Brand expert, Kenny Badmus, shares his amazing story of living with HIV in the last 15 years | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 1 December 2014

Brand expert, Kenny Badmus, shares his amazing story of living with HIV in the last 15 years

To mark World AIDS Day which is today, December 1st, Nigerian brand expert & founder of Orange Academy, Kenny Badmus, took to his Facebook page to share his inspiring story of living successfully with HIV for the last 15 years. Find his story below...
Today, Monday December 1st, is World AIDS day, and I'm celebrating my resolve to live with this damn virus all these many years without letting it define who I am. Every journey I take, every picture of me you see, and every new challenge I take on are all huge reminders that I must never stop living my best life. So, I decided to share my journey with you today. Honestly, I don’t know what exactly you are dealing with but I’m writing you this to hold tight to your dream. Here's a quick sketch of my journey from the first day I tested positive, 15 years ago. My upcoming book tells the full story.
1999. After three years of different pains and minor illnesses, I was encouraged by my best friend and Professor Soyinka, an HIV specialist, to go get tested so I could face my fear. I had just resumed work as a Copywriter at McCann. I’d rather not know. I was working on Coca Cola, and I would rather live in the joy of that dream. It was that point when you assured yourself this was only a lie from the pit of hell. I had not been a ‘bad boy,’ I would assure myself.

1999. I tested, and it came back positive. I blamed everyone but myself. I wanted to end my life immediately. Trust me, I did try a few things. Then I called on God. I told God to change the status because it didn't look good on him. I sang. I fasted. I gave offerings. Prophet offerings. I died several times, but I didn't die. I was always back to myself. I came up with a few pseudo coping skills, but I was always depressed. The picture of HIV back then was very gory, and I was wasting away.
2004. I realized I didn't die yet. My flesh had not fallen off. My heart was still beating. I still liked rice and pepper stew. I still had early morning erections - and not just in the early mornings. Shouldn't I be dead by now? I began to question everything I ever knew.

2006. I had a local operation for tonsillitis, and it brought my immune system to level zero. I was infected by everything you could name. But I was so happy that I was going to die finally. Wouldn't it be nice to die just like that? Unfortunately, I did not die. I was bedridden for four months and was forced to live by myself. It was there that my Exodus happened. I realized for the 1st time that the real death is when we refuse to live out our full potential. Death is not a physical thing. It is an emotional thing. When we stop living. When we stop laughing. When we stop learning. When we stop crying. Or feeling. So I couldn't wait to get out of the hospital. There, I started the anti-HIV medication. (Trust me, it doesn't kill as I had feared)

2007. I started living and loving myself. As a creative person, I created Orange Academy to start teaching people how to find their creative self. Love themselves. Tell compelling stories. I put all my life into it. Then, I started to undo all my pseudo coping skills. Oh, I had tons of them. Like getting married, wanting people to accept me, being the 'yes' man to Ministers of God - something I did in times past to assure myself I was doing 'God's will.' I stopped sending my money to Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) and started investing it on people I could see around me. Little did I realize that God didn't send me to do anything to gain his favor or search for him. God had never been lost. I was meant to find myself and live my authentic life. Lift people up. Fight the oppression around me. I started spending time with myself. I started working out at the gym. I started to travel to enjoy the universe.

2008 - 2010. I looked in the mirror, and I saw a better me. A younger me. A healthier me. No more lies. At Orange Academy, we started the ART OF POSITIVE THINKING and started to use our arts and money to assist people living with debilitating diseases or social conditions. I took those layers of lies off my soul. I started writing my memoir - my full story as a preacher boy trying to find God who art in heaven! [ THE EXODUS coming out next year ]

2014. November. I had an appointment with my doctor in Maryland, USA, and he asked me:
'What's your secret?' All your medical tests are amazing. We tested for everything possible. No new infections or conditions. Blood work is excellent. Nothing at all to worry about. Perfect health. Just that you are still HIV+.'
‘Oh really?’ I said. ‘I thought that had disappeared.’
‘ Well, it’s still there, sadly. I hope Science gets the cure someday soon.’

We both laughed and then I fought back a little tear in my eyes. This dude doesn't know how grateful I am for HIV. Thank God for HIV. I wish I never had it, but Lord I did! It made me run after myself. Maybe I would never have understood myself; that no one can save us but us. Maybe I would never know the refreshing power that loneliness can bring when we embrace our broken self.

