National Conference: Preparing for a Marriage, not a Wedding - by Reno Omokri | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 13 February 2014

National Conference: Preparing for a Marriage, not a Wedding - by Reno Omokri

Another article written by Reno Omokri, Special Assistant to President Jonathan on New Media.
Now that the modalities for the National Conference have been released, it is clear that this dialogue is going to be a citizens driven discourse which to every true progressive must be very reassuring, because as most married couples know, it spells disaster for a nuptial union if you spend time preparing for a wedding rather than a marriage. A wedding is a day’s event. A marriage is a lifetime affair. And what Nigeria had on the 1st of January 1914 was a wedding.
Recently, I became aware of Brian Tracy's maxim of management which provides that "every minute you spend planning saves ten minutes in execution; this gives you a 1000% Return on Energy".

Tracy's nugget of wisdom is more telling of the Nigerian situation when you take into account the fact that Nigeria at independence in 1960 had more potential and a higher Gross Domestic Product than Malaysia, South Korea and the island nation that has come to be known today as Singapore. But because these aforementioned nations spent the decade immediately following 1960 preparing, their execution of their plans has been better than ours was in the same period and today, their GDPs are exponentially better than Nigeria when considered by Per Capita distribution although in the last three years Nigeria has been making steady progress in narrowing the gap.

And so, if Nigeria has to catch up (and we have no choice but to catch up), we have to retrace our steps and address those unhealthy rivalries that have caused us to spend our energies resisting each other rather than assisting each other, because as the late sage, Chief Obafemi Awolowo, said in 1981, "it is safer and wiser to cure unhealthy rivalries than to suppress it".

And truly, what we have been doing in the past is to suppress unhealthy rivalries.

This present National Conference is people driven and highly inclusive. Whereas previous dialogues had the incumbent Head of State or President and his team of military or elected governors nominating delegates, this present conference has delegates to be freely chosen by almost every association in Nigeria cutting across religion, gender, age, profession, vocation, political leaning, blocs of the real sector, employed, unemployed, retired and traditional institutions.

Every strata of the Nigerian society will be involved so that we can address age long questions that have baffled us.

And one of the questions that have baffled most of us is the question of marginalization. Every ethnic nationality, bar none, has complained of being marginalized. The Northern Elders Forum, the Arewa Consultative Forum, the Middle Belt Forum, Afenifere, Ohaneze Ndi'Igbo, South-south Peoples Forum, Borno Elders Forum, all of these groups have at one time or the other (and even simultaneously!), cried out that they are being marginalized within the Nigerian nation state.

Every now and then we hear of indigene/settler, military/police, oil company/host community and inter and intra state squabbles.

Our women folk have complained that there are no inbuilt Affirmative Actions that help them cope with male dominance. From time to time we hear complaints from people living with disabilities that they are estranged from the Nigerian nation state. Similar cries have been made by sub sects of larger groups such as the Shiites within Islam and the Pentecostals within Christendom. Fringe groups such as the Miyetti Allah Cattle Breeders Association, the Agbekoya Farmers Association and other such groupings have equally voiced such concerns.

Therefore, let them all supply delegates, as the National Conference has afforded them, so we can know who has been marginalizing who, why he/she/it/them have been able to marginalize and how such powers of marginalization can be neutralized to the end that we may become one so our enemies are none.

You see, this will afford us opportunity to prepare for the marriage where we had hitherto been prepared only for the wedding.

We have previously been talking at each other, now, let us talk to each other. Let us talk to each other so we can have that authentic 'We the People' moment that came out of such dynamic and history defining gatherings such as The Boston Tea Party of 1773 and the Philadelphia Constitution Convention of 1787, which eventually led to such a synergistic document as the Constitution of The United States, that marvellous document that has served as the charter that has guided the marriage of The United States of America serving as a light house that has directed America to land during stormy times and propelled her to being universally acclaimed as God's own country!

Nations are dynamic not static and they can be birthed by a wedding, such as the wedding of 1914, but they cannot be sustained without a marriage and just as successful marriages today flourish when there is understanding, nations only flourish when they have national agreements freely entered into.

Even when he got the Ten Commandments from God, Moses didn't ram it down the throats of the ancient Israelites. He first showed it to them and consulted with them by calling for a congress of the people and asking them if they were willing to be bound by the provisions of The Lord's commands. The Israelites agreed by consensus that they would be guided by the Ten Commandments.

