Aww...Birthday party that turned to an engagement party (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 4 December 2014

Aww...Birthday party that turned to an engagement party (photos)

Got this from a LIB reader. Enjoy...
2nd December was my girlfriend (of 20 months)’s birthday. We have been friends for 30 months though. Meanwhile I had planned to propose marriage to her on that day. Thing is, I am resident in Lagos while she is in Enugu. In 2013, a coordinated surprise visit to Enugu wowed her birthday and she never stopped talking about how that was the most pleasant surprise of her life, not until 2nd December, 2014 anyway.
So to douse her anticipation for any form of surprise, I got really involved in planning her 2014 birthday. During one of my visits to Enugu, we had dined at Octopus, an exquisite Chinese Restaurant that has got lovers of good meals in ‘042’ wanting for more. I loved the ambience and the meals were really amazing. We decided to host her birthday there. Hers was to make all the inquiries, invite her friends, have fun and be happy. Mine was to fund the dinner which I did with all pleasure. Of course there couldn’t be any more surprises when she was already aware of the ‘whole’ package. Besides, my work couldn’t allow me time-off on a Tuesday.
Then …..
I arrived Enugu at 4.15pm having been to work earlier on the day and checked into my hotel room. I had the Manager of Octopus come meet me and we concluded on the 3-level surprise.
Level 1.                
 After the starter has been served, she was invited (with her friends) to see a video clip on screen of the 60” television in the restaurant. Behold it was me (JIRO) wishing my baby-girl a happy birthday and apologizing for missing her ‘big’ event. Towards the end of the clip, my sister and cousins joined me to sing the traditional ‘happy birthday’ song. Twinkle was so wowed and crying by the end of the rendition. “This JIRO will not kill me ooo” she muttered in her tears. Then……
Level 2.                
As the video clip ended, I walked into the restaurant! The wow feeling turned into a positive frenzy. She was speechless as she ran to her star. “Baby, why do you always do this to me” was all she could say as she cried in my arms. Yes, am badt like that….hehe.
Level 3.                
 After I settled in and ordered some more champagne, the management of Octopus brought a bowl of what they dubbed their traditional gift to all birthday celebrants in the restaurant. Since I was there, it only made sense that they hand the package over to me (as the boyfriend) to appoint any of the diners to open it or open it myself. And my speech happened…. “… anyway, everybody may be worthy but I don’t see any person that is more worthy than you (twinkle) today to open this special package from Octopus….” By the time she opened the bowl, her friends and other diners  were already gathered by our side to take a sneak peek, my one knee was down and I continued “…there are no better words than the three words that make up ‘I Love You’. You have been a friend, you have been bla bla bla bla bla bla and all dem beautiful things” And … “now I ask you, Chisom Onyinyechi Ogbuji, to make me the happiest man in the world and be my wife, please……
And she said YES!
And we changed into our tees that read “OMG Jiro asked!” with all them smileys for her and “…and Twinkle said YES… of course!” for me.
Love is indeed a beautiful thing. Give love always and appreciate love when you have it. May God make our dreams come true and our earnest desires fulfilled, Amen!
Now we plan for our future, together. See the photos below...

243 comments:

1 – 200 of 243   Newer›   Newest»

Awwww congratulations to them. Wish them more romance and a long and happy marriage

Congratulations girl

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

That's so sweet

Amazing! Both of you are blessed! How romantic, I urge you to dwell in the presence of God as you abide under the shadow of the Almighty it is well with you both. Deut 18:18. 2tim 4:18. BishopDammy#

WAOOO THIS GOD IS MYSTERIOUS KUDOS TO HIM.

charlesome said...

Congrats to u both

Too cute. She's a pretty girl with a great figure. Lucky too with a thoughtful man.

Got this from......

Eugenia said...

May God bless t ur union.

Wow!!!...I want to ask too o!

