Nigerian actor John Boyega replies critics on his role in Star Wars 7 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 1 December 2014

Nigerian actor John Boyega replies critics on his role in Star Wars 7

The trailer of Star Wars episode 7- The Force Awakens was out over the weekend and there was quite a stir on social media because John Boyega, A Nigerian, is black and acting the role of an Imperial Stormtooper (fictional soldiers); a role that they say has only been played by white people.

The hashtag #blackstormtrooper was a trending topic on Twitter over the weekend, leading to some people writing racist comments.

John, who also acted in Half of a Yellow Sun as Chiwetel Ejiofor's character's houseboy, maturely handled the critics in one post on instagram. Find what he said after the cut...

129 comments:

Ok...seen.

Nnaa nwanne carry go.....no send dem.

Whoo cares??v

Who caressss

Sweet!,haters can choke on that

He actually silenced all critics ...#Neat work# ****QUEENMAYA*****

Matured reply that's nice #onelovefromSnow#

Mandymice said...

stupid racist! thumbs up to him

DOLAPO said...

CARRY GO JOR

Nwa ba anyi. Lolzzzz

Lolz... Very matured ooo...pepus4xhard@yahoo.com

That is good........ #Doro Classy#

Nwa ba anyi. Lolzzzz

Tbflow$... We should stop all this criticism and appreciate each other more...

Oh yeah

Uww! So matured... I really like him, especially from his coordination in half of a yellow sun.
funmilolaadebari@gmail.com

Franscisca said...

I don't see any wrong in the part he played...

Skipper25 said...

Nice reply..

There's actually nothing one does that people won't raise eyebrow on.. Do your thing and God will crown your effort with success. It is well. phil 4:13. BishopDammy#

Neks said...

very matured guy, it's much more sinking than insults.

End of discussion..

Best reply

Wow that was bold and matured

Awesome feedback

What really counts is that he got well paid................ So those who critisizes are on their own opinion

Uche Emma said...

Matures response.
Good one

we have heard him, so what do we do now that he has replies?

Not Darkness! Part 2

Not Darkness! - Part 1

Greatest Battles!!! Part 1

$|r Zuma said...

He has gat his choice to make !

Ok ! Next pls

Epic!

Damn, this dude suck him mama breast wella... Niceone dude ur response is epic..

You give powers to haters when you address them.

careen said...

Thumbs up dude, its nt easy.

Nice 1 hez matured indeed....#musically away

I actually saw it on sky news..
It was really a good response

You really kill haters with this kind of reply. That is what we call maturity. Thanks dear... love uuuuu. Pls reamain as u ar.

Asiya said...

Dia ris god oo

Always smile and keep loving your enemies; it kills them more excruciatingly than trying to use a knife on a back-stabber.

thats niceeee i m a proud 9ja kid
derah bosah from ph all the way

ChincoBee said...

It's happening on socialmedia indeed

Clap for yourself! Well said . This will just make his role much more important. Can't stand racism...

Lindodo please post all my comment o@ologunifemidolapo@yahoo.com

JaCkSoN said...

Linda d bizness woman. I jus saw ur december giveaway post. Dat 1.5milla will come baq tu ya ×10. Its a wonderful tin tu understand bizness. Omo igbo. #uCOrrect

bbm 7F098C19 said...

success story. Engr Emy

solo solo said...

Gbam...

collins said...

Haters will always hate

Jamesflaw from Mars 😎

collins said...

Haters will always hate

Jamesflaw from Mars 😎

ASHANKA said...

HATERS

Lol... Gbam!

the colour pink said...

That's a focused guy for you. No time for haters

Yah, man, get used to it :-) Love that answer.

Just passing by. richard.yinka190@gmail.com

Noted.

It can only get better.

DOS said...

Thats a mature way to behave..

Straight!

Coolio D said...

Exactly, dey shud get used to it. White people n dia noise making sef. Mtchew

andrewfaith57 said...

Lolz, I like that part" to whom it may concern. Lolz

I'm pitying white americans,the blacks r taking over their country little by little.

Good one

Franscisca said...

Oboi babes dey vex o!

Is Boyega a nigerian name ? This name sounds like ghanaian. Maybe his father is from Ghana and his mother a Nigerian.

Linda ikeji you can stop calling him Nigerian...Every other website including the actor say he is British....

DADDYSWIFE said...

