Wrong choice of words from a man of God | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 26 January 2013

Wrong choice of words from a man of God

The priest at St Luke Anglican Church, Akwakuma, Owerri, Rev. Ogechi Ofurum blames women for wearing tight clothes and tempting men...

Rev Ogechi Opurum said:
“The type of skimpy clothes ladies wear nowadays is appalling. Clothes that children of 10 and 11 years wear have now become the fashion of adults of 18 years and above. Those clothes are so tight on them that every part of their body shows, thereby provoking men to force themselves on them."
Is he justifying rape? There are other ways he could have made his point. Rape is a sadistic act and there's absolutely no excuse for it. 

225 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 225 of 225

If you are a man you are definitely a rare gem for what you have just written!!! To the men with no self control that think every woman that looks nice is dressed up for them to take advantage, take a leaf from this guy's book and drop your animalistic tendencies!, he condemns wrong dressing but stresses that self control in MEN!!

Aunty for your information some men will qualify your dressing in your picture as indecent thereby making you potential rape bait...that's if am following the logic of your comment

Funny how you have the nerve to talk about dressing when your semi-nude in ur avatar...SMH ur english needs major work *sigh*

Potential Rapist!!!

U̶̲̥̅̊ no get sense atall

Seyi Macaulay said...

Where is the wrong choice of word? He used the best construction to describe modern trend. It does not infer that he supports rape, He is just cautioning ladies against revealing dresses.

Linda are you an olodo? :s How is he justifying rape sorry?! definitely there is no excuse for rape. But why are you on about rape, i'm pretty sure no one thought of rape outta this statement, don't quote the man of God wrong by trying to form "Diligence"

Dear linda...ask God 4 forgiveness, also d man of God 4 painting his sermon black or else u wil account 4 dis word 4 misleading pple of God....(2) stop putting pictures of half naked pple especially ladies or girls in dis blog.u re simply advertising sin for d devil.....'rememba every unrighteous is sin'.1 john 5:17....do not allow wot u re putting here to lead u to hell fire....God is not happy wit some of ur blogs....repent now

All these MOG shld also learn to be cautious in their speech before criminials use their utterances as excuse for their crimes. It is not enough to advise women; the priest's job is only half done. He shld also advise his fellow men to exercise IRON RESTRAINT!! Am sick and tired to the crop of men we have these days who shiver and shake even at a naked six year old girl!! Mscheeeeeeeeeew!!

So how does the priest justify the little boys they molest/rape? Do they wear tight pants and shirts as well?? Do the priests rape these little boys cos of this?? Smh!

Ode.! Poorest tin.! Devil incarnate.! ...y ar U hiding under d image of anon 2 play yo card...show ursef modafucka

TWITS said...

LINDA, I DON'T AGREE WITH YOU.

Isi said...

there are rapists that look for women who dont dress like whores. what do you say about that?

So linda its ok for a woman to forgo morality, there is a reason why the muslims beleive a womans beauty should not be flaunted, and you must know for every action, there is always an equal or opposite reaction, these is not about control, why should the men be the ones to control? women are gettign way to bold now and the outcome is going to be really bad for our kids

Therese I. said...

Those words are as sick as the pastor who spoke them. So it's a woman's fault when she gets raped? The man has no responsibility for his act?
Shame on the "man of God".
Such justification can be used to justify anything! Even murder! And he should know that!

Linda, It's like you derive so much joy in attacking men of God or looking for ways to cast aspersion on them. It will lead no where than destruction. The man did not in anyway justify rape and no one will do that. It is totally wrong for people who are not HARLOT to dress like a HARLOT; that was what he said. It is very obvious that you and those supporting your unscrupulous comment supports indecent dressing.

aloa said...

you realy need to proof read your articles before posting them because you are not talking to kids here. im sure this man was making a point concerning decent dressing and not rape. you are the one that should make a right choice of words. im even begining to think you are the antichrist for this kinda statement against the man of God

Linda pls knw wt to say esecially when it involves a servant of God dont incur wrath of God upon ursef of course the man ws nt justiying rape he ws just addressing ladies dt dnt dress well i think ladies too shd be careful

oladimeji Hajarat said...

Well done Linda.The man of God should not be blamed for his choice of words.Really,for us to curb or minimise the rate of rape in Nigeria and the whole world at large,we females have to be modest in the way we dress. We should not put on clothes that would be so provocatong to the extent that the next thing that comes to a man's mind is rape.If a woman dresses modestly,no man in his right would think of rape.
Besides, men should also learn to lower their their gaze, control their emotions and learn not to hide under the umbrella of female weaknessess.
BY Oladimeji Tobi Hajarat

Sure, no justification for rape. But what is the justification for dressing like a mad person.

Besides, Ogechi is a female name. I believe the Anglican church has female clergy.

http://gistville.com/2013/01/africa-woman-invents-rape-axe-an-anti-rape-female-condom/

linda, chai, so your brain is this small,this is ridiclous!!!of all the info you get, it is a man of God you know to put on post for pple to comment, i pity you

Men should be extremely offended when they hear stuff like this. This dumbass is essentially saying men are wild animals wondering around looking for who to rape. Like all that is stopping a man from raping any woman he sees is loose clothes. KMT

Rape is unjustifiable and inexcusable. Ephesians 5 vs 6 says "Let no man decieve you with vain words for because of these things cometh the WRATH of God upon the children of disobedience" Indecent dressing is a very wrong way of dressing but we are not animals. God created us in his own image and likeness and not in a stupid and foolish way. God gave us the ability to control our selves . Seeing a naked woman outside and then gone to desend on an innocent person to forcefully satisfy your uncontrollable urge is a wicked act and the bible says that there shall be no PEACE for the wicked. Such a person has entered a curse. You are to build strong moral principles for the bible says in proverbs 11 vs 3 that "The integrity of the upright shall guide them but the perverseness of trangressors shall destroy them ". Its you choice. Choose wisely or you will be doomed.

Linda please post my comments. You always decline my comments and its becoming consistant.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 225 of 225   Newer› Newest»