Muslim woman sues NYPD for making her take off her head scarf to take a mug shot | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 18 September 2015

Muslim woman sues NYPD for making her take off her head scarf to take a mug shot

Mervat  Soliman, a 53 year old Muslim woman who wears a hijab, is accusing the NYPD of discrimination by forcing her to remove it before taking her mug shot.
Soliman, who is Egyptian, was arrested by cops last January after getting into a dispute with a neighbour over a parking space outside her home in Glendale.
The suit, filed Monday in Brooklyn Federal Court, asserts that the NYPD “discretionally decides” whether a Muslim woman must take off the scarf for an official arrest photo, and that is a violation of Soliman’s Constitutional right to freedom of religion.
Soliman told the Daily News the experience was harrowing. “I feel like somebody took all my clothes off,” she said.
Soliman’s suit contends she was punched in the face by the neighbor’s daughter and an unidentified officer removed the scarf when she was placed in the ambulance. She was taken to Wyckoff Hospital where the cop refused to return the scarf, but a nurse provided her with a pillow case to put on her head.
The scarf was later returned to Soliman when she was transferred to central booking, but she was ordered to remove it again for the mug shot photo.
“Mervat informed the officers of her religious obligation to which they responded, ‘This is America, we don’t care,’” according to the suit.
Soliman's request to be photographed by a female officer in a private room was also refused, the suit states.
"The suit will be reviewed," said a spokesman for the city Law Department.

43 comments:

Pro. promisepompom@yahoo.com said...

Hahahahahhaha this one is a devoted muslim.

That vuvuzela P guy

If she is not happy then she should go back to her country.......

Hmmmmmmmmm muslim n deir wahala...mstchhhhheeewwww

....Am gettin dere....

These ppl αи∂ that their useless hijab sef, sorry to say o... But does that cover †ђξ fact that most of them are hypocrites??? It doesn't

#iT wiLL oNly GeT beTTer
#it MuSt eNd in PrAise

She get time well well.

rubish stay in ur country and live america alone

Mcheeeeeeew! No be only sue. Linda take note!

AQO said...

Lol. Like seriously? It is a mugshot not a photoshoot. For God's sake, why do these people like trouble like this? All your facial features need to be seen, your ears and your hairs inclusive. So why all these trash?

Mcheeeeeeew! No be only sue. Linda take note!

All nice and good, I wish her all d best in her suit. Its well wit our souls.

OK sorry Aunty.

Ok.

aproko manager said...

She's not serious

If u don't wanna take off your scarf,then u shouldn't break the law.Its as simple as that

Imagine the terrorist worshiper sueing NYPD for doing there work,she would have not go for it in the first place.muslim repent and change una ways to budhism,christianity or bala faith.
Muslim must show that they are terrorist every were they see them self.

Imagine the terrorist worshiper sueing NYPD for doing there work,she would have not go for it in the first place.muslim repent and change una ways to budhism,christianity or bala faith.
Muslim must show that they are terrorist every were they see them self.

GUD FOR HER...TOMJERRYSWIT

These Muslims are a pain in the arse!
They are either constituting nuisance, stirring up controversy or killing innocent people. Arrrrgghh!

<< LIB Addict >>

Karlsson said...

What was she expecting before?

Ubanagum

Please stop all this nagging and complaints if you cant comply with the rules and laws of a country get out of that country. For heaven sake USA is not a sharia country go back to your country woman. No be by force.

Hian!

This muslims and their wahala. Mtcheeeew.

These Muslims sometimes sha. She is in America for Christ's sake! Why bring religion from Egypt to play in a foreign land?

Ladun Liadi said...

Always d same pple. CAN'T TAKE A MUGSHOT WITH A HEADSCARF!
Terrorism comes in different forms.

This is why u don't allow muslims in your country. U go to muslim country and u are expected to dress like them. They come to a western country and don't want to abide by the rules. I pity europe. They better not allow this muslims gain foot hold.

Oh shut it!!!

Collins insider said...

That is america they don't care.

If it were a woman shagging another woman now in public and they were caught,they ll say its discrimination against gays or lesbians. Hypocrisy of the highest order in america.

uzor onwusa said...

playing the religious card.

If she don't want to remove the scarf, she should have stay in her war infested country. Behave like the Romans when you are in Rome

Northern Princess 7 said...

she's on her right

SMURF said...

It's seems like this is taking another phase, last time it was the African American, now the cops are out to get Muslim! But u av to take the scarf off incase u look different when u remove it.

bummyla said...

she has no case at all! http://www.bummyla.com

Mtewwww!!!

But u fit fight wit nebor 4 parking space n u no fit comot ur headscarf...Ur religion permit una 2 fite n kill ppl but e no permit una 2 open head make breeze enta n also 2 snap ur pic 2 know what u reaky look like...Muslims r confused! No b small damage dat peadophile n terrorist called mohamed do una!

Ede said...

Gbam... well spoken

Goaldyn Boy said...

The part that amused me is where a nurse gave her a pillow case to cover her head! I wonder how ridiculous she looked with such pillow case! She is fussy about her hijab that was removed but can fight her neighbor like Jacky! These are the sort of women that commit terrible crimes and atrocities in hiding but pretend to be saint to the outside world!

Some Muslims like palava

U are fool for insulting our beloved prophet!U HELLDWELLER

Garrrhhhh. Hehehehehehe@ paedophile n terrorist. Shit . God help us all

Sluts