NDLEA arrests bureau de change operator, others for swallowing N32 million | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 17 September 2015

NDLEA arrests bureau de change operator, others for swallowing N32 million

Six members of a suspected money laundering syndicate that specializes in swallowing dollars were today arrested at the Excel Oriental Hotel, along Airport Road in Lagos by officials of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency for allegedly swallowing US$156,000 (about N32 million) meant for export to Brazil.

In a statement released today, NDLEA said illicit exportation of currency by ingestion is a new trend in by-passing anti-money laundering operatives.

The anti-narcotic agency in its statement identified those arrested as Kingsley Nwokenta, a bureau de change operator also known as Buchito; Augustine Onwuasoanya, 54, and Christian Okoli, 35, both based in Brazil; Uzoma Ezenwa, 33, a hotel manager; Ikenna Ezenwa; and Emmanuel Nwokenta.

Investigations by NDLEA showed that Kingsley Nwokenta the owner of Amazon Bureau de Change, is the brain behind the syndicate.
 “He allegedly supplied US$120,000 to be swallowed and illicitly exported to Brazil. Onwuasoanya Augustine swallowed 74 wraps of dollars amounting to US$111,000. Christian Okoli who resides in Brazil had US$45,000 which he wanted to swallow.”
The statement by the anti-narcotic agency says one of the suspects arrested, Emmanuel Nwokenta, the manager of the bureau de change, played a “supportive role” in the alleged act while Ikenna Ezenwa, 28, was hired to wrap the money.
“He is believed to have acquired his skill from illicit drug wrapping. Ezenwa Uzoma, the hotel manager who has a strong link with members of the syndicate, wilfully obstructed the officers from discharging their duty. The agency will continue to rely on manpower training and intelligence-led drug control strategies to outwit criminal syndicates. We shall take reasonable measures to dislodge drug cartels and eradicate narcotics from our society. Any bureau de change operator that violates the law shall be punished accordingly.”the statement said
All the arrested members of the syndicate will be handed over to EFCC soon for further investigation.

56 comments:

Baddest Puta said...

They swallow money now?

WHAT A SHAME!!!
Jim Iyke's Sex tape Leaks online.. !!
Click Here to Watch and Download

Nawa o

ogeee said...

Swallow dollars, God hv mercy.

Good for them
Leaked Video: Inside an Agege night club where young ladies dance completely naked and practice live sex on stage (18+)

A job well done. 4

***ECHOMASS***

OK naa dem try

Hmmm na waoh!!!!! Naija I hey they!!!! Serve them right NDLEA.

Abeg ibos sharap,gerrarhia mehn shut up,no dey talk again

Good.

Adeoluabiodun8 said...

Haa'thief

Adeoluabiodun8 said...

Haa'thief

hahaha thats nigeria for you corruption every were even those arrest in the corrupted ones are worster than them.

Nawao! there's nothing people won't do because of money, which one is swallowing dollars again. phew!

All D money dis guys have been realising where is it..... Rubbish

Dani said...

Igbo people again never doing anything positive for Nigeria

Swallow what?! Ogini my ibo brothers? Take it easy. You want to make all the money you should make in your life time in one day

Ibo tribe! tarnishing the imagine of Nigeria since 1802

7F098C19 said...

Swallow kwa. Dollar. What won't they swallow, gals swallow dick, some swallow sperm, others cocain, etc now money. Abeg some one should swallow me and vomit me in the silent room of Obama, abeg. Big troat humans. Engr Emy

I have never heard of something like this before....

Wow, so they swallow money too?

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

Dis is serious

Naija people I hail Una person go swallow that kind tin chai..... A Legend is born.

these guys again!!! Smh

Swallow wraps of money again? Lool

Scheherazade 234 said...

They actually ingested the cash??? Lmao! I thought the "swallowing" in the headline was figurative!

Scheherazade 234 said...

It gives the term "longathroat" a whole new meaning lol

I was actually thinking it must be an Igbo operator

To swallow money hehn, hehn people sef!

