They are common in food contaminated with fecal matter but pass through most people in a few days. Unfortunately for Yadira they got into her bloodstream and then her brain.
With her permission, Methodist Dallas Medical Center shared video of doctors extracting the larvae earlier this month.
Neurosurgeon Richard Meyrat explained.
"They looked a little bit like eggs, and they have a clear sac," he said. "And inside it, a small tapeworm."
The woman is expected to make a full recovery but perhaps understandably does not want to view the footage from her surgery.
Culled from UK Mirror
50 comments:
Eewwwwwwwww lord!
Eyahhhhh
Ewwwww...thank God they were discovered on time.
Na wa o! You just can't hear it all.
I am scared now! The other day I saw a video of a man living with a cockroach in his ear and that thing had lain eggs in his ear!!!!
Seriously? That's bad...but atleast she found out in time
#iT wiLL oNly gEt bEttER
#It mUsT enD iN prAise
wow.....
meenah_wakil on instagram
wow.....
meenah_wakil on instagram
Damn!! Inside her brain?
Oops
PELE...TOMJERRYSWIT
Hmmmmmm a lot would hv this o
Owk
Happy for her...tape worm is very deadly
Choiiiiii this is weird & creepy.
Lord have mercy!
Wow! I thank God for her life.
GOD Save the Queen .......hmm... warm just like that....... good health services, we will get there one day ......... God bless the LAND.
Omo can't imagine the pains and how gross it feels watching the footage of the larvae been removed..
For 2015 Literary openings and more opportunities click my name..
Na wa o! I can't imagine if it were to be in naija. Linda take note!
Most times we diagnose wrongly and take wrong medication. wishing her speedy recovery.
Thank God for her
#Strange Things!!.....#Lord Have Mercy!
Ok gud for her.....
Choi!
Dats y I don't lik cow meat, suya n all dose shit!
That worm is deadly. She's lucky it hasn't hatched.
Oh!
Dis is sth else and thank God she discovery dis if not dis may not b d news we wil b reading. Speedy recovery to her.
Hmmmm...one has to be careful and prayerful
Hmm may God protect us
Chai!
Oyioba una sickness too much, abeg na God win for 9ja
Wtf
Wtf
Choi
Nawa o
God av mercy
Na God dey save oh.. and to think she got this from food she bought..
ThankGod 4 science as Africans we would Av said someone was behind d headache.lol
na waaah oooh! http://www.bummyla.com
God Abeg ooo
At least they didn't say she picked it up in Africa.
Pigs/porks are source of tapeworms. Westerners love their porks, bacons, all sorts of pig meat. Not surprised to see this.
Thank God for you
Thank God for her....
Thank she was not admitted in a naija hospital, doctors would have told her problems is nolonger medical but from the village then she will go home an die
Eyah