Video: Lagos Commissioner embarrassed at Gani memorial event | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 6 September 2013

Video: Lagos Commissioner embarrassed at Gani memorial event

Lagos Commissioner for Public Transportation Mr. Kayode Opeifa, got more than he bargained for as he strayed into Gani Fawehinmi 'Night of Tributes' occasion organized to commemorate the late radical lawyer and advocate for the masses in Lagos.

The 'Night of Tributes And Socials', attended by left-wing activists including Femi Aborishade, Lanre Legacy, Okei-Odumakin as well as members of Civil Society Organizations and the National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS) was the second event for the day after a morning lecture in which Prof. Omotoye Olorode lashed out on Minister of Economy Mrs. Okonjo-Iweala, the Goodluck Jonathan-led government and the entire PDP.

At the morning lecture, Mr. Muiz Banire, a former Lagos State Commissioner for environment was invited due his acclaimed initiation of the Gani Fawehinmi Freedom Park in Ojota as one of those who benefited from Chief Gani Fawehinmi's mentorship activities during his life-time.

Public opinion has it that Mr. Muiz Banire is one of those secretly nominated to succeed Governor Fashola in Lagos State, an office the disgraced commissioner, Mr. Kayode Opeifa is also gunning for the position of governor.

Mr. Opeifa thought that, since Banire shone at the morning lecture, he could also show-off as a current commissioner during the night event, but he rather got his fingers burnt .

Mr. Opeifa was publicly shamed, drenched with water and driven away with chants of "Ole-ole-ole-ole... " meaning "thief-thief-thief-thief" in adaptation of a popular international soccer fans' song.

As a way of defending his flatulent ego, Mr. Opeifa threatened he'd sue those pelting him with water. Although some of the organizers initially tried to quell indignations, but the participants soon took it against the organizers, alleging betrayal so that organizers soon disowned Mr. Opeifa, denied inviting him, declared that he intruded and asked him to go away.

The stray-commissioner's intrusion was said to be one of his deceptive moves to pacify the public in preparation for 2015 Lagos Guber race, a trick similar to those who worked against interest of the public while in office but feign friendly once out of the office or those seeking re-election into same office.

"The sucker commercialized all public roads in Lagos, banned fairly used Taxi cabs and asked us to compulsorily buy his own at N4million each. He did not allow us buy the same type anywhere else at their real market prices, now the hypocrite wants to form familiarity at our hero's memorial event. Who born am?", one of the protesters said.

Taxi drivers in Lagos alleged that Mr. Opeifa's gluttonous introduction of only "specific cabs" which must be purchased from him with payment in installments was his own way of profiting from the acclaimed Lagos Mega City Project. One of them said the Taxi-cab type Opeifa asked drivers to compulsorily patronize him on or leave the road, actually sell at almost 45% lower than his own price in market, but he denied them the right to purchase from market.

Mr. Kayode Opeifa, the stray-commissioner's intrusive presence caused event to dramatically end as participants left the event for not counting it worthy to be at same occasion with him.

"We deported him from our event and that's to show him sample what it feels like for his master, Fashola to deport people from Lagos", another protester said.

Source: Sahara Reporters

78 comments:

oYeN said...

Well I guesss we wud be hearing from his lawyers lol.........I only look up to God

oh well...he got served. kikikikikikiki

Hahaha gbeeege!!! He sure deserved wat he got! Greedy man! If he is treated like this while in office, he should wait till he leaves office, na it be say na shit dem go take dey stone am for road! Smh.

*yawns* who cares?!

Wow, that's all I have to say. Wow

Baba k. God dey. Leave dem joor. We love you. Carry go no shaken. Bt u self do bad han han. Una comot okada for rd no provison for dem...dem turn to armed robbers con dey rob pple ...2 tymes way armed robbers don come my end. My kids nao fear dey dem bodi until nao.
Nero

Mich said...

Would it be fair if I said he got what he deserved?
These politicians and their scheming.

Good riddance...

*sexy diva*

@mich,very fair.

Twingle Tangle said...

I don't think that was right. No body has the right to turn another person away from a memorial event. We all have a right to grieve and remember no matter who we are. Civil society must lead by example. You cannot show intolerance and hope to get understanding and tolerance back from power.

Omg!

No Respect for People .It shows this activist are high biased

zinwa ogbonna said...

