How Abuja NGO arrest innocent women and label them prostitutes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 11 February 2014

How Abuja NGO arrest innocent women and label them prostitutes

Grace Adogo, daughter of Nigeria’s Senate president, the Director of SAP-CLN
Here's an interesting report I found on Premium Times, detailing how an Abuja-based NGO in collaboration with the Abuja Environmental Protection Board are trying to rid the city of prostitutes, but are allegedly arresting innocent women. Find the investigative report below...
An Abuja-based NGO, Society Against Prostitution and Child Labour in Nigeria (SAP-CLN), in collaboration with Abuja Environmental Protection Board (AEPB) have elected to embark on a controversial campaign to rid Nigeria’s capital city of prostitutes. But it seems the campaign is being waged on the wrong side of the law following allegations of abuses and highhandedness, which grossly violate the provisions of Nigeria’s Constitution. Continue..
AEPB officials
Party Turned Sour
When the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) posted Bimbo Ojo to Abuja, it was a dream come true. But not long after she arrived, she found that the city offered more than the bargain. While thousands of prospective corps members force their way to be posted to the “bling” city, hers came on a platter.

Abuja has an extraordinary allure especially for young Nigerians. Driven by radical ideas like those of former FCT Minister, Nasir El-Rufai, who in his controversial book, “Accidental Public Servant,” posited that “rural development is an oxymoron,” because “ultimately, everyone in the world will live in cities… we should all work … to get everyone to move to cities,” young people tend to have lost patience for the tortoise speed at which development has been trickling to the countryside. The result has been an unprecedented rural-urban drift. So Ms. Ojo and other young Nigerians believe that Abuja is pregnant with limitless opportunities to transform their lives.

However, majority of young people who came to Abuja hoping to get a better life have found themselves clutching the ebbing shadows of their once beautiful dreams. Nigeria’s capital territory does not seem to have room for the struggling people, artisans and even the low-level white and blue-collar workers. After all, succeeding ministers of the capital city have not only said so but have also proved that beyond every reasonable doubt.

But Ms. Ojo and some of her friends were yet to experience the other side of the beautiful city until one fateful evening. Apparently trying to explore the luscious nightlife of Abuja, she had set out for a party with her friends. Indeed, they had plenty of fun while the party lasted but towards midnight, they decided to go home.

Just as they walked out of the club towards the road to board a taxi, two buses pulled up. Like a scene from a Hollywood movie, she said, armed soldiers and policemen jumped out, cocked their riffles, took them violently and threw them into the waiting buses.

“It was so sudden that I couldn’t believe what happened was real,” she said. “The armed security officials shoved us violently into the buses and the driver moved in a neck-break speed to an unknown destination. Nobody told us what we did wrong and we couldn’t ask for fear of being shot.”
They were not the only occupants of the bus. Ms. Ojo said more than a dozen other girls had been hurled into the vehicle before she and her friends were seized.

The armed soldiers and police officers were not patrolling Abuja streets in search of armed robbers, who shot their way into neighbourhoods, kill and dispose law-abiding citizens of their properties. They were not looking for members of the dreaded Boko Haram sect, who have declared war against every strand of civilization. They were hunting for commercial sex workers, popularly known as “ashawo,” and the war has been total.

The AEPA Connection
The security operatives and touts who run amok in Abuja streets profiling citizens as prostitutes are said to be doing the bidding of the Society Against Prostitution and Child Labour in Nigeria, SAP-CLN, an NGO said to be owned by the daughter of a powerful politician.

Since the law does not permit an NGO to carry out such audacious campaign, its patrons enlisted the support of the fiery Abuja Environmental Protection Board (AEPB), and the police and got funding from countries that have largely lifted their citizens from abject poverty.

With the muscle of AEPB and dollars from donors, SAP-CLN set out to wage an unrelenting war against prostitutes in Nigeria’s centre of unity.

Several people have commended the NGO and its backers for electing to sanitise the capital city. Prostitution is illegal under AEPB law and offenders risk fines and jail terms. Unfortunately, the same law failed to clearly define who a prostitute is and how they can be identified. The operators have therefore, relied on gut feeling to arrest, detain and prosecute alleged offenders.

But the experiences of people like Ms. Ojo and hundreds of others have seriously called to question the propriety of the campaign with regards to the provisions of the 1999 Constitution.
And that is why Ms. Ojo and many others are angry. Indeed, they are so angry for the humiliation, pain and anguish of being falsely labeled, paraded and treated as prostitutes.

“Not only have I lost many job opportunities in Abuja after being charged to court on allegations of being a commercial sex worker but I have also been cursed by my immediate family. I don’t think I will ever overcome the stigma of this false and malicious accusation. My biggest headache is to clear my name because nobody who is aware of the allegation would want to marry me,” a distraught Ms. Ojo said.