Here's what I want you to take away: don't end your dreams just because you are presented with bad news along the way. Remember, HIV doesn't kill anymore; it's ignorance that kills. Use that bad news to ride onto your next phase. It will be tough. I won't lie. Don't be afraid to live vulnerably. It's empowering. Empower yourself by loving yourself. Find yourself. Give yourself to people without expecting anything in return. If you are a Faith person, keep living your Faith in love for humankind. Empty yourself and accept to be filled with kindness from others. Believe me, there are still angels out there to lift you up.

*NOTE: Potentially I cannot infect anyone with HIV since my viral load went to undetectable since 2008. Nevertheless, I still advise that you take precaution with sexual partners as an HIV+ person, so they don't infect you with STDs. If you have not tested, know your status. It's liberating. Starting an HIV medication now doesn't only protect your loved ones but can make you live even longer than people without HIV.

223 comments:

1 – 200 of 223   Newer›   Newest»
SANDRA said...

Wow really inspiring, handsome man

Empressitta said...

Was quite long to read shaa

Ehya! Kpele my fine bobo #onelovefromSnow#

Glad this virus is under control now

chikaezez.blogspot.com said...

read this story since morning na maybe nt dis blog. linda if u like dnt post my comment cos am nt boniro naggs or onyx godwin ooo

I thank God for his life.

This fine boy ...is well

He try.

Eugenia said...

Wow nice one from him. But God can heal him perfectly. So many untold story hanging. God bless u more.

Wow! God is good indeed

Truetalk said...

Btw, Linda wetin happen wey you de load comments fast today? New month resolution? Sha keep it up.

That's brave. God bless u

It is well with your soul my brother.

Thank God for ur life bro.

ayodeji faith said...

see handsome guy wif hiv

Thank God for his life.

Brave heart
Inspired! Motivation!

nwadikedeb said...

wow so inspiring!

towsynesouchie said...

wow!
so hansome
very inspiring. Thank you

Wow na wa o
Inspiring
Fine boy

one lesson:never allow your challenges be an obstacle to your desire/passion.

towsynesouchie said...

oh wow
very inspiring
thank you

God help us all

Busolami said...

so touching..THANK GOD FOR HIS LIFE

What a handsome man....thank God for his life...*****QUEENMAYA*****

Wow!

One lesson:never alow your challenges to nbecome an obstacles to your greatness/passion/desire.

Very inspiring.. Thank God for him.

God have mercy

Thank God for keeping him

one lesson:never allow your challenges be an obstacle to your greatness/passion/desire.

If you add Jesus to your life Hiv/Aids is just nothing.. It is well. Isaiah 54:17. BishopDammy#

LINDA Please include OSINANL in the 100K

nkiru said...

inspiring is nt easy really but i love his courage.

Handsome dude

Harrie said...

Gee, that was heartwarming!!

Itz not a death sentence I can attest to dat! Though itz not easy Letting the world knw who yuh are coz of the Stigma.

ivory said...

really inspiring . a lot of ppl will be encouraged by this story

THANK GOD FOR YOUR LIFE

a proof that HIV no dey show for face

Is Genevieve Nnaji Engaged?

Handsome dud,God luvs u ok? Shantelkingsley@gmail.com

Gud of him...pedrotoki80@yahoo.com

Uche Emma said...

Wow

destinysweet said...

Hiv is real..go know ur status today

Awoooo! C fine boy! Don't Worry God wil heal u in Jesus name amen!

Wunmi O. said...

Very inspiring story. Thank God for his life o. Fine dude, God can still heal him though...

Hummmmmmmmm

I can date and marry this guy i swear down.
And yesss,i am HIV negative
He is REAL!!!

THIS is a man.

kenny badmus are you single? Do you live in Nigeria?
If so send an email to oren_ishii78@hotmail.com

Oluwa i bless ur name

ObySA said...

Very inspiring, keep going bro

Berryblast said...

Waoh this is so inspiring n touching, God bless u always

Nice testimony

For Christ sake!!!, how can such an inspiring story be so long to read? How do you cope at school?

'don't end your dreams just because you are presented with bad news along the way. ' I am touched by this, glad you're alive impacting lives.

lami said...

It takes lot of courage for him to do what he is doing.

touching!

