Photos: ASUU members disrupt lectures at UNIBEN | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 December 2013

Photos: ASUU members disrupt lectures at UNIBEN

There was pandemonium at the University of Benin today Monday December 9th as members of the Academic Staff Union of Universities, (ASUU) UNIBEN chapter disrupted an ongoing lecture at the Faculty of Law at the university.

Some UNIBEN lecturers resumed last week following the Federal Government’s directive to resume work and as one lecturer gathered his students to begin his class, The Union members stormed the lecture room and stopped it.

The Vice Chancellor of the University was forced to call the police to intervene but the unrelenting ASUU task force members clashed with them, putting an end to all on-going lectures at the University. The strike continues.

246 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 246 of 246

You are saying ASUU is bad, when they are fighting your cause. Do u have good classrooms, a laboratory for experiment, good hostel facility. They aren't even fighting for salary increase they are fighting for your rights. Nigerians are so myopic to the extent of being scared of revolution. If all this is sorted out once and for all it has a long term benefit. Even after graduating do you have any job to fall back on, and by then ur family will be expecting more from u. Patience and perseverance is d key.

yvonne said...

D strike will end wen both partiess becum reasonable...students r d. 1s mostly affected by dis strike.

@immaculate, hv u tot about d fact that ASUU is fightin for ur children's future, so they won't hv 2 fight for cndusve learnin environment in d nearest future, hv u been 2 most of this universities lecture rooms lately, we can't invent or make researches on anytin cos we don't hv modern or enuf equipment, if it's like dis in 2013, wht do u think becomes of our universties by 2020, we were all talkin bout Nelson Mandela's selflessness hw he fought a gud fight for wht he belived in, don't u tink if Asuu backs off now, the 6months strike goes 2 waste , don't u tink Iyayi n odas basically died for nothin,truth is some members of dis Asuu can afford 2 send dia kids 2 private unis but wu will fight for d masses if they don't help save our children's future. After all democracy remains d govt. Of d pipu by d people n for d pipu. This is for US.The President shuld do the right thing a leader would do in a democratic govt. not give mandates like it's a military or dictatorship govt....if d money demanded for by Asuu hs truly been deposited into a CBN account , Asuu wants prove the govt.

Dami u shouldn't talk like that. So many students are tired of staying home doing nothing and time is just passing by. I really feel sorry for them. Many of these ASUU members are actually fighting for their pockets and don't have the students' interest at heart.

swaggs isimemen said...

Yes they should stop them all dose stupid lecturers is becos of dis issue our prof iyayi lost his life d other day FG. should sign d agreement of d 200billion he present so dat assu will call off d strike mtcheeew

swaggs isimemen said...

Yes they should stop them all dose stupid lecturers is becos of dis issue our prof iyayi lost his life d other day FG. should sign d agreement of d 200billion he present so dat assu will call off d strike mtcheeew

Nkechi Okoh said...

I think asuu should soft pedal a little bit. Their acts are getting irrational. God help Nigeria

Eeeehn eeeehn sebi z dt lecturer finkz he has wiseness abi? Psheeeeeeeeew dey beta go hme n chill wella

Urba said...

C and P

Serious wahala. ASUU do sign

hottie said...

Education is d key,fed govt d key holder while asuu don spoil d padlock.lols

Igor said...

The truth is that ASUU wants the government to fund them in such a way that they will live the ostensible life people in the executive and legislative arms of government live.

Heheeehehehe! Now Bonaria don get twin? @Bonario Nnags,linda has jst made U̶̲̥̅̊ a target 4 hackers so dnt b amazed if U̶̲̥̅̊я̲̅ #100,000 doesn't get 2 U̶̲̥̅̊, U̶̲̥̅̊я̲̅ twin or look alike must hav helped U̶̲̥̅̊ out..
Linda mak sure U̶̲̥̅̊ post dis comment o!

GBAM! If they are fighting for a cause they MUST all see it through some can't jump ship in the middle.

Terrible

arc yemi said...

Linda what about ASUP strike don't you have anything on that abi nah only ASUU interest you pass

arc yemi said...

Linda plss say something about ASUP strike too

LusciousKels said...

Am 100% behind ASUU! there should conquer this battle once and for all cos this has lingered from one administration to another..is appalling that we have a Dr. as a president and our academic sector is dwindling smh.. where is the subsidy money going into huh?? Why wont ASUU fight for there right when their see money being laundered and embezzled everday and our Presido looks elsewhere huh? I luv Jonah as a man but not as a president cos he is too weak for a strong nation like Naija #No offence#

LusciousKels said...