At the premises of the Federal High Court in Abuja, where she had gone to seek redress, Ms. Ojo told PREMIUM TIMES that she had relocated to Lagos to stave off the negative publicity generated by her arrest and prosecution by the NGO.

Recounting her ordeal, she said, “We were driven like criminals to the Area 10 Sports Complex where they accused us and many other ladies who were already detained of being commercial sex workers.”

Struggling hard to control her emotion, she continued, “They then asked us to pay N5, 000 each to secure our freedom. Those who had the money paid and were released instantly. Others who had relatives called them to come and buy their freedom. Being a mere youth-corps member, I had no money and no one to call. I was charged to a mobile court the next morning where the magistrate discharged and acquitted me of any wrongdoing. But the humiliation, disgrace, and stigma of the ordeal are indelible. Indeed, they will torture me for the rest of my life,” she said.
SAP-CLN has many cases hanging on its neck including the N420 million suit against it by the angry youth corps member.

Ms. Ojo is probably one out of several other women who have braced the odds to take it out on their accusers. Majority of victims lick their wounds secretly and would not add salt to injury by exposing their shame to others.

With Ms. Ojo’s resolve to seek justice in the court, other women have started speaking up. For instance, Dorothy Njemanze, an actress and human rights activist, confirmed she narrowly escaped being arrested and humiliated by the controversial NGO.

Milliam Olufu said she was dragged from her SUV and beaten up on the allegation that she was a commercial sex worker. A lady who gave her name simply as Hanatu said security operatives attached to the NGO shot her on the leg for standing up to challenge the attempt to arrest her illegally. A house wife, who gave her name simply as Mrs. Osagie was not spared when the raiders met her coming out of a popular pharmacy in the Wuse 2 District of the nation’s capital, where she had gone to buy medicine for her sick child.

Ms. Njemanze, who has during the past two years been fighting against gender-based violence, said she has taken it upon herself to fight the illegal activities of the NGO.
Narrating her ordeal, Ms. Njemanze said her experience with the dreaded NGO made her realise just how bad women were being treated in the country. On the night she had a brush with the group, she said neither her identity card nor the many ATM cards she showed to her accusers made any sense.

She said, “With them, no ID card count and when I tried to call someone who could identify me, one of the operatives boasted that they too have a ‘big shot’ in the National Assembly and pulled out his phone and made some calls while another one said ‘let us call madam’ and he did.”
However, luck smiled on her when the crowd of young men who had gathered while the drama unfolded, resisted every attempt by the NGO to take her away. But the raiders didn’t leave until they dented her Honda Accord car.
Some residents of the capital city, who spoke with PREMIUM TIMES, expressed concern over the activities of SAP-CLN, saying the NGO’s operations violated the rights of women as guaranteed under Sections 34, 35, 41 and 42 of the 1999 Constitution.
Through her NGO, Nigerian Women’s Trust Fund, NWTF, Ms. Njemanze has declared war on SAP-CLN. Already, NWTF has called on the Federal Government to stop SAP-CLN from violating the rights of women in Abuja. The group said many female students, female employees of telecommunications firms, shoppers and even married women have been brutalised and abducted on the grounds that they were engaged in prostitution and taken to SAP-CLN detention facilities, including the Area 10 Sports Complex.
Ms. Njemanze insists that some of the victims are forced by SAP-CLN and its collaborators to buy their freedom. However, she explained that some of those who could not pay are tortured before being taken to a mobile court where they are charged and sent to a rehabilitation camp for sex workers located in Sabon Lugbe off Umar Musa Yar’Adua Way.
While criticisms of SAP-CLN have come in torrents, PREMIUM TIMES investigation shows that commercial sex practice is not permitted anywhere in the FCT. Section 35 (1) of the Abuja Environmental Protection Board, AEPB, Act of 1997, prohibits people from selling and or buying sexual intercourse.
Under the law, it is not only the female sex workers who are liable but also their patrons. But like the story of the biblical woman who was caught in the act of adultery, the patrons are always allowed to walk away free.

A legal practitioner, Abang Odok-Ogar of Armani Chambers, Abuja says SAP-CLN cannot hide under the AEPB Act to molest women whose fundamental right to dignity has been guaranteed under Section 34 of the 1999 Constitution. He said the AEPB Act contravened the provisions of the 1999 Constitution and is therefore, null and void to the extent to which it contravenes provisions of the grand norm.

Another legal practitioner, Aniefiok Iba, argued that every Nigerian is guaranteed freedom of movement under the law and no reasonable statute can detract from it. “There is no law that forbids people from going to parties or clubs in the night. People have the right to freedom of movement and association and nobody should hide under any guise to curtail those rights.”