Very touching indeed but the stigma that goes with it is really bad. wishing him de best.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN**

Very inspiring message, he has been able to give hope to HIV positive people. Such a handsome young man.

seunLondon said...

Thank u for sharing Kenny....God bless you or I forgot you don't believe in him anymore! #SeunLondon

see as the guy fat pass me self.. thank God for money o...

The most important thing is to love yourself

Met this guy two years ago and I would have sworn he was as healthy as a horse and as clean as a whistle. it is honestly brave of him to do this, knowing how close minded we can be about things like this.

Lol... Abi U don use style knack am? Sorry oh! Mouth sealed

i have been commenting but cant see my comments....whats happening...how can i comment on lib

This fine boy... For your mind ? haha

Naaa so naaa

Lol... You fake pass! Na so e easy?? If I hear

So touching story. I pray God show us the cure of this virus.

taiwo.bolaji81@gmail.com

mzmaris said...

Hmm...he's got courage I'll give him dat

Awww so touching

Beautiful butterfly said...

Woooow!! This is very touching, so one can still live their life to the fullest even with testing positive to HIV.......#soinspired

Eva's Shawarma & Gril, Lagos. 08058198545 said...

So so inspiring...

Lol @ snowfix , Pele doesn't have K in it ..... His write up is very captivating and I will totally buy his book! Thumbs up Kenny :)

"no one can save us but us"
I'm happy he is living his life.

amebo said...

Alloy,u for be among d 100k december winners if to say u no use d 20k wey u win last month share recharge crd for d "other" side. U still even come add that particular blogboo to ur name. Now u see what ur foolishness cost u? Ntoor!!!!!!

Very inspiring.... just the right words I needed for such a horrible day as this.... #nevergiveup

God dey ooh.

Long live LIB™

DOBY DOBY said...

Nd dis guy jus saved a soul.. iv been soo depressed.. God bless you

Baba Kenny, there r people born to be touch bearers. U hv been brave for others.One luv from an Orange alumni

Wow his words re like gold

Very touching. Happy he found his exodus. Keep touching lives.

i am deeply touched by his words.

WeALTHY ChIC said...

So touching. It is well with you. Cute guy.

God will help u very soon u will testify!!

Libers. Who said the virus is now under control or do you mean in the writer? It is raging out there decimating the poor and rich alike. So let us not for one day think that it is over. It is also fueling the stealing with impunity phenom we have come to live with in Nigeria. People need the money to survive. First thanks to the author for sharing his story so gracefully and for the p.s. note. That should have been in BIG BLOCKS because the framing is a killer. It is not about spreading it to others. Its about staying alive. USE A CONDOM. Better still, abstain and find a higher purpose.

My best bit of the story "I realized for the 1st time that the real death is when we refuse to live out our full potential"... I wish you God's Strength

FASHION POLICE said...

SO INSPIRING.

stellarviv said...

So inspiring...

nyc one.....

Yes, discover urslf n live ur lyf. Tnk God fr u shaaaa

Hope you didn't infect anybody sha. It is true HIV is not a death sentence.

But wait oooo, na his recent pik b dis or. His formal pik wen he hasn't contact d disease???lindodo ans mi ooooo

Am tired of dis ma commnt will b visibl aftr approval, bettr post ma commnts ooooo

miss Sparxz said...

Did she say she went to school? She obviously didn't.

And I had to shed a tear

Am tired of dis ma commnt will b visibl aftr approval, bettr post ma commnts ooooo

And who told u HIV is only for d ugly people? Anybody can get it...we all at one point in ourselves made mistakes but d grace of God saw us through, just live a careful and positive life and pray u don't fall a victim..

So what are u insinuating chikaeze? Pls take ur jealous comment else where.

Neks said...

He is brave to open up, good thing is its not like Ebola, one day i know it will be history.

Kenneth said...

Wow! Inspiring

This is why you should start your own BLOG today

Haba

Please help me ask her o. Some people can be damn lazy!

More blessing for him

Very Inspiring. God bless you.

Being the YES MAN to ministers-something I did in time past to assure myself I was dooing God's Will........hmmmn
This article is really inspiring

paul naza said...

Wouderful

paul naza said...

Wish his healed already

Waoh it is well wit ur soul

So inspiring. Love u man. God keep u

Elielizm said...

Inspiring and uplifting. Stay blessed.

SunnyBriggs. said...