Linda you "got" not "God ", hmmmmmm what a romantic engagement, I can imagine how happy she would have felt on her birthday. esebeauty21@yahoo.com

Arrogant fool! Must u tell how the manager came to meet you n d rest... In fact, u r as useless as the P in psychology.

Linda pls correct your statement Got not God. Am happy for them.

Jiro Nwa

Damn!! The essay is too much nah. Congrat to them sha....REPORTING>LIVE FROM PORT NOVIA>

Susan said...

Awwwwwwww......sweet! May God bless your home.

DEguebe said...

It's a good thing and a wonderful feeling when a man finds a wife. Mc Baba Oloye says so.

Aww i luv pleasant surprise too.I wish them years of marriage as old as methuselah.They look more like friends than couple.

Dear Lord biko when will my bf give me ring na??!! we go soon enter 2015 oh.. All these leaving one relationship dt is not working out n entering another.. Biko nu God touch this guy's heart to bring forth this ring IJN.. AMEN

Abeg park well joor.. Rubbish. Na you wan first fall in love? Make we hear word joor

finest loves Bloglord😍 said...

Awww so sweet,I go love oh,love is realy sweet wen u're wit d ryt 1,baba God be a boo provider lols

The explanation was much tho, the main point was @ the end I wonder why the long write up. Anyways congratz to them #onelovefromSnow#

zeenee said...

Awwwww, so beautiful #lovestruck

Adedolapo said...

Heee...guy come pwopose oh....marriage dey hungry me

It's all good..congrats

Woow, that was really romantic of him, i wish my bf can give me a bit of a surprise as well, congrats 2 dem anyway

Awwwwn...this is so cool.

Kaiii,when will my own happen God???

favy said...

Hia eeeeeeh!!!!!, Nke am tokwaram uto oooo

Wow! Lovely.....her friends look very hungry n starved, hope de were well fed....she's such a biuri! Congrats

Awwww so so sweet.congratulations.
Faceoflib

addicted to lib said...

See me fantasizing to d whole package...choi! I love...

Electropiz said...

That's sweet

....... ROV

Isn't DAT bonario...looks like him

Congrats. Although am jealous

Luvlyn

lami said...

Awwww nice , congratulations to them.

Congratulations to u dear u deserve more Dan dat

Mz Lolo... said...

Wow! This is so sweet. I love it

Happy for u. Good luck

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

Luv Is Indeed A Beautiful Thing, Cnt Wait 2 Propose 2 D Right Woman, SingleLadies Ready 4 A Serious Date Addup 2bcdd5ed

VERY DRY

Very lovely, I pray your marriage is blissful than the engagement.

Congrat bro i wish yu all the best.....

Sweet super story

Congratulations to u dear u deserve more Dan dat

So sweet....ologunifemidolapo@yahoo.com

Atobatele said...

And I have the same plan o

Dry

Zombie huntress said...

Congratulations,mine too will come surprisingly and elegant than dis ijn

Some crazy ish, quite humorous n worthy of stealin a tip or 2. Bt dude's wears n posture is devoid of Machismo which speaks volumes. Prolly still hidin in the closet. Look b4 u leap.

Awwwwww so sweet, I wish that I can get this type of surprise engagement. Future husband hope u re listening? Lol

One and only Ada David Omobabalanu says so

McLord Peters said...

Awww.........So romantic. I luv fins lyk dis

Interesting n I v been planning on how do execute mine when the time comes. Even though I v not known who....Lol. (God bless Nigeria)™Sp. godblessnigeria.sp@gmail.com

Nice..

Congt to them! And hbd!

DIS IS GRACE B

Ur story would have been more romantic if u didnt add unnecessary details like champagne,hotel room bla bla..who are u tryning to impress ?? Anyway happy married life in advance

how do I comment with my name please I need your help

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

Am not a fan of this surprise engagement,but anything worth doing is what doing well.i wish them HML

ORACLE SAYS SO

Chukydyk said...

badest guy..nice 1 dude

chinnydera said...

Cool!!

Awww! So lovely.
I just can't wait.