Mr. Iba insisted that a boyfriend and girlfriend, husband and wife and even relations and friends might chose to attend a night party, a club or any kind of social gathering without let or hindrance.
“Nobody has the right to arrest another person on the road because she has elected to attend a social function in the night,” he said. “You cannot just pick somebody on the road and conclude she is a prostitute.”

More Complaints
Many victims have complained about the conduct of the men engaged in SAP-CLN prostitute raids. One of the victims, who gave her name simply as Blessing, said she was arrested by a popular supermarket along Ademola Adetokunbo Crescent. “I was just coming out of the supermarket when I spotted some men chasing young women towards my direction. I didn’t know why they chased the girls and so I walked to the road to pick a taxi home. Just then, the men caught up with me. Without provocation, they dragged me and in the process pulled my skirt up and shoved me into a bus that pulled up from nowhere,” she recalled.

Blessing said some of the security operatives violated the girls, saying that a young man wearing the AEPB sexually harassed her.
She said, “One of the men touched my breasts, but some of the smaller girls were seriously violated. For instance, some of the guys who arrested us inserted their fingers into private parts of some of the girls under the guise of searching for hard drugs or something. It was so disgusting.”

Read the rest of the report on Premium Times

147 comments:

Its in Nigeria that you will hear this kind of story

Most Abuja babes are prostitutes, AKA , public toilets.

In Nigeria, arrest are always made before investigation, and its supposed to be investigation before arrest, so that concrete evidence are gotten, and wen arrest are then made, its authentic, in Nigeria that peoples property get searched without a warrant, Na wa o, I fear for this country

Na The Same People!! Fight For Them Linda, your good at that but make sure they are not Proffesional OLOSHO'S..

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
>>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

YES,that happens too...

In Lagos,the arrest innocent boys that own cars and plant something on them and call them "Yahoo Boys"

Just passing by.

Peejay said...

This NGO is a farce. They know where to catch the real culprits if they want to. Hiding under the guise of AEPB will not spare them from being charged to court. Rubbish.

Na The Same People!! Fight For Them Linda, your good at that but make sure they are not Proffesional OLOSHO'S..

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
>>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

Linda,prostitues full Abuja so me no surprise .....even the cooperate ones worse pass....Abuja based babe.....

Rough Diamond said...

Wat a sad tale! Hope our government intervenes on behalf of more innocent ladies to be abuse by dis monsters!

So true,I was almost arrested if not for intervention of my elder brothe. Funny enough those prostitutes still parade around wuse 2 and rnt arrested yet innocent girls r arrested.

Han han Linda... This is too Long...

smh! hmmmm. very scary. the motive may have been right but the execution totally wrong. even here in lagos wn police arrest prostitutes u already knw a lot of dm will b sexually harassed and released. not to mention innocent ladies. one can only pray to b @ d right place @ d right tym. sorry of an innocent person can quickly change to smtn else in dis dear country of our's. we have d ALUU students to remember. God help us all.

The innocent always suffer in this country.This is sad

Stunt*** said...

*yawns*

That 9ja for you...................too many NGO's and Agencies.

INDECENT DRESSING,DOS OFFICICIALS R STUPID ANIWAZ.MTSCHEWWW,AM SURE DEIR CHILDREN ARE CONFIRM"ASHEWO".

No wonder whenever my friends and I pullover along that Wuse road,you will see girls running like they stole handset.

Zenki brown said...

Trouble in Nigeria

Last time I travelled to Abuja, I got there very late and I was warned by host not to step out of the bus park until he comes to pick me up. It's that bad,yes! When touts and drug users are in operation, this is what we expect.

Swaggs isimemen said...

@ d first time what does she went 2 go nd find @ d club? Two If u don't want 2 be harassed then stay a Way about night outing gbam

AnnMarie said...

We all know where prostitutes can be found and its not in front of a super market in broad daylight. And the idea of them inserting their fingers into the young ladies private part is sexual abuse... I don't know what to say

pumpkin said...

Dats dere cup of tea.long hisssss

Igor said...

It is unfortunate that decent ladies are sometimes mistaken for prostitutes.But the question is,'why should a decent lady hang out late in the night,and if she does, why did she not make adequate arrangements on how to get back home' ?Another thing is the way our ladies dress this days,shows no difference between them and prostitutes.Therefore,our over zealous security men at times mistake them for roadside hookers.

As far as naija is concern,its only d innocent pple dat normally fall victim in crimes lyk dis..

This story is long O.....ok Seen...next pls

~Beautiful Princess~

winky said...

May God help us.

She is using the influence of her father to harass inocent pple, she thinks her father will remain in power 4reva.

Mystic Falls said...

