Nigerian man sentenced to death in Malaysia for drug trafficking | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 February 2012

Nigerian man sentenced to death in Malaysia for drug trafficking

Eric flanked by Malaysian police
A 34 year old Nigerian man was yesterday February 27th, sentenced to death in Malaysia for trafficking in drugs two years ago.

Eric Chimezie Oluigbo was arrested while trying to distribute 22,159 grammes of cannabis at a traffic light in Napoh, Malaysia, on the morning of September 1, 2010.

He was charged under Section 39 (B) of the Dangerous Drugs Act 1952 which carries a mandatory death penalty upon conviction.

Unfortunately, when you are sentenced to death in Malaysia for drug trafficking, there's no going back. So so sad!

84 comments:

linda dear which day ur blog come day open lik newspaper

Hussler! said...

kai...This is so sad!

Ibo Ibo Ibo!. What are we gonna do to make Ibo people repent from selling their souls for money?. Anytime I hear Ibo person travel abroad, fever will catch me because they must hide something for yansh. Who knows wetin Linda carry go America. Wait for her new Lexus soon. Ibo Ibo Ibo!!!
--Gbenga

ONOME says............Na wa.His parents I pity the most :( this was not the plan.Linda abeg find gist of worthy Nigerian achievements outside d shores of Naija.All these stories don dey depress me o true

Ng said...

@anonymous 11.34 pm....is that all u have to say?

it s sad and may God forgive Eric and accept his soul.

Why o! Our pple should stop this madness, I know Country hard, but small small u go make am. Y traffic drugs in asia at d expense of ur lifen future. This is sad.

TONY said...

OUR GOVT COULD STILL SAVE THIS YOUNGMAN, NO MATTER HIS OFFENCE

Justthatgirl said...

Really sad!!! and the next page thing on your blog Linda, not quite sure what i feel about it....I think it kind drags.

Like they say..if u can't do the time ,don't do the crime...

MemyselfandI said...

Why???????????????????????? I am too sad for words. This is somebody's son. Somebody's brother. Ah!

the love of money truly is the root of all evil. I am very very sad.

so sad. :((

May God accept his soul, I cant think of why people risk their lives like this.

The Great Oracle said...

Gbenga, where art thou?

yeeepaaaa riiiipaaaa!!! see young able body man ....chei i don tire for lazy ass people o! this is so sad abeg! make dem give life sentencing better than death naa. na wa o
i cant imagine what his family is going through right now, sad sad sad ....all for vanity!
oh Father lord save us and continue to guide us to the right path....amen

Awwwwww poor guy but Y death sentence.....we need to fix Nigeria mehn.

Malaysia(asia)! they don't joke with drug offenders! hmmmmm! this is 1st class ticket to death ooo!

igbo people and narcos...oga

Haa, its always Ibo people. Ibo can do anything for money. Its good for him.......................Gbenga.

@Anonymous February 28, 2012 11:34 PM.

"Linda, ....... ur blog ... like newspaper"

That's your answer, daffie. Your question contains the answer to your cheeky question. It's her blog. She can do anything she wants with it, including publishing your worst subject in Chinese language. Thicko, you're as daft as a brush :)

Hmmmm.... So sad. I was on the Arik air flight from Naija to London on the 18th of December 2011, where one of the air hostesses was caught with drugs(cocaine) and now in prison here. I have a friend amongst her felow crew members. I spoke to him yesterday about t tryna find out a lil somtn somtn. His reply was 'Ha, we don't feel sorry for her joo. She's just an idiot'. lol.

Dee said...

I don't get these drug dealers. They know the deal yet they carry on dealing. No matter how bad your present condition may be, the one you will be when you're caught, and after, will be far worse. Use your brains.

Olori said...

Chei I am weeping for this boy. Was the money that important heh? this is horrible. DEATH ke??? when the laws of the land are that strict, I still don't understand why our darling naija brethren will go to such barbaric places and commit crime. Na wa o. And this one will have maybe a mom and dad and siblings. O sad gan o

Otis Redding said...

Its a pity! He didnt get rich but at least, he died trying. Keep ya head up bro!

Iz said...

I dont understand the kind of desperation that will make pple go do drugs in places like Malaysia knowing very well how strict the penalty for drug trafficking is. Na wah o! There is really no going back and there is no kind of diplomacy that will help him. I hope this serves as warning to others to desist from drug trafficking and most especially, stay away from those Asian countries. I wish also we had such rules here for our thief thief leaders - i mean the death penalty for them.

These asians are strict. They no dey play. Plus he's not white. He's a nigger, he's of no use to them.

wth?! Death sentence for weed?! Aint that a tad harsh?

Jay said...

them south asians dont play when it comes to the death penalty...

I guess it wasn't worth it after all. I don't know why these ppl leave Nigeria to do crime. Better to suffer in your own land that die in the strangers own. I hope he makes his peace with his soul and God before he dies. Still so young, could have done so much with his life.

death just for drug trafficking so sad

Alex said...

