Flower-eating goat has charges against it dropped in court | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 23 January 2013

Flower-eating goat has charges against it dropped in court

Gary and his owner, Jim
It's not only in Nigeria that they have some ode people o...lol...some of them can be found in Australia. Hehehe! According to Metro UK, a flower-eating goat named Gary has been cleared of vandalism after an Australian judge dismissed the case at a court in Sydney.

His owner Jim Dezarnaulds had been ordered to pay a 440 Australian dollar (£290) fine after Gary was spotted snacking on a flower bed outside the city’s Museum of Contemporary Art.

The case was dismissed however, after a judge ruled that neither Gary nor his owner could be held accountable for the crime. Lol. Read more after the cut...

Magistrate Carolyn Barkell said there was no evidence that Gary, who had his own lawyer, had been brought there to intentionally eat the flowers.

‘This is actually an abuse of the laws of nature, I mean it was a goat eating grass,’ Mr Dezarnaulds said after the verdict was announced.
‘I’m a comedian, I can come up with jokes, but it’s pretty hard to compete with cops coming up with this stuff. ‘It’s obviously a joke, but the fact that we’re here it’s gone a bit beyond a joke.’

Gary, who was not required to give evidence, did not comment on the verdict upon leaving court. (lol).

Mr Dezarnaulds added: ‘Gary taught the cops a valuable lesson and that’s don’t bite off more than you can chew.’
Gary became an internet star after news of his plight went viral, with his official Facebook page racking up over 10,000 likes.

43 comments:

Eya Ayambem said...

Na wa o! I just cracked my ribs.
btw, Lindaaaa, only one endorsement abeg now. The only way we'd know you have gone to check out the Nigerian Meal cooking site with Nigerian cooking UNCUT, is by seeing even a one word comment from you.
Abeg now Lindo! #endorsementtinz.
www.wivestownhallconnection.com

Lmao!!!

Kai! But these oyibo people get time ooo.

Lyk seriously?! Dose cops shuld cme 2 9ja, e b lyk say crime haff finish dere!

@Baby_Confessor said...

Abeg linda I don't want to read anything after the cut. Ha! *yawns*

Queen Bee said...

Kk now!!will also arrest a cat dat comes to my backyard for loitering,constituiting of nuisance and disturbing public peace.

y e no be 9ja dem dey madt if i no go use am do pepper soup pay werin-omo-iwo says so...

LMFAO.... Funny stuff! A goat is a goat, period!

Linda is a damn good blogger (read: 'journalist'). You're the best in the business. . .for so many reasons. I love you my dear Linda. I'd contact you soon. There's so much more you can do, and I believe you have a remarkable future in this business, God Keeping you alive (as He SHALL).

Ndi ara!!!!! Lee lee

See better pepper soup meat. Mbiala

onepageafrica said...

Wonders are just never ending. But this kind of thing can't take place in Naija sef.

Dey re real odes jare. Abeg can any one tell me hw linda get paid wt dis blog business or is it jst 4 fun cos I dnt really undstand o. Wt all dese info gotten. Who pays u. *confused* .... 1stlady noni

sheylee bee said...

Hahhaha, people should plz not blame the osun state govt for arresting goats, theyve got some white mentors, this whole stuff is stupid includin 10000 stupid people who went ahead to like the facebook page in order to promote stupidity, sumone wld come up with a sillier case like this next time all in +h¬ game of getting facebook fans

ETHAN said...

Na wa o!so wetin the goat talk for court?lol

Na wah oo,dis kind one no fit happen 4 9ja nvr.Na 2 flog or pure d gate water na 9ja dey do.

Chidozie Mario said...

Judging animal based on human standards. Stupidity.
How To Deal With Sexual Temptation

So d goat get lawyer too,Ntin wey we no go C 4 dis world.funny pple come try dis one 4 9ja body go tell u.my frnd leave dat goat n plant anoda flower jor.

D1 said...

Lmao

He eat grass oooo, he eat flower ooo. Na watin them call am. GOAT. I rest my case

Linda u shud visit d site!the woman tries.except I av a feeling linda will b a lazy wife,she wud probably employ a cook.lolol,#jussaying

Jade8221 said...

I don die
i don die......
lmao
see where no get handwork

some people are really jobless. this was taken to court for mere flower? BAHAHAHAHA, I can't stop laughing

AMERICANS also believe in silly/odd things with all the civilization. See the list in this Newsweek link report called AMERICA THE IGNORANT:

http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/galleries/2010/08/24/dumb-things-americans-believe.html

Austin Uche said...

erm..... Pls o, there is dis particular rat dat has gained a spot in ma kitchen, she and her kids are now regular faces o... Infact, i name the rat shelly sef. Abeg make una cum help me arrest d rat for non payment of rent, forceful living in ma kitchen without consent and incessant eating of my food she or her kids did not pay for...... Nde ara people..lolz

This goat might. Just be the owner's girlfrnd, boyfrnd or 'fuck' mate. Seriously,Jim might just be fucking Gary. These Oyinbos are crazy. Notice the attachment like its his girlfrnd?

Dey re real odes jare. Abeg can any one tell me hw linda get paid wt dis blog business or is it jst 4 fun cos I dnt really undstand o. Wt all dese info gotten. Who pays u. *confused* .... 1stlady noni

She gets paid by d adverts u see on her blog as well as paid for some of d news and photos you see... Hope d@ answers u.

Tobe but the goat resemble U̶̲̥̅̊ sha... ​=))º°˚˚˚°ÂºÐ½aĦaнaº°˚˚˚°Âº‎​=))

Wats ode about it people keep any thing they want as pets including goats,sheep etc

Ahah r u a learner !! Don't u see the tons of ad's

teemah beent said...

Linda u no kii person wit laff o,@ Garry did not comment on d verdict...Garry said meeehhhhhh.ROFL.

The judge didn't do well at all, its true the goat is a grass eating animal but that does not mean that his owner should not be help responsible. For some of us calling this stupidity, it is not. If u go to country like Dubai, where it hardly rains and govt spends lots of money just to keep flowers alive, then u will understand that allowing ur animals to graze on flowers is a big crime.

Secondly for those saying its stupidity, in our local villages there are laws available that whosoever allows his/her domestic animals to graze on people's farms, that such animals should be arrested and taken to the house of the eldest or the Chief task force officer in that village, till the owner pays fine for the crime committed by his animal. So why are Nigerians full of hypocrisy?

She earns sm money each time her blog is opened or commented on,so d more pple commenting,d richer she getz.dts y she hustles for info to kip u opening n commenting,Gerrit?

Asked to pay £290 for goat of how much? i Trust my country pple sha. RABBISH!

She earns sm money each time her blog is opened or commented on,so d more pple commenting,d richer she getz.dts y she hustles for info to kip u opening n commenting,Gerrit?

She's always too tired/busy/lazy to do things. Hian. As she dey beg you now make your head dey swell,u started frm somewia too madam

This story just made my day! Chei! Laff don nearly finish me oh!

Wetin dey do anon 11:01 pple dey laff 4 d comedy wey dey blog u dey talk grammar,9ja i hey o...

Amarachi said...

Was really funny when we saw it in news here in Sydney because it made me remembered Nigeria.Linda anything is possible in Australia but it is a great country

leo4life said...

They must be suffering from the disease that infected the Osun state governor which made him to be arresting goats - it is called Aregbesolascopathymiasys. Researchers are still looking for the cure...lol

teeteelahyo said...

Lmao. U r cray!