And I must stress the 'we' part of We The People, because, going by the modalities released by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, resolutions from the conference will be reached by consensus! This means that there will be synergy and a win-win approach of all for one and one for all.

Without participation, there is simply no buy in and without buying in you will not have stakeholders and when you don't have stakeholders what you end up with are onlookers who will never ask what they can do for their country but will certainly ask what their country can do for them. This is why over the years, Nigeria has been like a cow that very few are feeding but everyone is milking. But with this National Conference, we the people of Nigeria can change the conversation from 'who will change Nigeria?' to 'how can we change Nigeria?'.

Since the death of the visionary, Steve Jobs, I have been reading his biographies and studying works done on him because I wanted to fathom how one man was able to drive so much global positive change within the space of such a short time.

I came to understand that in taking those decisions that elevated him to become what he became, Jobs stood at the junction between Exploitation and Exploration.

Exploitation meant taking advantage of the things and ideas that had been done before. So, he could figure out how to make better versions of products created by others.

Exploration meant making out time for the contemplative process that led to the creation of new pathways and ideas for new products.

If Jobs chose to exploit, he could make the world a better place, but if he elected to explore he could change the world for the better.

I think in Nigeria we face a similar choice. We have the choice to exploit the wedding of 1914 and carry on as before with only cosmetic changes that help us do what we have always done but to do it better.

Or we can go the route of exploration and chart a new course by that will help us do better things instead of doing old things better. A course that will bring about a paradigm shift where we do not just see oil money to be shared, but we see seed monies to be used to create food belts on our very fertile Middle Belt regions, convert arid lands in the North into oasis with flower beds that can  usurp the flower selling industry from The Netherlands and Kenya. To be a net exporter of foods rather than a net importer of foods.

The possibilities are endless and speaking of possibilities, that is exactly what the National Conference can be, should be and will be. A conference of possibilities that will cause us to explore Nigeria instead of just exploiting her.

Today, we have a new ill in Nigeria called terrorism. Terrorism is just the use of terror to force particular changes in a territory. The best antidote to terrorism is to bring about desired changes via consensus instead of terror. Once the National Conference takes off, people will be able to let out the steam in their minds.

As an aside, I want to ask why those who heavily campaigned for government to dialogue with Boko Haram and give them amnesty are now heavily campaigning against the idea of Nigerians dialoguing together? It makes no sense to me and I think this should be food for deep thought.

And so, when those who profit from the status quo and who feel threatened by a National Conference come to muddy the waters (and they will come) with politics and personal agendas, ‘we the people’ have to bear in mind that while they and their children can run away to other nations whose citizenship they hold, we and our children have no other nation than Nigeria. So, are we going to let those with partial commitment to Nigeria scuttle this golden opportunity for the masses who have total commitment to Nigeria? Nay, but let us remember the words from Bob Marley's Redemption Song

‘Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery;
None but ourselves can free our minds’.
Indeed, none but Nigerians can free Nigeria.
Regards,
Reno.

48 comments:

His eminence said...

All We want total dissolution of this crap called nigeria,it is a nation that will naver work nor be in peace talk more of progress,why remain one?

Say owe story #bright bravo#

His eminence said...

All we want is the total dissolution of this crap called nigeria,Nigeria will naver work.

Make this oga go write novels.

Peejay said...

Loooooong story. *returns to reading "Americanah" by Chimamanda Adichie*

Nice! We should all ask ourselves' what can we do for our country'. But what can I do for naija?

sheila said...

Well written Mr Omokri! There is NEED for national dialogue and consensus. If we are going to stay a united nation....a successful united nation, then we have to be united. Nigerians have to find common ground beyond tribal and ethnic differences. Lets move our country forward. We are one Nigeria and we should love our country.

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Aaaaaaah. Can't read all of this.

Luvly piece of Article.

Good one but it begins with you... You don't necessarily need to be in government or on tv. Revolutionize your immediate environment

But Reno just like the failed wedding of 1914,tagging the forced unity of Nigeria a No Go area,ultimately makes this new confab different in colouration but same in substance.
If we are meant to be,we must surely be. There's no need running away from the truth and deceiving ourselves with the famous slogan "OUR STRENGHT IS IN OUR DIVERSITY" while on daily basis ethno religious sentiments play a prominent part in the day to day activities in our country.
I strongly believe in the doctrine of disagreeing to agree. Won't it be better we discuss this forced marriage of 1914 once and for all and if we are going to still remain one modalities be put in place on how we should go about it.
Reno you and I know that Corruption and ethno religious sentiments are the main problems plaguing the growth and development of our country.
For with the intent of satisfying every region of the country in the name of Federal character principle, merit is been sacrificed on the altar of mediocrity.
For how shall we continue with ethno religious undertone accompanying every policy of the government.

