Nigerian woman who laundered stolen student cash ordered to pay back almost £630k | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 18 September 2015

Nigerian woman who laundered stolen student cash ordered to pay back almost £630k

Ruth Smith-Ajala, who helped defraud hundreds of UK students online has been ordered to pay back almost £630,000 after admitting she made £1.2million from her crimes. On Monday, September 14, the Old Bailey heard how the 46-year-old Nigerian National was jailed in December 2013 for her part in conning students out of more than £1.5m.

Students were sent emails inviting them to update details on their student loan account via a link to a bogus website. When the site was accessed by the unsuspecting victims, a cyber crime gang gained unauthorised access to their bank accounts, stealing large amounts of money.

Smith-Ajala used her share of the cash to buy products in the UK, which she then shipped out for sale at a wholesaler in Lagos, Nigeria, that she owns. During her trial, Smith-Ajala tried to convince the court that she was running a legitimate business but she was ultimately found guilty of conspiracy to launder money and mortgage fraud.

The mortgage fraud related to seven houses that Smith-Ajala was renting out in Gravesend, Northfleet and Chatam, in Kent; Grays, in Essex; and Catford, in London.

In conjunction with the investigation, specialist detectives from the Met’s Central Criminal Finance Team (CFT) launched a financial investigation. They and the Crown Prosecution Service obtained a restraint order for the properties and Smith-Ajala’s banks accounts were frozen, prohibiting her from selling the houses and hiding the money.

As a result of the confiscation proceedings, Smith-Ajala will now have to sell the houses, using the profits and rent money to pay the confiscation sum. Detective Inspector Pete Ward, of the Met’s Central Criminal Finance Team, said:
      "We won’t stop at seeing criminals convicted for their crimes - we will also make them pay back the money they have taken from their victims."
     "It is ironic that Smith-Ajala helped defraud hundreds of students while paying for one of her own children to be privately educated."

"She has just three months to pay back the money she obtained, or face a further five years in prison. If she doesn’t pay the money by the time she is out of prison, the order will remain and her finances will be scrutinized to ensure she continues to pay up." He added.

Source: Metropolitan Police UK

41 comments:

Baddoo... But seriously crime never pays... When will this people learn abeg..... #NowPlaying buggy down: tiz....

Lol from where kwanu?

Madam why u no fear God

Some people are just too wicked.

Betcook said...

I make over 70% profits betting everyday. SoccerBet Prediction Android App is the secret. Its Totally Free

yabsy said...

Na wah ooo . But why? The quest to be rich.

Karlsson said...

She got what she deserves

Ubanagum

So women too follow?

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

She got what she deserve big time

aproko manager said...

Sharp woman

Serves her right.

This is the way criminals and fraudulent people are dealt with here and the US,but in Nigeria the EFCC cannot prosecute successfully because they did not gather enough evidence to sustained the life.cycle of the case hence it got thrown out of courts,pathetic huh.

Everyday is for the thief but one day is for the owner

Oboi see money

Looking for roommate/flatmate to stay with you or got a room or an apartment you want to rent out click here to specify who u need and get offers.

Looking for a place to stay for a short or long period of time click here to tell us what you need and get offers for free.

See as she keep mouth!😏 as if she can finish all the money.. Greed!!!

See her chubby cheeks

Madam you get mind o! Berra pay up for your own good. Linda take note!

Serves her right

Na yoruba way and professions before nko

Thank GOD is not IGBO person. .......

Yoloba
It runs in the blood, even their women
Ofe mmanu

Imagine, she's wise and intelligent but uses it for the wrong reasons. These few rotten eggs are the problem Nigeria has in diaspora. They keep giving us bad name.

She never see anything, she must vomit that money. Idiot

Yahoozee

IF YOU SEE THIS WOMAN GOING TO CHURCH ON A SUNDAY THOSE DAYS, VERY RELIGIOUS AND TALKING RIHGTIOUNESS. HARDLY WOULD ONE IMAGINE THAT SHE COULD INVOLVE IN SUCH SHAMEFUL PRACTICE.

Thats all they do over here...steal steal and steal more...then attend lavish parties... buy houses and gain popularity. People back in najia will think the money is genuine. ..smh.
If you know anyone in the UK who is so rich that the origin of the money is unknown ...please dont envy

oyinkam said...

Idiot anonymous, what has this got to do with yorubas. Oponu oshi

This zomb..are the ones tarnishing the image of the country in diaspora. It suck!

Bisi see where it has landed u. All ur family has eventually recorded jail term each. 4 of u went to prison within 7yrs wat a way for d wicked to be punished. U lived as if u were god wit a heart of stone nd relocated to Nigeria to flaunt ur Ill gotten wealth. Thank God I was saved from ur claws nd family on time. may ur doom never end. D bible say tell d wicked dey shall not prosper nd it shall not be well wit them. U have not started yet wait never see how u end.

VERY CRITICAL ALERT!!!
Hello beloved saints,
I'm sure you know that New international
version(NIV) was published by Zondervan but
is now OWNED by Harper Collins, who also
publishes the Satanic Bible and The Joy of Gay Sex.
The NIV and English Standard Version (ESV) and MSG
has now removed 64,575 words from the Bible
including Jehovah, Calvary, Holy Ghost and omnipotent to name but a few... The NIV, MSG and ESV has also now removed 45
complete verses. Most of us have the Bible on
our devices and phones especially OLIVE TREE
BIBLE STUDY APP.
Try and find these scriptures in NIV and ESV
on your computer, phone or device right now if
you are in doubt:
Matthew 17:21, 18:11, 23:14; Mark 7:16, 9:44,
9:46; Luke 17:36, 23:17; John 5:4; Acts 8:37
...you will not believe your eyes.
Refuse to be blinded by Satan, and do not act
like you just don't care. Let's not forget what
the Lord Jesus said in John 10:10 (King
James Version)
THE SOLUTION
If you must use the NIV MSG and ESV,
BUY and KEEP AN EARLIER VERSION OF the
BIBLE that was published 2 to 3 yrs ago cos A Hard Copy cannot be updated. All d ones from late 2013 are all not complete again.
Buy and KEEP EARLIER VERSIONS AND STORE
THEM.
There is a crusade geared towards altering the
Bible as we know it; NIV, ESV, MSG and many more
versions are affected.
Rapture will take place any time from now.
Everything hindering the rapture has been
removed. Gospel has been preached almost
everywhere, all the prophecies has been
fulfilled. The devil is working very hard to
occupy Christians with the things of this world
so that the day will catch them unaware.
Please be prepared,there is no more time left

Jade said...

She is sitting there,Pouting! The nerve of this woman!

DeeD25 said...

What a man can do, a woman can do better!!!! Bye boo!!!

Guess she is not a mother.

Stupid woman.....can imagine her in naija forming big girl.....next time u will think of a legis way to make money......fool

SHAME,BIG SHAME.,serves her right..wicked heart.

Yoruba people are calling her a Nigerian now. If it was an Igbo person, they will start croaking that Igbos love money. Hypocrites!

mojorrific said...

Na suicide sure pass

Too bad

this is my mum and she never did this I am with her 100 percent