He wasn't invited nobody is ready to kiss ass. He should take his scheming and shove it somewhere else,.,,

He should kiss his governorship aspirations goodbye! Cos he would never win. The masses have spoken.

Nah wao! The man was really embarrassed.

I have said time and time again that Fashola will get much of such ignominies when he leaves office, unless he begins to repent as from today. Chikena

Good for all of them.

Dende d biaaatch-trainer said...

@Mich,no u won't be fair cos he got much less than he deserved.I await my 1-on-1 showdown with d punk biaaatch!

I support.i

THEOGEJ.. said...

U can't take law into your hand..dere r oda means of addressing dier grievances Rather than lashing out on d man..dose who pounced on him are dere saint??? Both d elite and d masses r guilty of dis jungle justice which has parvaded our national life...dis is a premordial way of addressing a strigent issue lke dis...let us change d way we do tins...

God catch him mumu head... Real thief.. Lmao!!

BABATUNDE said...

I really hope the same people who pelted him with water won't laugh and smile at him when he starts distributing the NAIRA for election campaign.

he deserved it. And that kind if thing will continue happening to him. Ndi ohi

rossy said...

Hmmmm, don't ve much to say.... One good turn deserves another.... May God help us all

2015 don almost reach if i mumu to waste my vote anyhow no be my papa born me.

Yetinde said...

Som1 did dat to him,not protesters,more to dier matter,muiz banire as governor,God forbid,Olorun o nii fun yin see,I'd prefer som1 new

This is a politically motivated affair to disgrace Opeifa.
This is not how to play politics in Yoruba land of today.
This is but an 'agbero' way of playing politics.
It is the masses that will eventually determine who should govern them not a bunch of political thugs that are being teleguided by political opponents of Opeifa.
EKO ONI BAJE.
olu@atlanta.

ravenmortal said...

Mr Opeifa was not the only one disgraced. Every one at the event proved themselves hooligans, and it's all caught on tape for posterity. Your grandchildren would be proud of you when they watch, I am sure.

Not exactly sure what to feel right now. It was wrong of him to go without the organisers inviting him, and if this was him scheming for governor, then he did not plan well.

However, there is BRT in Lagos now and soon to be rail service. I'm also a supporter of the restriction of Okada's. the way they drove and the amount of accidents involving Okada's warranted this decision.

I don't know about the taxi thing so I will not provide an opinion. As for the person that said he was deported like fashola deported others, it shows lack of common sense.

Finally, if Nigerians could treat our politicians ( the ones that deserve it) this way, it will help them to sit up and perform rather all they have to do is give these people money or contract, and then the song changes

Aunty Linda, which one is minister of economy? I thought it is minister of finance. Okay, it's alright. Lol

Nigerians are bitter mehn.

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

This is just the beginning. Those in offices won't stay forever. So mind how you treat people when you are in a position of power, because you and your descendants will reap what you sow.

This is what happens when power got into people's mind.. If only u remember when u are a taxi driver in Chicago you wont have done all dis... Nw you got what u deserve...Pls more of this is needed...Sucker

Something must happen

Once those perceive as anti-pple are treated this way then we will get to the promised land! #Kodos!

e bonto said...

Its a pity,he got dis treatment,but he would'nt have gone there uninvited. Others should learn from dis.

It shows we are growing politically....

He deserved it.
*capone*

Dis is wonderful, a lesson to others

ignorance, dont believe what you see at first glance. they have their reasons for embarrassing him. they're largely okada and molue owners and we cant deny the sanity opeifas policies have brought to the lunacy which is our transport system. Reforms must aggrieve people. that is a constant. once all is in place, the 'villain' opeifa will become the hero. mark my words.

wizkid was right in way...the so called activist will do worse when given the opportunity(nobody holy pass)

Weldone Lagosians!! Other states should follow your footsteps.

hmm. so interesting. never knew this guy was hated that much. how i wish same can be replicated on all corrupt officials and politicians. Naija go better

Gani Fawehinmi's memory has been rubbished by a bunch of touts...they all look like paid activists...incoherent incantations....someone in high places is offended by opeifa and thats who sponsored this.......its obvious even the event was staged.

this what i use to tell people, Yoruba are set of most civilised people in this country. We always fight with our leaders who are not ready to render good governance, we believe in justice and love

are commuters, okada riders and taxi drivers obeying d law?!!! keep hut my friend?! lagos is just a state arrant psychos! they want chaos all d time or else they'll be suffering from withdrawal syndrome ........like these fools.

