Woman discovers why she had been having horrible headaches | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 17 September 2015

Woman discovers why she had been having horrible headaches

A woman who had been suffering from severe headaches was horrified to discover they were due to tapeworm larvae sacs growing in her brain. Yadira Rostro first started to notice bad headaches nine months ago and finally sought medical help after they continued to get worse.

It is believed the 31-year-old picked up the tapeworms on a trip to Mexico two years ago.

They are common in food contaminated with fecal matter but pass through most people in a few days. Unfortunately for Yadira they got into her bloodstream and then her brain.

With her permission, Methodist Dallas Medical Center shared video of doctors extracting the larvae earlier this month.

Neurosurgeon Richard Meyrat explained.
"They looked a little bit like eggs, and they have a clear sac," he said. "And inside it, a small tapeworm."

The woman is expected to make a full recovery but perhaps understandably does not want to view the footage from her surgery.

Culled from UK Mirror

50 comments:

Eewwwwwwwww lord!

aproko manager said...

Eyahhhhh

Ewwwww...thank God they were discovered on time.

Na wa o! You just can't hear it all.

I am scared now! The other day I saw a video of a man living with a cockroach in his ear and that thing had lain eggs in his ear!!!!

Seriously? That's bad...but atleast she found out in time

#iT wiLL oNly gEt bEttER
#It mUsT enD iN prAise

wow.....

meenah_wakil on instagram

wow.....

meenah_wakil on instagram

Damn!! Inside her brain?

Oops

PELE...TOMJERRYSWIT

Hmmmmmm a lot would hv this o

Owk

Happy for her...tape worm is very deadly

Choiiiiii this is weird & creepy.

Lord have mercy!

Wow! I thank God for her life.

GOD Save the Queen .......hmm... warm just like that....... good health services, we will get there one day ......... God bless the LAND.

2015 Literary opportunities said...

Omo can't imagine the pains and how gross it feels watching the footage of the larvae been removed..

For 2015 Literary openings and more opportunities click my name..

Na wa o! I can't imagine if it were to be in naija. Linda take note!

Most times we diagnose wrongly and take wrong medication. wishing her speedy recovery.

Northern Princess 7 said...

Thank God for her

#Strange Things!!.....#Lord Have Mercy!

Ok gud for her.....

Choi!

Dats y I don't lik cow meat, suya n all dose shit!

That worm is deadly. She's lucky it hasn't hatched.

Oh!

Dis is sth else and thank God she discovery dis if not dis may not b d news we wil b reading. Speedy recovery to her.

Hmmmm...one has to be careful and prayerful

Hmm may God protect us

Chai!

Oyioba una sickness too much, abeg na God win for 9ja

Wtf

Wtf

Choi

Nawa o

God av mercy

Na God dey save oh.. and to think she got this from food she bought..

ThankGod 4 science as Africans we would Av said someone was behind d headache.lol

bummyla said...

na waaah oooh! http://www.bummyla.com

dudette said...

God Abeg ooo

Amy said...

At least they didn't say she picked it up in Africa.

Pigs/porks are source of tapeworms. Westerners love their porks, bacons, all sorts of pig meat. Not surprised to see this.

Thank God for you

Thank God for her....

Thank she was not admitted in a naija hospital, doctors would have told her problems is nolonger medical but from the village then she will go home an die

Eyah