DADA is DEATH !!!

Why do these fools still break the law knowing the harsh consequences. This is not America or Europe where you can break the law, get some time and still come out okay.

MONEY IS THE ROOT OF ALL EVIL.

See hw fine he is, why drugs?!!. The malaysian govt.sef is like sharia law,death 4 ordinary cannabis,no be say na cacaine,he did'nt get a good lawyer,and its sad. The best nigeria can do 4 him is 2 defend him and arrest him here in nigeria.

GlamNotchApparels said...

really sad! na wa oh! people take risks. what sort of money will you earn from this that is worth losing your life for? beats me.

SHUT THE FK UP

Ceezhar said...

Seriusly "lol-ling"

KILL HIM, KILL HIM, KILL HIM SINCE THEY HAVE REFUSED TO LEARN. THERE SHOULD BE NO APPEAL.

Gbengaaaaaa! U make me laff at the tip of nose.
Tee - hee- hee.

Gbenga ur fada x10. Crime, greed and the love of money is not synonymous with just an ethnic nationality. You should think about the other four fingers pointing back at you before pointing the other one at someone else.

The whole of Asia has zero tolerance for drug trafficking and these drug people know say na bad market yet they still send these JJC boys. There is absolutely nothing anyone or the Nigerian govt can do to stop them from killing this dude. Its so bad that they carry out the sentence almost immediately unlike a death row setting. He'll be executed in a matter of weeks, one month tops.

RIP dude.

Gbenga e be like say somtin dey do u! Which 1 be ibo! Didn't u see dat dude that they caught at malaysia too! Som months ago! Yoruba boy oo! That they staged a cheap trap 4! So we all are nigerians Bit#hhh

"Death jst for drug trafficking" says d potential drug trafficker.Do u knw hw many lives hv bn ruined by or lost to drugs?
Drug trafficking is synonymous to murder.

deolus said...

Fine boy Eric why did u do this to yourself? Btw I just loooooove Gbenga.....always lookin fwd to his comment.

Dee

#dead

Anon 2:24 : "Death just for drug trafficking" .
Do you know how many people have died/are dying from illicit drugs daily? If you do, u'll understand why these countries take such a tough stance.

what kind of country is this, if the government were responsible what will able body nigerians in their prime be doing in malasia. mind you this is just one in million....God help us.

Gbenga! Gbenga!! Gbenga!!! Ur pikin papa left yash thr. Kpachara anya gi oooO, b4 m kworo maka gi bia ala Ijebu. No be ur broda dem catch last year whr im D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ try defraud an American woman 4 d 3rd tym. I sure $ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ ur mama or grandparants na ibo. Kpachara anya gi ooooooooooooooO...

Deep Soul said...

So he'll be sentenced because of weed? Not even cocaine sha....

Na wa!

Fine boy wasted

On the malaysian visa its boldly written 'Death Penalty for Drug Trafficking'....this guy read it and ignored it cs of small change,how much is weed worth? @ least he should v died for heroine or cocaine,I dnt feel sorry for him, these я the pple giving Nigerians α bad name and making it hard for Nigerians to get visas...the stubborn fly will always follow the corpse to the grave....

I don't pity him cos he knows wat he was doing wen he took it there. that's gud for him, u want to make quick money ha? u don getam now

this guy fucked up wo!

Omg! So so sad, he looks so handsome n sexy....wailing!

@Gbenga, i think i speak for a lot of proudly Ibo people who read this blog when I say that you're such an idiot and your comments are always needlessly inflammatory! Like your own Yoruba brothers don't get involved in shady business too....Who doesnt know that thats all your people do in the UK and beyond???? Ass wipe!!!!!!!

Jd said...

At Gbenga, shut the fuck up. What about yoruba drug lords,go UK jail and see many of your ladies there. Do you think wee don't know the real story behind Baba suwe saga.

Absolutely no pity for him. Able bodied young man trying to get rich overnight. They should kill him jare. Idiot!

Get reach or die trying

so very sad. Now the money him no get, life him no get. Double loss.
R.I.P SHHAAA

So sad!such α̲̅ fine young man!why can't they stay away frm these asian countries?or better still find α̲̅ way to make ends meet in naija.for GOD sakes he is still very young.what α̲̅ waste!

Bellaz said...

I dont understand why you would say its sad????? He was drug trafficking.In life everyone has a choice. So what is sad about this. It is very very very good. All those naija boys in Malaysia that are doing 419 and drugs still feel they are untouchable. This is just a lesson. The death penalty should be given when convicted of fraud too. Its just too much. They have spoilt nigerians' name in that country.

me and you said...

you guys learn how to ignore the retard called Gbenga.He's an attention seeker and u guys keep giving him the attention. Una nor dey learn haba.