Bravo my boi

OUCH!!!.... That hurts them haters

Daily diet tv said...

Gotta love white people!

good one guy much love

Wasn't he also in 24 Live another day???
The soldier who's key d terrorist took over or sth?

nice one my brother. say no to racism. we see that almost everyday here in the UK.

Word...

dami said...

Well said.....

Really matured. Cool guy! I like his act in half of a yellow sun

I'm sure the producers of the movie saw d talent in him that's why they gave the role. Congrats to him.

Nice reply.

Timi Da Uyi said...

Dude is British

Sommy Advertisement Agency said...

Whatever the lik let them say, Nigerian are heros

linda ikeji's boo said...

ok na

de should deal wit it

Not our business Linda

Good reply..even if they use a white man, people will still complain

Well handled...

nice answer hating a hater make you a hater...BTR...

See What this Man is Busy Doing with a Lady in an Uncompleted Building

Crazy Things Uniport Babes Do in their Room when they ‘re Bored.

Phillosopher 1:
Like i said mature , Calm and authoritative
Good for him

Bless Nigèria

That's my brother, correct guy. kudos bro!!!
U need uncountable kisses nd hugs. Its time racists grew up, like seriously do racists still exist??? *bbdunnosmiley*
#chynell#

Wat d hell, is he claiming british??? U don fall my hand sha.
#chynell#

So painful my posts ain't showing or shud I say approved. Very painful especially when u see other pple's posts being approved and remembering the money promised :(

Never knew he was a Nigerian,i actually loved him so much in "Attack on the Block" Movie

Correct. Abeg lindodo y can't I comment wif my google account abi na me no sabi do am *lol. Pls I need help. monalina2014@gloworld.blackberry.com

DAT reply is epic...

the westerners can not stop racism..

Odunayo Bello said...

Simple...

Awwww actually had goose pimples while reading his reply
Racist cn chop shit
I like dis guy

His name is john gboyega..... he dropped d "g" from his name

Nonny said...

Congrats bro, keep it up n forget d haters

Ok...seen? Smh

Linda trying to tag him as a Nigerian, he is British, all the social media storm would get more support for the film! Now that is how to reply your critics, not resorting to immature insults. Thumbs up Bro!!! Whizman

Nice response.

Nna it concerns me oh.

Long live LIB™

I always wonder what white people are sooo afraid of? Hmmm

chinny choo said...

Epic reply, ride on bro. No mind them

chinny choo said...

#Haters should drink to that!

pronounce read what you wrote out loud does it sound correct?

Racism is a thing of concern. We should be moving forward not backward in the olden days when the colour of skin matters. It saddens me that history wants to repeat itself.

Itoz said...

Gbam! haters and all dem freaking racist, GET USED TO IT!

Oluwole said...

You are correct...

lami said...

That is just the right attitude.

PeterSignature said...

Oooooooh......nice ....well said...#thatchinkoboi

Chukydyk said...

dey must talk..bro carry go joor

GistNaija said...

very matured and epic reply.

To whom it may concern...
Get used to it. :)
Lobatan!!!

zibaintl said...

Linda him tell u say him be Nigerian?...d guy is british born in peckham by Nigerian parents according to wikipedia..hahahaha...but if na adebowale wey kill d woolich police..dem put say na Nigerian-british man...wen d person is gud,,he is british but wen bad,,he is Nigerian ist...

Da real deal said...

Do u boo.....not looking @ uche's face.My kinda person.

Lol... To whom it may concern! Get used to it... Racism can never exit on earth till the end, U should get used to it too bruh

He keeps making is money and haters keeps hating...

Lol...mature reply

Ofilispeaks.com said...

this is a dope thing. Wish him the best of luck.

NaeTi said...

Yay star wars...see the movie, I will...and the guy is a. Storm trooper..c'mon

destinysweet said...

Best reply to critic this year.

holanray said...

nice one,get sence

holanray said...

nice one ,get sense

ok noted (eleyele1@yahoo.com)

Wunmi O. said...

THIS WHITE PEOPLE WITH THEIR WAHALA SHA, HE ANSWERED THEM WELL

orlu 1st son said...

He acted de 100 too.....very very interesting

Human beings always criticise, some appreciate, but some depreciate, some feel happy on others progress, but some feel sad. Some always criticise whether its good or the opposite. mjabdulk@gmail.com

danex said...

Racists my ass. thumbs up John!