Stephanie Linus' foundation performs repair surgeries on 22 women with VVF | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 9 February 2014

Stephanie Linus' foundation performs repair surgeries on 22 women with VVF

It all started out as a passion to spread the word to as many people as possible on the dangers of Vesico Vaginal Fistula. Many years ago, as a student of the University of Calabar, Nollywood star actress Stephanie Linus heard about some young girls who had been forced into early marriage and were suffering the negative and embarrassing effects of VVF. The encounter lingered in her memory until she began to seek ways to raise awareness on the condition. Continue...

She embarked on a journey of research and visits to several hospitals and VVF centers both within and outside Nigeria to interact with girls and women suffering from the condition and doctors who took care of them. She also partnered with NGOs in other African countries like Liberia and Sierra Leone.

These visits, interactions and research conducted over some years provided the blueprint for the script of her self-produced movie called ‘DRY’. Set to be released soon, DRY is a movie centered around two girls who found themselves in the same cultural trap full of ignorance and cruelty.
But beyond the movie, raising awareness on VVF for Stephanie is a passion. “For some reason, I am deeply moved by young girls and women suffering from this condition and would continue to do everything I can to help as many of them as possible,” she said.

And so, for two weeks, Stephanie and her team from the Extended Hands Foundation (a charity organization founded by her) were in Ogoja, Cross River state, attending to the needs of 22 women living with VVF. The project was sponsored by SNEPCo/NNPC with the support of some dedicated doctors and nurses at the General Hospital, Ogoja, Cross River state. The team of doctors carried out repair surgeries on the 22 women and catered for them for 2 weeks, nursing them back to health.
Aside from the surgeries, the foundation also donated surgical equipment and electrical supplies which was presented to the hospital at an event attended by the Cross River State Commissioner for Social Welfare & Community Development, Cross River State Barrister Patricia Endeley and the Director Health, Population and Nutrition Office USAID Dr Nancy Lowenthal. Other people who were present include Dr Joseph Monehine , Dr Adamu of Engender Health and the Chief Surgeon Dr Sa’ad Idris.

Not only did Stephanie have very close interactions with the women who shared their devastating experiences, she watched the doctors perform the surgeries on some of the women and described her experience as “life changing”. Many of them had been living with the conditions for several years.
“There’s nothing like being in the theatre and seeing these doctors delicately restoring these women back to health and giving them another chance at living normal lives. The experience was life changing and I’m really glad I could be a part of this,” she said.

For Stephanie and the Extended Hands Foundation, it’s not the end but the journey and awareness still continues. “In our own little way, let’s help spread the word against child marriage and VVF and ensure we live healthy lives,” she advises.

Watch the Inspiring True Story of VERO, a VVF & RVF Survivor by Stephanie Linus (Okereke)

151 comments:

Classgist said...

may almighty God reward her. stephanie is really a role model.

BeKay said...

God bless u steph!!!!!Let d good things of life embrass u.

Blessed are the merciful for they shall obtain mercy!

Oh Darline may God Bless You For This... Thats So Thoughful Of You!! That Which You Strongly Desire From The Lord, Shall Come Calling!! #THEWAITISOVER!!

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
>>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

vels said...

Its not easy Mehn!!! May God strenghten her nd her team!neva heard of dis ilment b4 sha

Nice one steph, More grease to ur elbow .....Blessings

Naija Gossips

It is a commendable thing she is doing, I hope those who think it is right to marry 15 year old are watching and seeing the dangers of early marriages.

sWIT G said...

who cn tell me d causes solutions and effect of VVF... Haha thinqs peculiar to HAUSA (MUSLIM) PPLE...lol

FDJ said...

Nyc. One

This is actually getting too much these days. Cool though they should keep it upppsee pic and video girl caught her friend having sex with her boyfriend!

God bless u Stephanie. U will born quadruplet

Lyndy said...

Good work Steph. May God continue to bless u, Amen. Meanwhile, dnt forget to take care of ur husband. U might think u ve got it all covered until boom, he's gone

Zenki Brown said...

​A̶̲̅ very good one @ stephnie nd her
team. God bless U all.

Welldone Steph. God bless you.

God bless her heart and also her womb in jesus name amen.

God bless you Stephanie! Ds insanity(child marriage) has got 2stop!

Weldone stephanie, may d good Lord bless u abundantly!

KOSI said...

Bravo. more of your kind

She has a heart of gold,may God continue to strengthen her and see her through in all her endevours in jesus name. Amen

Well-done Stephanie!

Kemsheen said...

This would be my first comment ever on LIB! I was so touched by this. I grew up in northern Nigeria where cases of VVF abound. It's good to see more awareness being created on this issue and that steps are taken to also rectify the conditions of these women. Kudos!!!!

Peejay said...

Inspiring. Welldone Stephanie.

