Can you raise a family on N50k a month salary? The conversation that got people talking on twitter | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 March 2015

Can you raise a family on N50k a month salary? The conversation that got people talking on twitter

Throughout yesterday till early this morning, Nigerians argued on twitter on whether a man earning N50k can marry, have kids and raise a family. How would his family survive in the harsh realities of Nigeria? were the questions being firmly argued on. Question is; would you start a family with your husband if he is earning N50k monthly and you are not supporting him financially? But the reality is, many people raise families on less than N50k a month in this country. See the tweets after the cut...

154 comments:

Poverty eya.lindaobserve

Thats how people enter poverty unknowingly. Lindaobserve

Those saying they can't are not from here.

School fees,house rent,baby daipers,feeding and some miscellaneous expenses all in dis 50k????? Its a NO

Zamani said...

Most even live on 30,000 and these mofos are here blabbing. Pls visit rellanaija.blogspot.com

50k? Wah a question? No I cant

In this present nigeria,one can't survive wit 50k salary o.thats y we are voting 4 change, shekenan!

To each his own, when is money enough money to raise a family?
So if you marry man with 300k a month salary, if something happens at his place of work and his salary is slashed, you will leave the marriage.
You know what you want and the resources at your disposal, proper management is key.

Hmmmmmm, its really difficult though.....

Impossible. ----C21

50k a month is very small in a country like this especially when you are in Lagos, PH and Abuja where house rent alone is killing. However, people still raise families with less.

Visit [url=http://www.motherlandjobs.com/f4-job-vacancies]www.motherlandjobs.com[/url] for recent Job Vacancies

Not possible! Even a man and his wife can live on that. But hard work pays. 2 thess 3:10. @Bishop_Dammy

Lois Yassat said...

Linda I knew you would bring this stuff for debate on your blog

HOW CAN DS BE NA???ESPECIALLY ON SOME PART OF D COUNTRY...ITS A NO NO..PHC, ABJ,LAGOS,DELTA,UYO,ETC...TOMJERRYSWIT

For this country 50k no fit raise a family...if onlyb you want to suffer yourself

Pastor videod Touching a Ladies body during a Prayer section in his Office

Mother Teaching Her Daughter a Hard Lesson For Sleeping With a Neighbor

Married Woman Caught Cheating with a Business Man in his Packing Store

Endydecency said...

Its possible, the only thing is that you will remain a poor man.

destinysweet said...

Times re hard!..50k is not enough ooooo,but we hv to manage

Auntylindagoddaughter

50k salary relative?
Depends o...cos God knws I can't manage such....by the time u pay house rent, school fees, bring out money for feeding, pls what's remaining???

4nkylization said...

D woman only needs to work nd den support her husband, wit tym, things would get better if only dey do d needful.

50K salary can raise a family, just knw ur limit.

Oskirin said...

lINDA,IT'S TRUE.IT'S ALL DEPENDS ON UR SPENDINGS.U AV 2 RESTRAIN URCEF TOWARDS DT 50K.IF NT, NA GBOSA 4 D PERSON HEAD.

MY CLEANER IN D OFFICE GOES HOME WITH 20K HERE IN ABUJA.HE HAS 3 CHILDREN.BUT STILL LIVES OK.

It's good Nigerians are FINALLY discussing one of the issues that plague this country. 50K salary a month is unrealistic. If you earn 50K or less, or even a little more, you will always be in debt if you have to survive. A minimum wage should be able to allow an individual SURVIVE!

50k a month is small, however it can be managed. It will take serious cutting your coat to your size and a whole lot of contentment!!! No frills and luxuries.

the cleaner that returned lost cash, is her salary up to 10,000 naira? it's just the grace of God mehn. HARD LIFE WE DEY LIVE FOR NAIJA

Luvly4luv said...

