Photo of late Emir of Katsina and his aides admiring traffic light during visit to UK in mid 1940s | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 17 August 2015

Photo of late Emir of Katsina and his aides admiring traffic light during visit to UK in mid 1940s

Sir Usman Nagogo dan Muhammadu Dikko was the Emir of Katsina from May 19, 1944 till his death on March 18, 1981.

65 comments:

Bush people...

Ok... Seen... Next!!!

Lolzzzzzz. Dis is wht usually happens when u tak a bush man to d city. Everytin to him is lik magic. Lolzzzzz.

Lol!

Loool those yrs,even a mirror is a miracle

Bush as usual lolz!

How did we regress from there to where we are now?Its a shame!

The British would be like "Them bloody wankers ne'er seen a bloody stop light before."

Shut up your mouth, snail or whatever you call yourself. It was the 40's and many if these were around You would look too!

Loool
Admiring traffic light..hehehe.. moller Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

Lolzzzzzz. Dis is wht usually happens when u tak a bush man to d city. Everytin to him is lik magic. Lolzzzzz.

Hahahaha

sexy Cha Cha said...

Dat was in de old in days.

Lmaooo... Nobi small bush people..... But nobi today this country don develop shah. #NowPlaying>> lala bambam: silver jae

lgho said...

Bush pple

Hausa man know anything

very strange to them then.

hmmmmm no be small thing

In this picture sir usman nagogo was not the emir then, it was his father dikko who died 1944. Almost all nigerians were bush people at that time.

Hahahaha.... Well,Thank God for development. Y call them bush people, ain't they Nigerians? U sound like we have it at all here as at that period.smh

beewhy said...

You guys should STFU... That was in 40's for Pete sake, you guys will be forming like your father's didn't do worse the first time they saw it in lagos too.. Shior

Omotayo said...

I guess they were saying, see this slim, tall and rigid thing to themselves.

Hahhahaha I think they were not just admiring it but also thinking I would be good for our country too lolz u can't imagine how time fly everyone will someday be a history ( what a lovely life afterwards)

ragada said...

yo in that year its something new to all,even now there are some people still that dont know what a traffic light is..but just for example lol like people who r stiil violating traffic rules r clueless aswell about traffic lights..

Who is this villager? Are you better?

Lol....they've never seen anything like that before.

Hahahahahaha, we need more if this pictures

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

Anyone from Nigeria would / most part of Africa would have marveled / admired this wonderful technology at that time as well. it was not available in Nigeria and No one in Nigeria would have seen it except they travel to the UK / western world at that time. Ya'll need to stop being pretentious.

ROTFL. not surprised during slave trade, even bunch of keys seemed valuable.

This was 1944 and 71 years later Nigeria cannot still boast of having completely functioning traffic lights in at least the major roads in 5 state capitals first.. mtcheww...smh

This is way the North has remained backward decades after

Yeah, we were mostly very backwards then. How many people in Nigeria would have seen traffic light by then?

**Mazi.

Actually, I take back my first comment. I didnt realize this was not Nigeria. My bad. And to rhe people making fun of them. I wonder what you morons would have done. It was in the 40's and you all wouldnt have done anything differently. But you can go ahead pretending even though you people still wow at the site of Lagos bridge. Pretenders!

Hustlers and divas said...

Dey left their cattle in kano and went to uk to admire traffic lights in 1940... dia descendants left suya and started making bombs in 2010... go do d math!

Hahahaha chai!hausawa we thank ALLAH At 40s this is how we are ..How about You *U am talking about is not naked your peoples are Your Papa & Mama na tree leaf (ganye) there are wearing no molten house na for top of koko trees then dey sleep.Go & read Nigeria history the time wey Oyibo(whiteMan)came to Niger-Area....see yourself na now u want show say u b wise Man....MUMULOGY

U wey de call them bush people I bet say ur parents de village in the 40s hunting rabbits.

Now that is very funny

Hmm! So much have changed!

Do you know that in 1940 The white man use Ordinary Mirror And Gas Lamp to Exchange Thousands of Hectares of Lands... think before opening that stinking Mouth.

They are perfect slave to British Gov.

so funny and epic .olden days things

IykMezu said...

They must be among the highest in the society then......imagine traveling to oyimbo country as far back as then. Whatever they did there we villagers wouldn't know

Anthills said...

It happened 70 yrs ago on August 1945 immediately after the second world war there was not a single traffic light on the continent of Africa, & Asia and many countries around the world including Indian, Mexico, Argentina etc.

Bush people

FRESH said...

Na wa oh! Your fore fathers were living in caves & hunting rats at that time.Try & find out.

You are the bush one. It is like us seeing a supersonic plane now and admire it and I'm 60yrs your kids Laugh at you. Obviously you have no sense of history.

Ok ooo. Hausa woman!

its logical said...

The goats abusing them are just crazy!!! Imagine such a thing of pride...una get am in your villages then..,no, YOUR FATHERS were busy selling your brothers,sisters and mothers for mirror and shorts. They brought civilisation to you including the traffic light. Ode oshi.

King Joe said...

He don Tey wey oyinbo don develop oo,nice one

Let the people that called him bush say their identity and tribe, or better still tell us the year the first person in their kindred travelled abroad. Silly cows!

Alero said...

I think its cute... they are been real... it was because they admire and get to know that y we know wat it is today..... Some of us havent flown out of the country ones and yet they call him bush ..

Alero said...

I think its cute... they are been real... it was because they admire and get to know that y we know wat it is today..... Some of us havent flown out of the country ones and yet they call him bush ..

Am prove to be one off there tribes....... I watched biafra war and i no what i saw. Including yorubas so guy keep quiet and let us watch.

Anybody wey abuse dat Emir, no be for tree ya papa dey dat time (1944), at least, the Emir traveled on a plane to admire dat.

They are like...#the gods must be crazy.

sean lot said...

funny..they were so excited..lol

Bafiira at that time e no easy talk more to travel out of 9ja.at least they no try to pull am and give us bad name, una no una self.

Bafiira at least they did not steal it or try to remove some thing like some people still do outside 9ja given us bad name till date. Una no una self enbanza kaawei.

Every single African was a bush man @ that time .. Do not exempt yourself from their utmost surprise and glance at the light .. Perhaps, they were the luckiest one during that time, where was your own grandpa then??? ...

This only goes to show me how true the Bible is about "The Generation that forgets their God to seek other gods that are no gods and the people become like those gods ...ignorant and in deep darkness"***