Oh oh oh... That's lovely.. Congratulation

Watch and pray for the evil days are here

Ralees said...

Awwwwn that's so sweet.

Angels Mummy said...

Awwwwwww I just love love

Runs gal later get engaged....

Engagement is less important to marriage. Start planing for marriage sooner do not delay coz if u delay your engagement ring may be thrown back on ur face! mjabdulk@gmail.com

linda's fan said...

love is beautiful!!!

Dats sweet.

linda ikeji's boo said...

hmmmm.wish them the best.just that a surprise engagement may not be sincerely accepted.just to dispel the present environment situation,she may say yes.when God leads,its always the best

Bab boy....I love it

VERY ROMANTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Love is indeed a beautiful thing. Congratulations to them.

Mehn! Am gonna cry...so sweet

Folashade Idowu said...

Wow how sweet. Congrats to both of you

Ohh wow! Marry me

Why is his trouser jumping

Wow!!!!! I share the same birthday with her. Congratulations to her and may you have a beautiful journey together. May GOD conclude HIS work with you two!

Candid BFL said...

Linda Ikeji...this could be you..
ka i no na publish..i be gi a na me wedding..
no mind me..God is arranging ur special hubby..im sure he wont jus give you any kin hubby
congrats to the couple ...nm ur first child Candid *shines teeth*

Do u Propose marriage someone or you simple propose & its called a marriage proposal

Sleezee said...

Love is the sweetest, when money isn't scarce and its involved!
Congrat man!

Good for them.hml in adv

(Twitter/ig)

Congratulations but super story

This guy bragging bucket list full pass Rihanna own oh!!!! Haaa Ogbeni jeje soro nah, haba!!! The birthday luxuries isn't even upto an average unilag studnt birthdays.... Buh is all good, I appreciate a man dt can make it happen even if he has little..... Just tone it down with the bragging and feeling lyk wht u did was "out of this galaxy"..#cheEzyjayne

POPE said...

Lovely!!!
You're quite creative; i must confess. I look forward to tapping from your idea soonest.

Wow!!!!! Congratulations!!!!! I share the same birth date with your sweet heart. That's very romantic and she's over the moon it's obvious. May you two have a beautiful life journey together.

Bimpe said...

Awww, so sweet. I love LOVE. Wishing you all the best as you take this journey togetehr.

dami said...

Awwwww!That was so sweet of u. Big congrats to u guys

Love is a beautiful thing, no doubt.

Favoured said...

Love indeed is a beautiful thing....congratz guyz & plz no tey b4 d wedding proper oooo

Not real. Sounds scripted and acted to me.

I was there n witnessed it ooooo. Jezzzz some guys just knw hw to b romantic seriously. We had no idea atall that he'l come anyways so we were just doin our thing o. Trust d plenty pictures lool. I guess d manager n d octopus crew wud hv probably been laughing saying these gurls dont even knw wat awaits them, Then came d video while we were still awwww'n n drooling then came Jiro. Omg!!! Dear bf biko if u dont know how to be romantic abeg ask or even read up. We were jst saying d engagement wud b another drooling moment little did we know it was set 2 happen #BigGrin.Ha!!! As I saw d engagement ring na so I turn 2 photographer. So happyyyy 4 them. Ashoebi mood activated

1st time commenting on this blog since 1950.

*Ugoeze 1*

awww am feeling all emotional.. very happy for you guys and I pray God also do it for me.

#miz'avatar
miz.avatar@gmail.com

OMG, so lovely, I wish u guys all de best, perfect match

ebonydoc said...

Nice one dude!!! Thumbs up....

I like dizz

Congrats to them. (•͡.̮ •͡ )

Luvly n cute

wow! congrats to both of you...

REAL. PIKIN said...

So cute I just wish it Meeeeeeee

Awwh!!! Sweet & HBD gal!

Love is really a beautiful thing.........how I wish....congrat again

CELEB said...

Lovely...

nekkyville said...

