Dear LIB readers, should I take political ads? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 10 January 2015

Dear LIB readers, should I take political ads?

Abeg, I need y'all to help me out with this dilemma. Contrary to what some of you think, I haven't, so far, collected a dime from any political party to run ads or a story. If you see any banner ads on my blog, it's from Google adsense and not direct from me. And the stories are absolutely not sponsored.

But the thing is, in the last few months, and it has especially intensified in the last few weeks, reps of political parties have been coming to me to run their ads. And the kind of money they are throwing at me...OMG! Lol. So far, I have resisted. I restrict my ads to strictly brands but these political ad  people will not leave me alone. They say every media platform in the world run political ads so I should be open minded. I'm talking about APC, PDP, their supporters and enemies.

And the money is PLENTY! Like, y'all won't believe how much they are throwing at me.. Lol. What do y'all think? Should I run political ads from both parties? It could make me increase LIB Giveaway Mondays, so all of us will chop inside. Lol. Or should I just leave it alone? I'm sincerely confused. *sigh*

1,690 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   1601 – 1690 of 1690

Anty Lin u ddnt post my comment on dis, its not fair ooo

Don't get yourself entangled in politics...Doing advert is a sure way to become a target to the opposing party...please stay away from politics...#This is Nigeria

U BE MUMU O! IF LINDA NO ACCEPT D OFFER HOW SHE GO GET MONEY GIVE U 100K?

Lindodo, I think you need to grab this opportunity jare. Just make sure you put a disclaimer stating that is a sponsored message to distance yourself from the opinion.

FJ said...

abeg dnt get involved in political mess.....u re already wealthy......nd u will b wealthier without deir cash......

My dear Linda, please flee from all the appearance of the devil. It is better to have your peace than all the silver and gold in this world.

Truth!

Run the ads Linda. why u dey even reason am so?

My opinion: Run the adverts only on the condition that your blog would be open for all political parties: PDP,APC etc. But pls accept their offer.

collect your money dont let sentiments stop our bizness, why are u evn asking collect it and let us chop insyd too

*Singing */Shorty I dnt mind if u dance on a pole so as long u coming bck home, go ahead make dt moni moni moni .... LOL Linda cash out big tyme.

Na wa oooo, fuck u too,be there counting bridges in Lagos. Linda abeg collect your money and enjoy yourself jare.

abeg collect am jare

I think it's ok for u to do the ads.

Run the ads but don't collect from one particular party. Run ads for all parties that pay you. Channels TV, ait, silver bird all run commercials for them but they don't come to tell you to support any particular person or party. Even churches tell their members to vote wisely with out saying vote for A or B. Just run a neutral commercial and make your billions. You are a business woman, do your business and collect your money without sentiments.

Obianuju Ozoeze said...

See Linda o! What kind of question is that?

JAMB question!! Collect the money

I wish I am you, you should take the money and help the needy and poor people especially the young youths, God bless.

I understand the whole money thing. R u blogging just because u want to make money? Pls don't get involved with this pple who will give u money just for now. U hv built something powerful don't let it be ruined by these politicians. For u to be asking means u know you shouldn't. You heart is not comfortable with it . You just want blog visitors to help convince you. Well the decision is yours.

it is normal Linda.you can add political ads if any political party you like it doesn't mean you are getting mixed up with politics,it only complement your own business.

African Icon said...

All na business Joor. Unless you see it as misleading people, there is nothing wrong with it. Run the ads with no prejudice or bias.
Afterall, nobody will ask you who to vote for. Each person know who he/she wants in power.
..Her Majesty

Stay neutral cos do winner might come to fight back at you if u did not advertise theirs much

Linda my mum is almost 80yrs old and she's an addict on ur blog. She says u shouldn't collect cos after d election, d loosing party may try to eliminate u and ur business. Politics in Nigeria is unpredictable and is a dirty game. Wetin old woman see from chair wey she sidown, if small girl like u climb iroko, u no fit see am. # word

Collect the dough and run the adverts.

COLLECT YA MONI

What next? U start running their ads and start sleeping with them next?