Dear Reno the 1914 wedding u termed a oneday affair,and the new confab a marriage. To me I see no difference in a wedding that knew love for just oneday than a forced marriage that never saw love at all.

ade said...

Let's hope for d best, dem marriage go last

Woman caught using vaginal discharge to cook

Too long o'jere!
Harnikky.

Professional jobseeker said...

See epistle oooo. Linda, is Nigeria planning to get married or what??

The National conference has been bringing about arguments and discuss especially who will be chosen to represent chosen sections.

Will this conference bring forth the change Nigeria needs. Lets watch and see

*YOU DON'T HAVE TO WAIT FOR JOBS. SIGN UP AND LET JOBS FIND YOU!!!

Mtscheew! RENO 303, some 1 should pls read n summarise d whole handout. Will b bk for real cmment after d jottn is over.

blah,blah,blah......too long mr oga

Abed some1 shud summarise it i cnt read further

blah,blah,blah

He is a good writer no doubt but what did he mean by " Nigeria is a cow and everyone is milking and nobody is feeding" ? he should better correct that sentence and speak for himself if he is milking.

True talk reno.....may God help us all.....

Talk talk talk.

Resource control is the way forward, if they do not come up with this in agreement and adhere to it thereafter then the conference would have been a total waste of fund as Nigeria's stability and development would be impossible without it (resource control).

MO said...

Dear Reno,
I have acceded to the fact that you are a good writer.
So am I.your area of strength lies in the use if words to convince,confuse,coerced.
I am none of the aforementioned c's.
You and I are very good at talking the talk.but do we walk the talk?I think not.
This is my opinion Reno,the government of president Jonathan must be felt and seen by the average Nigerian."maybe" you are all working hard,but unfortunately,as long as the average Nigerian cannot "feel","see","sense" these actions then you are laboring in vain.
What's the point of telling us it WILL be better when this is all we have heard for ever.
What's the point of telling us you are better than the last set of leaders when that's exactly what the last set of leaders said of their own predecessors.
What's the point of blaming it on the previous administration when the present administration and a lot of its serving officers,ministers,ambassadors,commissioners,special advisers,nass members etc are/was/ part of the present non performing officials.
I can go on and on Reno,but people are hungry Reno.stop the emotional blackmail.your passport may be green but guess what,some people don't even own a passport nor know what it looks like.you and I may not own dual citizenship but we can afford to go else where if it comes down to it.
Lets stop blaming the past and work out how our future can be better.
But most importantly,Mr president can only cone to equity with clean hands.i repeat,he might be a good man,but he's soiling himself by surrounding himself with rogues.
A man dressed in all white must never be seen in the middle of a frying pan filled with palm oil.

If all government officials can act like they write this country would be competing with the US and UK. Let's keep our fingers crossed and see where this would lead though. Good read though!

Igor said...

This guy is a good writer and a great thinker.I learnt how to make use of some words from this epistle.

People would not read this. After they would say Nigeria is bad and are corrupt. How can you fight this when you don't say shit and just be there telling jokes of the president and making him as if he is bad. Most Nigerian are the people that don't want the country to move forward because you are just there you don't want to contribute your idea on how to make the country move forward. Now there is a platform for all of us to come out and talk about the situation, rather we the youth just keep quite, don't hold seminal to talker this problem. I advice we use this National conference to relate our mind towards the development of the country.

wow nice masterpiece but will they also invite massob cause if they don't it will b called partiality #westino#

I cant say anything to you apart from you do your JOB properly MR RENO very well.

Yawns and dies

AnnMarie said...

Well written

ok, 9ice 1.hmmmm

Great work, Mr. Omokri, all those like OBJ, IBB, and other rubbish minded people like Buhari including all the shameless crowds of goons and their families should go and occupy several sits in the bush, cos they are bush people following by their antecedents, and for them to still be showing their faces in public is the greatest impunity even above corruption of all kinds.
How dare they assume ignorance of the heinous crimes they have committed against the peoples of Nigeria, Nigeria itself and the future of both.
The problem of Nepa, water, roads, education for example has never been fully address nor a meaningful headway achieved even with all the different formulae formulated in the past to siphoned public funds in pretence and in negligence of proving basic amenities.
G.Jonathan should resist all attempts to follow the footpath of his predecessors.

