Photo: Woman gives birth to baby without arms in Ogun, husband runs | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 26 February 2015

Photo: Woman gives birth to baby without arms in Ogun, husband runs

A woman identified as Mrs Taiwo Sheriffdeen gave birth to a baby boy without arms in Ifo LGA of Ogun state on Tuesday February 24th. According to a report by Punch, the woman gave birth to the baby, her first child, at Majotal Hospital, a private hospital in the Ilogbo area of Ado/Odo-Ota Local Government Area of the state.

Speaking on the birth of her deformed baby, the mother said her husband, Mudashiru Sheriffdeen, ran away after he was told that their child was deformed at birth (the baby pictured above).
“This is my first child and I do not know why I gave birth to this kind of a baby. Immediately my husband was informed that his son had deformity, he ran away and had not come to see me. He is a commercial bus driver, and we had been married now for almost two years before God decided to answer our prayers.
When I was pregnant, we took every steps that the doctor directed us to take, but we did not know why we came about this calamity" she said.
According to the woman, her husband and the landlord of the place where she lives have asked her not to bring the child home. She also pleaded with the government to come and help her by adopting her baby
“I have been warned by both my husband and our landlord not to bring the child home. The hospital management has asked us to leave the hospital. Now, this child and I have nowhere to go, I don’t need this baby. I want government to adopt him.” she said

Source: Punch

155 comments:

Wow,

Wow!

EEEEH! N WAT CUD B D PRBLM???TOMJERRYSWIT

Jesus is Lord...only God knows. Karma is a bitch!!!

If only she knew wonders kids like this bring forth from heaven... fuck both her useless hubby and the idiotic man called the lanlord

Eya

Don't say u don't need the baby

Na wa ooo....what a sad thing....

Deformity can occur as a result of medical reasons or intake of too much drugs during pregnancy.......why will the man ran away.......that's not fair at all

:::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::

This isn't right at all, how can the man run away and now the mother doesn't want the baby either. Poor child.

Hintealand said...

na wa ooo. God help one help all.

............****PRAY4NIGERIA****............

Nawa but dis child is from God know

Nawa o! How is it the baby's fault now that he doesn't have arms?..even the mother does not want him, poor baby...

Woman u are just a foool,u hve being luk for child and u hve one you said u dn't need it again,u nver knw wht dis child will be tomorrow, God pls come to d aid of dis child.......

OmG

ugo said...

Gift of God. On special Assignment.....

Awww! I could feel her pain, but that's not the reason for to say she doesn't need the baby.
I pray help comes her way.

Wow,the ignorance and myopic minds of most Nigerians just baffles me!! How can u call ur own child a CALAMITY? Even if everyone desert d child,d mother shud not!!

This is so sad :( .linda observe

God forbid but if i ever get a dis-formed baby,I'll ask the doctor to dispose it..No need to let you or the baby go through the life time struggle.

Oh this is sad.. deformity

Allah sarki.. only God knows why these things happen to the undeserving. . I just hope it wasn't agbo n concoctions that caused this. . God will take control. .pele

OMG! Dis is too good to b true...
I wonder wht really d happened dat d baby was born lik dis.

I hope sth wil b done abt dis.

This Is Serious... Jeeez..
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

mummy3 budapest said...

Na wah oooo some people sha! D hands dint form mayb Becos of a lack of nutrient or something. There a boy in Brazil that came out @ birth without both feets but d boy is such an enthusiastic boy he has meet more important people. In life than most of normal people Becos of his dreams and aspirations. But for 9ja every thing na curse shm... welcome 2 d world jare lil prince he is such a cutie

Amelia,,result of thalidomide which might have present in d herbs she took during pregnancy,,we ll continue 2 say it,,"stay off agbo, it does more harm than good"

This is so sad :( .linda observe

Hmmm... Madam think twice. You are not God who knows the end from the beginning.#Think

The lord understands and knows every situation, he would surely give you peace. John 14:6. @Bishop_Dammy

Ngoo said...

Madam u are soo useless

I feel for this woman, one wouldn't blame the husband. Their first child.. too bad. God knows why.

How shallow minded people can be *smh* so if he was born as an imbesile,she'll throw him away abi??? Madam, beta take proper care of that baby! He's human and he's urs!

Before "God" decided to answer their prayers?! Here's hoping she didn't go seeking for a baby from jazz men!

Cynthia Iyede said...

This is a sad case. It is well.