I'm inspired and moved by this amazing story. Stephanie's visionary to think to touch lives in this way. An angel without wings. Go, Steph.

last baby said...

God bless u dear

Mich said...

Bless your heart,pretty woman!

Wow. Am speechless

Good of u

Yerima the pedophile you see what you all are causing ??? Mtcheew

last baby said...

God bless u dear

last baby said...

God bless you Steph.

May Almighty God bless and reward her. Hotlaface

A woman with a heart of gold, that's My kind of girl. Keep it up, de lord is with u.

Nwa oma, please keep up the good work...kudos dearie!

Inspiring! Weldone steph! *Cagey*

Dina said...

I actually cried while watching this. God Bless You

God bless her

May God Almighty meet u at d very point of ur needs.Amen

Priceless

A Wonderful and Noble Gesture! Ma) God grant you your heart desire IJN and may He make your marriage fruitful and bless you abundantly.

Yusuf Olowo said...

God bless her

Via 0809ja For life

Noted!

Stephanie Linus! May God bless you,may he grant you your heart desires,as you have put a smile on those women faces so shall smile always be in your face and life! Thank you so much for touching the lifes of these ones! Thank God for the man in your life(ur husband) God will surprise both of you in Jesus Name! Amen.
@UA

Visages Parfait said...

My darling,the ailment is so real,its scarry! 1st heard of it while serving with Federal Min of Women Affairs! I'm just glad Steph is 1 more capable hand that's helping 2 fight this embarrasment cos that's what it is! You don't even want to wish it on a female enemy.

In other news,what happened to the Vagina Monologue series? Still on?

I don see my wife in the next life...Stephanie Okereke (no disrespect to Mr.Linus)...I love you MaMa. Stay blessed.

Bright said...

God Bless you Stephan, am really inspired by this.

Thumb up to you madam. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Naija babe said...

Commendable!!! Weldone dearest sister. God bless and reward you. I hope this people dat usually send pictures of themselves, there cars, hair, bags, shoes and hotel room where dey are vacationing will learn from this. Most especially all these miss tourism and nigeria tinz. Use ur opportunity well and be remembered for good, instead of showing us ur naked pictures. Biko.

Nd som people go dey snap yeye pix 4 dubia dey form actress...gud work mrs steph

God will Bless u my dear,I wish u heavenz best!! Kip it up....

i cried when i saw this video,stephanie...all i can say is GOD WILL BLESS YOU AND UR BEAUTIFUL HEART FOREVER...YOU ARE REALLY AN ANGEL FROM GOD.

May God bless her

Blesyn said...

I have always loved this woman,and I love her more right now. May God strengthen you and bless all the works of your hands.... More of you to help this nation. Amen!

God will lift you steph, and bless the works of ur hands..he will also grant ur Gud heart desires...#teddyjoyce#

Dats a brave step u took steph , may GOD bless u n ur marriage wit kids n happiness. Amen.

Well done

Watching the video brought tears to my eyes. People are really going thru a lot in this life.. Stephanie may God bless and increase u abundantly.

You are definitely ignorant

Thanks for impacting on ppl's life mrs linus

And boom lyndy so are you.

May God is heaven bless you, i will like to be part of this mehn, soon and very soon.

God bless u loads Stephanie!

And in another breath,my fellow Nigerians would crucify her for having dated xxxxx.
Those of you that have never done wrong,bad etc,show us what good you have done for others.
We berate this women(omotola,Genevieve,Stephanie) yet each of them is doing good for widows,girl children,vvf victims respectively.
Bless you ladies

Platinum Tastes said...

Now that's a positive change. Not just having a foundation and nothing of essence is being done.

Hmmmm!!! Its only God dat can tnk u̶̲̥̅̊ steph! Only God! God wil continue to be wit u̶̲̥̅̊, provide 4 u̶̲̥̅̊ nd hear u̶̲̥̅̊r prayers IJN, Amen

God bless you Steph. And for Bobo/Indomie donors, take a cue

Bravo steph its gud 2 kn smone out therr is helpin vvf victims.God ll bless u mightily ijn,Amen.genevive ll only talk bt has neva made any effort.

S said...

May d Lord breath into u darling! The God of Abraham is still d same and ur joy will know No bound in Jesus name

Thank u so much for ur support nd may d almighty God always cont to blessing abundantly,may d window of blessings nd favour be open for u ijn...I love nd respect u a lot..keep the good work going.

W̶̲̥̅̊Ђɑ̤̥̈̊†̥ is vvf?

Pi Pi said...

God bless u darling

God's mercy will neva cease in ur life steph....continue wt d gud works God will repay u ijn...~ chidinma

Now this is better dan dose beauty queens dt l go n snap pix in d studio dt they helping les priviledge. See d real pixs with d real benefactors of d foundation. Dose wannabe queens shld learn

Lyndy Ur own husband will go first. Ewu onitsha.