I luv my igbo brothers

seyi crown said...

Wetin my ear no go hear for dis generation.... nawa oooo

Seyilicious

They swallow money now?! The risk people take with their bodies!

Worster ? Do you by any chance have any form of education ?

These my okoro brothers sha....... Hummmmmmmm..... No comment.

I never hear dis one before o! Hian, dis is desperation of the highest order. Linda take note!

Chinwe said...

Igbo Kwenu! You guys should keep disgracing the igbo tribe

Aha!

Wht d heck is dis..?
Dis could b so harmful to their health.

Desperation!

nickson said...

Dis days people want to make money by all possible means God help us, what if they died.

JIRO said...

Sh*t. Now this is some really bad publicity for a really beautiful and cool hotel

Nawa ooh nothing we won't hear again in this country!!those abusing the igbo tride didn't you see a yoruba name also in the list????stop all this tribal wars abeg they are all Nigeria.

samnie said...

Lmao, you are so right!

BLUNT said...

If not for the Igbo man, you wouldn't have the cheap China phone you used to type this. Your father would have also gone to work naked if not for the Igbo-subsidized shirt he managed to purchase.

Thats impossible

AOI said...

Yesterday, I asked if anybody has noticed that over 85% of the people giving Nigeria bad name abroad are Igbos? I said this not to spite any ethnic group, but mainly to state the facts and draw urgent attention to it.

I think the expectations and demands (placed by self, family and societal values) on the Igbo youth is just too much.

It doesn't help being in denial; we are building another Nigerian time bomb - this time from the East.

By the way, NOA needs National Orientation Agency, and they need to start working.

Is this humanly possible. They could die for such recklessly and thirst for money.SMH

Na waoh! wetin we no go hear or see.

When my biafra brothers want to dine alone eating all the dollars perhaps if u added 1 yoruba to the group you wouldn't have been nabbed.

how is that even possible?

Swallow money again na wah oh

U'r mad

Pls go back to school.....and stop making fool of ur self ok

The hotel owner should be investigated well. He also owns a Bureau De Change outfit and is well known for his money laundering activities.

Chief as He is fondly called will be the brain behind this. These are just his boys. This has been on going for long. But everyday for the thief and one day for the owner.

geco said...

One thing I learned from Canada is that every information that is meant for public consumption should be verified before publishing. I truly cherished your contribution to the media industry.
In your statement on the last paragraph you stated that NDLEA said that " the hotel manager willfully obstructed the NDLEA from discharging their duties..." and all the media were broadcasting this information without contacting the individual(s) involved to ask what happened. I want to state this categorically that the hotel Manager never obstructed any body to carryout its duties, instead he asked the NDLEA to show him their "arrest warrant" before he can allow them into the specific room they requested to enter. The NDLEA officials only showed their ID cards in which you and I know that anybody can enter any printing store to obtain an ID card. So is that request an obstruction of discharge of duties? Is it not the law that before an arrest is made, that the individual(s) has the right to request for an arrest warrant? And that they are not guilty until it is proved by the court. The hotel manager only requested to see the arrest warrant which is what the constitution said. He requested what is lawful and he was abused,beaten, arrested and unlawfully detained by the NDLEA officials. He was unlawfully accused and proved guilty without free and fair trial by the court because he asked to see an "arrest warrant" and all these violations were promoted by the media industries in Nigeria. The media industries do not know the gravity of the damages they are causing to this hotel manager. I hope they realized the implication of their action if the hotel manager in the near future is proved innocent.
It is quite unfortunate that the media industry is promoting violation of international human right. By publishing this information you have contributed to that violation of international human right against the hotel manager. It is quite unfortunate that the NDLEA will go for an arrest without an "arrest warrant". Until all Nigerians in one accord stand up against marginalization of civilians by the Nigerian government officials in uniform, our rights will be trampled upon by these so called "civilian cannibals".