Wetin be ur own
Since u will be doing both
You won't be offending anybody
Abeg collect am oooo

SUNNYben said...

Hello Linda,

It's ok that you're cautious about this, but I don't think there is anything wrong with taking political adverts/advertorials.

Just ensure to be professional about it, which I know you always are.

Linda o abeg take political ads, I carry God name beg u.

cece said...

Linda my dear, you run a blog...Ur a business woman and not a politician. If all the parties in naija come to u asking for advert placements,pls be a smart/classy lady and make that money with your eyes wide open. So long as you don't take sides with either party. Girl this is 2015. Let God give u wisdom...He said in His word...He gives wisdom to make wealth..ngwa...let's go!

Baddest Puta said...

Omo as tempting as it sounds, I don't just trust politicians sha.

I say you shouldn't.... maintain your credibility by staying away from political ads. CNN Intl. has for years been refusing political ads of any kind in order to maintain their credibility. In spite of your best efforts, it will be very difficult to appear neutral. Remember "he who pays the piper........"

Linda, You need to shut the fuck up! Why r u like this?

To me, you seem comfortable with whatever money you have - money is not a problem, I like your blog mainly because of the neutrality. And this ads are they going to be specific to just one political party. If they see it beats the effect of the neutrality it would seem you're encouraging your fans to vote for just the one person you seem to like.

Yes o.linda baby beta take.no reason am o.or u no win buy range 2015

Na wa look, see as politics get so much comment

yemi said...

Linda plenty of cash is a great way to start the year.... but Nigerian politics is too dirty a game to risk your life on..... Please don't get mixed up in the mess. Linda please don't do it. This one ain't worth it.

There is no end to 'wanting more money', but there is to 'needing more'. I frankly think you only want more and not needing more! And from political groups in Nigeria?, I hope you won't regret it.

James Olorunosebi said...

Haba Linda, how can you be confused? Are you not a Ibo girl again? Have you converted to Yarinya?...or your blog is now an NGO?...or charity organization?...pls run ads jare, is Google not running it?...or is your blog not for business again?....you are lucky am not your boss...I would have you suspended without pay till the election is over. So take it from your never-to-be CEO on this blog, run the ads of everybody who wants to pay, run all of them.

GRAB THE MONEY AND DO YOUR WORK, AFTER ALL YOU ARE RENDERING A SERVICE FOR THE MONEY, BUT MAKE SURE YOU DO NOT SUPPORT ANY OF THE PLATFORM

Hehehe! Linda, it's your call, you can post them if you like, besides i have never gotten anything from you. Started posting comments since 2009, was introduced to this blog by a broda but just want to remain Anon! you only give to pple in najia not pple outside the country so what's my own?

Get rich or die trying.

Linda, you refused to publish some of us post because we have given you a candid advise. Some out there because of money not minding integrity while some don't need much money but want to leave good name for their child and generation yet unborn. If you like still no publish.

We'll from what was carried by a known blog. It was published that you were paid N80m. Either you've accepted and your conscience is prickling you or about to. Not one to want to give you advise as I promised not to post onto your blog as you continue to rather post comments that are in cohesive.
Many on your blog are already saying you should collect. For your sake hope you don't dabble into it. Not only are you inexperience with the game the politicians are playing but your dealing with ones who don't play fair.
When they come asking for the impossible (as you don't eat for free), what then.

Continuation
How much money is enough. You already make money from your blog, and because some wants some of the money you give away to be increased as you've raised their greed, they are telling you to go for it.
Nigerians that are not doing well due to these corrupt people who steal or mismanage our commonwealth, constantly curse them and their generation.
Also the pattern of your posting is now apparent to those who post outside of Nigeria.
We speak the truth on many of the subject matters you post but you always refuse to post.
Most are not bothered anymore like moi. I only got interested in your blog when you were interviewed by BBC in possible UK. But starting to realise that your not one of the youths that want to change the country. Only in it for the money. Yeah put this in one of your collection that never get posted. Your known for it

No.
Do not.
You are already solvent.

uche

Linda, u must be mother Theresa counting bridge in Lagos, which type of question r u asking? R u campaigning for them or just running ads? Pls I work in a top media agency and I know advertisement is fair game, the but d buying decision is up to. Consumer.

