3 men beaten and stripped naked in Imo State for allegedly being gay | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 16 January 2013

3 men beaten and stripped naked in Imo State for allegedly being gay

The three men above were stripped naked and allegedly beaten on Monday January 14th, in Ekwe, near Umuka in Njaba Local Government Area of Imo State for supposedly being homosexuals.

A group, the Nigeria HIV Info, dedicated to the protection of the rights of people living with HIV/AIDS, sent out a statement alerting people about the incident and condemning the act. 

In the statement signed by the group's cordinator, Steve Aborisade, the group said it has “reliably confirmed and authenticated the incident and of the identity of one of the men.”

Mr. Aborisade called on security agents to respond to the plight of the men.
“As it is, only the perpetrators and the community can tell the whole world what has become of these men who were seriously beaten up, stripped naked and paraded around the community bounded together like animals on allegation that they were caught having sex together,” Mr. Aborisade said.
Mr. Aborisade said a reliable source “reliably confirmed that the men were yet to be released from the location where they are being held in Umuka, Njaba Local Government Area of Imo State.”
The group appealed to the Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha, to intervene to save the lives of the men.
“While acknowledging that several Nigerians find the practice of homosexuality strange and unnatural, we also realize that it does not confer a license to trample on the rights of people who engages in it, with the sort of inhuman treatment that was meted out to these them.
“So many informed commentators, including Nobel Prize winner, Prof Wole Soyinka have commented on the scientifically proven fact that more than anything, gays are just victims of biology,” the group said.
Mr. Aborisade said instead of being singled out for harassment and prosecution, sexual minorities deserve support and access to sexual health services that they lack as citizens of this country.
He said sexual minorities “remain a high risk group to HIV/AIDS infection, yet it is a community that has been denied of all access to life saving HIV/AIDS services.”
“We suggest that our parliamentarians should devote equal energy at fishing out and punishing our treasury thieves who are doing more harm to the continued survival of our nation instead of dissipating energy on an issue that borders on private morality.
“We enjoin other rights group to show solidarity and ensure that the rights of sexual minorities are protected like other marginalised groups in the country,” Mr. Aborisade said.

211 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 211 of 211

Nawa oh, nd more of this shits still happening,o ga oh

BEN NWOKORIE said...

Homosexuality and Lesbianism are evil and must be stopped at all cost. If beating the hell out of this idiots will help stop this mess, so be it.

awiseoneoncetoldme said...

the people who say that it is ok for them to be treated like this are the ones that will end up perishing in hell, for you all know God does not advocate hate...just like the Pharisees that killed Jesus.. this event and the comments made by this stupid select few is the reason the country is stagnant..

Preach oh ignoramus like them

ogom said...

yet another mob justice we are talking about.....*sighs*

bunmi said...

Being Gay doesnt concern anyone in the community as we can see that they are matured adult-there was no need for the beating and parading as if they are goats.This is morally wrong i agree and as much as i detest this sodomic act but pls who are we to decide a good act and a act? and if we decide to play God by deciding,who are we to pass judgement please....the sin they commited is to themselves and i dont see how it affects anyone in the crowd or even there relatives..i will understand if they say they were caught raping or having undue advantage of a minor but this is really not a justifiable act by the mob....nigeria and their savage and barbaric attitide *smh*

MIKE said...
james said...

for the frank sake of God, yes gaysm in what ever form is not accepted by the Nigeria people. and let us agree these men where having carnal knowledge and they had consented before the sex, i think they should have been handed over to the police that has the prosecutional power under the Criminal code law of Imo State.
so they could not prove it in court, I think the victim should approach the court to enforce their human right that has been violated and they can claim millions.
the Civil group should proceed with an action in court and enforce the right of the three. they should join the Imo state Governor and the chief of that village and the senate president and the speaker house of representatives and the president.

MIKE said...

Good information for those (lost) Nigerians who Protested at the Nigerian embassy in the United States to see what reward awaits them whenever they return to Nigeria, Never forget you are a "NIGERIAN" no matter any where, place or soceity you find yourself.

***for those who are in support*** plz. think of the future effects " REMEMBER THIS IS HOW KIDNAPPING AND OTHER ILLICIT ACTS STARTED, BORNE IN OTHER COUNTARIES BUT GREW FETHERS IN NIGERIA" if our fore-fathers were involved in GAY, means we all wouldn't have existed in this world, b/c "procreation involes man and woman"

MIKE said...

"GAY" is evil, We pray for anybody in support of so called "GAY" directly or indirectly by converting it into or involving human-
right, receive "HOLY GHOST FIRE" deliverance. Amen.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 211 of 211   Newer› Newest»