It's not easy here oooh! 50k a month is too poor but wat can a man do? No job elsewhere and u can loose d one given u 50k bcus u r looking another u don't know if it will ever come! Women it's time u face reality and also start something positive to support ur man financially no matter how little. I rest my case Lily nwanne m

It is very very relative. My mother sent me all through school of which I graduated 3 years, fed me very well, pay the bills and even till now does not earn up to 40k. In other hand, I am earning 200k plus and i keep running broke before the end of the month. I am not even married yet. Lifestyle play a major role!!

p.s. number of kids also play a major role too.

it is possible if he wears the cap that fits his head.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

50k is luxury compared so some low earning workers..its really God and hard work criosly

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

We can manage it....a better job will come ...n me I won't just stay deer I will do things to help out too

Big man big problem !If you are poor you can , but if you are rich you cannot.

harsh realities in the country

Tee said...

THANK YOU JESUS!!! AND HERE I AM IN THE UNITED KINGDOM COMPLAINING ABOUT MY £2K MONTHLY SALARY. IT IS WELL OOH!

Both parties involved ie man and wife, have to fully understand the situation, that way no party is deemed unreasonable. 50k is a tight budget but I believe it is doable.

MARCH4BUHARI COUNTDOWN ASO ROCK WILL SHOOK! WATCH THIS SPACE...

Hmmmm, dis na serious question o. #50k can only b managed if extended family won't come 2 ask 4 money. If is only d guy, his wife n kids den is manageable bt if extended family is included, dats a no go area o

Sure there are many places in the country where even a family of 4 will survive conveniently on 50k.
We can't all live in places like Abuja, PH, Lagos...
You just would have to settle for Nokia torch instead of iphone, GoTV instead of DSTV, Royco instead of Knorr and of course 33 instead of Heineken.
You'd survive.
Kids would even get clothes for xmas and Easther.

So many people I know manage less than 50k a month. What they do is improvise, they use napkin or pieces of clothes in place of diaper, eat shawa fish in place of sardine or meat but for me seriously nah by God's grace.

Hear that one" you guys obviously don't know how much diapers cost" mstwwwe. Some ladies are just bad news to men.

ERROR!!
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

I can't. Truth be told!

50k salary bawo, not with the current situation in Nigeria, every month, my husband gives me 30k for housekeeping, and 20k for the kids diapers and baby foods, is the money enough? Hell no u need to see me calculating, cancelling and adjusting my list every time. Meanwhile some families survive on it but it's low quality of living, they cant afford basic things which at the end proves 50k is just too small, but na management we dey do for Niger.

Rekia's Love Hub said...

In some places 50k a month is not a bad pay..buh wait o..nigerians earn lesser n still raise a family..even with this diapers eeish.

Linda thank God u hav b there b4 and u said it all in ur own words "But the reality is, many people raise families on less than N50k a month in this country."

Thumbs up to u Linda and God bless u.

Adeagbo Kabir said...

The most important thing is the blessing of God on any amount of income one earns. To be honest with ourselves, a lot of men earn even less than 50k in Nigeria and are surviving with wife and children. Infact, you will hardly know the difference between them and somebody earning more.

Did you mean 50k or 500k????? Of you meant 50k then this must be the joke of the year. Rent,food,utilities, extended family, health......kids.....Nah

U can....Lots of families survived in dis country with less than 50k...........its a matter of knowing ur boundaries.........Knowing what to acquure and what not to bother urself with........How much do state governments pay their workers in most states???...........It may be difficult but its very possible

Joy(sharonlady002@yahoo.com said...

Hmmm very serious issue

impossible...ah squander over 50k on my dogs under a week

Lots Of People earn less than That...and They Have A Family( More Than 8 Children)...lol....It Is Well...

Nicki said...

I AM VERY SURE 90% OF THESE PEOPLE ARE STUDENTS FROM PRIVATE SCHOOL...I AM A PRODUCT OF A PRIVATE SCHOOL. When you peopl graduate and start looking for jobs in nigeria you will eat your words!! Private schools be making people think life is easy. And most of them will think they have one connection. make una dey dere!!! I cannot say more than that...Dont let people be lying to you about thier salary...Well you all will find out when you graduate.

