18 Female Soldiers Feared Kidnapped In Baga, Borno state | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 5 January 2015

18 Female Soldiers Feared Kidnapped In Baga, Borno state

Sahara Reporters is reporting that Boko Haram militants may have kidnapped 18 female soldiers in Baga in Borno State. Report below...
Two sources told SaharaReporters that, out of 26 female soldiers posted to the military base of the Multinational Joint Task Force, only eight have so far been accounted for. The commander of the troops in the area, Colonel Kuti, has also not been found since the insurgents attacked the town on Saturday. Residents of Baga told our reporters that Boko Haram insurgents invaded their town and killed at least 55 people, including soldiers attached to MNJTF.
Both residents and security sources said the insurgent attack lasted close to 18 hours before the Islamist terrorists overpowered the troops and seized the military base. One military source said the attack took them by surprise. He said the troops made a gallant effort to repel the attack, but that hundreds of Islamist militants stormed the military base with high-caliber weapons. A resident revealed that the invading insurgents also burnt down parts of the fishing town. Bukar Kaka, a fisherman who fled from the town, said no fewer than 50 villagers, including five soldiers, were killed while others sustained wounds in the attacks. He said he saw soldiers fleeing. 
A security source said the insurgent invaders also stormed other neighboring communities, shooting indiscriminately at people. He added that the militants also destroyed hundreds of houses and shops, often using fuel and other explosive devices. 
In an interview with the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), Senator Maina Ma’aji Lawan confirmed the insurgents’ attack on Baga and surrounding towns. He added that military troops and youth volunteers, popularly known as ‘civilian JTF, had attempted to repel the onslaught, but were overpowered by the invaders.

86 comments:

Na wa ooo. Wetin person no go hear d4 dis country

People still de dat state? Soldiers kwa? Nawaaa

@DGoldenJenny said...

In this 2015?
Ain't we gonna have a rest from this insurgent.

Linda speak out dont be biased. Boko Haram keep on killing Northern Christians everyday?Infact i get scared anytime i go to church now.I prefer staying at home.Its better we speak out now before this menace get to the south.Its when you have peace,that you will have time to post about fashion and entertainment news.In the previous regime Nigerians were more respected .No deportation of Nigerians from Togo back to Nigeria .Imagine Kenya downgrading 9ja.Increase in PHcn tariff but decrease in power supply and some people are smiling to the banks.No employment(graduates re useless),imagine someone saying it's better to learn a trade for 6yrs than to waist many yrs in sch?no security ,no water ,transportation is not save.Education is zero.going to north now is like going to the hell fire .
Jonathan might be a good man personally but his administration is worse and that is the fact don't be sentimental.

Wow!

#Royal Priesthood#

sleeky said...

We don't know what to believe these days

This country tho...y can't they jes get these soldiers who r willing to fight for their country more sophisticated weapons instead of jes sacrificing them to d sect

Na only to the thief money them and sabi

Na wao! This one wey Army and Boko boiz dey do 'take & recover' show with army base.

tuck2mike@gmail.com

Abdulmalik Yusuf said...

May God deliver us from these infidels.... God protect our dear country and bring an end to all these.....

Abdulmalik said so via Motorola T191

Ooops!... Not again o

Soldiers kidnapped too. God pls help us o

If dis report is ever true,

BH wil use dem for BF and testing their skills on bed til dey drop dead.

#Royal Priesthood#

This people should stay away from females and start kidnapping males: they swear on top their heads? nonsense
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

With all due respect & sense of patrotic, y'all chanting army is under-equiped, but, isn't that part of what they're trained for? Nigerian Army should improvise!

tuck2mike@gmail.com

Na wao! This one wey Army and Boko boiz dey do 'take & recover' show with army base.

tuck2mike@gmail.com

WTF

This is wht usually happen to one of ur own when those oga's@d top r incompetent and after their own pockets.

Wht a shame.

#Royal Priesthood#

Where were their male colleagues??.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

I hope this news is false, bcos only God can imagine what there fate would be

MR EDDY said.
This is just too much.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u merry Christmas and a happy new year.

