Video: How to be healthy on a Nigerian diet (Must watch) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 20 January 2013

Video: How to be healthy on a Nigerian diet (Must watch)

88 comments:

We eat tons of rice dear its true. I don't eat fried rice in fast food joints cos my little neice calls it "green rice". They just mix it with curry and viola!...........ng owerri

Sexily Endowed said...

To be honest, i didn't get de topic of dis video, all i heard was fried, fried fried. Wat was she sayin exactly......

Michelle said...

I'll rather stick to my own diet plan.
I think some people really need this though.
See who got crowned as the Sexiest Couple on GISTville

Chidozie Mario said...

I felt like I was watching a comedy movie and am not sure I learnt anything.
Symptoms of Sexual Addiction

Linda post more videos on did babe, she make sense. Lol

Like seriously, all we eat is carbohydarte,carbohydarte. Its so bad dat I can't even eat rice again, cos from sunday- sunday all my cook knws hw to cook is white rice and stew..

haha....make she commot jor...her nose sef be like puff puff

tjaytee said...

Pronounce Eba n Amala correctly n I might just hit Like on ur page...

That Girl said...

Gerraway! U use less oil buh u look like a sick Whoopi Goldberg. I dnt c any evidence of gd living on her plzzzz. #EverybodyMakesYouTubeVideosTheseDays

So true!!!!!!!

KesmapGuyit said...

And why is this stupid video a must watch? Thought she would proffer solutions ...smh

ok good.

three thumbs up!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Great Video!!!!!!! I tire for oil too o!!!
Lol!!!!

I just wish she wasn't so irritating...

Lmaoooooooooooo! Omdazeeee shes too funny! Frieddddddddddd hahahahahahaaaaa

Omo, she dey vex o!

I love this d gurl lol #nohomo , everything she said is so ironically true , but wish gave us an alternative to oil

sexy22 said...

She is so right, but am sure Nigerians will fry her for saying this... let the insults begin...lol

gucci said...

dramaqueen...we have hear

beebee said...

True yarn!Most of us can't help it even if we try . Those foods just beckon @ you sometimes,imagine the combo of jollof rice +plantain+ chicken ......#yummylicious or fried fish+garri+sugar+cold water (good for a sunny day). Lmsao,just goofing around.....I 'm so gonna try cut down on my oil intake.

no b ur fault na,y u no stay ya contry,she dey away dey katafo.......#nonsense talks#

Madam na fight? Shooooooooo. Mcheeeew
Jojo

Amala made from plantain flour is dat carbohydrate too* confused.com*

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

I totally agree with her someone once gave me a recipe that called for TWO cups of palm oil yes 2 whole cups of palm oil me i used two tablespoons instead and it came out fine. Grill your chicken or oven roast it instead of frying. Where is Aunty Eya this is the time to be inviting us to wives townhall for healthy meals:)

linda shut up. Do u tink dat evrybody on ur blog uses phone dat a vidoe cn b watch?.

Lol... Satire is wasted on the dopey

omototun said...

to imagine i just started measuring as well......yesterday i cooked a full pot of vegetable soup with 1 tablespoon of oil!! it tasted just as awesome as my previous 3cooking spoons.....am like yepa!!! so av been clogging my heart for no reason!
God dey sha, am going to try to cook oil-free this week.

and on the video....message was more interesting than the drama :|, or maybe my sense of humor is still booting cos i just woke up......**yawn**

she's right though but its def healthy to fry with olive oil or extra virgin olive oil..so much better

Hahahaha......She is right

Sasha Fierce! said...

I love you babes!!!Word!
They will never hear...Nigerians are gluttons....they spend so much money on stupid clothes,weaves and et al,and over consume very bad and unhealthy meals.

LOL, is the girl high on COKE? Plus, she looks like Whoppi Goldberg. I like though. hahahaha

Your LIFE, FRIEDDDDDDDD

Kelechi said...

Lol!..funny video.all I see is a girl who's angry and fed up with our eating lifestyle.#all the head shaking tho.bwahaha

I loved dis,Ndidiamaka

princessa said...

I agree with this video, cutting down of portions, oil n carbs is important cos naija we dey chop oil, my mother taught me that oil must come out on the top of my pot of stew, am glad I now know better.

Loooolll. I LYK the way she kept saying fffffffrrrrrrrriiiiiieeeeeeeeddddd....buh on a crius not it's rIly true

LMAO!!!!!!!! RICEEEEEE,......OILLLLLLL

Lipglossmaffia said...

Lol!!!
She make a point there though

lmao.....''FRIEDDDD''

This girl dey kolo I swear.wetin concern her concern pple food.pls let her go n rest.fried ko.........parboiled ni.matifa

Fried! Fried!! Fried!!!

Can 'Brainy Endowed' get sexily endowed the transcript ?

She can't just get it

confessor said...

HahahahhhhhaaaA!!dis chic is sooo dramatic...and yes u r so right.juz yday I kept pouring oil 2 make vegetable 2 eat wif my rice and I ended up using sieve spoon 2 dish d quantity of veg I wanted....

Omg I could hug you for this. I really wanted to like her but she is soooo irritating. That voice and all the jumping around trying to be funny. Nah..
Oh and olive oil is a good substitute for vegetable oil... expensive though

dr van bay said...

Lmao!

Lmao, the gal sef looks frieddddddd,just joking ooo.but we know this fact since na.

