NNPC raises alarm as fraudsters create phony Facebook accounts for new GMD | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 18 August 2015

NNPC raises alarm as fraudsters create phony Facebook accounts for new GMD

Press statement from NNPC
The Management of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, NNPChas drawn the attention of members of the public especially stakeholders in the global oil and gas industry to the existence of a spurious facebook account purportedly belonging to its newly appointed Group Managing Director, Dr. Emmanuel Kachikwu.
The NNPC noted that the said facebook accounts which bears the photograph and name of the GMD is the creation of some nondescript internet fraudsters bent on exploiting the personaeand the office of the new GMD to defraud unsuspecting members of the public.

According to the NNPC, the scammers have been using the fake FB pages to send all manners of scam letters and phantom contract deals cum cash solicitations to some highly placed contacts within and outside the oil and gas industry. ``While we explore all options to arrest this menace, we wish to advise members of the public to disregard any such FB page purportedly belonging to the GMD of NNPCashe does not operate any Facebook account.’’ 

OHI ALEGBE
Group General Manager
Group Public Affairs Division
Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation
NNPC Towers,
 Abuja

35 comments:

Nigerians at it again

Sharp sharp..... Bad thing no dey hard us to do nw....

Lol Nigerians, its to be expected. They need to take drastic measure at stopping scammers from using the GMD's office to dupe people.

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.

Scammers everywhere

That is nigeria for you loi.fraudsters,criminals and looters every were.
Since not job for the youth what do you expect rather than fraud.

Imagine, 419 everywhere

Checked out the FB account in question, looks real. Nigerians are sooo dubious and that's why we are where we are today!!

Noted

Noted

9ja! It is well.

You know how many phony Facebook accounts of prominent people exist in Nigeria today, you would be shocked at the number!

Issokay seen, thanks for the info. Linda take note!

NNPC should just report to Facebook and the other accounts should be blocked.

Linda's boyfriend said so....

Who ever thinks that the GMD of NNPC will conduct business/award contracts on facebook has a problem

IS TOO EARLY....TOMJERRYSWIT

Lol.. This pple don't rest abi.. Nawa

These yahoo yahoo guys no dey taya

Aha! Nigerians wit scammer's alert here and there. If anyone caught in dis act he or she should b brought to book accordingly.

Fraudsters at work. The general public should please take note.

I figured as the account was opened a day after his appointment. Stupid scammers

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Trendyify said...

#youth_must_work

it is well

Mihearty said...

Wetin concern me.

Too bad... Nigerians can do better than this..😭