Ignorance is a disease.There's. Girl i used to see in town exactly with same condition as this baby.And she does almost everything by herself.Special kids like this have a way of adapting and not being a burden to their parent.Remember Nick the motivational speaker? This parent needs enlightenment and support biko

Chai, u don't new this baby? Chai, wheris the motherly love...

Dave Mide said...

She called her baby " a calamity " ...oops! Its strange tho ...God forgive me , i wouldnt want such baby too

sad story..........................#6God

Funso Samuel said...

It is well. I feel for the woman. God will surely help her out.

princesa said...

Speechless...for every action,there is equal and opposite reaction. I pray solution comes

God knows best.

OKORO UPGRADED

Dis is sad, but its not d baby's fault , so she should shower d child with love. Though it won't be easy. God go strengthen her. Linda take note!

God...didn't they do scan or what.nigerian and their rubbish medicals,how is it posible this deformity wasn't detected b4 birth.so sad.

Dis is sad, but its not d baby's fault , so she should shower d child with love. Though it won't be easy. God go strengthen her. Linda take note!

shollymama said...

Eyah,I wonder what woulda coursed this I pity the mother nd the baby

OMG unbelievable
heartbreaking, so touching

Even if d husband abandon d child,I don't tink d woman should also abandon d baby.God has a reason 4 evrytin.I believed it is meant 4 a purpose. Pls raise d child.

Dis woman n her husband sef, #poor child# may God 4gv both of u.

And is it the baby's fault that he did not develop fully? I can also see that the legs are not well developed. No one knows what this child could turn out to be. Woman take your child and cater for him, he is your flesh and blood. Ever heard of a mother's love for a child being unconditional.

This is terrible situation

uwa said...

You don't want her ?
The govt should come adopt her ? and drop it for who/where ?
Govt house ?
If you don't want your baby because she's deformed , then who the heck do you expect to want her ?
I really pity the girl . Instead of you to be pleading for help on how to give her a better life and technical arms you're busy looking for who to inherit your issues .
Silly woman .

Eeya so sad

David Iyke said...

VERY IN HUMAN ON THE WOMAN PART. YOU DON'T NEED YOUR BABY BECAUSE HE IS DISABLED ABI? IF YOU REJECT HIM DO YOU THINK THAT GOD WILL BE PLEASE WITH YOU AND GIVE ANOTHER?IF OTHERS REJECT HIM YOU DON'T HAVE TO DO SAME!

This woman is most likely the cause of her problem and now she is looking for government to adopt the child. Who is government?
When a woman is pregnant, she is not supposed to drink any medicine especially in the first three months of pregnancy. This is because the medicine can interfere with the proper formation of the baby. That is why you are not meant to drink even paracetamol but you will see women, they will drink herbs and all sorts of things and when their child is deformed, they will start looking for government to adopt the poor baby. Small thing now it will become Jonathan's fault.

GREEN said...

GOD have mercy on them.

nkiru4love@yahoo.com

CHIOMA JESU said...

Chai ya God will c u tru dear... Tek heart.

Oh dear, but there's hope oooo. U dnt hv to abadon ur own child. I see greatness in dis child! Plz God will help u. Dnt throw d child away plz

so sad for the lady...

Tins hapen 4 a reason, she shud by jst abandon dat child like dat, God is not a man dat he shud b mocked.

why is every body rejecting the innocent baby is not his fault to be like that.

Ooh God, this is serious. chaii

faashtrends. Blogspot. Com said...

Super bad. wish her God's mercy and above interventions

But Y? Lord help dis child, let him b a testimony for all 2 see, too bad, your mercy is all I ask for, on behalf of dis innocennt baby
*crying*

Poor baby...did he ask to come to this world??...there is so much wrong with Nigeria ....didn't they do scans etc during her pregnancy? My heart goes out to this child...Lord please take him home and save him from his lifetime predicament...

Nawaooo

DADDYSWIFE said...

Chai,such is life,is dis kind of baby dt her life wil later become a beautiful exceptional life,then d father wil now come bk n b sayin jagons.may he run forever oo,stupid man,tomorrow if d baby becomes a big leader tomorow d cowardice wil come n start beggin for forgiveness,yeye dey smell

take it ezy with the baby by the way are you trying to say that you dont have any relative that can help you and your baby?

Linda pls call forr help, sumtin can still b done. Oh lord!

Joy Monique A said...

Na wa oooo

I'm confused at your comment.😕

She's crazy.......

Loisy said...

Prolly all the Agbo she took. Linda, É‘̤̥̈̊ Dr in ph was abducted and murdered after his family had paid 15M. I haven't seen the news here oº°˚ ˚°Âº!