This is really cruel and disgusting,why will govt support such a barbaric NGO & then violate the rights of Nigerians that they are suppose 2 protect.its not their fault is because they knw that this govt will do nothing abt it.

Swaggs isimemen said...

@ d first time what does she went 2 find @ d club? Two If she does nt want 2 be harassed then stay a Way about night outing or clubbing gbamb

I av heard something like that before n am beginning to think is true.

Linda A said...

That's some serious issue oh. All these small small group with political connection seeking for relevance everywhere at d expense of innocent people. God dey see una sha!
Linda post my comment if u like oh.

Linda A

LilkoyeBlog said...

Linda, this story is soooo true. My friend and I have also gone through this horror. Around 7pm four of my friends went out to eat pizza and take some cappuccino. We rounded up around 8pm and proceeded to stop a cab. From nowhere two buses pulled over and without any word we were dragged in at gun point. This needs to be stopped

Hmmm whoever does nt blive ur innocent if u truly are is nt wrth it so 4 1nce in ur life woman can everything noot be about who will marry u n who wouldn't. Can this experience inspire u 2 realize that everyday innocent pipo are persecuted 4 different crimes n mayb u start a campaign of defending helpless pipo bt NO it won't ,,it must b about husband. Who will marry me nw that they think I'm a prostitute. Was Mary Magdalene nt a reformed prostitute...mtcheew----C21

And the sad thing is, it is a woman behind this evil NGO. We women can be terrbile. We know that our men are very evil towards women and we encourage them to continue to harass women in this way. May God forgive her.

Too Long to read

i wonder when all this is going to stop. it has been going on now for the past three years and nobody has done anything about it. the degrading way ladies are being treated is just too much.

very sad, one day we will get it right

UNLIMITED GIST....

Dats y u av 2 look decent by d way u dress if u don't want 2 b embarras by those dogs.sum gals dress like whore truly.cosmos.

So bad #bright bravo#

The life of a woman! May God deliver us from these beasts who have no regard for womanhood! *Hiss*

I hope they will not turn around one day and start seizing people for rituals all in the name of clean FCT rubish

Una do well o so called NGOs

Linda I no fit read dis ur NGO 101 o, now even prostitute don upgrade their status, na from dere house dem dey do runs no b for road o. So mke dem open eye well well b4 dem continue catch innocent people.

Am so disgusted by this story...this people r bastards

Dts a very sad story n should be investigated bc am sure women right ought to be respected!

Quite agreed, There are prostitutes in Abj. Just as it is in other cities around the world. It's a shame that David Mark's daugther is involved in some messy NGO! Why not think of better things like running for senate like Iyabo Obasanjo. Hiss

A country that will take up issues that affects a common so seriously and when it concerns the ppl in power it wud be shoved under the drawer whatt is going on abt the cabal oil subsidy

Na wetin we no go see 4 naija.......

that girl said...

Disgusting people.....dauta to senate president my ass....and u're a woman as well, letting ur fellow women be disgraced by illiterate, disgusting men.... The truth is dat women are the source of oda women's mis fortunes most times. No proper proof or investigation is carried out, d stupid wayward men just pick any female and harass dem. Smh... Plz they sue d last kobo outta dem, buh knowing nig and d fact dat "daddy" is a major politician, d case might be dragged to infinity before being thrown out. Dirty smelling country. #good intention horrible disgusting execution.

This is extremely true, on my way back from work some guys came to take a look at my taxi to check how I was dressed, only for the taxi driver to tell me they arrest girls in taxi's that r indecently dressed and tag them as sex workers. Please some1 should look into this because it's happening and a lot of people are getting hurt. The govt should tackle more important things facing Nigeria.

And our president is looking 2 pass anoda mumuish bill

Sexily Endowed said...

@ de last compliant Blessing. She is so RIGHT. They harasses u, slaps u, put their dirty fingers inside ur pussy like WTH. Isn't dat rape? Some will even sleep wit u[out of ur will] @ dat stupid so called station of theirs. Its just so painful how they insult gals all in de name of wat i dnt even no. These are de tins Government shud look into oda dan signing stupid [gay] laws. #LawlessCountry#

Rubish, they we leave their primary assignment and be doing wat nobody send them. All because of their own pocket. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Sexily Endowed said...

How wud u no α prostitute if u harasse & arrest every woman on de road @ nite? Abuja is so dated, hearin abt all dese makes M̶̲̅ε̲̣ not wanna go there cuz i like clubbing & having fun so how can i go wen am sure of being arrested once am out of de party hall?

Sexily Endowed said...