Really brain storming! Reno u are unique indeed! Am quite inlove with this ur write up.

lubby d'elmagnifico said...

Hnm is all I can say, its easy to talk bt difficult wen it coms to executing wt ws bin said

@peejay ur a wicked person,lol.

AGB said...

This is a very great,beautiful & insightful write-up.

Rogers said...

Extremely brilliant,the fact is no matter how enthusiastic some of us get,there are bound to be some who see no good in anything good,but for what is worth this is the sole heart and purpose of change,God bless Nigeria and all positive thinking Nigerians,Amen.

Ode... better start reading if you live in Nigeria and start thinking.

Ummmh... I never knew people felt this way. So you think segregation of ethnic group will save Nigeria, in a nutshell.

They know more than u think bt they r too conservative & self centred. @SHoK

MO said...

Excuse my typos.at the time I posted my comment,I did not have the luxury my dear Reno has.enough time,unending data bundle,a well air conditioned environment and several assistants etc.and I also had to dash out to do some real work to put food on the table of my family and a few others (not using the google engine to lift quotes from past successful and well meaning leaders who sacrificed ALL for the unity and good of their fellow women and men)

My dear Reno,it starts with you and I.by action not by words alone.let your deeds precede you.let us hear of your sacrifices from ordinary citizens and not sponsored political cheapskates.
I'm doing my bit.do yours.

last baby said...

Yea sometimes we criticise other without know one Wayne or the other we contribute negatively. Lets start by asking ourselves what we can do for our dear country, nigeria

The truth of the matter is that it is too late to dialogue! Bad blood has being sown deep into the fabric of the entity known as Nigeria. Even as they dialogue, people are being killed in Borno, plans are made to kill infidels! Honestly in IMO this is coming too late.

I strongly welcome this conference. Let the youths of Nigeria wake up from their slumber for once and take ownership of Nigeria. Agree on the kind of Nation we want for ourselves, our kids and grand kids in the next 20yrs, 30yrs, 50yrs to 100yrs and beyond. By marriage or wedding we are a blessed people but we have not been able to manage ourselves and resources well. Let our youths lend their voices strongly. Trust me, Nigeria and its potentials are worth that effort. If we emancipate ourselves from all the vices holding us down, look beyond ethnicity and see ourselves as Nigerians, Africans, FROWN at greed and corruption, Nigeria has the capacity to help emancipate the rest of the continent. Let us strife to build a just society. Free soociety, with fairness and equality for ALL no matter the tribe. IF WE KNOW THE WORTH OF NIGERIA, WE WILL AND MUST MAKE IT WORK. Na my humble opinion be dat

I strongly welcome this conference. Let the youths of Nigeria wake up from their slumber for once and take ownership of Nigeria. Agree on the kind of Nation we want for ourselves, our kids and grand kids in the next 20yrs, 30yrs, 50yrs to 100yrs and beyond. By marriage or wedding we are a blessed people but we have not been able to manage ourselves and resources well. Let our youths lend their voices strongly. Trust me, Nigeria and its potentials are worth that effort. If we emancipate ourselves from all the vices holding us down, look beyond ethnicity and see ourselves as Nigerians, Africans, FROWN at greed and corruption, Nigeria has the capacity to help emancipate the rest of the continent. Let us strife to build a just society. Free soociety, with fairness and equality for ALL no matter the tribe. IF WE KNOW THE WORTH OF NIGERIA, WE WILL AND MUST MAKE IT WORK. Na my humble opinion be dat.

Soundhouse said...

Mr Reno talking against some people holding other nation's citizenship. Can he tell us that he himself does not hold an american or british passport? yeah the write up is well crafted and sweet to read, it still doesn't address our problems. The outcome of the conference can never be unbiased. Mark my words.

Bona!, just be yourself, u not making sense. Be coherent, consistent and logical in your presentation. I'm watching, when u do I'll let you know.

t said...

I took a constitutional law course online. Learned some surprising (new) things e.g. NO RELIGION in Nigeria's constitution, so practice any thing you wish. God forgive those wicked Boko Harams.