23-year-old admission seeker commits suicide in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 17 August 2015

23-year-old admission seeker commits suicide in Lagos

On Sunday a 23-year-old, identified only as Ugochukwu, was found hanging in his apartment in Festac. It was gathered that on Sunday at about 12pm, Ugochukwu’s mother, identified only as Ngozi, and his two siblings came back from church to find him hanging in the sitting room, dead.

The family members were said to have raised the alarm which brought neighbours to the scene, as everyone was taken aback at the sight of Ugochukwu’s dangling body.
The 23-year-old reportedly used a rope to hang himself from a ceiling fan.
The matter was said to have been reported at the FESTAC Police Division, and the officers reportedly came to remove the corpse.
A police source said that Ugochukwu’s relations said the deceased did not give any clue as to why he committed suicide.
He said:
“Nobody can say why he committed suicide. But two Sundays ago, they caught him mixing cement to drink. The family members had actually gone to church, and he had stayed behind. It was a nieghbour who caught him and alerted the family members.
ADVERTISEMENT
“But all efforts made to find out from him, what went wrong reportedly proved abortive, as he refused to tell anyone anything, including his mother.
“This morning, the family members went to church again, and Ugochukwu decided to stay back. Nobody suspected anything. It was when the family members came back that they found his corpse.”
Another resident in the area, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said the corpse had been taken to the mortuary by the police.
She said:
“Ugochukwu’s father’s whereabouts are unknown, but the boy has a younger brother and an elder sister.
“The corpse has been taken to the mortuary. Since he finished secondary school, he had not been able to secure admission. He took the UTME again this year.
“Everyone knows him as someone who did not talk too much. But no one knew exactly why he committed suicide. He was not working. He was usually at home. They were staying in a room and parlour. They are an average family.”
One of Ugochukwu’s neighbours, Oluja, said:
“I am shocked that Ugochukwu has passed on. I just returned from my church, only to learn that Ugochukwu was found hanging in his apartment.
“It was the policemen from FESTAC that took his body away. Everyone in the area is still in shock.
“I know that he had been worried about his admission to the university.
“He had tried several schools, but never made it. Also, he was having a financial problem. Maybe, it is the sum of these worries that made him commit suicide. He was a member of the Jehovah’s Witnesses.”

Punch

36 comments:

It is sad that suicide has become part of our culture and it is unfortunate that we do not use shrinks in the country, it could have done this guy some good.

Dat easy?!

Caught him 2days earlier mixin cement to drink n was not placed on suicide watch? Very sad.

All these people that don't talk and are always on their own, always inside and quiet, end up coming suicide. The same thing happened to my friend's brother, he's always on his own, he doesn't talk, everybody has talked to him to know his problem, he refuse to talk, till he committed suicide. I just pity my friend, cause she's alone now, he was her only sibling. Nobody knows his reason for that till today.

Golda Awosika said...

If skul dos nt want u, try ur hands on a business of interest or two. Not entering skul is nt d end of the world. Poor guy

mccoy said...

So the foolish boy succeeded? Mtcheeeew

That's not enough reasons you should commit suicide.....

Chai, na wa o
Suicide is never †ђξ best way to cure or get rid of ur worries.... U pray αи∂ also work hard...
Taking his life isn't d best solution, he shld have waited to see what God had in store for him...
This is very bad I must say
Don't rush to die cos definitely u will still die one day......some ppl don't just get it
May his Soul RIP

Pls Pray for me as I write my final paper today....can't thank God enough for bringing me this far.....4years of stressful days in school αи∂ finally am a CERTIFIED ACCOUNTANT

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

So shocking,, cnt bliv dis RIP

Sucre sophie said...

Hanging ursef wil do u knw good,no matter wat u going through.i knw tins ain't easy now,but when there is life there is hope.He would av jst told Baba God all his probs,nd he will answer him.

Hmmmmm! Na wa o! Young people of nowadays really get mind. Linda take note!

Suicide is never the answer. It is a very permanent solution to a temporary problem

Wow.. at just 23? I know people have battles but why such a mindset at such an early age? Don't pple still excel in life at the age of 30, 40 even 50?! And why on earth did dey leave him alone for a sec wen he already had a history of trying to commit suicide b4? *sigh* people tend to forget that waking up each morning is another opportunity to try again in life. I feel sorry for his fam.. May his soul rest in peace.

O ghiela.

Dnt evn knw wat to say...rip to him

This is really heartbreaking! May God rest his soul....

I'm wondering why he would be left alone in the house after trying that stud recently. RIP to the deceased
Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

He tried to comit suicide once and you left him on his own?what did you expect that kind of person should have been on suicide watch damnit!he'll answer to God why he decided to do it.

Kelam said...

Depression. So sad. RIP.

suicide is never the option...

If you have Christ, suicide will never be an option

Nawa oo.

Festac and suicide sha. Kai! God rest his soul

mzmaris said...

They caught him once and left him alone again??....una join kill am abeg

must have been frustrated. Suicide is not the best option.

Demons of his father's and mother's house... pure hsehold wickedness tormenting hom with demons until he did dis.
na so dem gather me years back BUT God (Jesus) no gree dem at all...RIP

It's a pity he made the wrong decision thinking it was the best for him. He should have tried other things that can be life tempting/ rewarding# and see if he can take the chances by force afterwards RIP admission seekers come down to the east anything lagos is too competitive and only the influential ones take it by force try other schools as well you musnt school there!

I tink we all need 2 undstand d substance of mental health d admission is only a trigerr d guy prop had undelying mental health issues dat wasnt taken care of or evn noticed we all need 2 seek help 4 odas wen we notice dis tings shine ur eye we all can be victims

So sad. I just wonder why the parents would leave him alone in the house since he has attempted a few weeks before. That is total carelessness. Was there no counselling after the first failed attempt?

For real

@Eze Chukumereze. You said it all. God bless you for your comment!

Queen-O said...

Exactly!! And it is at that point that they shld have realized he is suicidal and shld not be left alone and needs help..smh sad. RIP brotha

Queen-O said...

Its called a mental illness.

Suicide is never an option