U know, its very bad dat they only do dis to ladies & de male robbers are being respected & freed. Woman has de main power in dis world, even God knows dat. Or are they saying dat God is stupid to have created women & hand ova such power to them? Well.... Look @ it very well, de. Ones harassing de women are de ones living wit de main prostitutes. Fuck de damn law makers on dis issue.

Yes am a witness,i remember how this bastard AEPB touts dealt with me,Nigeria is a failed country they never get it right.daughter of senate president is behind this ,God will punish the useless woman for running this kind of NGO without been there to monitor their activities,These bastards will harass u sexually and also stole ur belongings and label u a prostitute.

Sooooo long an essay

last baby said...

This is bad, inhuman. Pls can govt do something about this. Pls avoid innocent girls suffering what they know not about. The politicians daughters are they better than these girls

It's so clear that our Country Nigeria is Lawless, buh regardless no one shud take laws into their hands in form of a stupid NGO, the stupid woman who owns d agency sure would nt say she don't go out in d nite?or she doesn't have kids who go out @ nite. I just pray her child falls vitim too. If it's an NGO she shudnt be taking dem to court, she shud be taking dem to where dey'll better their lives, nt squeeze out money from them and still harras dem. No work for d country and these gals must make a living and mostly men still patronise dem if nt dey won't be on d street either.

We almost fel victim of dis 2yrs ago!ma aunt na werey if nt dem for pack all of us for dt deir stupid Van or wt eva its called?dey need to be sued?am nt disputing d fact dt der are no prostitude in ABJ but dis people are takin it to its xtreme!for cryin out loud there are prostitiude worldwide!its nt everybody u see on d street dt shuld be labelled as prostitiude and dey usually start der stupid parade 6pm#awooloshi

They shld b sure b4 actin

My friend's wife was arrested with her friends after leaving a party, while walking to their car by these Abuja Environmental men, something needs 2 be done urgently. David mark's daughter shld rather go n arrest dose gals dat parade in her father's office rather dan sending her men after innocent women.

Women... We are our own worst enemies.... Stupid NGO that she and her father are using to siphon Government money. See her fat face...Check well now and you'll find out she was once the queen of the RUNZ girls business(that is if she has stopped)...God will judge all of them.

Meanwhile, what is it with Nigerian Men and violating women? Why must it always end with someone fingering a female or touching her breasts or even sleeping with her? Have Men become dogs? What ever happened to arresting an offender and treating them well till they are convicted of the crime? This Country is fast becoming a Sodom and Gomorrah....

I am speechless! At things that happens in our country, Nigeria. For heavens sake, this is not right.

hmmm, sexy endowed, na wa o

You too luk @ ur display name sexily endowed why will dey nt want to arrest nd do all dose shits to u lol ..*clearsthroat* .. But on a crious note so many pple just abuse power especially in Nigeria and Govt shud stop this by going for the madam at the helm of affairs regardless of her political backing .. Who send am ? She be police abi na sss or senate president daugter office don dey nw mscheeew ... #smartclown

spoiled brat said...

Dress the way u want to b addressed
Responsible pple are not night crawlers.

Wealthy Efe said...

The government should act fast and stop this wickedness against women

Grace Adogo, on a very bad day you will be fingered by criminals and those uniform men on that evil day a piece of broom must be inserted into your penis by a higher evil group and those third legs of yours will fall asleep never to rise again, you can never run away from this as you must experience it "you lowest animals with no parents. One of those girls could be the angel am looking for.

God will punish grace Adogo and thoes working for her

Very bad!

Am I the only one who didn't read dis shit lol #notinterested

And they re signing gay bill...ℓ̊ wasnt against dis gay right untill now...nigeria have many pressing issues they have to look @ anddeyreconcernaboutgayz...mtchww..they should also sign bill 2 jail pple marrying underage gurls nd stop using muslim law 2 cover up

this is realy serious o!

Mo'dele said...

Someone seriously needs to call these people to order. I live in Abuja and I've heard a lot of these stories about innocent women being arrested on false allegations of being commercial sex workers, assaulted and molested whilst in custody of these ruffians. It is just disheartening!

Linda Ikeji, what kind of blogger are you? You screen comments before you paste? WTH is the fun of blogging then? hiss

Uyee said...

These allegations, don't really add up, bimbo i can understand your case, you were probably at the wrong spot at the wrong time. i don't believe these guys harass women behind wheels, so all those women who claim to have been dragged out of their vehicles should chill.

Commitee and agencies sef2much4 dis naija,dis creates more room4 corruption&all forms of evil attrocities

No time

few said...

#rubbish...ol dey do is to arrest galz on d street without any EVIDENCE dat dey r prositute yet d government will fold handz nd luk....johnathan kip preachn peace wen d citizen r uncomfortable in dier own country....wahz d definition of DEMOCRACY again plz???