Very brave and handsome dude. Wishing him more healthy years ahead.

Lovely piece, Hope everybody with the virus could live like this....hmmmmmm

Tunde Fatoki said...

This is highly inspiring. I hope a lot of youths would take this opportunity to get themselves tested. I have been having regular test for HIV and Hepatitis for the past 10 years and it is good you know your status and save your partner and mankind.

Thank God for his life.. So inspiring....

Nigeria School said...

Inspiring! And I pray that you become HIV negative before the end of the year in Jesus Name. Amen.

God bless you plenty plenty!

sandyberry said...

Good looking man

So inspiring and he's such a cutie....I pray u get d cure someday. BV's, knw ur status

GOD BLESS YOU

Favour said...

Wooow This is so inspiring!!! Such a handsome dude.God is going to heal you perfectly! In Jesus name. Amen.

Adedeji Tobbie said...

*Touching*

iceberry said...

Hi

*sobs* this is very inspiring... continue to b strong the lord is your strength adaokoro777@yahoo.com

God be with you brother...

lyzee said...

Very touching. ..great courage

Am inspired......no matter d situation just live ur life

David Daudu said...

Wow this is so inspiring, i once worked as an IT student at a clinic and i can tell what this people go through, so good to see he took it in positive light
*Mr Double*

wow.....and he is looking so good...All Thanks to GOD

Diva-chilee said...

God bless u more for sharing this....it will help others living with d virus n encouarge them too. Am hapi u are strong enof to overcome d truma. God is ur strength n i pray oneday it will change to HIV negative......just be nice n gud to people OK. God bless u!

Diva-chilee

It's quite touching as well inspiring, I do believe that one has to be optimistic in our daily dealings,cos What we hear sometimes affects us but doesn't make us

Itoz said...

Wow!

ify said...

Long keh?

Nice one i think he still looks cool too

Kingsley Lotanna Ezeonyido said...

That's pretty nice to hear. At least a source of encouragement to those that feels that HIV is a dead sentence.

Bryte Tablet from Konga.Com

the colour pink said...

Courage is the word

rossy said...

Wow. God bless and keep you.

finest loves Bloglord😍 said...

Hey boo hw r u? Lol thank God 4his life

Inspiring story...so hapi his VIRAL load is undetectable..whc means he takes his drugs religiously..nice one

Our mind set is who we are....d Lord is ur strenght cutie..

Sorry he is gay

amazeballs said...

Inspiring!

really inspiring. I believe God can still heal him.....*now deviating a lil* i think 'bishop dammy' deserves a 100k too. my thought tho.

Hmmn, dis is very touching and scary... May God heal you IJN *Flora*

FM BABA said...

This shows there is hope for people living with HIV/AIDS. It is more manageable to the oda disease

I hv fallen inlove with him, that is xo inspiring #mz jenny#

natu said...

I think am in love with dis guy! Is he married? D lord will keep him and I believe God will help him live his life to d fullest

My brother, God is @work in your life. I can only perceive God's glory and manifestation. It's God all the way. Keep the Fire burning!

This story has really lifted me. I am not hiv positive,but my spouse is.I ve been depressed once in a while, but God has been good to us. This is the seventh year. Is God not awesome praise his holy name.Thank you Linda

Am so touch, I would love to share dis 1daful story but hw do I go about it?

This is well and good, but these stories sugar coat the ugly side of HIV/AIDS. When the medications stop working, it kills torturously. People are not reminded enough of the brutality of this illness. That's why you have women above saying they want to marry him in spite of his status. HIV/AIDS is still a killer disease.

Very inspiring testimony. I found out about my status too 3 year ago and I was going to kill myself. I never got sick, I looked even healthier than someone who is negative during testing and doctors were even amazed. I dint even believe my own eyes, I still think it's film trick up till today but trust me it's real. We just need to stop the stigma and learn to love and accept and stop d amebo about someone's medical condition around and make casualty happy, live in peace and happiness. GO get tested. HAPPY WORLD AIDS DAY to y'all weather you are living a positive live or you are negative.

Hmmmm so inspiring.

Hmmm! Lesson: u r ur limitation n nothing else! Inspiring story! God bless. U bro.

