Update on the pepper sellers who were tortured in Ejigbo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 8 December 2013

Update on the pepper sellers who were tortured in Ejigbo

A few days ago, some of you watched the video of the beating and torture of 2 women for allegedly stealing pepper. (In case you missed it, see it HERE). Well, there's an update. Ever since the video was made public, a few people have been working behind the scenes to find the men who did this. Some sort of breakthrough has been achieved with the involvement of the Chairman of Ejigbo Local Council of Lagos. He's worked his socks off on this case since some people got in touch with him.

Find his response after the cut. It's now time to pile pressure on the Lagos State Govt and the Lagos State Police...

Kehinde Bamigbetan:

I promised an update in 24 hours: This incident took place in the central market, Iyana Ejigbo, Ejigbo LCDA in February 2013. The pepper sellers normally leave their goods in their stalls. They returned the next day to discover that their goods were being stolen. They reported this to the vigilante they hired to secure the market. About 6am, the two women were allegedly caught stealing pepper. They were a wife and her step-daughter. They lived near the market with the husband. The husband is said to be a wine tapper. After the barbaric torture, both confessed to stealing the pepper and were let go. However, a few members of the vigilante feared that the case may spread. And informed the leadership of the vigilante group. Those involved were allegedly penalized and the gang disbanded. The scene was then converted to shops and rented out. I have reviewed these with the DPO and both of us are bothered by the impact of the time lag of over nine months on investigation. This may also explain the initial denials by the stakeholders. We are working on getting the wine tapper to trace his wife and daughter involved. If he has not relocated from Ejigbo, then we have a good chance of retrieving information and tracking the story.

92 comments:

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Lol this is a complete joke

Why does this statement seem lame?! Looks like, he just wanted to say something or anything... I didn't get the message!

It's all well and good if they are really brought to book

Hmmm this is so awful,first to comment sha!

this happened 9 months ago? or I am just an olodo...m

Hmmmnnnn.... Nice of him!

okay,We're patiently waiting.

Jesus said anybody who knows he/she have not sinned should be d first to cast d stone,stealing food nd money are totally two different things,they had to feed

kaizerba said...

More like it

I can not understand what d chairman was saying here. Penalised, dibanded, converted to shop and rented out. What nonsense. I just watched d clip yesterday and could not stand d horror. He should bring out d perpetrators of that evil aven if d victims can not come out, d clip is enough to nail them. That was evil to say d least. Am angry with those beasts that went that far. We are not in animal kingdom here. Even in animal kingdom, I don`t think such could happen.

Thank God that justice will finally be served,I have being thinking about it ever since I saw the video,it's so humiliating and terrible

Linda, you are a woman and should fight this with all your conscience and position you hold. Its barbaric and should be dealt with. we would like to celebrate the locking away of these guys on this blog. A leeway to escaping justice has already been given by the chair. Relocation or not, the police should find these guys and bring them to book.

teenanaija said...

I am glad that public pressure can lead to such an investigation. We have many people in our society that feel that they have the power to punish whoever they want.If such barbaric act are not curbed we will have more jungle justice in our society. I pray they are able to fish out these group but I also hope the victims will agree to speak because of societal stigma attach to such act.

BONKY GEE said...

Ofofo is my hubby.....na wa for U̶̲̥̅̊ ooooo........if U̶̲̥̅̊ like take my post do frame for U̶̲̥̅̊ ur dust bin

maryam said...

Good stupid animals

Oh ! Ds is fantastic news . Those guys shld be purnished . Thnks Lindaxx am a chronic adict of ur blog. Am in Manchester

The Priest said...

so they knew about this crime, and covered it up?
a crime that occurred in feb, and if not for the video leaked a few days ago, we would never have known about this?
How on earth do they allow the vigilante punish the so called members, what were the cops doing?
Are the vigilante a legitimate law enforcement agency?
Now they claim they wanna locate the husband of the victim, after about 10months, if he is still in the area?
So they know every one involved?
Wow this is utter rubbish, they even went ahead and built shops on the crime scene.
Bullocks i say, utter bullocks

The is an outright wickedness, does these beasts that called themselves men think they are any better than these women, I am a man and i don't think those ladies deserve to be treated like that even though its just ordinary pepper what justification do they have for them to do that or do they want to claim that they have never stole in their lives for them to hurt those ladies so badly like that(Imagine the pain those ladies are experience after having pepper poured in their genital organs)..... This is called absolute wickedness and lack of proper brain).

From ur name its clearly state dat u are a donkey tru tru.

Feed on pepper??

Nawa o, plenty tnz dey hapen for this life sha, jst watched the video. I wonder if some peoplo do av a hrt. This is generational curse upon all the people involved in this act.may they neva experience peace in their lifz.jst too bad. #sosad# we ar in a lawless country.