Few say so*via B.A.G*

Jonathan kindly look into dis. How can u allow this. Its brutal.

Its really true, I was with a corp member serving in area 11, Garki.she told me How she was taken by those unidentified people for walking to her house. Its happening in Abuja

Are you serious? That is disgusting? So why are you lafies hiding while being oppressed. You guy need to get a good lawyer and collectively sue this group. Nobody will fight for you guys unless you guys fight for yourselves. No human being deserves to be treated that way.

Habah why?so person no fit waka 4 street again ni?any way I no blame them since married women in abuja also engage themselves in professional prostitution,i mean coporate olosho.so wetin man Pikin go do nau?#churchmind#

Am sure d madam lost her husband or bf to an abuja call gal and she wants revenge, hence her wicked campaign. Its so bad dat gals r afraid to go clubbing alone or wit galfrnds cos these guys just harass and molest gals witout asking for means of identification. I tot NGO's r meant to assist in. Dev not harrasment

Truely this reports r true.I am a single girl with a decent job in abuja however i cant go to any resturant or lounge without been looked at by male security men or waiters like a prostitute.In abuja if u r without male company then u r labeled a prostitute!Its so unfair...u cant evn go to d capital bar or poolside in d hilton to spend ya own money as u wil b prevented or harrased.So long as u r dressed in western clothes u r seen as a prostitute in abuja.So sad...i miss my Lagos

Na wao! But seriously this is smtin they can't really say. How on earth wld u knw if a person is a prostitute? Prostitution started frm d bible days, all these over zealous NGO's can't stop it. Imagine d useless men now hijack d situation to rape woman. God help us in naija ooo!

ms bee said...

Dis country is getting more lawless by the day! God pls help us! Kindly take away the lives of dez oppressessors so ur children can live in peace! Amen!

millicent said...

Kai ashawo people don don vex. Dem dey go court!

Chemmy, you're a fool. To even type and show your ignorance makes you an insensitive fool. Its idiots like you that willy nilly sign documents without reading through it and later come and cry foul. This is a story of how women and innocent might I add, are being mistreated all in the name of reducing the increasing rate of prostitutes in Abuja. Raiding a state of prostitutes is great, but arresting innocent women illegally and assaulting them and dipping fingers in the vjj or shooting one in the leg for standing up to question the officer is just plain wrong. Please, if you don't have anything positive, interesting to contribute to solve this assault on women's right, please kindly shut the hell up and sit at the kiddies tables until you're ready to join the adults in a meaningful conversation. The nerve of some people? Good gawd!

kclub said...

Thank God, @last I can really come back to linda blog. Tot u ar jonathanz pikin na, thank God for saying this truth. So sick and tired of all this bullshit in abuja. No free movement @nyt @all, if u ar well dressed as a lady@nyt, they wil take u as a prostitute, if u ar a guy, u ar dre patronage. Hw do they identify prostitutes for God sake. Linda some stupid set of people will stil take them to unknow destination and sleep with them. For hw long ar wil goin to liv in this country full of oppressorsknwoin fully well that ur father that u ar even using his influence wasn't rightfully elected bhu rigged stil u kip oppressing the innocent souls. For hw lone do we liv wit diz very set of bad leaders. If the leaders isn't active hw do u expect doz under him to be gud. We all nid Gods intervention, we all nid change and the change starts frm us........2015 is bhind d corner, sell nt ur votes, Vote wisely..

May your sisters or any female you know be caught and molested by these animals.

Read the rest report ke.....afta all this plenty story,nah I 'll pass
For the ashawo pple matter,truth is,a decent lady wouldn't be seen roaming about in the night(am so sure they were dressed slutty)but that doesn't give the NGO the right to shove/molest women
Moral of the story;Be mobile when clubing in fct& decency will work too#justsayin#
If the Ngo's wanna arrest someone,they should start with their husbands(they are the patronizers of sex workers..Poison IVY

I am really appalled by this nonsense. I too have heard stories about how vicious and unprofessional these guys can get. I'm sick of the way our country treats women. You don't have the right to seek an honest employment for fear of getting sexually harassed by your employer, you can't exercise your rights to the freedom of movement and association, you can't do anything really. This is why women in our country are so desperate to get married, because they see marriage as the only way to get out of their current economic situation. Women end up getting physically and emotionally abused by their husbands and boyfriends. If the government does not get rid of that NGO then my fellow Nigerians, we are even more doomed than we realize.

This is just barbaric and ferocious against women, a big slap to the Federal Republic of Nigeria. I hope something will be done about this fast, I will not allow or accept such barbaric treatment from any so-called uncircumcised operatives in the disguise of POLICE or Armed Men to do this to my sister and get away with it. NOOOOO!