Hi Linda, it's soo sad dt d rate of poverty in Nigeria is overwelming. I knw pple who raise deir fmly on 8k per mnth, I mean men & am nt lying oo. I remember one of d cleaners @ d hosp where I servd, a woman whose husband ran away with anoda woman & she has 3kids had to manage 8k salary. Though, she's alwayz in debt oo buh dt's all she has to tk care of d fmly. It's really sad oo, d situatn of d country. May God choose d right leader 4 us oo, who will have mercy on d masses. In Nija of 2dy, 50k na big money 4 an average nigerian worker. It's well! Sighhh, weeping 4 my country.

ABEE... said...

Absolutely a joke to live as a family on 50k salary per month.

U can manage 50k if u live in ur own house, married buh without kids..believe only me and my baby consume 50k or more a month..

Flora said...

Hmmmmm, 50k... Omoh, dat amount is small sha ni.. Mayb wen d economy was abit beta, and tins were relatively cheap, but gaskiya, nt nw.. Esp, if d wife is nt doing anytin 2 support her man..

The first tweet..

I know a lot of coy in lagos paying graduates less dan 50k a month. God help us oooooo... dee

So sad cos it cannot even support me as a single G for a month.
I think it is God's blessings that is keeping such family. Really sad situation
Left to me, everybody should have money to at least take care of the 3 basic necessities of life, talking about Food, Clothing and Shelter, or can u imagine a Living Human Being having no FOOD to EAT, CLOTHE to WEAR and a HOUSE to SLEEP. How will u feel lacking even one of those? So Sad a situation it is.

no arguemnt on this....it is impossicant!!!! talk abt rent, food, schl fees, diapers......etc...leave story biko...its not possible

MISSVEE

PRETTY GIRL said...

50k salary ke with family without financial support from wife? Put simply #POVERTY

Impossible. Ppl dat does that is becos dey hv device anoda means of getting egunje from dat same ofis or outside deir ofis. That is d problem wit employer of labour in dis country , they don't pay nd even at dat 50k they wil still over use u

Well see some people still raise a family on on less than 10k income a month, at least my mum raise me nd my 2 siblings, it was not comfortable neither did we get all we wanted but she raise us in good morals, we grew up to be contented nd hardworking, wat u earn shldnt stop u frm raising a family, my opinion

People dat sell gala nd ice creams have wives nd kids in school... The grace of God see them through its not abt how much one earns

I know Hausa men who raised families on less, like the Avariberry handle said, it is relative.

chikaezez.blogspot.com said...

some family survives with 20k per month sef talk less of 50k, dat na mega money for some pp oo

Some earn like 15k a month in Abuja and hell did not fall.

How is that even possible? That's less than a week salary on 40hour per week job on minimum wage in the UK. Are things that cheap in Nigeria?

BIG FISH * said...

YES is Very Possible to raise a family with 50k salary per/m

Think of Drivers, Office Assistance, Labourers, Cleaners, Gateman, Gardeners... Most of them are married with kids and they re managing. Its all depends what you want in life.

*THE BigFish of The Nation*

Jewel said...

It's actually relative. If u cut your coat according to your size. You can.

Considering the recent high exchange rate and the rate of imports over export, it basically makes 50k equivalent to N1000 for a single lady talkmore of a family consisting of mother, father and children (4 or 5)

it's possible, depending on the individual

There are lots of married men that earn way less than that. Like @AVARIBBERY rightly said, "know your limit". Linda take note!

It is very possible to raise a family with 50k
I know families of 6 , 7 even 8
That the man doesn't even earn up to 50k sef
So is common everywhere

Linda. My hubby earns 15k, we hv a daughter, I'm an applicant still searching for job and God has been faithful. Not enough thou bt being trying to be contented with what we have for now and struggling to make things better and I bliv God will give me a job soon. So it's possible to survive well on 50k. Cut ur coat according to ur material

Na serious matteroooo 50k money for bear or asun...mehn with plenty of gari,water,suger,kulikuli and concorshor rice will do.

a man alone can survive on 50k but raise a family? nah I don't think so

50k is a small amount to raise a COMFORTABLE family on monthly. There are people raising their families below that amount and are still surviving but checkout the standard of living: prolly a batcher, face-me-i-face-you or squatting where the bills and rent can accomodate that amount. Feeding n other expenses is as the pocket can carry, napkin substitutes diaper. Naija is a country where the poorest can still survive so, yes, It is possible.

