The syndicate was intercepted by the task force at Owode area of Ikorodu in a Chevrolet truck, while transporting the stolen products to buyers in various parts of Lagos State.
Ajani was arrested alongside his accomplices, Demola Lawrence and Raymond, by operatives of the Inspector General of Police Special Task Force on Pipeline Vandalism, which recovered 300 units of 50-litre jerry cans loaded with premium motor spirit, PMS, from them.
Ajani said:
“I used to sell building materials at Ketu before venturing into this business. It was some of my customers from Ikorodu that got me into the business.I discovered that they were making more money than I. So I begged them to show me the way. They said I could not go into the creeks because I do not know how to swim, but I could always buy and sell the products to people who need it.
“I was introduced to some buyers at Ijora and some other parts of Lagos State. I buy a 50-litre jerry can for N2,000 and I sell it for N4,000.“On my first job one month ago, I bought 250 50-litre jerry cans for N500,000 from an Ijaw woman, known as Mama Bose, and I sold them for N1,000,000.
“The second job was just last week and I bought 150 jerry cans of 50 litres for N300,000. My biggest job was the one that led to my arrest. I bought 300 jerry cans from Mama Bose for N600,000 and I was hoping to make a profit of over N600,000.
“My boy, Damilola, the driver of the truck we were using and I were intercepted by police on our way to supply the products to a buyer. I did not know selling petrol from vandalised pipelines was a crime.”
Vanguard
43 comments:
Haha! U didn't know what?
He is not serious. Ole buruku! Linda take note!
Na so, atleast he knws now
#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise
Ignorance is never an excuse
Ignorance of d law is no excuse
Ignorance is never an excuse
The should be taking to prison,i thought is niger deltan's i don't know its hausa fulallan vandalizing pipeline imagine that rubbish.
I mean the real crooks who have stolen the nations crude earnings to the tune of billions in hard currency over several decades continuously are still roaming the streets and most of them are friends of our government, when will they be caught and tried for the inhumane acts they have committed to Nigeria/ Nigerians...if the stolen funds by these officials were reinvested into the economy, it will trickle down and perharps ppl like these common thieves would have been employed in other meaningful sects of the economy
*Linda's Future Hubby*
Story for the gods.
Oh really?
Were somebody.....you didn't knw abi wetin u talk......thief
Osim i did not know, lol well now you know
it is well
Story
Ok he knws nw
*lib's namesake*
Na so story for d gods
Linda,these r d scape goats...the real bunkers r in ishawo area of Ikorodu n police will never enter their domain except they want to go n die
The street is getting more tighter
Lol akiku
That vuvuzela P guy
Ignorance of the law is not an excuse
Why should it be a crime? The money will be stolen anyways...
How you no go know say na crime? na una get am? #Liar #otondo #oleburuku
God don punish u
God don punish u cup over full
Hmmmm too bad for u man, ignorance is a disease...
Really?!! You are going to go with that excuse?!!
Lmao. Stories that touch. He never start. Just like selling stolen phones is a crime as well. Couldn't he have borrowed a leaf from there?
Now you know.
Ignorance is not an excuse, by the time he cool off in prison for some months he will know how far!!!
I see, he didn't know. Is it your fathers petrol? Lol
Really, if this guy is to serve 5 years, the judge should add an extra 2 years for saying he didnt know.
Dis r usually d process dat encourage pipeline vandals and I pray dis middle men should b cut off so dat dis business wil cease to exist.
All na hustle.
Yoruba and stealing...
ignorantia legis neminem excusat "ignorance of the law excuses no one"... let others take note..
#5iver
Hahahahahhaa.....sorry o bros. Your fowl don lay cooked egg.
Buahahahaha oga no kill me,r u frm otuoke?
OLASHILE CANADA
God punish that your mouth..
Hahaha. 100% markup. Correct margins. Ole