Hi Linda.. Just want to say i love your heart.. May God bless you and teach you from choosing right.. In between, business is business.. No one will judge you for that.

as long as it is not from one political parties but frm all and linda other entertainment blog runs political ads frm all parties.it is left to you oh

NOOOOOOOOOOOOO

IN THE NAME OF GOD, please please please (!!!!!!!!!!) Linda do NOT collect money from Nigerian politicians.

We all know that politics is dirty. And we all know that NIGERIAN politics in particular is filled with dirty money, even blood money.

God has made you rich thus far Linda, and there's nothing in this world you lack that money can buy.

Leave the politicians to their politics and their money.

Use your position (you have the ear of the people) to challenge those in power to a higher standard. They should be using this money to better the country, not to run campaigns.

***Lush

In addition, listen to your conscience. You've been hesitant to collect political money for a reason. You may not know why, but our gut/intuition often saves us from disaster.

***Lush

In addition, listen to your conscience. You've been hesitant to collect political money for a reason. You may not know why, but our gut/intuition often saves us from disaster.

***Lush

NOOOOOOOOOOOOO

IN THE NAME OF GOD, please please please (!!!!!!!!!!) Linda do NOT collect money from Nigerian politicians.

We all know that politics is dirty. And we all know that NIGERIAN politics in particular is filled with dirty money, even blood money.

God has made you rich thus far Linda, and there's nothing in this world you lack that money can buy.

Leave the politicians to their politics and their money.

Use your position (you have the ear of the people) to challenge those in power to a higher standard. They should be using this money to better the country, not to run campaigns.

***Lush

Lindy, please accept the offer but babe read the contract very well before you sign, so as not to sign your death warrant biko. have fun while it last.

linda pls dont for ur own good...patoswife

To what end Linda? To buy a private jet? Think long term. If you are already I doubt then you shouldnt do it...at least not this time. This could make or mar you...you survived google taking down your blog last year, can you survive this one if things go awry? How much more money will you even get? 100m naira? What about the goodwill you might lose. My candid advice...don't take the offers...at least for now, till you can think with a clear head and have a plan for it. There's always another time.

WELL,I THINK YOU SHOULD COLLECT ND BE NEUTRAL IN UR DEALINGS WITH DEM,LIKE DON'T OVER HYPE ONE OVER D OTHER BECAUSE U MIGHT FIND YOUR SELF IN THE MIDDLE OF A CROSSFIRE..BESIDE DAT IVHV HEARD AND WATCH TV AND RADIO STATIONS BROADCAST ADVERT OF POLITICAL OFFICE SEEKERS OF DIFFERENT PARTIESBDATZ WAT I HV 2 SAY.GOODLUCK.
DON RICHIE SAID SO VIA TECNO

Whatever ur mind tells, u should do,u r a Very intelligent lady,So question is can u take d whooping sum or not?Happy sunday

thelma said...

Whatever ur mind tells, u should do,u r a Very intelligent lady,So question is can u take d whooping sum or not?Happy sunday

crayfish and melon said...

Linda you are a more or less a media, so if you are a TV STATION/PRINT MEDIA, advert is the blood that run the media house, whatever advert that comes take it but dont personalise it GOOD DAY

Linda collect your money

Please dont... unless you are running ads from both parties. If not when kasala burst. Hmmmm.

Dear Lindiway, Business is Business...Advert is Advert.... Just dont be personal about it.

I copied potrix..Its just like saying that you don't want to run adverts from MTN and Glo, which one is your own? the most important thing is; don't publish false information

i dont understand the conflict exactly..moral? you cross the line everyday. philosophical? you are not endorsing the candidates

It only happens every 4 years, the tech space will have changed so much, blogs might not be in vogue again..Run the ads, you have just about 4 weeks left.

You asking people is a complete waste of time

prisca nkiru said...

I read LIB regularly, but this my first comment.