E no go reach simple!!

50k! With d way things are in d country right nw is a small money especially 4 a family man...its not enough ah!

E no go reach simple!!

ONLY POSSIBLE OUTSIDE LAGOS. CAUSE HERE IN LAG, TRANSPORT FARE TO WORK PLACE WOULD AV TAKEN 60% OF THAT MONEY

50k...900 riggint...but some people are surviving with less than that *sigh*

Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com said...

Its difficult but you can manage.

There is noty impossible in dis nigeria,pple who earn less dan dat to feed dia family r numerous may God hav mercy

The Truth said...

Some people saying I cant, not possible, no way and more should go and sit down. Some of them saying no way are still a burden to their parents. Stand up and go get it on your own. Dont rob, be a true christian or muslim. dont break laws and tell me how many of us will still make that N50k monthly. When a woman does N150k how can she manage. I pray for better life and better choices but N50k is some whole family' salary. Dad earns N20k mum N12k son N15k and N3k comes as gift. And there are 2 other jobless daughters whom their boyfriendS take care of their needs.

Ok o sit down dere make pant dey wear you!is so so possible my hubby earns less dan 50k and I'm not working just trying everyday to make little moni to support my hubby and we are doing fine with d grace of God we even have two pple staying Wt us!cut ur cloth according to ur cloth!Life go beta

Carolyn Asuquo said...

A prudent woman can make do of #50k a month... Most tym bin dependent is an issue, so a woman also has 2 find means 2 b productive.

I'm not gonna join the group of people deceiving themselves... saying that 50k is too small.

I have seen families that lived on 50k, sent their children to universities.

Life is what u make of it... dey stayed in a r/parlour for many years b4 dey finally built theirs.

very possible.. I was raised with a salary less than 20k...

No we can see that some Nigerians are living hell on heart, yet they will come out smiling. There are many people earning less than 10K in Nigeria they are surviving but the quality of life they living is nothing to write home about.

You need prayers...over 200k and going broke b4 month end, without kids???

Impossible is the word. Follow on Twitter @darlingng and Instagram @darlingnigeria

Omo oninakuna, thank God you know you are squandering..

Amen, good wife

lost my job after we got married, for two yrs no job and when I finally got one it was project staff for about another two yrs with 50k less WHT and that is when we had our first child. Though things are far better now. we managed it! The fundamental thing is, what is your lifestyle?

Activista Nigeria said...

You can survive on 50k. A starting point does not mean it should be there forever. Some bankers are paid 70k. what is the difference. Planning and wise money management.

I'm sure the dogs look better than u if the pic on ur avatar is urs

for 50k, you will have to live in a room face-me-I-face-u of 4k per month. PHCN bill 1k per month, LAWMA 200 naira, sweeping of compound 500 naira.. that is N4,700 bill a month. trans to work, lets say to & fro 5H per day. which is about 13k/month. lunch 200 per day will be about n5,200/month... about N22,900 all non avoidable exp. so how much come remain for you and ur family.,..... just 27k... that is easy way to untimely death

Well it will amaze u all if I told u have been earning 50k since I was single and I got married still on 50k and now I have 2 kids going to one of the best school around ojodu and am still on 50k and my wife is not working. I stay in 3 bed room flat and I pay all bill till date. Of cos its not been easy but u can survive it if u have a faithful and bless woman as a wife.

Very very possible. The family can still safe from that too.

It's POSSIBLE to raise a family with 50k, at least start from there.