Sabrına said...

What an ınspırıng tale...more grace to your elbow...stay blessed stephanıe!!!

This is what it takes to be a celebrity. Helping others to find their voice not just flaunting of riches. Other "Celebrities" should emulate Mrs Stephanie Linus.

Flector said...

WOW! AS IN...WOW!!!! THAT IS ALL I HAVE TO SAY.

Its actually a condition that affects young girls who go through child birth because the reproductive system is immature, it affect the girls innability to control her bladder hence she constantly urinates on herself as she constantly spills urine and can do anything aboout. So u can imagine the horribly odour. As a lady even when you use the loo and can find tissue to wipe within minutes it spells horrbly and u can't wait to wash up. So imagine what these poor girls suffer

Nita said...

God bless u real big Steph...fnx 4 remembering CRS, much luv & respect 4 u.

Well done my dear. God will bless u.

A true woman of virtue! May God reward u in abundance

Linda post my comment.

#mr Coded Pen

GOOD JOB STEPHANIE ..MAY GOD BLESS YOU FOR THIS NOBLE EFFORT..

Oby said...

God bless you Steph! A million x over!

Chika slotty ike should pls learn fron these ,showing off expensive hotel nd shopping bags is not d way foward

What is life If we can't share and extended our hands to those that can't repay the good we did for them?

Chinyere Ok. said...

God bless u dear!

OMG!WOMAN said...

Bless your heart darling!!!!! May showers of blessing never sieze to rain in your home Amen.

Chiamy N said...

I had never heard of VVF before now. This is very educating and touching. God bless Extended hands, their team of doctors and their sponsors.

touchLight said...

Weldone..God Bless You abundantly Stephanie,vry inspiring n touching.

touchLight said...

Weldone,u r really an Angel witout wings.

touchLight said...

Weldone..God Bless You abundantly Stephanie,vry inspiring n touching.

syl said...

dis is so touchin and inspirin....1st comment ever

syl said...

syl said...

She's always been a nyc gurl...more grease to ya elbow swthrt...#TeamSteph

May God bless u.
Estangel

Seeing these video makes me cry like a baby.. Stephanie may the Good lord continue to bless u and ur family

candygirl said...

Awwwwwwwwww lookie lookie my steph baby!God Bless you girl!!...and oh I noticed your skin is still brown(thank God!)We say no to whitinicious!hahahaha bite me dencia

Wow God bless you steph and all those that helped in this.and may god continue to provide sponsors to help this course.and to those that marry young gals beta stop.cos this ain't funny at all.

I've not cry dis much in a long while, God bless ur heart hun
I'd luv to be a part of ur team..how do I join???

#That happy sister!

Stephanie is a good role model .others like chika ike should learn.

Chika ike learn from ur colleague

Highly-Favoured said...

The video exposed the degree of poverty in Cross River State. It is really a big shame to Cross River State govt that so many of its indigenes live in abject poverty - no roads, no source of income, no hospitals to get medical attention, no schools, no source of information, no electricity.

Girls are married off before they are 14. I thought that was only in northern Nigeria. Never knew this degree of poverty and ignorance existed in Cross River State. Every year the govt spend a fortune on carnival in Calabar and pays no attention to remote areas in the state. So many girls and women are so sick and can't get medical. Most pregnant girls give birth at home leading to complications or death. It is shame.

All u corrupt politician, who live big at the expense of the poor, God will disgrace u very soon. This is wicked. I sheds tears when I watched that video.

Stephanie, May God bless u for this selfless service. May He grant u ur heart desires..
Reply this thread

AnnMarie said...

I'm so touched by this story may God bless her and for the men who force their way into these young girls with underdeveloped organs, hell fire awaits all of u

Good job Steph!! Well done!!! Am so proud of u. Where's Omosexy? Come and show what u have done aside trotting d whole world looking for cheap recognition. U better use ur God given opportunity to make an impact in ur generation before you ll wake up one day and see dt ur shine is gone. Bravo Steph!!!!!

syl said...

na wah oh linda I go sign form 1st b4 u publish my comment.....??????

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!I love this babe... Tnk u

finemocha said...

Stephanie Okereke is soo beautiful. look at even skin tone and sexy eyes. Beautiful both inside and out.

Wow!! Kudos dearie. May God almighty grant U all dt Ur hrt wishes. God bless U and Ur team greatly

This is what life is all about and by so doing Steph will be blessed beyond measure. Life is not about showing the world how many shoes, cars, houses, clothes you have.....its about making a difference in people's lives. Steph is a great role model for me and one of the few who stand out. Proud of you girl!!! God bless you and cause you to increase on every side in Jesus Name, Amen!!!

Nuff Said!!!

God bless you my sister!