This is sad. it is a shame that she see or called her child 'a calamity'. no one prays to have a child with any form of disability but life happens to people. I also know how difficult it is raising a disabled child in this country but if my parents can do it, I think others can. this innocent child didn't ask to come to this world like this. So woman, carry your child home, nurture and love him.

Lord hav mercy

God have mercy....

Too good to be true????? Like seriously???? Hahaha! Oyibo grammar! It doesn't fit in dear cos there's notin too good about this situation... Except the cute lil prince tho

who knows the concution she took during the pregnancy...smh

MISSVEE

And d hubby ran away! Ehyaaaaa!

Mysterious!!!earn money online without stress.visit http://youthsalary.com/?user=117662

PRETTY GIRL said...

Terrible experience! The husband is an Asswhole though...I pray she gets the help she needs#sad

My goodness! This is scary! The hubby and landlord have acted irresponsibly by insisting the baby doesn't come home. The child is still a baby. Who wud take of it?

I hate hate hate hate it when fine girls cannot speak good english!!!!
What the hell is *why will the man ran away*?? Pls clean up real fast and match ur face with ur english!!!

*been
Dont call someone a fool and talk to God all at once...show some respect!!!

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

I can imagine the shock but some people need to transition their mind.

rossy said...

Is not their fault. God gave the a baby and they called him calamity. They are yet to see calamity. Govt should please take the boy before they kill him.

Nurudeen said...

Allahu Akbar

Is not fair at all to the baby. They don't know the future of the baby that's y they are acting like that.

Abi o, God wl send helper 2 r n d baby IJN

This child will turn out to be a blessing

What type of mystery is this for christ sake.... No doubt she will be scared of giving birth again.....

"i dont need this baby, i want the govt to adopt him?" R u listening to yrslf, if u dont want him, wot makes you tink d govt wld want him. You dont know he cld be the next Nick Vujicic.

Only God can give children and they are a source of blessings weda deform or not.... if pity the husband.

Obviously she took something that affected this kid, his legs do not look proportional to me! But this isn't the way to treat a child shA

A child is a blessing from God.
Im disappointed at the reaction of both parents. Its a pity

The funny part of this story is the landlords part. Seriously, why will the landlord refuse the baby entry into the parents house when house rent has been paid. Na for Africa we they hear this kind things....

I really do feel d plights of d woman and I pray she get help asap.

Only God knows y he gave them the child instead of them to appreciate him but what kind of husby and landlord is that?

Hembafan said...

reincarnation.

Why must you be abusive....ijeoma nawa 4u

Speechless.....

they are as bad as each other, Imagine her saying she doesn't want the child after two years of waiting!

I thought as much though we might b thinking too far.

@ Mr knw it all, mind u it mite be to d urge to reply fast. Imagine sum1 who stated d likely causes of d deformity n ended up wif jst #HonestMistake. Chai I tire for una oooo

well i'm not surprised by her reaction,shes a first time mother nd going by wat her heard abt d pains of first birth, i dnt tink she felt any pains at all else she wuldnt be talking abt adopting her future, so many are even loking d ones without legs nd arms, so dey culd be deir HnL. may God 4give u nd ur husband 4 not appreciating him.

9ce way to point out mistakes...not unlike Mr knw it all, who can't stop using offensive language on sum1 else lyk "What d Hell" #Kudos.

Nitro said...

Everything you get na GODWIN, if I was the husband I would've ran away totally sef, my first child deformed???

Nitro said...

You sef calm down with your english HABA!!!

Go and sit down Mr. Lecturer. Mistakes happen.

I hate it when people are so superstitious. Poor baby. And the baby might just prove to be an inspiration to others in the future.

@Anon,tnx for correcting d bitch!

Sonipinky said...

Almost like dis Pastor dat hz no arms n legs..jst sth dat looks like feet. Most of dem become great in d future,it can only take tym

XO said...

Buhahahahahahaha! Anon, take it easy biko. Lol

XO said...

*been *looking for a child! How difficult is that???

well i tink calamity is when u spend all ur life being called bearing miss karma and all ur mates are being referred to as grandma nd grand pa, den u knw wat kalamity is all abt.if u really want to show ur depression get rid of the baby ur self u dnt need d govt to do dat.

APC members be like " GEJ should be blamed for this, he's clueless else the woman will not have this experience" God knows best woman,never reject God's creature.

osac said...

Why the hatred? Please be polite.

