Woman deceived online boyfriend, leaving mother and daughter to commit suicide | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 18 September 2015

Woman deceived online boyfriend, leaving mother and daughter to commit suicide

A mother and daughter killed themselves in a horrific suicide pact after a warped fraudster trapped them in a staggeringly bizarre web of threats and lies. Yesterday, the full extent of Linsey Cotton’s heartless deception was disclosed in court.

Cotton, a single mother of two from West Lothian, invented a phantom girlfriend, a bogus stem cell trial, a fictitious murdering doctor and a non-existent government cover-up and she made up a whole cast of characters for her charade.

Cotton, 33, used 15 phones, two laptops and two tablet computers to convince her victims she was more than a dozen different people. At various points, she played a nurse, a barrister and government officials.

Her scam netted her nearly £5000 and a hoard of expensive gifts. But she also terrorised Margaret McDonough and daughter Nicola until they checked into a Premier Inn, took pills and slashed themselves.

Margaret, 52, died within hours of being found at the Greenock hotel on May 10, 2013. Nicola, 23, passed away three days later.

In the run-up to the tragedy, Cotton had convinced the women they faced 20 years in prison and turned their son and brother against them. Her lawyer said she was sorry. Cotton began her scheme a year before the double suicide by ensnaring Margaret’s son Michael, a 33-year-old corporal.

In May 2012, she joined dating site Plenty of Fish – using the name and photo of her stepsister Steph, who had nothing to do with the scam.

Michael saw “Steph” and fell for her. But when they began phoning each other, it was Cotton he was talking to, and she wasted no time filling his head with lies.

She told Michael that Steph was having trouble with her sister’s boyfriend. Then, posing as Steph’s mum, she said the boyfriend had attacked her and left her in hospital with bleeding on the brain.
Soon after, Cotton said Steph had been chosen for a pioneering stem cell trial run by a company called Biotech.

Cotton created a number of characters who told Michael on the phone that they were visiting Steph in hospital.

Michael by now believed Steph was his girlfriend and wanted to visit her too.But Cotton told him she was being moved around different hospitals and couldn’t see him because she had signed a confidentiality agreement for the trial.

Her lies then became even more elaborate. She told Michael a Biotech doctor had tried to kill Steph by poisoning her with drugs, that the Government were involved and that the press had been banned from reporting the case.

Express UK/Mirror

39 comments:

Oh!

This one pass me oh.Choi!!!

Smh.

Hmmmmmm...

Lord pls help and save us frm enemies within and around us iJN. He should b punished accordingly.

There are so many fraudsters online, one really need to be very careful with who u chat with or u have a story to tell! Have had a personal experience with one of them just some few weeks. Ask anybody that wants to chat with u to snap himself with a placard displaying a particular date or d date u guys are chattn, if he or she refuses, then run for ur dear life, its either they snap with a placard displaying a date u told them or fuck off.

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

There are so many fraudsters online, one really need to be very careful with who u chat with or u have a story to tell! Have had a personal experience with one of them just some few weeks. Ask anybody that wants to chat with u to snap himself with a placard displaying a particular date or d date u guys are chattn, if he or she refuses, then run for ur dear life, its either they snap with a placard displaying a date u told them or fuck off.

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Zana said...

I haven't understood this story - she's toomuch of a con. White people though - suicide isn't the answer. They like online things and suicide argh

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Northern Princess 7 said...

Emmm, Strange world...Rip

Na wa ooooo ooooo many psychos on the loose in America, RIP to th dead. They shld lock that nut job up and throw away the keys

I no even understand the story. Linda take note!

seyi crown said...

OmoOo oyinbo's sef dey scam? Na wa ooo

Seyilicious

This is real bad

Aunty linda

This is real bad

Aunty linda

This is real bad

Aunty linda

Rip.....

The story is not comprehensible at all. Anyway, i hope the dubious woman is caught and jailed. May the souls of the dead RIP....Amen.

Chai I giv ds woman yash

The outcome of her actions are sad indeed. This is proof that everyone evolved from Naija. If you are into yahoo, scams, and whatnot...this woman is your ancestor.

This is a whole other level of Yahoo!!! And they say we invented this sh+t!!

Internet love fa

is this a movie? my head aches from trying to understand the story sef. sigh...

Improve your story telling skills. This your summary has no head or tail. How did ensnaring Michael lead to his sister and mum's double suicide?

Dub with sense.

dansignature said...

She has been trained by a black man I guess...#opinions expressed in comments re those of the comment writers alone and does not reflect or represent the views of Josef

dansignature said...

She has been trained by a black man I guess...#opinions expressed in comments re those of the comment writers alone and does not reflect or represent the views of Josef

All this for 5000 pounds? Crazy.

As in ehhh! Very incomplete gist

Just when I thought I could be the best liar...

seyi crown said...

This ur English na suicide mission

That's no guarantee.
Pics can easily b photoshopped.
I tink u'd make a good prey 4 dem scammers cos of ur alleged "wisdom"

I found so hard to believe this it sounded like a movie story line. ..what in the world!!!!! then she should be writing movies and casting actors

Nawah! I hope she gets a harsh sentence.