The presidents of Benin and Senegal are in the city for talks with the coup leader. Meanwhile Pres. Buhari has condemned the coup in Burkina Faso. Below is a press statement from the presidency..
President Buhari and Nigeria align with ECOWAS, the African Union and the United Nations in rejecting the brazen contravention
of the constitution and transitional charter of Burkina Faso by
elements of the Presidential Guard under the leadership of General
Gilbert Diendere.
President
Buhari and Nigeria urge the Defense and Security Forces of Burkina Faso
to keep faith with the agreed transitional programme for the return of
the country to full democratic rule after elections, which were due to
be held in the country on October 11, in support of which Nigeria has donated 20 pick-up vans to the National Electoral Commission of Burkina Faso.
While
welcoming the news that the Interim President, Mr. Michel Kafando has
now been freed, President Buhari and Nigeria also demand the immediate
release of Prime Minister Isaac Zida and other detained ministers.
Nigeria
will give the fullest possible support to ongoing efforts by the ECOWAS
mediatory team of President Macky Sall of Senegal and President Boni
Yayi of Benin Republic to quickly restore Burkina Faso to the path of
order, democracy and constitutionalism.
The
President urges the people of Burkina Faso to remain calm and steadfast
in support of the transitional order, elections and democratic
governance with the full assurance that Nigeria, ECOWAS and the
international community will uphold their right to peace, freedom,
democracy and good governance.
Femi Adesina
Special Adviser to the President
(Media & Publicity)
September 18, 2015
Special Adviser to the President
(Media & Publicity)
September 18, 2015
59 comments:
Noted.
the struggle for power is no joke
That's a good stand we are taking
Wow the change is really affecting the whole africa....... But who be this one wey carry face like burnt offering......
Okay.
LOL so this Baba Suwe is now their president.
hehehe nawao I feel for them.
Dis man eyes na fire crackers o! Linda take note!
C his wohwoh face..
Ghen! Chen!
Wow! Shit getting real ugly right. ...
A Working President!!! A Worthy Soldier...
Na who their suspension don help before?!... If Buhari doesn't deliver, we're waiting for him at his door step. Let him continue traveling...
Why coup no go happen if persin eyes look like this? Even fear dey catch me.
Fu k Buhari. Coup is a must in a country like BF. Upper volta
HBD ma'am, God bless you richly n may he continue to enlarge ur coast, u r such an inspiration, keep soaring high, Love u loads
Whew! Burkina Faso is in a hot stew.Military take over isnt a good thing to befall a country especially when the world knows the sweetness of democracy
good move...
Another monkey takes power by force. knows nothing about governance or economic policies. about to mortgage the future of millions of citizens just for his personal ambition. smh. this is what the military did in Nigeria that got us to where we are today smfh
Our president!!!
Come o, Buhari. 1966, 1975 and 1983. What happened then, divine intervention?
Coups in this modern day. They should know it old fashioned.
DT IS SERIOUS....TOMJERRYSWIT
What moral justification does Buhari has to condemn a coup? He and his cohort have toppled a Government of this Country through coup before. Buhari is condemning coup today because he is now a civilian President abi? See life? Everyone is so selfish. I am not supporting the coup in BF though but Buhari should just respect himself. Let him just keep quiet if he does not have anything to say.
http://bit.ly/1UXg0Sh
Military Coup? In this 21st century.... that's too bad
This guy look scary, he belong to d jungle not to the palace.
Hehehehe. I laugh in Ijebu! Buhari dey condemn coup? !!! What an ironic farce
#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise
It's to be expected. More will even follow.
Politican are they problem many countries are having
Mk dem gv us our 20 hilux wey we gv dem 4 election... if dem no wan do election na der concern... coup coup coup persin no go hear word
I just can't look that face twice
Hmm!
Say again????? PMB condemns coup????? Chai!!! The same person who took over govtmnt VIA coup years ago fa! This life sha....may God help us
Tot the man was baba suwe @ first....this ma wowo abeg
Seyilicious
Wanna Make over 70% profit on betting...Soccerbet prediction Android App is the solution. Totally Free
This statement is tactical and it was released by Femi adeshina and not garba lawal it buttresses our earlier report Femi is aptly grounded as compared to his counterpart
Ok good.
See the ugly general sef lool..!
Tool bahad...
And wats d name of d app?
Even badguys dey fear this guy
Imagine!
kettle calling pot black @Buhari... he did same tin to Shagari..
Why does the General look shell shocked?! LOL
I hope democratic rule return back to dis country so dat dis military regime can come to an end.
These guys have got the ugliest military camouflage on earth.
Jesus Christ eeeeeh...in whose image is this na
Shuuuuuu
Him face alone na coup
#ziratheanonymous
PMB better be watchful cos urs might be next. With all the military personnel dat surround u as body guards only God will help u if the military cabal decide to off u...
That is beating about the bush by AU toothless union.
The suspension is not ideal
But ermm..... This man ugly sha!
See face
Linda u dey vex for me?
My post nor dey ever show
Seems u select people abi
Don't discriminate na
#Lexira