Abi

Nice shirt

lagos people are really angry with the the government never seen such anger like this so far, this people must really make their people happy

Good one, It serves him well, God will punish all of them from federal to Local govts in migeria, I mean those who are deceiving us $ thinking they are smart, Awon Ole, Ika, apanijaiye.It wll never better for them

PA constioner free opeifa ooooooooo Hahahahahhahahaha disgrace of life iz ok

You made sense until you mentioned okada. We don't want okada on the highways. Do you read newspapers at all. Okada's should ply the streets not highways. However, with or without okada, una go still rob. Pls stop d breakdance. Okada my foot. They stole my phone while driving with okada.

I quite agree with you. Change is inevitable. Any responsible leader who wants to make positive impact must take hard decisions and allow history to judge. I watched the video. Those people are okada riders and agberos. We don't want okadas or molues, they are menace to the society. Opeifa keep doing what you are doing and make it is the right thing.

You made sense until you mentioned okada. We don't want okada on the highways. Do you read newspapers at all. Okada's should ply the streets not highways. However, with or without okada, una go still rob. Pls stop d breakdance. Okada my foot. They stole my phone while driving with okada.

Miss linda pls take this down he is my dad my frnds are making fun of me ... u dont have to post my comment

Its so obvious those guys aint comrades...comrades are always reasonable and only get radical when needed. I disagree with d manner at which he was disgraced out of the programme.it should have been handled in a civilised way. However, I dont think both Banire and Opeifa would be d right candidates for nxt election due to public acceptance.

I think if okadas were to be brought back a lane should be created for them . However if not he needs to give them compensation or a replacement job because if he doesn't he is just adding more people to the already high unemployment rate in Nigeria, which is stupid .

Yes you can especially if you were not invited

Hmmmm dangerous sign for APC,2015 will not be a push over election time,this time lagosians will deal with every mess meted on them by any individual..

if all politicians can be scorned and disgraced like this in public gatherings we just might see progress in this country.

These are just group of agrieved touts. If really they care about the memorial for Gani,why can't they let-in those who came to honour his memorial.The man was even boasting that he hates the ex-commissioner. People like this group should not be allowed to organise important evnts like this. They are touts, illiterate and wild.

This is Lagos, this is the domain a people who understand what they want from their leaders.

I don't think it was fair to do this, maybe they should have put him in the hot seat and made him defend his anti-poor transportation policies.

Well that is what you get for creating an elitist style of government and infringing on the comfort of others just to paint a city that isn't what it really is, to the outside world.

I have a copy of McKinsey's report on "how to a city great", some of the key drivers of making a city great according to them, is by understanding the needs of the people of that city, protecting the lower class and ensuring that the people on the outskirts of the city can easily access the good things of the city's core center..

A robust transportation policy is needed for Lagosians. One that tends to the need of Lagosians, not one that forces Lagosians to live in a way alien to them..

I pity the man's kids sha.. That's politics for you

this is unacceptable. don't know the man but thee are other ways if communicating your displeasure. Like if he runs, don't vote for him

Mr. Opeifa I want commend you for the civility you exercise in this situation. I want to assure you that majority of Lagosians appreciate your vision and efforts in bringing sanity to Lagos as far as public transportation is concerned. Change they say is the only constant thing in life and the majority of the humans are averse to change hence defence like this is put up to prevent such change due to their ignorance and myopic perception of difference that such change could afford them. Kindly be advised that same resistance was faced by Margaret Thatcher in the 80s when she came up with her privatization policies in the UK then. Violence erupted and engulfed the whole of the UK as organized by vision less activist and unions like these shameless once here thinking they have embarrassed you but in the real sense of it they have only made you more popular and stronger. Today the whole of UK is grateful to her for her vision. And that is why institutions like the BBC, British Airways etc. are still standing today. Now I am truly convinced that poverty is a disease because it actually limits your expectation and reasoning in life. If not then why would any sane human being see anything wrong with the transportation policies of Lagos state. Whom amongst us have never been a victim of assault from okada/keke marwa/Danfo drivers be it a car owner or a pedestrian. Its quite appalling that the so called activist are so crude and uncouth in their approach. They are in no way better than an average politician in Nigeria. I can recall that guy talking on the podium vividly. He was a contestant for the office of the governor of Lagos state on the platform of NCP. So this is clearly a political gathering and not activism as they would want us to believe. He was on the governorship debate and he failed woefully in his attempt to promote his distasteful vision less and archaic ideas on the debate because all I could recall him talking about was price of fish being too high on a state governorship debate. Please ignore their ignorance and carry on with your good work.