If only nigeria single & married women could dress in a decent manner,illegal NGO people Wȋ̊ℓℓ not stop to mistaken them as commercial sex worker. No One in this storyline told me dat a reverend sister was arrested. Or a real deeper life christian girl was arrested either. What are Wȋ̊ℓℓ talking here? These vitims are just passing through correction of dressing coduct. They should not complain at all. If u seewhat some of them wear to churches,u Wȋ̊ℓℓ be disappointed. I no say nobody holy pass ooo. Just take am like that. Engr. Austine from Edo state say so.

kclub said...

Amen and her papa sef, so shall it be AMEN

kclub said...

I tire o, na so she dey do to her own favor only.........smh

Hmm, so not true! I'm my own best company and go out alone most time & have never been harassed by anyone (oh, maybe just policemen who ask you to step out & open your truck at night). If you are decently dressed and hang out in all the right places then I see no reason why anyone shld harass you.....

Of course u r d only fool on dis blog. Every1 knows dat and no one cares if you read it or not. Dont bother even. U would not comprehend it with ur thick brain. Your mates are busy making money while you spend your entire time being foolish on LIB.

Ok now I see d reason why after my farewell party on d 1st of February some armed policemen as described tried to arrest my girlfriend, her sister & friend. It was on d same Adetukombo Ademola Crescent where we had stopped so my girlfriend can purchase sanitary pads cuz d ting wz about to start. The intolerant policeman wz so drunk wit a braggadocious attitude. He refused to take a look at my ID wit its red borderline & bold coat of arms when confronted quietly retreating to their bus. God was at work cuz he also culd hv shot at any of them before I stepped out of the car in protest. This must be stopped and I lend my support to d lady who has filed a lawsuit against these power abusive sons of a gun. If you like no post my comment since na only when pesin protest na hin u go post. Oshe!

Shut up! They hv been doing this for a while. Until it happens to u or sm1 u r related to.

linda ikeji where is my post??? i guess u deleted it,part of the abuse of power we are talking about

kclub said...

Haha, nawa o, #eyez rolling#, wetin dis one dey talk now?

joy said...

Na waoo.I weep for my country naija.let dose stupid police or soldiers try dat to mi, I 'll make sure they 're jobless till death nonsense

Not only in Abuja, something like tis happened to me years bck in Owerri and ph. And I heard it happens in lekki.

@Apple, go and take several seats u illiterate.

kclub said...

Yes, u ar ryt, and also stole ur belongings. So u please wrote gud anglish u hear? Lol

And how responsible is this ur statement u fool? So everyone that attends parties or other social gatherings @ night are irresponsible? Come out of that ur village cos its beginning to affect the way u reason.

@chemmywalata Thats why u are still jobless! No one wants to employ someone who claims to be a graduate and yet, cant read.

kclub said...

Lwkmd, abegi, make una no kill linda o, na her work she dey do, if kasala burst nw, una go dey una house dey read am come dey talk anoda story, abeg no put linda for trouble o, work hard and @ a tym, use yah head. I luv linda. #lol#

And how responsible is this ur statement u fool? So everyone that attends parties or other social gatherings @ night are irresponsible? Come out of that ur village cos its beginning to affect the way u reason.

@Apple, go and take several seats u illiterate.

And your point is? You just muddled up the whole issue. Are you high on something? Please pick up a 'HINTs' magazine if this simple issue confuses you. Our sisters and friends are being harrassed here,and all you can do is to spit rubbish. Isn't the Convener of this SAP-CL a woman like you? Wetin men do u sef?

You are a rat, too stupid!

It's unfortunate but the truth is the prostitutes in Abuja are too much! Them full every lungu, every night club and they look so normal. Those people should sort themselves out and stop harassing the innocents.

PLEASE WHEN DID A PAIR OF JEANS AND TEE SHIRT TURN INTO INDECENT DRESSING....Ignorant fools most times it doesn't have anything to do with dressing...People that live in Abuja can tell you that some of these prostitutes stand on the road dressed in hijab and really covered up

Lol, afi pizza and cappuccino nah...

freeeman said...

May God help us, so many innocent peeps being wrongly accused : Nigeria's problem

Actress dat is Sexier than toolz....

Swaggs from ur writeup, its obvious u are an illiterate. Enlightening u will be synonymous to giving a goat scholarship.

Come dis alloy guy,must u comment more dan once just to get noticed..guess u r seriously hustln for 100k from Linda,plz try anoda method nd stop boring us wit dis ur comments everywer

Pls shut up. So it's okay to pick up these ladies and harass them? Maybe you won't say this trash if they were arresting men for patronizing prostitutes.