U can't cook for yourself?

Poverty is a bastard!! Lol

Olive oil better than vegetable oil? Well that's a myth..olive oil is better when you're using it to dress your salad but as long as its fried,they're the same.

haha! lol i totally agree...to much carbs, too much oil...anywaz i already cut that down from my diet, so i don't feel too bad!!!
Z

Jayden O said...

Hahaha. Na fight? Sha its sooo true. But I guess these are things we know already. And a good number of Nigerians are trying to live healthy. She that is in the UK is their diet or livestyle any better ? Hiss

happy Yoruba bunny said...

Extra virgin olive oil is what I have resorted to now, d worst is palm oil, even though I still use for my beans, I use very little, for my veggies I do olive oil and Ts STL sweet, d way some peoples beans stew dey take red, u go fear palm oil, just 2 teaspoon or tablespoon wl stl do d magic, rice na wa o, but Brown one eaten minimally is ok 2x a week, instead of frying ur plantain toss n d oven and bake, same for u fish, meat, chicken and so on, u'll be shocked @ d fat that'll squeeze out of your meat/chicken, instead of eba, semo, amala, tuwo substitute for blended oat turned like amala or wheat, very small too and u'll be filled wt plenty vegetables or okro

Health is wealth otherwise one WL just become obese

Lol.its true dats ow African women gain weights:(

oti ya were ni!!! what crap is this, all these rubbish dietitians looking bloody skinny! been on a steak diet cos i almost died where i was bloody watching weight TUEH i'm flying to nig dis weekend to get my carbs n fried groove on! first stop BOLI N FISH STAND!!!!!

fay said...

u are probably annoyed because you are obese. instead of criticizing how about you take down notes?

fay said...

yes plantain is full of carbs, try substituting amala flour with whole wheat flour or blended oats flour.

fay said...

so why are you here?

i dont hav enogh MB to watch d video,does it mean too much oil is nt good for d body? I consume alot of vegetable oil monthly,maybe i shud reduce it

Annoying chic...too much emotion over nothing.

Too much Oil, and too much frying kills ok. Fats around your heart. He who have ears, let him hear!!

How far with ur own body odor.?

I like her. A little comedy won't hurt anyone.

dalin said...

She scared me at a point I almost dropped my phone out of fright.
I watched this video bcos I thought she would suggest alternatives to d wahala carb foods....maybe cheaper ones will show up. Olive oil as an alt oil is expensive. So is wheat for lou~lou. Reducing portion of rice will sound silly to an average husling Nigeria.
But seriously speaking cutting carbs makes so much diff esp for people watching their weights.

Fried rice pusssssssh amala pusssssssh beans pusssshhhh every thing pushhhhhhhhh, think I like dis video+ she is a junkie

kunle said...

You can get a better Nigeria recipes here at
http://www.fastweightlosstipsnigeria.blogspot.com/
Not only for those you want lose tummy fat and lose or maintain their weight but for overall healthy eating.

her message is on point but theres something about her that just annoyed me...

hahahaha another attention seeker biko chei nawa oh all i could hear was fried and oil

OmG she is soooooo annoying!!! My ears and eyes are vexed. It a had potential to be hilarious, but she is no 'how to be a runs girl'

Hahahahahahahahah, She crack me up, She is right.

Aunty you say all this will improve our lifespan, but I say we still live longer and healthier than the Americans or British who use less oil and eat less carb. You talk about eating chicken and veggies(sweet corn), pls how many Nigerians can afford to eat chicken and veggies everyday? Your video makes a point but its senseless at the same time.

i luv d video..i tot it wz funi n yes,we eat rice 2 much

Shez right ... nd yea, funny too..

Frieeeeeeeed!

mandy said...

Jisox ur wicked

lmaooo that's so true

Exactly my thought, wetin do your hand?

Did Linda say u must use your phone? Hiannnnnnnn

Shaaaraaaap!

Tell dis shit to the poor ones... Olive oil is a good substitute for groundnut oil.

Sandy said...

@ Sandra wanemi - Really, Live longer in your dreams. I hope you know that the average life span in Nigeria is 45yrs old. They obviously don't live longer than Americans or the British. Keep eating your heart clogging food. Then you wonder why heart clogging problems is on the increase in Nigeria.

Cue said...

He who has ears let him hear/ I kicked out any form of oil from my diet and carbs, worked out too. Iv lost 19kg, 15 to go. it works wonders.

She sure luks like Whoopi Goldberg

Palm oil is good. Its not good to take in evryone says hook line and sinker.a good measure of palm oil is okay cos in this part of the world, palm oil is the primary source of VIt A which helps our eyesight.most of our food lack vit A. Dts y govt give children Vit A supplement during immunization.

LIB READERS SOME OF U R JUST SOOO BITTER! KAI.I AM SURE SHE MADE SENSE O BUT SOME OF U WILL JUST CHOOSE TO SEE THE NEGATIVE. LINDA IF U LIKE DON'T POST MY COMMENT O

Alexandra... said...

Best video I've seen on this blog so far, unlike the runz girl thingy that I still don't get the message till date.

Shes hilarious and RIGHT SOOOO RIGHT

she is so dramatic tho made some sense,guess she left folks wit the same option of using groundnut oil cos she didnt giv alternative

Everything is very open with a very clear description of the issues.

It was really informative. Your site is very useful. Many thanks for sharing!

Review my site - diet that works