Well it is life we ve to accept everything dat comes and not run away Wats d point she wants to abadon her baby its really sad sha

Praise the Lord! Linda take note inventor u finally change ur profile pics. I hardly comment but I read almost all the comments on each post and I know almost all d regular guys n babes in this blog.

Aww. what a painful surprise... Help is coming soon.. Don't reject the gift frm God

feel so bad for the mother and even the baby. very sad

She must have consumed a drug or concoction dt caused dis problem probably one of these herbal mixtures,a pregnant woman shd only take what her obstetrician prescribes,nothing more

Please royal whatever you call yourself...please dont use phrases you dont understand...how can you write this is too good to be true....in what context....

blood of jesus

Nigeria and their 'rubbish medicals'?why do u hv to jump in2 conclusions?y r u so biased?I'm sure d very 'medicals' (whteva dt means) ure slamming told her to keep off drugs n agbo and stick to wht she ws given @d hospital bt no!dt was too much to ask,dont just speak cos u feel u hv an opinion

@anon @ 9:37, scan no be100 percent. Things happen. Love the baby woman n forget ur stupid hubby.

Is not the fault of the woman. The husband running away will not give the innocent child back his hands. All they need to do now is to accept the baby with faith. Who knows, he might be their proud Tomorrow. God who created the boy without hands can never forsake him. May God be with you all.

They don't know his future

This baby is a blessing. He needs a mom who'll love him more for all he'll experience in this life. God bless his heart.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_EdlNpqJjPc

please watch this video and be encouraged...

Eyah, I feel for this woman. Its not easy honestly after carrying the child in your womb and then this. But she should love the child no matter what, women always always have this motherly love no matter how the child is

Onyinyechukwu

ASAMPOKOTO said...

@anon 11:08 how does that change the fact that a scan should have been done

Anonymous 9:28 wow! U actually said this? oh..!!!! Many people are suffering from what they actually caused for themselves, hope ur statement doesn't hurt u in future. Use your words judiciously

Yes karma is a bitch. That's why we are waiting to see your own baby. Stupid cow.

I can adopt d baby if she doesn't want

Look all of you saying scans are not 100%, yes I agree but during all my pregnancy scans I was shown babys 2 arms and legs and their lengths were measured. You get shown the four chambers of the heart, kidneys, blood vessels etc.... Yes things can still be missed but no way is anyone going to make me believe this lady had any scans. Probably no ante natal too.. It's obvious.

All of u forming english professors,that mistake can happen to anyone. Aboki u can like to shut ur gutter.calling someone bitch.Anu!

So in this day of an age some Nigerians don't know that a disabled child is not a curse from God rather a medical reason. Nigerians needs to get informed in things that matters rather than talking about money all the time. Money without common sense.

Hmmmm. A blessing has turned to calamity? That child will be great.
May God open our heart and mind
Mrs Feyi

@Aboki shut that gutter u call a mouth. How dare u call her a bitch? Anu mpama!

She don vex oooooo madam carry your cross oooooo diz baby may be a blessing to you

This is reason why regular early scan is needed. God makes no mistake He will sure take care of him.

Of a truth, she is not happy bout her situation right now and I don't think its really right for her to say she doesn't need the baby. No one knows how great the boy can be in life

Na wa ooiio

Dispose? Seriously! Imagine if Ur own mother disposed of U at birth. There are charities and motherless babies homes that would take the child. The hospital should have been able to direct her on what next to do but sadly Nigerian hospitals are just as incompetent as the father of the child

Tpy said...

This is Holt-oram syndrome

Hahahaha

Na wa oo
Poor baby ..did notin wrong!

Things like this happen and it's not because of any agbo.
I understand the woman's plight cos nigeria is not yet ready to accept children born like this.
I myself have a lovely daughter born with one hand no fully formed and yet I still think of where things went wrong.
Also scans are not always accurate cos my own scans showed both hands fully formed.
She's needs to see a psychiatrist soon cos she might have evil thoughts in her head.
But truth be told, I don't think the mother can give the child the care and love he deserves.

phocomelia syndrome

So sad,hmmm

Ms Peace said...

Eh as she ever heard of the man without limbs, Nick Vujicic? The federal government needs to re enforce education. Illiteracy is indeed a disease

this is rejection from birth, oh Lord wht kind of thing is this, how can both parents reject such a special child has this, i no God has a perfect plan 4 this child, he will be a blessing to the world. may God help us all... Amen

just wish i have enough money and power to help this child..... someone should please take the child away fro, this wicked parent of him, before they kill this innocent Angel... may God send the perfect helper to him, Amen