Which senate president dauta, no be Grace Enegela be dis? Its a shame. She don forget her former work,she come dey arrest people.mtsheew

Many young ladies in abj had experienced this people, they are stupid people, there are prostitudes all over wuse 2 jevnik and area 11 gimbiya street, serious prostitudes,. But those foools wont go there to pick them up, instead they prefer to go to residential areas any pick decwnt girls and call them prostitudes, i came out of my house one evening to get recharge card, and this people arrested me, i was even wearing hair net, for Godsake do prostitudes wear hair net. This people shld be erradicated. They are doing more harm than good. My friend went just oppoosite her house to get indomie at around 10 and she was arrested too. Its trash. Because she didnt come out with her phone and they didnt even let her explain. She slept in the cell that night. I heard a story about a girl that was raped by people claiming to be this NGO, we dont know if it was truly them or some group of guys impersonated. But the girl was raped by 4 boys who arrested her claming to be this people. If they want to catch prostitudes they know where to get them. But instead they go pick up girls they kniw that are surely not prostitudess

sigh said...

Prostitution is actually the oldest business empire in the world. That been said, I do hope the government tackles this asap. I'm guessing these buses will be very busy friday night harrassing and arresting. So please if u hav 2go on a date or anything this vals dress decent

Na wa oh, evn pple on hair net and night cloths.. I wnt to serve in Abuja but am now scared.

Is fast becoming? Too late!

Dnt mind d idiot,lemme nt catch u in club on friday o!monkey.its nw a crime 2 go clubbing.ewure ni

Ode!!!no matter how decent u look.pple coming 4rom work(do dey dress naked 2 work)so we should tie buba n wrapper b4 we look decent

Dnt mind d idiot,lemme nt catch u in club on friday o!monkey.its nw a crime 2 go clubbing.ewure ni

This is a serious case.

Olodo, u can't read!

Looking at the amount of breast she has exposed in this pic, she is definitely a fist class prostitute!!!

@apple you're a fucking idiot! Should I repeat that??? YES! You're a fucking idiot!

What you just said is complete hocum!!! You sound dumb! WTF do you mean by make adequate arrangements to get home? In a civilised society if you don't own a car, don't you hail a cab or use the train? Whether a girl is indecently clad or not (by the way define indecency), that don't give nobody the right to harass her or judge her! Outside this accursed country prostitutes are arrested after they have been propositioned by undercover cops & they agree! Because you believe she's a prostitute that doesn't make her one!

This is really shocking! What kainda thrash is this? So so annoying, I will indees prefer to die than go anywhere with those fucking Idiots, dem de mad, der papaaaaa, bastards. As 4 that ugly looking madam, may God punish u, na d swear on ur yeye dad de follow u so, ugly thing, what rubbish?

@Apple, he/she is indeed senseless. So if most of d babes in Abuja are prostitutes, that is enough reason 2 go about humiliating all females wether married or single they come across? Apple u must be an idiot aswear, n u shld know that it takes a prostitute 2 know a prostitute, that means u must be a big time harlot 2 know that almost all d gurls in Abuja are prostitutes. Ewu gambia, mtchewww.

@Swaggs isimemen ur comment is so immature, how on earth did u find out about LIB? #smh# 4 u.

My dear Anon 10:51pm, pls dnt worry ur head cos of Igor, she/ he is obviously an illiterate that just want to comment! Since LIB is free to download to China phones, u must def come across idiots like these in d person of Igor n her likes, mtchewww.

Don't mind that idiot who call herself spoilt brat, she is obviously a child n a spoilt idiot, ofcourse someone with ds kainda statement can not be more than 13yrs old. Na social network I blame, oponu.

Honestly Grace is an OLOSHO too, it takes an ashawo 2 know an ashawo. Dis guyz never jam an unhappy chick, that's y they are having a filled day, until dem jam an unhappy chick they will continue 2 get away with this rubbish.

Wen u pull ova in d bus u conduct?

Congrats on ur new jobby job!

Pizza and Cappuccino? U mean Suya and Stout? Lol!

Ameena said...

i can attest to that....because it happened to me once. its really a pity. they just walk up to you and snatch you away like a kidnap scene... i hate the organization and detest what they are doing especially those idiots that sit in the bus looking for who to snatch. even the bodies in uniform. i shudder anytime i remember the episode. girls just hold pepper spray..

Ikedichi said...

I wish to request the publisher of this article to take down the picture identifying my wife and I as members of AEPB.
SAP/AEPB operatives are all over the place in Abuja and you may wish to approach them for pictures rather than posting dubious photographs.
Kindly take the picture down before we take legal action.

there are brothels where these chip woles stay and severally, i have met with these guys to go in there and fetch them instead of staying at junctions or bus stops for innocent girls closing from genuie work.these guys are really up for cheap popularity and not doing he job.
thank you