God bless ur heart

hmmmm and we have leaders that are just concerned about looting money when people are going through hardship. God will judge them

Nice one stephny

i hope INI EDO is seeing this before she will send us pics of her in one cheap hotel in limpopo again TUMBS UP STEPH

God bless steph linus idahosa

Very Inspiring indeed. Can someone share this with our senators particularly the paedophiliac from Zamfara.

Pls shut up Lyndy.

Hmmmm, all I can say is.....God bless u Steph

Well done dear. This is what celebrities should do, not posing to snap pictures with motherless babies with few cartons of indomie and rolls of local tissue paper in the name of celebrating birthday in a motherless babies home

NennyD said...

May God continue to bless and lead you Stephanie ..you are indeed a God sent to human race "kisses"

May God bless u Stephanie n may d lords blessings n favour never run dry in ur family.

BAO

moji said...

This is so amazing, personally I am touched. I had to share the story immediately, my own little way of supporting the awareness n encouraging extended hands foundation. I must say Stephanie is commendable n a role model that needs to be applauded. I pray to God everyday to bless me so I will continue to bless the needy amongst us. Good job Stephanie, God bless you

Brilliant steph. Great step. Bless you babes n your entire household.

This got me teary eyed... God, i pray you bless this woman called Stephanie, she is AWESOME!!! and may all the women who had the surgery healing be complete, IJN

GOD BLESS U STEP.

jenny said...

oh my God! i couldn't hold back my tears. God bless u steph. May God's mercy and peace never depart from your household.

NONY said...

CHIKA IKE AND HER LOCAL COMRADES..SHOWING US THINGS SHE CLAIMED SHE BOUGHT IN DUBAI..NEEDY FOR USELESS LASCIVIOUS ATTENTION FROM HER LOW SELF ESTEEM AND LOW SELF WORTH, AND LOW CLASS ATTENTION SEEKING BEHAVIOR......SHE SHLD ALIGN HERSELF WITH STEPHANIE WHO IS CHANGING REAL PEOPLE'S LIVES ONE PERSON AT A TIME..THIS IS AMAZING STEPHANIE..CHINEKE ANYI WILL BLESS U WITH CHILDREN AND FORTIFY U IN UR MARRIAGE...THOSE VILLAGES SHE TRAVELLED TO ARE VERY REMOTE..IN THIS HOT NIJA SUN...U CAN SEE THE SWEAT AND HARD WORK...AS FOR THAT DOCTOR U ARE A GIFT FROM GOD...THE NURSES MAY GOD BLESS U ALL TOO,,UNBELIEVABLE

God bless you Steph. God bless the victims.
Nigerian govt una hear so? these are your daughters

While other celebrities were using their wealth to show off gold plated phone's, bracelete etc and some other exotic cars, Stephanie has got hers to help the poor. May God reward her immensely and grant her, her heart desires IJN amen

GOD BLESS U STEPH

what you do for christ will last.

Gracee Love said...

May God continue t0 strengthen her, bless her and give her long live in Jesus name (Amen)

kiki smiles said...

Stephanie darling as u hav remebered dis girls God Almighty will remeber u beyond yur imagination, keep up d good work.

Ndyyy5 said...

I was move closely to tears while going through this video. May God Almighty continue to Extend His hands of mercy and favour to you In Jesus Mighty Name I pray. Amen

Awwwwwwww Dis is so commendable...
Steph Much Love. God would indeed make u bigger.

GOD BLESS U RICHLY....

God bless u dear

God will surely bless Stephanie,she didn't use all her money to travel for hols,didnt buy mansions or even buy d most expensive car,may God richly bless u.i love u more now

Stephanie my pretty angel, I can't stop loving u. God bless u more and more. Amen

GOD bless u Steph. But one question. So whr are the men that put these people in this condition?????????? Hmmmmmm. Won't they come and take care of them?????

God bless you dearie. You have done so well. Once more thank you for touching lives..

Tope Taiwo said...

This is the first time i would make a comment on your blog Linda and its because its a worthy cause. I am deeply moved by this post/video clip and i think its high time we all rose up to play our part in correcting our social ills. Kudos to Stephanie *Job well done. Her reward is in Heaven. Bless you too Linda for sharing.

wow....dis is so nice. May God bless u real good Stephanie.

may God bless her...Greg xaid so

may God bless her...Greg sais xo

That's nice of her. God will surely bless her

She is the best amongst her kind.Keep it up Stephanie.I love your good works.

Nice job Steph ......

Miss H

Concilia Nwosu said...

May Almighty God bless you in all your life endeavours

May God bless and reward YU abundantly...Stephanie Linus

God bless you steph...I need to extend too cuz more grounds to be covered. ..

Hi Linda! Please I can't find the organisation website. Please do you know how I can contact anyone from Stephanie Linus' Foundation. It's really important, please. Thank you