My husband was earning 40k when we got married in December 2014, we live in a mini flat for now, we don't have a car, we eat what we can afford, we go to the movies sometimes, WE LIVE BETWEEN OUR MEANS(dunno if that's correct english,lol)... we courted for 3years before getting married, I was with him when he had no job, will I now say because he got a 40k job, I won't marry him? HELL NO. we ain't getting younger. He's in his early 30s and I'm in my late 20s. Oh yes, I was scared before marrying him considering the fact that I don't have a job but I believe in God and believe in the fact that things will change for good and also hoped i'll get a job soonest so I ll be supportive(i still don't have a job)... Fast forward to February, hubby started earning 150k, fast forward to march, hubby got some contracts with good sums and by God's grace, I believe things will continue to get better.

I know you'll say we don't have children yet so I can't judge, but I also experienced it at home before getting married, dad earns below 30k, sometimes below 20k depending on how business moved in a month and we were all Ok but I tell u it wasn't easy cos we are four children.

Sorry for my long epistle, all I'm trying to say is....it is possible.

First time you're reasonably making sense in centuries...

Maxwell Akalonu please shut the hell up and stop forming trash! If as you say, you spend over N200,000 on ur dogs alone, how much do u earn? Even if you earn a million permonth and spend over 200k, dats about 20% of your salary on dogs then you are a first class fool!

Why will you? When you dont even work? Full house wife wanna be.

na chuwa-chuwa dey help us for this country o! that's why low income earners need chuwa chuwa even our highly paid Ogas too love chuwa-chuwa.

YES LINDA!its very possible. SO many people earn less than 50k and they are comfortable. truth be told if u cant manage 50k u cant manage 500k per month, so many people commenting are jst being unrealistic. Life is all about planning and determination.People have bought lands out 50k salary. learn to make good use of what you have.May God help us all.

People are doing it o!

That's a good pay you've got. Be thankful.

Comrade said...

as a student 50k a month isn't even helpful not to talk of being married with kids ts just absurd

Many people in Nigeria live below that amount#takenote#

Many Nigerians live below that amount

Mrs TC said...

As small as it is, we still manage. Some even earn less. Two ways to it (1) You cut your coat according to material. lol. You stay in 1 room apartment in AJ or at most 1 room and parlour, public toilet and kitchen. And the wife is trading somewhere along the road. (2) The wife earns much higher and foots the bills.
Either ways, it's not easy at all.

Mrs TC said...

As small as it is, we still manage. Some even earn less. Two ways to it (1) You cut your coat according to material. lol. You stay in 1 room apartment in AJ or at most 1 room and parlour, public toilet and kitchen. And the wife is trading somewhere along the road. (2) The wife earns much higher and foots the bills.

Mrs TC said...

Linda please post my comment.

50k monthly is small but still OK if well managed. So many people here in Nigeria re raising families with less than 50k....

mapindi said...

I have always seen you as the "solomon" of LIB... more wisdom sir Bonario.

So true. It depends how one manages the money. I used to earn 4 times what I am earning now but I feel better off and know how to manage well. I still mantain a wife, 2 children, house and car and save a little. I guess it is also Gods grace.

obiora said...

It's all about management.

iyke cindy said...

It's possible buh u goto knw ur limit....no luxury livin nd all sorts...

Alot people been talking about UK UK. Am in the UK. Your monthly rent on a room in SE London will pay 1yr in 9ija, c/tax is 100+gbp, tv parmit 10gbp per month, light, oyster top up 22gbp per week Feeding, clothing not Primark cheap wears. Road tax. Gas, etc. 50k is big money in 9ija lot of you girl given wrong advice on here work with expression company in agege with 15k salary. 50k is lot of money in other parts of the country apart from lag.ph.delta.uyo.abj.. Where we buy Remy martin in club for 20k and think life is bed of roses. It's not about what you earn but ur mind set, location , cutting ur coat according to ur cloth. God bless 9ija.

ordinarily, 50k is not enough for a whole month, but is manageable to some extent when d parties involved is ready to sow their suit according to d available material. my opinion!

abujakenneth said...