Why send female soldiers 2 face book haram? Linda take note!

Saharah reporter??? ok finger crossed, lets wait & see

Nawao

If its true they would rape the hell out of them....just imagining what its like quashing a female soldier

Saharah reporter??? ok finger crossed, lets wait & see

Nawa oooo, I wonder why these people have more sophisticated weapons than the Nigerian Army..even though the signed to die for the country, they shouldn't be killed this way..

Can you not write crop like this. These ladies are part of the team fighting to defend and protect Nigerians and these are people's mothers and sister. Not a cool write up

Ryan said...

I hope they are still alive and free

May GOD help us in fighting this insu

NOt Again???
--------------LIB prince--------------
--------------LIB prince-------------
--------------LIB prince--------------

Sahara reporters aka APC!

sisi said...

Wetin be this, this minute Nigerian soldiers are repelling the militants, the next minute it's a different story .

Call it what you want, say what you want! No one is safe

this country has suffered alot. may God lead us thru

This is pathetic

I would hate to think of the things they'd do to female representatives of what they are fighting!

I just tire

Kai! This is not funny.....

why should there be 18 female soldiers in one formation? how many female soldiers do we have total in the army. Plus this BH thing cannot continue like this, Odi happened, it got handled, Niger Delta got handled, somehow there has to be a solution to BH

Lord Have mercy on Us!

eka said...

May God help us..................hmm

Easy-E said...

Na kidnappin of our soldiers remain?

I pray they don't rape the daylight out of them

Princess G said...

God pls help our fatherland.

But why is it that whenever a southerner becomes a president, We start hearing things like insurgency. The other time, it was crises in Plateau State to destabilize OBJ's government. Why would some people think that ruling this country is their birth-right? I call that manipulation and they must be stopped.

What a mess to dis country,

Will these attacks ever stop? God pls help us. Psalm 35

MR EDDY said.
Babe u bad o. Ur plans no frosh at all o. Men soldiers never die enough?

MR EDDY said.
You sound wicked and heartless. Why don't u match straight up to borno and improvise.

And we have a sitting president that wants to rule again...what a joke...

MR EDDY said.
First time u bribed me with ur words. am impressed

MR EDDY said.
I guess dey ran away or probably they were tired down.

MR EDDY said.
Very blur sense of reasoning

WHY?ITS A PITY.TO BE FRANK OUR SOLDIRES ARE NOT SERIOUS EVEN WITH THEIR LIVES,WHAT IS THEIR WAR STRATEGY ON THIS WAR,HOW CAN BOKO H TIL DATE OVERAN A BASE.ITS MEANS NO INT,NO ANALYSIS OF BH CAPABILITIES.WHY SHOULD THE SOLDIERS STAY AT THE COMFORT OF THEIR BASE TO BE ATTACKED.IT SEEMS THEY DONT EVEN HAVE THE MAP,DONT KNOW THEIR MOVEMENT.ITS A PITY,YOU CANT AMBUSH OR TRAP PEOPLE WHO ADVANCE IN GROUPS WITH BIKES,FOOT,VANS.NO MARCHING EQUIPMENT?WHY NOT PROACTIVE AND THINK FASTER THAN THE INSURGENTS,YOU CAN EVEN IMPOVERISE AS EARLIER SUGGESTED,YOU CAN IMPOVERISE PETROL BOMBS TO INCAPACITATE THEIR CONVOYS.IF ITS TRUE,THEN WORSE THAN SO CALLED CHIBOK GIRLS.WHERE ARE THE GEN.ISAMA ALABI,S OF TODAYS MILITARY.

Yeye just dey smell everywhere ever since GEJ came into power shoooo.Oga abeg u leave us o na our felo human dey die like dis o.

Is a lie no way or anyhow when 18 soldier could be kidnapped by boko haram, this news is provoking me , Sahara u must stop reporting fake news and be careful of what you post on social media sites. The end boko haram is very close.