Dear Linda,

PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS YEARS POLITICS,

I fear your bog will become less enjoyable. thou you have all the right to grab the cash.

there are a lot of nonsense going down in Nigeria Politics

Linda pls ooo.....ur firm is ur means of livelihood. Run all adverts as long as it pays u. News dailies, television nd radio channels does same. make ur moni girl.

Why not....collect frm any and every party and state it to them dat it is strictly business and any post that may harm u in the future u cannot accept....let them knw u r very neutral and do not care bt u also do not accept any post that attacks the other...campaign ur own dat all!...after all this is strictly business!bt u sef use brain o...never insinuate at supporting anybody during ur conversation with them...be strictly neutral and business-like!....this got me laughing...."so we can all chop from the money"...lol...linda...bt dnt let campaign ads overrun this blog cos of money o...ehnehn

share the cash with us your reader. Afterall they pay you to make us see i.t

Eagle Eyes Media said...

Advertisement is not an endorsement.

seunsblog said...

You are a Nigerian, your job is to report, which includes reporting each party's activities( lies or not) and it's left for the people to make up their minds. It doesn't make you a politician or a bad person. You are reporting things as they stand.

We re talking money, u re here talking nonsense - in Rick Ross' voice. Ábeg collect the money.

Linda its just an ad.not like you are criticising any of them or parties

Real1 said...

You have spoken well. Again, we all know how dirty the game of politics are. And if Linda truly love herself and all her family, she should stay out of their trapped money. We have had and saw how some notable media personality have been kidnapped or murdered in the past. That's part of the consequence.

Real1 said...

You have all spoken well. Again, we all know how dirty the game of politics are. And if Linda truly love herself and all her family, she should stay out of their trapped money. We have had and saw how some notable media personality have been kidnapped or murdered in the past. That's part of the consequence.

gab2shoes said...

If I hear sey u no collect am, ya pikin mama.....abeg collect our national cake that way it will reach us....the giveaway will be for all that commented.... Pls linda on my bended knees collect am, abi make I come help u collect am?

Gab2shoessaysso

WhatEthniSees... said...

This could potentially be a disaster...or not!! I'll do it if i were you...and who doesn't love LIB giveaways? Huh??

Pls don't post this its just for you. LIB readers really don't need to know that you're being offered alot. If you're being approached by all parties by all. Means linda go for it. Just know that you have to be wise in posting. Try not to favor any party just post and get paid. Its a job babe.

ojay said...

Ur Honesty is Commendable, ur very hilarious too

Don't take the ads. Its better u stay out totally than to get mixed up in it and have to face to the govt that would eventually rule. Politics is messier than u can see on the surface. Once u take money for clean stories, they'd want u to take dirty stories and u would end up with little or no choice. It would get messy. Trust me!

Run the ads as long as you do it for both parties.

Abeg jejely collect your money for all the parties that need your services. You don't have to support anyone.Its just business

I dont see why not, just dont support one more than the other, stay neutral

Ma Dear,
Please go ahead and collect the job. So far you didn't use your body to collect the money. You're doing your job. It will soon expire. This is their season.........use it well.

OlOluwaYimiKa

Collect am oh!!! All na ads nah

How much is your peace of mind? How much does your conscience worth? Has God not blessed you enough with clean money? Should dirty and bloody money even be worth considering at all? Why are you trying to justify your desire for blood money with your give aways?

God has blessed you and if He wants to bless you more, it won't be with blood money. My two cents- Nommix

leonard said...

u r a media personality and u have d medium they want. since the money is going round please collect ur own part, do ur work and smile to the bank. there is nothing wrong with u collecting political ads. it does not change the Linda in u. let it not be told that linda ikeji rejected political ads. kpom!!!!!!

leonard said...

u r a media personality and u have d medium they want. since the money is going round please collect ur own part, do ur work and smile to the bank. there is nothing wrong with u collecting political ads. it does not change the Linda in u. let it not be told that linda ikeji rejected political ads. kpom!!!!!!

leonard said...

Ada dokaru d pay, pia taya one tym, no wrong tin at all. kpom!!!!!!

«Oldest ‹Older   1601 – 1690 of 1690   Newer› Newest»