Am 100% behind ASUU! there should conquer this battle once and for all cos this has lingered from one administration to another..is appalling that we have a Dr. as a president and our academic sector is dwindling smh.. where is the subsidy money going into huh?? Why wont ASUU fight for there right when their see money being laundered and embezzled everday and our Presido looks elsewhere huh? I luv Jonah as a man but not as a president cos he is too weak for a strong nation like Naija #No offence#

whizzev said...

this is serious

Adeolu , u ve said it all , dey all need to stand as one formidable force . And. as for u iray Phillips I think its u who needs to b examined . it beats my imagination how u insult people atevery instance given to u ,I must say ,if u re actually a student , den u re a disgrace to ur institution .

Edwin Akwudolu said...

Both the learned and unlearned ones in Nigeria at every particular point in time have atoms of thuggery in them
do Nigerian GSM network providers still de-registers SIM after a long period of not being used? lets find out

LMAO..... IS THAT MR GODSPOWER (GP)EKUOBASE I SEE THERE OR WHAT??
LMAO... ACTIVITY MAN!!!

PLEASE THESE CHILDREN NEED TO COME BACK TO SCHOOL.. THIS STORY HAS BECOME AN EMBARRASSMENT TO OUR NATION.

THEY SHOULD LET THIS GO ALREADY *PLEASE*

Dey want 2 b paid 4 d 4 months.....didn't dey hear its no work no pay... During d time of OBJ his policy was no work no pay.... No man shout.... In lag GOV fash sacked all d resident doctors... My p wit assu is since dey started dis fight....long b4 GEJ y haven't dey achieved anytin in d past... Na now their mouth sharp....what abt d students dat their rent expired during dat four months..

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

They'll come to terms with the Nigerian factor soon....anyways, course registration started in UNILAG as my sister said

Schooling in 9ja is a disease, God give money to those who don't have to leave this country and find greener pastures via quality school.....amen

tired of staying at home ooo, after Christmas sha make we dey look.

godspower.. see your head

Serious Mumu, na September things very soon. Ur mates don graduate dey work and u dey dance skelewu. Pity ur life jare.

Am in support of Asuu. Our university r nothing to write home abt. We really need to put our university back to track,u knw. no infrastructures & facilities, thereby no standard. Is better they press-home their demand in order to put things into shape. So dat we can be proud of our universities. I pray FG meet their demand soon so dat students get back to skul. Is really disturbing. Shok

jose said...

@ anon 7;28. am sure you are a GHOST thats why you answer anon, if not put your name if you have one and we will tell you who you are; BASTARD

Bright said...

Mr President should go back and negotiate with ASUU, rather than trying to create dichotomy between ASUU members.

I want to graduate ooooooooooooo. ASUU pls na

Well! @macstunner says so!

nawa oooo

GOZZY said...

@tiana: good one.Nawa 4 dis kind strike bt God dey.

NennyD said...

Our academic sector is now turning to something else....God have mercy.

wasiu said...

Sister LINDA, Please I would love to be among the lucky winner of the 1 Million you are giving away. Am a student and am tired of this ASSU and our Government. If 2 elephant dey fight, Na the grass for the environment go suffer. You can pick randomly or pick the 1st 10 people to comment to any of your post this weekend you wish to give out the cash. but no matter how it is, I might not even be among the first 10 but I really need the cash even if na 50k to start small business to survive. 08080271455, 07038564826.

this is insane.
and the worst part of this is after wasting the time of the students, they will post the few job vacancies to be for people within a low age limit as 24 or 25 or there about. the time wasted adds up to their ages thereby no job in future for them. I pity our country shaa

What u guys re saying wont change any tin so plz don't insult urself or any body instead,we should pray to God to make all work for your good.

UP ASUU. why cant some work ridden idiots sit their asses at home. home nor contain them at almmost christmas. mtcheww!!

Lol dis is bad o.

Jonathan should please disband ASUU because, they are of no benefit to the country's aducation sector instead they are of negative impact.

I c my project supervisor... LWMFASRH....

This is the first time i am reading your post and admire that you posted article and pics which gives users lot of information regarding particular topic thanks for this share.College for Financial Education

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 246 of 246   Newer› Newest»