Boko haram is being funded by influential people in government who can influence the input and output of the Nigerian Army. If I am at the helm of affair, it won't take 3 days to wipe out boko haram. If it means wiping out all boko haram strong hold. Create emergency camps in the middle belts. Give 7 days ultimatum for people to leave affected areas. Air swipe is recommended, The UN will be willing to assist. The damage they are causing on the image of the country is alarming. All refugees will be adequately settled back in to the community by the government.
They won't follow this advice because they are profiting from this menace to the society called Boko Haram.

lafandlearn said...

but why women?for crying out loud. even if it's what they signed for.
chai chai chai mrs goodluck are you aware of this?

Fool

Sir benkord said...

I pray it's not thru.......bcus dis BH boys ain't smiling @ all oooooo.......they always throw bomb like banger.....may God help us.

It "crap" not "crop". Let stop b sentimental and face d reality.

Wht do BH do wit dis girls/ladies? We all knw. So wht d pretences or trying to b doplomatic wit it.

Am saying it d way it is witout hiding my feelings.

All d same, I understand wht u r trying to pass across.

Cheers.

#Royal Priesthood#

Truly, we don't,plenty stories n countering of told stories, God should help us

Ur comment is always very foolish, I have been noticing this. So it's the men that should b kidnnaped? Tomorrow u'll open that ur mouth to call GEJ a fool.

God, this people are just pure evil....

This is what it means to add insult to injury...Na wa o...DiarisgodoO....very soon, they will start kidnapping Teachers to teach the children of their wives

Oh my God!

Nawah o. I commend the women for signing up to protect their country with their lives.

GreatBabe said...

May God Punish BH

babaT said...

And the Chief Of Army Staff is there spending the money meant for our officers and soldiers properties all over nigeria.His own son is in Indian Academy training and misbehavin while d father is here kiliin the Nigerian army...So sad

babaT said...

KTJ Minimah,ur days are numbered....

is dis for real

this is so sad,don't be surprise that those tanks and arms that was bought by federal gov boko boy re using more of them than the nigerian soldiers,boko haram re not afraid to hear that nigeria government want to buy arms,because they know nigeria soldier re the once providing them with equipment,their own is just to conquer a base,as a commander why can't you blow up your base when you see that the enemy as overpowered you,you will leave all the arms,equipment,cars and run away,after you will tell me that someone is sponsoring them,pls note this you the major sponsor **EMZEALLOUS**

Book haram kill civilians don turn normal gist

Chop Chop said...

I'm hoping this isn't true.

Please fish out that young Colonel, Kuti and the other soldiers by all means.

True this is a senseless comment,you that know how to improvise what are you still doing at home?

I doubt this news,pls Linda verify this news very well,if it is truth what is Nigeria army's doing to restore this beautiful mothers, God bless Nigeria

These is getting way too much...May God have mercy and fight for our cause...how can people that doesn't believe in western education wields so much power?

Jack Donovan is correct. Wat are people still doing in borno. Govt needs to move dem to a safe camp. Identify insurgents that may mix in d crowd and then wipe. air strike is important. Obj did it in Zakibiam or wateva d name is. Then u will see insurgents on d run.
No need to follow wat usa is saying bcos their policies cant tackle terrorism and na dem dey sponsor am. They too are bombing isil.

Is this true?

But why is the army sending female soldiers to such a region known to be a nest for "Female consumers"? Yes in the army, nothing like being a guy or a lady as all is classified "Guys" but still, u don't send them to areas where they could be captured, repeatedly raped, tortured for information (which their soft nature, it maybe relatively easy to get such classified security information compared to their male counterparts) and finally killed! What has defense headquarters got to say to this?

Now Nigerians will start calling GEJ naes as if he is the one in charge. Army Chief should be questioned on how he is taking care of our military bases or he get killed

CHECK OUT HOW TO CHANGE YOUR LIFE

YEY ! 18 Female soldiers? chai... i wonder what they 'll to them. hmmm i no wan imagine am oo... all those aboki wey don dey on agro ! kai!!!

SOMEBODY, BRING BACK OUR FEMALE SOLDIERS FROM BORNO PLS!