To Gbenga, shut da hell up in that your tribalism comments. Start using your both sides of your brain. Stupid Igbo hater. FYI, Igbos will live forever! Igbos will forever be the greatest in Nigeria(yes, go jump into lagos river). Long live Igbos. Fool, spell it right.

Chimezie

Gbenga, google "Victoria Osoteku"

Hey whoever you are this is not PM newspapers ... Stop being a fool and grow up

You are a fool to use a slur a monkey in the form of a human would use to describe one of African descent

Ewu Hausa

Get off from your moral high horse and stop writing like a fool. Drug use is a choice... To be Murdered is not

Do not fall into the trap of ethnicism

Gbenga may not be Yoruba and this may be a false name. There is no need to give the fool an audience

Get off from your moral high horse and stop writing like a fool. Drug use is a choice... To be Murdered is not

You are a fool to use a slur a monkey in the form of a human would use to describe one of African descent

Hey whoever you are this is not PM newspapers ... Stop being a fool and grow up

Bridget said...

Gbenga you must be a big full to have such stupid and tribal believe about the igbo race, we are talking about what befell a young Nigerian man and you are there saying your useless world out in shame, stupid Yoruba man

Bridget said...

@ Gbenga go and rotten in hell, you stupid Yoruba idiot, may heaven punish you for opening your mouth to say such stupid things to a fellow human being who is about to loose his life.

Olagbende Onile-Ere said...

Taking drugs to Malaysia and China, Saudi Arabia is simply committing suicide!

Igbo people and their naughty moves,going about the world and spoiling our name. God ponish u ppl,oga o.

The govt of Nigeria shold intervene oooo.our embassy there should do something,thats y it was established

i must hammer na by force what happened to dignity in labour

Gbenga works on your emotion. Making reasonable people act irresponsible. He likes d attention he gets wen he makes all dose insane comment.pls ignore d fool,the insignificant fool will get it dat d world doesn't care about his comment or him

@ GBENGA.... am Yoruba like you, but you never display MATURITY.. why must u specify IBO alone do u know how many of our yoruba brother inside for drugs!! next time try not to be bias on the bases of Ethnicity... is only a dumbss that act this way..
Segun...

freeyourself said...

Gbenga, is giving Igbos the taste of their own medicine.
Igbos are the biggest tribalist. So, all these igbos crying on here like babies need to stop it. Igbo people can dish it out but can't take it.

They talk trash about yoruba people all day and now try to act like victims. People wonder why there are more igbos in yorubaland than yorubas in igboland. It's as simple as this ,yorubas are more welcoming to igbos than igbos are to yorubas. So, when some people make it seem like igbos are more open minded, they don't know the full story. Igbos talk bad about yorubas than yorubas talk bad about Igbos.

Everybody know igbos love money so nothing new there. They will not be doing business in yorubaland if they didn't feel comfortable there. They teach their children false history, and give out false information.

In as much as I respect, Mr C. Odumegwu Ojukwu very intelligent man, I don't agree with the perspective, interpretation or logic behind Biafra war. I don't totally agree with the victim, unfair, biased mentality that igbos portray.

My point is, everybody want to kill Gbenga for his comments, which he's doing to get people talking. There's a bigger picture here, people who scream out tribalism the most are most likely to be the same thing they are screaming out. Tribal unity in Nigeria will not happen automatically, people need to change their mindset first.

And to the guy, he got what he deserved. You break the law, consequence comes after

Abeg I dey interested in d money wey im make before them catch am....e fit repair atleast lagos-benin expressway...Pele

#Queeny!

Abeg shut up...wetin u know about d idea behind Biafra...Ode oshi...no mention Ojukwu for this matter again o cos im better pas 50million great yoruba ideas put together....onye ofe mmanu like u...I be yoruba buh u fkup!

#Queeny!

'it must bean ibo boy' was on my mind as I read the topic line & my guess was right after lookin 4 d name. we r smarter than these my brodas!

"Gbenga" is dat d name of an animal??? Well, u are nothin less dan a glorified born-fool. I wish u were d one sentenced to death

Everyone loves it when individuals get together and share ideas.

Great site, stick with it!

Take a look at my site; online graduate certificate

I just saw this the other day - and it led me onto lots of other people who were/are in the same position in Asia. Its really depressing - and such a sad waste of a life for these young men. As many of you have said, its on the visa and on huge banners in the aiprorts that drug trafficking in those places carries the death penalty. Sometimes even if people have nothing to do with it, if there's just a hint of suspicion, its serious wahala- more so for Africans. I can't imagine what he or his family are going through now - that is if they even know about the situation. All I hope is that people will learn from this horrible, horrible lesson. On another note, I'm not Nigerian, but I don't think we as Africans should be engaging in this whole 'blame a specific tribe' game. There's good and bad in all of us and this is the sort of thing that 'outsiders' like to capitalise on..