Gbenga Daniel discharged and acquitted of corruption charges | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 2 March 2012

Gbenga Daniel discharged and acquitted of corruption charges

A state high court in Abeokuta this morning discharged and acquitted the embattled ex-governor of Ogun state, Gbenga Daniel of all corruption charges, saying the EFCC had not provided enough evidence of corruption against him.

Gbenga Daniel was in 2011 accused of money laundering, fraud and corruption while serving as the governor of Ogun state. SMH for our Nigerian courts!

38 comments:

Naija we hail thee! I knew everything i was seeing was just sharwama frontings...

Luffy said...

Some people just remain untouchable.

BLOGLORD said...

let his case be transferred to uk law court, if he is discharged n acquitted from the charges, then i will believe he is truly innocent of all accusations.

Atobatele said...

So our Judges are yet to learn from Ibori's case. If this same man get to foreign prison now he wud start confessing his atrocities. Corruption has really suck this nation dry. May God save our land.

Careers in Nigeria said...

Linda i hope he does not end up like Ibori,well i suppose d ve all learnt frm him and wnt be travellin out anymore,There are always discharged and acquitted.

Theodora said...

They have started oh, small time now, the uk police will get hold of this same person and find evidence to convict him... this our judicial system self and this EFFC too....una own dey una body oh

Na today! After now, they will now arrest him in the UK and before you know it, he'll now start confessing of all the money he's stolen. shame to bad people...

only in Nigeria we see criminal go free hissssss.

Modupsy said...

The courts have done their jobs. Its the EFCC who failed to provide adequate evidence dat is to blame. This is Naija,anything can happen

Ayo said...

EFCC is a toothless bulldog! all bark and no bite. Would have been very surprised if the outcome was any different. Nigeria...same old, same old. But I am still hoping against all hope that a change will eventually come.

Austin said...

He shld b judged in london

THE SAME WAY IBORI WAS DISCHARGED AND ACQUITTED BY ASABA HIGH COURT

let him not dare travelk to the uk otherwise.....ehh

jescci said...

O ga o

Did we expect anything different? only in Naija kmt
simon

Sasaeniyan1 said...

Dis is ridiculous, discharged and acquitted on corruption charges worth 48bn....... Corruption don eat deep into our bone marrow. Rubbish

devour said...

na today

Look at it this way.

Here are the options given to the judges . .just two options:

- declare OGD a free man and yo get $500million

OR

- you and your entire generation are wiped out.

OK . . your choice to choose.

Hmm na wa oh.

Go to Beegists.blogspot.com to see a snake-like yam. Wonders shall never end!

Some ppl ar above d law,dat's y law dodges dem,dey dnt dodge law.justice wil never prevail if cont converin some fact

TruSon said...

Nigerians do not need sex in their daily lives again. Their leaders f**k them everyday!

If this same man is tried in the U.K, he'll go to jail for a long time. I wonder how much passed under the table. Justice in Nigeria is sold to the highest bidder! This guy looted Ogun state dry!

oby said...

At least his wife can relax and enjoy tax payers money,while mere mortals like us continue to suffer for it..i mean who cares...seriously!!!

TruSon said...

Nigerians do not need sex in their daily lives again. Their leaders f**k them everyday!

It was the same thing local courts said about James Ibori, only for Ibori to admit his guilt before a London court, so perhaps we could send Daniels to London???

kayct said...

Na wah ooooooooooo!

jokers

Vking said...

9ja for all,abi wetin una want make i talk?.......freedom for good and bad indeed.....next pleas@Linda

when are we going to outsource our judiciary system to the UK?
it is long overdue.

He should go to Britain. They WILL find him guilty

ChiChiluv said...

Who did he bribe to get him off?

Momen said...

He shouldn't relax because Asaba High court once discharged and acquitted Ibori of same corruption charges.

They should go and try him in u.k

what a country!

Kemi said...

The court didn't say there was not enough evidence, rather that the EFCC amended the charge from 15 to 43 without the leave of the court

ugo frank said...

We know, normal Nigerian judiciary system, he finally settled the people in charge and they let him walk....... He shouldn't have hyped us by fleeing Nigeria few days to end his tenure

ykay. said...

Our Judiciary is one of our biggest problem...........shame to their white & black uniform,useless peeps !

NIGERIA!!! OMA GA OO