Same wit me

Pls who has or knows anybody dat works in military hospital Benin city..pls i rily need help its urgent thx

What dnt u understand? The A or the B? Abeg gaan sleep!

Mmmm! So dis happened february? So why's d video just leaking now? Nawaaaoh

QueenRita983 said...

What? I read this story before but didn't watch the video for fear of what I will see. Just watched now and I wonder just how wicked and heartless some people can be! And this is all the LG can say?
This is so so sad

They are wicked in that market! Ask for TERE their chief security and you will get result. I pray fashola destroy d market cos is under power line and their act in that market is very barbaric.

That a bloody lie,you want to knw more on this issue pls ff @survivor17,she has bn trying to speak to d DPO in that area but he has been avoiding to speack with anyone,infact someone was also sent to the police station has regards to having acceSs to speak with the DPO or getting his contact number,if the chairman actually said this,He is a bloody liar

I just don't get,if sm1 steals...watz jail for? Why jungle justice sm men just like flexing dr muscles wen it comes to women nd teenage boys..dy steal,hand dem to d police or seize sm property,daz y d whites will be forever better dan us,why won't we be treated like animals by them wen we treat ourslvz like one #sighs*

#didi

HATERS-SLAYER said...

*yimu*

Horrible. Those guys are worse than animals.They would reap what they have sown, wickedness.

Read the last few comments...those that say they can't understand or that this is lame clearly need more than an IQ injection.

He has investigated. The video is over 9months old. He will continue looking for the pepper sellers hopefully so that they can ID their attackers. The fact that he has zeroed in on the women is a great breakthrough. This looks like something that can be solved and the perps brought to justice. Well done, LG Chairman.

Yea cus ur a sick joke!

Agadi ekwenka! U folo de do 1st to comment? Bia ñuo feeding Bottle. Nonsense

Nt just olodo! U be otondo!

@ ola...Same here,dnt get wat his sayin....shut of words..

Mtcheeew...since 9 month..

perosky said...

Kunle has only come to cover up d perpetrators of d crime & not to assist in d investigation.U only need to see d victims when there's no video evidence, what point is he trying to make? Everyone was worried when Kunle was kidnapped some months back, now he is trying to romance with criminals.

Even the narration by this man is even more of a terrible news

These barbarians shld be delt with severely.heartless animals not fit to be call men

Ha! I can see that PJ (prince jobless) is back, he just decided to go by his real name this time! I knew something was fishy the moment i read ur comment bruv.

Concerned Ejigbo Resident said...

This is a very disgusting write-up by the chairman, simple investigation & bring the perpetrators to book, he was writing epistle, to even know that this chairman won the best chairman is Lagos is the greatest joke of the decade, his incompetence knows no bound, there is no single good road in Ejigbo, the environment is in a mess yet the chairman is always on TVC/LTV showing fictitious projects that cannot be seen on ground...what a pity..Man's inhumanity towards fellow men is so incomprehensible..I pray the perpetrators of this dastardly act are brought to book not this meandering response from Kehinde Bamgbetan..

wemimo said...

Wich disbanded...ds man is lying jhor..I won't be surprised if d case is swept under d carpet..isit not naija?. mtchew

A well known proverb is that if u kill the messenger, u cannot kill the message. But in this case, Kehinde is talking like a dead messenger and his message is sounding like a dead message.

This is not too gud...may God av mercy

Linda didn't state it well..she doesn't edit or proof read her write up bfor postin dem...too many error n blunder!!!dts wot confuses one in d story

Linda I can't find my comments among d ones u released.why u dey horde my comment,post my comment joor

Linda na wah for u o. U posted list of grammy nominees but failed to mention that Femi kuti was nominated for the 4th time. U can't celebrate a nigerian abi?

Seriously, i don't understand what thus chairman of a person is trying to explain. I don't get it at all.

linda i ve so much respect for u try and do something it taes ust one person to cause change pls if u need support u will get

Notin wil surface.It wil die a natural death.wat a pity!

ndi ofe mmanu ga egbu mmadu . ndi arurumana

*short*...Tnk me later

I tire o, as I don read am for another blog say Femi is being nominated again, I check linda list I no see am o!

Well...Mr kunle claim he's still on the matter, ok we are waiting. Nd again he won d best chairman in Lagos is still confusing cos in Ejigbo there is no single good road. Starting from Ejigbo junction down to inside Ejigbo has bn so traumatic for the ppl even the street that led to his house. All the road projects in Ejigbo has bn on for Eternity nd has killed biz especially the one around Orisunmibare..... Pipe bourne water? Let leave that for anoda day.

