13-year-old CEO successfully runs 5-Employee, $200,000 in Sales Business | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 17 August 2015

13-year-old CEO successfully runs 5-Employee, $200,000 in Sales Business

He is only 13, but he has accomplished more in his short years than most have by 30. His bow ties have produced $200,000 in sales, and he has five employees on payroll which include his mother and grandmother. Not to mention, he has been celebrated by Oprah’s O Magazine, Steve Harvey and mentor/FUBU founder Daymond John.

His name is Moziah Bridges and he is the CEO of Mo’s Bows. The teenage fashion designer started his company in 2011 at the tender age of nine when he asked his grandmother to teach him how to sew. He took her scraps of fabric and began making unique bow ties. Not long after, Mo’s Bows began selling to local stores and online.

On his website Bridges explains his passion for making bow ties saying, “I like to wear bow ties because they make me look good and feel good. Designing a colorful bow tie is just part of my vision to make the world a fun and happier place.”
And as his vision is becoming actualized, the Memphis native went a step further into philanthropy.
“I made this bow tie called the Go Mo! Scholarship Bow Tie and 100 percent of the proceeds go to help kids go to summer camp because I feel like it’s good to help the community and that’s what I’m doing,” Bridges said.

Bridges appeared on Shark Tank in 2014 to pitch Mo’s Bows to potential investors. He had to choose between accepting $50,000 for his innovative idea while sharing royalties with Kevin O’Leary, or have John as a mentor. The young businessman chose John’s influence over money, and so far the decision has proven to be a wise one.
With John, he attended Mercedes Benz Fashion Week in New York and impressed big names in fashion with his sophisticated demeanor and dapper style. What more could they expect from a kid carrying a briefcase? Bridges’s experience at Fashion Week garnered a phone call from Karen Katz CEO of Neiman Marcus. Mo’s Bows are now sold online at Neiman Marcus and Cole Hahn. His neckwear retails at around $50 and are available in 15 states, Toronto and the Bahamas.

He is very hands-on with the creation of Mo’s Bows. He chooses the design of each tie and his style is a myriad of polka-dots, bold stripes, funky paisleys, and sports themed ties. His sports ties opened a seat for Bridges at 2015 NBA Draft where he served as a fashion analyst for the draftees.
Moziah Bridges’ success is certainly engineered by his mother’s support. “You don’t have to wait until you’re older,” his mother Tramica Morris said. “If you have a dream and you have a passion, we say go for it.”

When is he older, his future with Mo’s Bows will be expansive. “I see Mo’s Bows adding neck ties, pocket squares and other accessories for men,” he wrote to FORBES. “I also want to get enough money to start a cool kids clothing company that has nice blazers and pants for kids who like to look good like me.”

On the website, Mo’s Bows now sells squares and t-shirts.

Today he is still managing school and making bow ties, but Bridges has plans to attend college and launch a full fashion line by age 20.

41 comments:

Karlsson said...

Ubanagum

More teenagers should emulate him.

Awwwww that's just like my son!

Impressive, isn't it? #WorldOfOpportunity

God dey

Wow. lemme just crawl back into my shell.

Wow!
Nice one.
Go Mo!

smart mobile apps said...

Great child! I hv a nephew who started a tech company at age 13yr and today his app (crocodile browser) on Google play store has over 50,000 downloads.

Golda Awosika said...

Wow creative little kid. E wud go places.

Thats a nice one.love it,that he making it happen at a tender age!

Now this is what I call NEWS! @ 13? Kai father please help me to realise my destiny and prosper in it...

Wow.....creativity really pays

Easy-E said...

M ashamed of myself...at dis age i still depend on ppl. Nd shame to all of us who ar waitin for linda's give-away...

Thumbs up!!! May God enlarge his coast.

Aww...so good to hear. At least not all black americans are crazy.

Good one!
Family must be proud of him, especially grandma.
Moral lesson : Support your child in whatever they are passionate abt; don't impose urs on them..u'd never know.

Wow wow wow
This is fabulous I must say..
All these boys misbehaving in 9ja shld read this... Na small boy of 13 be this o, αи∂ some men are above 35yrs in 9ja αи∂ still can't place their hands to do a meaningful business for themselves, instead they resort to hiding drugs in their pricks to go sell abroad......
Am inspired.....if u read this, be inspired toooooooooooo

Pls Pray for me as I write my final paper today....can't thank God enough for bringing me this far.....4years of stressful days in school αи∂ finally am a CERTIFIED ACCOUNTANT

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Wow, i like this kid. God strengthen u dear.

pamscrib.blogspot.com

Sucre sophie said...

Wow!!! Nice one,young business man.

Love said...

Nice one there

Woooooooow! He sure is a genius. Linda take note!

This is beautiful wish him all the best I lovevit when kuds are doing amazing things.

Great stuff

Human Being said...

The moment i saw this i remembered watching the episode on shark tank. Quite interesting

Human Being No Be God

I like this! Nice one....

Nice one kiddo...think I need to meet him on advice on how to start my own business

Leesah said...

This it the Nigerian dream we are talking about where its not all about school but what you can offer to the society using ur gift, vision and passion to influence your world #teamsabificate #sabificate #hateschoolloveeducationmakemoney @sabificate

Leesah said...

This it the Nigerian dream we are talking about where its not all about school but what you can offer to the society using ur gift, vision and passion to influence your world #teamsabificate #sabificate #hateschoolloveeducationmakemoney @sabificate

May Allah continue to bless you my President. Please do not forget to look into the issue of Petroleum Technology Development Fund(PTDF). There are a lot of scholarship racketeering going on there. They are kingpins running that agency, who award scholarships to their friends, family and kindred. The scholarships are also being sold to the public. This is not what it was meant to be. Thank you Mr President.

bummyla said...

Congratulations Son! http://www.bummyla.com

Lmao @ waiting 4 Lindas giveaway

Wow, this is really something. Before age 30, he will accomplish more

13, smart and cute. Kudos young one.

wow. nice one

Word!!!

Awesome....This is a good one.

Femi said...

Wao I watched the episode and I was very happy at his decision to choose Daymond John as his mentor and now am more happier at his progress hoping to see the update on shark tank

WoW

Wow, i'm inspired! All thanks to God & grandma