Very possible even with N25k total monthly income.

I know a corper that is currently raising a wonderful family with 30k and I can't phantom it but he says it's management and 50k will do so much for them. It's proper management and no they don't look malnourished or annoyed at the world. Things will get better. To earn 50k is not bad and with prudent management, you will also save from it. Not stingy prudent management

#Lol - loads of civil servants are earning 18k per month as minimum wage; the woman that returned 12m worth of money was earning less than 13k a month; statistics have it that more than 70% of Nigerians are living under $1 per day. There is a lot of disconnect between LIB and the reality.

#smh – desperados - Trained Snipers (OBJ talked about this) to assassinate opposition during violence that will ensure after GEJ loses? There is also evidence that he (Tinubu) was invited to be part of the Interim Government as a way of dividing us as a prominent member of our party. There is absolutely nothing they cannot do to distract us because they could see that the Presidency is slipping off their hands.

Sai Buhari

Very hard to manage

This seems quite hard to deal with but I recently heard from a reliable source of a Man who has worked for years with a Goldsmith somewhere in Lagos and currently earns about N15,000 per month. He has a family but has remained honest to his Employer who is currently not in the country. I found it hard to believe but the source said that the Lady who oversees the shop (due to lack of a proper job) is a graduate who earns N20,000 and on a certain day she gave the Man a pack of Cheeseball (Childrens' maize & cheese snack), the Man was so grateful and almost prostrated in gratitude.
I guess the Man's wife has always augmented the family income but it is a real wonder how he has survived over the years and also remained honest in the midst of the Gold items..........food for thought.

Dobzi fingers said...

It's poor but A lot of people raise their families on less than 50k
http://dobzifingers.blogspot.com/?m=1

With 50k you will never look healthy

...na GOD o!

Obi said...

You are a wise woman...

I can imagine how u run ur husband into the ground.

What does the woman do to support his man? I see the man being roasted in all of this. Is the woman disabled nii? I am a woman oooo.

Nah not possible

Grace of God plus proper planning. If a 50k salary earner has 5 children, he can't ask me how to survive. i have lived in such hard times and I respect the courage of my parents; we never felt it. We knew we couldn't have certain things but once in a while my dad ll just shower is with small things and that would be ok for 5/6months

La' Heiress said...

Is 50k enough to raise a family in Nigeria? No. But then you can't continue waiting for him to earn millions before you settle down with him, our parents married for far less than that and they survived, somehow, you will survive. I for one won't tell a man who is ready to settle down no just because he earns 50k a month. We would find a way to make it work. As an entrepreneur, I know how hard it is to make 50k a month.

I do not support ppl bringing children in the world with the full knowledge of their financial state so the child can come suffer with them. It is a selfish act to do this just because you want to know what it feels like to have a child. God prepared everything on earth before man was created, food and water in abundance, light, oxygen, and an alive and creative mind to find innumerable ways to use the tools here. Now, if God made sure all was in place in abundance for your birth, why would you not do the same for your child?

This money is not suitable to raise a family, it is barely suitable to sustain one person with ease. Let's be wise in life. Nigeria does not have a safety net to catch you if you fall, no free housing, food stamps, monthly benefits or welfare; you are completely on your own so know yourself!

U b ode...shay u don even see d 50k work?.... Suya selling aboki

How could u, an opp like u

Maybe if you go find a job, you will do less cancelling and adjusting. Nonsense.

50k for a man wit wife and kids is small but it can be managed. All that is required is to live a life of some1 earning 50k and not try to be like your neighbour who earns more.

Hmmm dey will b single till christ come,pls ur boy frds kindly do a researh on dere salaries u would b amazed.dey dey all live a fake life cos he borrow from taye n kehinde to take u out,hmmmmmm dey there, so you can support

You must have saved up a lot as a single man!

Ethel said...

Bonario best comment so far.

Noway not enough money!

surf and earn

http://www.topcash.club/tony2

The truth is d wife has to be supportive. There r some couples whose hubby could not even get 50k a month.