Who cares if you are from lochester of gochester, we are here to react to inhuman jungle justice by animals living amongst us not to tell us where ur ass is located

@ Chairman of Ejigbo Local Council of Lagos. He's worked his socks off on this case since some people got in touch with him.
THE MAN SHOULD GROW A CONSCIENCE AND DO SOMETHING ABOUT THE GULLY AT EJIGBO ROAD JUNCTION. THAT ROAD HAS DESTROYED CARS, KILLED PEOPLE AND KEEPS GETTING WORSE. AND TO SAY HE USES SAME ROAD TO AND FROM WORK DAILY.

Justice delayed is justice denied. .. If the video never surfaced we the public would have never known. What other atrocities are they aware of that we don't yet know?

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

What do you expect from lazy cowards?

What does he sing apart from 'bang bang bang'?

I'm not yoruba, but I dey shame for him

Hapu ndi iberibe ka ha ghoriwa onwe ha si na ha naghori anyi

This man is just a pathetic human being!!! Christ! The road opposite the said market is a nightmare. We are told that himself and the Oba of Ejigbo now leave in Ajah and use their Ejigbo homes as decoy. I appeal to his kidnappers to re-kidnap him all over again. It's such a torture to and from work everyday for anyone in Ejigbo and environ. He should concentrate on this roads quit this torrid attempt at cheap publicity. balderdash!

D so called chairman is trying to play around..d punishment on dat lady is too much,pouring pepper on her pussy is too ash even though she stole pepper...

@anon3:17 are u even serious at all? Do you know how old I am *why I no go do am? Na dead people like you dey do am?

Dz country z filled wiv animals.those men jst brought a curse upon dem.m nt goin to involve der families coz dey shouldn't b penalised for wat der worthless, useless,animalistic husbands,fathers,brothers did buh i bliv in karma.it shall never b well wiv dem for as long as ders a living God. Dey hv to b punished! Dey hv to hv a taste of der own medicine.its nt fair!!!

That's what d man said why would she change it, that's why we Have default in the system when other people change the real story whether it is written well or not that is what he said if you can't cope close your eyes.

Thank you@Anon 12:16pm, I started to think I suddenly had a problem understanding English until I read your comment, then I realised it wasnt a 'me' thing....The Statement is completely senseless to me

PRETTY GIRL

I just bcame more confused joor, is it dat d gruesome incidence occurred 9 months ago? He said d woman nd her family live close 2 d market, den he said he hasn't seen dem maybe dey av relocated. Oga ur investigating na real super one oh, pls go nd sit down. All these politicians shld stop tinking nigerians av fish brains; wot kind of mumu story is dis...........forebs

it's a.lie These Boys are still in the market the chairman is saying rubbish LinDa this act was done By the opc...boys that Guard the Market infact the Market women have been asked not to say anything so that the market will not be short down The head of the market know aBout This Matter so LinDa pls take this case up first time of writing I hope am sAfe oo Linda don't write my name

This is disgusting and utmost barbaric. If the Local Government Chairman has stepped into the matter, then he should do the necessary investigation and bring the culprits to book immediately.

David Iyke said...

Linda,when i saw update i thought they have been put to cell,but this update to me there is no head way yet.

what are saying here

D'mola said...

I saw the video,my gush it was so gross to have seen how fellow human could be so inhuman...those men must not escape the punishment by law and if they do am sure they wont escape that from God..

Is this an update or an epistle filled with rubbish? am confused here o.

dis na story story story........

Chinma said...

Oga Chairman please do your investigations properly and come with something more reasonable than that "Those involved were allegedly penalized and the gang disbanded.."

Crime of any sort should be between The state
and the criminals, so they should be handed over to the state to apportion appropriate punishment and not some light punishment. I trust the police for a good job when they are willing to.

We are waiting Sir.

Ifeyinwa Sam-Okafor said...

I shudder @ the thought that most people you come across everyday are animals in human skin! Some people's sense of reasoning is beyond human comprehension. I have been praying since I first saw the horrible video for those beasts to be apprehended. It seems my prayers are working. GOD dey.#Sobs#

dedoyin said...

waow,,nigeria,,something has to be done!#poor people#

oshin said...

waow, poor people

bobby said...

Naija

White Gardenia said...

Have tried to open the video without success. However, i dont think the Chairman and whom soever is invoved are sincere.

Very horrible

Pls try as much as possible to ensure that those beasts who perpetrated such wicked acts are brought to book.

fiyinpet said...

Wickedness

Felt so sad after watching d video clip. Will be much happier when those culprit are brought 2 book.

Wow...If by any chance u belive this shit then I have to say u are very stupid...so after th Aluu4 case u still belive th 9ja police will do something about this??? Wake up jare

jos lady said...

'Daz y d whites will be forever better dan us' you wrote. How sad. You have a deep inferiority complex. Are you aware of barbaric treatment by whites?? All people under this sun hv shown barbarism. How on earth can you as an African not know of white barbarism???

but we have police in Negril why opc do all dis am not sure that this people okay we need to so them two