I really don't care if the people in this video are okada riders, agberos or even armed robbers, the lesson to be learnt is that we as people at all levels should begin to stand up to our "leaders" at all times to make our grievances known. In this particular instance, majority of the so called elites are happy with the Lagos state govt's policy on transportation, it should be made clear that a better part of the population that depend on these transportation mode are no less Lagosians. If okadas must be banned there must be a better means of transportation in place to take care of mobility in the city. I strongly believe that nobody will be talking about okada if more taxi's, buses or train service was available. Government at all levels should see this as an expo to the future test ahead.

Only a hater a true hater will write this he started from the bottom now he came up and your just very jealous your a idiot very stupid person Mr Opeifa is a very smart guy he reduce the deaths by 80% and your the fool dont see that because your so jealous instead of siding with him you yourself your nothing up up Mr Opeifa keep doing a good job

Becareful abt how u react to what u read, Opeifa dat I know would NEVER do anything to tarnish his image, if Okada is banned 'cause of us people and d death rate decrease, is it not to our own advantage?. Opeifa is a God fearing man to d core.

I dare u to mention your name, u are nothing but a hater.Opeifa gave all his time to serve the people of Lagos State and it was all God's doing that he was lifted up. Olodo how did power got into peoples mind? Success is not yours IJN. Stagnant is your portion.

When is okay for grown men to act out of character at a memorial service? There is no honor in that at all....Besides that is it not Mr. Kayode Opeifa that is helping build Lagos back to standards...Building back up an economy is not a overnight process....Its called priority....Every body points there fingers at one another.....What are you doing for Lagos besides shaming it with ignorance....We have enough stigma....Have some class....Disgrace??...Lol Mr. Kayode Opeifa handled himself like a true gentleman...Is it not the ones yelling the ones who looked like fools.....

When men speak ill of thee, live so as nobody may believe them -Plato

Fashola will get the same treatment in many parts of lagos. i hope PDP will come up with a credible candidate.

Why so much ignorance?...Big ups to Mr.K for behaving like a tru leader while everyone else acted like idiots....What man that has any kind of self respect for himself acts likes these people at a memorial service...Mr.K has done wonderful things for Lagos as an economy....Truthfully it all seems like an attempt to shame a great man.....Keep up the good work....Disgraced is the wrong word....Disgraced are the fools who have no self respect

No mind them, when the likes of opeifa come in 2015 with Ghana must go full of money now na them go dey hail am o.

Look at this confused Ayodele Akele who couldn't come up with a sensible answer when asked what programmes he has for Lagos should he voted as governor...Why not put the man on the hot seat, rather than behave intolerable. It looks more like a vendetta...
Lagos have a transportation policy that is aimed at improving how we commute, yet these fools are ranting. Lagos govt. is the only one with a partial ban on okada operations, yet getting the most bashing from all these ignoramus...If we want a better society, please let us be part of the change process!

Look at this confused Ayodele Akele who couldn't come up with a sensible answer when asked what programmes he has for Lagos should he voted as governor...Why not put the man on the hot seat, rather than behave intolerable. It looks more like a vendetta...
Lagos have a transportation policy that is aimed at improving how we commute, yet these fools are ranting. Lagos govt. is the only one with a partial ban on okada operations, yet getting the most bashing from all these ignoramus...If we want a better society, please let us be part of the change process!

Unfortunately life is a process & people do not like change. However, progress comes with change. For us to move forward as a country some drastic decisions had to be made. Opeifa's policies may not be peoples favourite, but it's the best so far. Lagosians don't like order & any deviation from their norm is seen an obstacle. A man of principle & orderliness is not people's favourite, but I employ Opeifa to keep up the good work. Only the retarded hates progress and they are minority out of the whole state.