warrant her death in such a barbaric manner. If he could not stand the marriage he should have just left the marriage as a "good christian" so that he won't be tempted isn't it? All evidence points to the fact that he killed her. Provocation or not, he killed her and the testimony of most of her work colleagues is that went o work several times, spotting several bruises on her person, so the marriage was obviously a violent one. Yes, the courts will do their job, but we are not blind or deaf. We have brains which allows (most) people to reason sensibly, given the empirical and circumstantial evidence available.

Thank you O Adele.whether he was a "saint" or not,fact still remains that he killed her in d most gruesome of ways!d fact that he was a pastor or posted "inspirational quotes" on his fb page doesn't change that fact!

u hv just speak my mind thanks dear