Yeah! It's World Aids Day. I am positive as well. I have been living with this virus since 2006.(8yrs) now. I feel your pains and I had similar or worse experience because I am a lady. Well, it's been by His Grace. Go get tested and live a healthy life. Luv ya. Candy

First time comment....Inspiring story and linda pls post it I need the giveaway badly

Please don't infect others with the virus biko....joooor ooo

careen said...

Heart felt story.

Diva 8 said...

Wow, I salute you.

Very soon a cure will be out, i am sure of that. God bless you bro

So inspirational... You shall live to the Glory of God... Congratulations in advance!!

Ignorance..ode

Inspiring!!! This story is really gonna touch lives. I like your courage.

So inspirational... You shall live to testify to the Glory of God.. Congratulations in advance!!

ebonydoc said...

Begi- begi oshi!

He's handsome and has great potentials. Any woman would not hesitate to settle with him.

May God continue to give him strength and courage.

Cash said...

Thank God its HiV no Ebola.......

WHAT an inspiring write up. you will live to fulfill your purpose on earth.

anon said...

This kind of honesty is rare. I would totally marry this guy if he asked me.

I also luv the fact that he's optimistic. Optimism and diligence is my driving force.

wow

So inspired...someone so down...yet so high up...

It's well or it is well. Speak English please

Esther said...

really inspiring and such a cute young man.God is your strenghtand your pillar and thank u for sharing your story

YOU ARE JUST AMAZING!!! I thank God for your courage. lots of us are inspired. many people would prefare to keep it to themselves since they're celebs but you took a bold step and bless a lot of us. thank bro. I love u big time.

Nne Aloy just fuck up. Dis is lik winning in PDD and went to APC and pay tithe. Aloy next time, pls dont do d right thing at d wrong time ok.

Nigerians need to learn that HIV is not a death sentence.....
You can fall in love,get married and have kids....
One Love...
@Karzak Mama

linda ikeji's boo said...

God see you through

I bless God for u

Keep the faith bro! God is still in the business of turning imposibility into possible,He is still the God that healed all our diseases even HIV, so keep up the positive attitude and one day,the result will turn to negative.Amen

Inspiring msg

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

Olaseni said...

This is thought provoking. Lots of people around the world are yet to discover themselves. This inspiring article as pop up a question of "Who are you?".

Olaseni Okedara said...

Thought provoking. "Discover yourself". "Who are you?"

Olaseni Okedara said...

Thought provoking. "Discover yourself". "Who are you?"

Yes very true indeed

And inspiring story

When I tested positive I cried and asked God to take it away but nothing happened I then asked God to give me strength to accept what I can't change since then I have being living my life doing all the things I love to do even though I don't have the money to take care of myself like Kenny does I do the little I can and let God handle the rest. I love me for me and am not less human am grateful for everything and all situation I find myself i trust God will work wonders through me

When ever dem hear say person get HIV their mind goes to sex, sex is NOT the onlyway a person can get infected.

God will take away that disease from u 1day, mark my words. U will taste negative 1day. I like ur courage bro.

And my respect for Kenny just trippled...Aunty if you like donot post my comment. God dey watch you in 5D.

mina said...

so inspiring..may u live with perfect health n long life 4 givin hope 2 does who ca t face der fears...a guy wit both charisma n character..God bless u 4 being real n honest...

This is going to be my first and honest comment on this blog, Thanks for this inspiring story, is so encouraging, I wish I can have your detais. Thanks for sharing

So inspiring

Thanks for sharing this! I love your courage and the fact that you finally discovered yourself.

This article has inspired me and would always be a reference material for me in my present journey of my self discovery. I'm presenting going through a challenging life situation and it's true that we can only find help within us!

Well done!

Thanks for sharing this! I love your courage and the fact that you finally discovered yourself.

This article has inspired me and would always be a reference material for me in my present journey of my self discovery. I'm presenting going through a challenging life situation and it's true that we can only find help with us!

Well done!

Dats inspiring

Thank u soo much Kenny, for this articale. U just saved a soul. I just dicovered my status three months back and felt like taking my life, I suddenly hated myself and I was begging God to take my life....but this write up has given me the strength to go o. Thank u soooooo much kenny and God bless

Beautiful write up...keep living.

Loool @ ur comment!

This article warmed my heart. U r lifted kenny. You are so fine too.

I like this guy

Inspirational confession, it is mind blowing experience.Kenny Badmus you are an instrument of inspiration in God's hand to humanity.Peace with you.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 223   Newer› Newest»