Polythechnics and Colleges of Education students protest in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 28 May 2014

Polythechnics and Colleges of Education students protest in Lagos

Students from Polytechnics and Colleges of Education this morning took to the streets of Lagos to protest the Academic Staff Union of Polytechnic, ASUP, strike which has been on for over 9 months now. The strike has grounded academic activities in all Polytechnics and also halted the students' academic pursuits.

Also heard that police shot at the students protesting in the Ebute Metta area of Lagos this afternoon. See more pics from the protest after the cut...

57 comments:

The goverment that said education is the key are the ones deprieving us of having that key.... Well their is God oooO....

Nigeria, what a pity! What else can we give to the younger folk if not education? This whole appalling educational system that's in wreck makes me so furibundal!! It enfreights my stomach with disdain towards our leaders, what a pity Nigeria, what a pity!

The strikes in polytechnic and colleges of education is a sign that our knowledgia centura is enveloped in paraplegia

Ok..Next...................#King

Hmmmm. . . This protest is justified and gets my support BUT the question begging answers in my mind is- is are these the same set of people that are concerned about their situation? I feel their seriousness should be seen in their countenance, responsible dressing and carriage, these guys are just having fun. I'm not suprised 'cos I saw something more depressing from OAU students' #BringBackOurGirls protest. Get serious and you'll get a response. One Love. Next!
Meanwhile #BRINGBACKOURGIRLS. . . .Our boys are getting restless.

Chai!!!!!!

Hmmm, it is well.

Innocent kids re dying everyday in the northbound issue is a small issue , y'll should do something else with your life, it doesn't have to be about school, and next time vote for who will do the right thing , not voting cos he's Igbo ,Yoruba or Hausa , if all the youths vote and you don't sell your votes for peanuts ,y'll can change Nigeria.

U guys should look into this issue, students have really tried to endure this.

na wa oh

*nita briggz*

I must leave dis country as soon as possible. I'm tired of all dese chaos. Somebody should just hold me bak or else. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

They should protest it is there right. government should do something jor enough is a enough for this country. God dey oo!!

Hmm I saw them dis morning n I also heard the gun shots by the policemen which way naija

"Evil forces are against my Govt"
I feel for them,may God raise an Oby Ezekwesili that will champion their course.

Make una go learn trade oooo but I pity them sha for ova a year now...thereisGodooooo

JO said...

Hmmmm, its just sad

Chai! Over 9 Months fah! Something should be done asap o.

CoolDiva speaks!

This strike has gone on, longer than necessary. F.G . & Asup should please come to some sort of agreement & stop wasting innocent students time.

9 months?

We ar beggin d fed gov to jst ans us

With this we are getting some where

9 months?! That's almost a year!!! I have realized that the government doesn't take polytechnics seriously!

Imagine I hav been staying at home for de past ten mnths just becos of asup strike,both FG,asup chairman and the mister of edu( river state black ship),shuld try and do sumtin abt dis so dat we can go bak to class as soon as possible,I dnt care hw dey do it.

Linda dnt mind dis stupid union all dey do is to condemn FG for being sluggish to resolve de strike bt its all abt de 40bn payment arrears,selfish people

Na now una eye open

Hmmm,HND and BSC cannot be the same na

winniekoko said...

FG shld pls show interest in this ASUP matter oooOooooo

Na now una eye open

ohigana said...

Mumu police why wil they shot at people trying to express their feelings

Them never even protest sef! Abi?

See dat girl dey smile for the pix like say na red carpet she dey abi? She never ready to go back to school na abi?

GOD will punish evil! That is all i know abi?

Govt pls, come to the aid of these students. I am sure a strike on a sensitive sector like education cannot be experienced in any part of the world. The Govt take the youths for granted that is why people are shaped into becoming monsters seeking for blood all around.

DOBY DOBY said...

Seriously I feel for dem.. govt shld do smtin. . Nig schools nd strike.. sooo annoying. . U go spnd extra year to study cos of strike..

9months is too much for heaven's sake... Haba. Let d govt see to wateva is kipin dis peeps at home. Its just too unfair

Dnt even care anymore....

The President was asked by the chat media crews, about the Polytechnic strike ; He diverted the question like bullet in a Gun; The ASUP & College of Education members Should block the minister of Education Office in Abuja with a Paralysed truck.

>VIA TECNO B3

halimsy said...

This is not fair o let e government luk into this matter

Yesso Govt shld do something abt it o abeg........

I personally witnessed the inhuman treatment meted out on these kids by combined team of the Nigerian Police Force at the Adekunle by 3rd Mainland Bridge juncture this afternoon. Imagine more than 50 students all beaten and pushed into a waiting poorly ventilated mobile cell (or if you like call it mobile prison) in the very hot sun. There were inside there for more than 4 hours. And while there, police were shooting tear gas. This treatment was quite unwarranted. The have the right to protest (we were once students too) and even if the police or whoever instructed the police feel what they were doing was wrong, there are better and more humane ways of stopping them. I remember some female students among the wrongly "imprisoned" ones shouting at the police that they should go and face book haram instead of using this commando style against Nigerian student. Fine...there are more pressing issues in the country, but this is also another pressing issue. How can their lecturers be on strike for over a year and nothing is done about it? MayGod help us in this ccountry. A press man who tried to televise the scenario got his camera destroyed by the police. Which was Nigeria?

ebonydoc said...

Okay so dey shd wear suits, Ties and blazers under d hotsun protesting, all in d name of "looking serious" mschew! I fink u r insensitive bcos u r nt affected/involved!

Ok.

they are not selfish, n it's all about 40bn

Wonder Why. We have ministry of education,the minister. Seems to comfortable where he is .its a pity.And after his regime he will wamt to feel he has achieved something.what a pity.

Say it in plain English and free yourselve and others of the gramatical stress of using a dictionary to understand your jibberish.

Prince charming wif all diz his crinkum crakum grandiloquent & bombastic grammar leaves me wif maniachally bewilderness.

They shuld hav accepted the two installmental payment long time ago

No much comment bcos asuu is nt involve rit?

Dats why we are not moving forward in nija cause we don't take our education serious na wa o

not only insensitive broda...he/ she is stupid...

i was there, i was even arrested by d police, Though am an hnd grad of yabatech, i still joined d protest, we youths are angry, there will be no election if school doesnt esume, the disparity btw hnd and bsc must stop

bukola said...

Just hoping they call off the strike soon.
house don tire moi.

Chai!!! God is WASHING US in everything that we are doing.

These protest should be on a daily basis . Take it to churches, mosques, wherever there is government functions as a constant reminder. These our leaders wants to replace themselves with their children who are schooling abroad. The rest of us NO EDUCATION NO AMBITION NO FUTURE. But they forget that if this is the case , the Nigerian people will be sleeping with both eyes opened

FG and asup are just playing politics wit the student life,11 months strike and nothing tangible is achieved,I don't blame them since non of have children schooling here in Nigeria

Most Dance said...

It is clear why all young people want to leave this country as there is really no future without a profound education. However who can change the situation with the education and the general situation in the country if everyone leaves for better life but their parents and grandparents stay in this hole. As we see there are still brave people who try to struggle and they deserve to be successful. I hope that some developed country can help them (they also can get help with academic essays online ) maybe some of these young people can get education abroad and after that come back with new ideas to teach next generation.