Hmmmm linda all dis love flyin around sha...linda I wnt somtin like dis to hapen to u oh

MasterMind said...

Nice T-Shirts . . . what if she had said No?

wow! wow! Am so happy for her. Father Lord please I want mine as soon as possible. Linda pray for me biko

Awwwwww. So sweet. Congrats to the latest LIB couple.

*Dee* said...

How romantic!!! Awwwww

So lovely...wishing you both the best

Wow am so happy for them, love is sweet wen u meet the right person. Really missing ma ex cos I tot we gonna end up as husband and wife buh der was a big mistake from the laboratory we checked for our genotype 5years ago. God knows the best. Ryt now is hard for me to love any gal. Well still hoping for the best............diamonddanielz

Awwwww dats so sweet

Wowwww, pls God u know wat I want

Idyllic Prince said...

Ebidosia ona ato
ebidosia ona ada
darling darling
onye mazikwanu mgbe oga esu?

elovi said...

It's always d best bday gift given to a spouse

elovi said...

Distance relationship? These b****** aint loyal

ongratulation, that's a very nice STEP that you're taking, I Wish you people the best and happy xmast Season.

Mma cee said...

Awww.
Chisom my class mate.
Congrats babe.
Awww
Wishing you a happy married life

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

Wow! Me likey...God let my own joy come soon..

Dis is sooo lovely!!!

Burberry said...

Hmmmm Baba God please answer my prayers oh Amen.

This is the cutest thing I've read in months. I'm so happy for you Dear. Happy married life. I just hope my boyfriend can do more than this.*blushing * prettyprecious0018@yahoo.com a.k.a preCious.

Awww! Beautiful

Sasha said...

Oh my...this is so sos nice.loving all the three steps. Jiro killed it really

nice one

Nonny said...

Lovely, she is lucky

Awwwww sigh so romantic

wow***such an exquisite proposal..plan on doing sumtin as dis for my future wife...still a teen tho..lol

gusee said...

So romantic, love is a gud tin

Happy for them.......congrats to u both..

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

how romantic, I tried putting an engagement ring in a bowl of Banga soup for the first girl i wanted to marry, guess what? she ate everything, dropped just a few bones from the okporoko fish n Goat meat, ring i nor see, what am I suppose to do? I kept quiet, we broken up tho #lvmXmasMarket

Mtchewww...good for you guys but we didn't need all that long detailed story like some novel with all d 20months n 30months ish! Short n simple gives a better effect abeg!

ubbycute said...

Chai! na dis kind love I dey like, God dey oo.

Awesome, xo romantic#spanner#

Ebony Black said...

Awwww...My Ex, why didn't you do your proposal this way and I would have said yes. It's your loss o

That's so romantic of him, I wish them well..

Lol Jiro n Twinkle 9ce 1 I jst hp bae comes up wit sumthn wonderful 4 proposal if nt ehn bt still waitn 4 my Linda #smiles....... NJ

Very dry *sighs* yall are one of those hype peeps. Mtscheeew

Beautiful....
===Pearl===

Wow!!! So romantic.

So romantic :) :)

Bianca Bruno said...

Good for them.
Put as much effort in the marriage as you did in engaging her.

ij said...

Aww! I don't like suprises but I love this kinda suprise

Moonshine said...

congrat Twinkle and Jiro my own day will come too and its soon Amen!

LGM said...

Loveli,werz ma own husby naao...b fast ooo n commaan propose

Very nice.....romantic all d way.

racheal said...

You are a good man that cares about your woman and making memories count, now why won't your woman go the extra mile to please u. Unlike that useless excuse of a baby daddy, does nothing worth the while but wants a party thrown cos he carries out his responsibilities or not lately. Stupid thing. Anyway everybody can't have it all. Besides i guess i burned my bridges trying to prove a point to somebody who wasn't even worth it. You are a very lucky girl.

Elodie O. Mbape said...

Cute. Congrats!

OoOooooooooyyeah!
May ur love wine neva run out of its taste!
Put Christ 1st and hope Jiro lovs Christ more than he love u twinkle.
Enjoy! I love romantic guys!

Cindy# said...

Oh boy, u get swag oh, wt a lovely way 2 propose 2 ur gf, i'm alredy feeling jealous & wishing it wz me. Congrat, wish d both of u a happy ending

surshima samuel said...

Wow! Wow! Too cute to a story!!! Wish u guys d best

chibaby helen said...

I wish u guyz everlastin hapiness.

Awwwww...love is a beautiful thing

careen said...

Congratz guys wising u guys so much love together.

U seem extremely frustrated....

Awwww you are so lonely and depressed.

Dont worry Bonario will soon propose...

Ask Bonario...

Is dat chinny I see..lol her friends dou dem too igbotic abeg..

Karlsson said...

Love is a beautiful thing, congrats. Ubanagum

Nina Queenet said...

What a romantic and unforgetable way to propose..and some ll say our naija guys aren't romantic..I wish my self better one

shine ur eye for black nylon. said...

happy for you make sure you bring God into your life

Seriously frustrated! From the entire lovely story see wot u picked out of it! U sound extremely bitter, that kinda attitude gets u nowhere, it's poison! I wish the couple well & may God deliver the pessimist from bitterness.

Congrats My classmate..
Long live UNSSEC '08

Oluwa mo fi iru ife yi Toro oo! Congrats guys!

Abeg u get work? Must u comment on every damn post?! Seems ur life revolves around this blog.

yemisi Z10 said...

Congrats girl

Nice to hear girl may the gud Lord b ur union

Hater, go and hug that transformer in ur street. U are the P in psychology. @Anonymous 8:22, expunge "seem" frm ur sentence. He is extremely frustrated. Isi ewu ndi umuokereke.

Wow! What a sweet experience. Congrats to you both!

R. McCoy said...

congrats, man. wish you guys all the best!

Yeah!! Hope he doesn't cheat on her anytime soon cos men can be pigs!!!

Happy her

destinysweet said...

Sweet....i pray my man propose to me in a romantic way

-----#AUNTYLINDAgoddaughter#

ßįļľkụ́mâ said...

Not extremely... .. Seriously frustrated... . Lmao. In France where I live, people are not frustrated like this. Lmao

Omg...so sweet...not those yeye men that pride themselves on having multiple GFs

Lmfao, yes very very frustrated

Sazzy C said...

So lovely. Congrats to you both.

this is exactly what i am planing next year

Greatest Battles!!! Part 1

The Narrow Way That Leads To Heaven - Matthew 7:13,14

Congrats to dem

Aww so so romantic..she's beautiful without words..buh those her friends like free things. Den no even send the dramas.. na d chaws dem send..happy for u guys. She's gonna make. Good wife

Lolll my tots exactly e could not summarize!

Hahahahaahahahahahhhahahahhahaha *faints

Super sweet! I wish my cuties the best as they become ONE

It reminds me of my proposal tooo*awwwwwwaw romantic.
May God bless the union

Bolateethole.blogspot.com

Tell him you love surprises and that when he wanna propose he should surprise you.thats what I did,and it worked*shinesteeth*

Haters!who don engage you?

Eye witness Toh badt

destinysweet said...

Nice proposal

-----#AUNTYLINDAgoddaughter#

Jane Doe said...

Lululiscious said...

So beautiful,I cried just reading it

**lululiscious**

Obianuju Ozoeze said...

(Yawns) Boring

Anon 8:22 I agree wit u.frustration smells all ova d fool.......oloshi buruku bad belle.must u even comment?enemy of good thing

Congrats to them so lovely

Lindo i see your blog turning to magistrate court very soon, and people hosting their court (or blog) wedding here. E go happen!

Beautiful! !

That's no badt guy,that's a very local guy that seen a lot of home movies...WTH is that pant he's Putin on,Chukwu ekwene ihe ojor meh.Nwana buy clothes after that single champagne

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 243   Newer› Newest»