Tyler Perry Defends His Decision to Cast Kim Kardashian | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 17 November 2011

Tyler Perry Defends His Decision to Cast Kim Kardashian

Last week, Tyler Perry fans nearly crashed his message boards in protest of his decision to cast Kim Kardashian in his new film - 'The Marriage Counselor'. Perry today addressed the situation in a letter to his fans explaining his position on casting and keeping Kim Kardashian in the movie. Read the letter after the cut...

I think many of you know that this is a very difficult time of year for me, so what I try to do is make sure that I’m working during this time. All I wanted to do was shoot a great film and try to keep my mind off the holiday grief that I have been experiencing for the past two years. I could not have imagined I’d be getting all these emails about Kim Kardashian. I HAVE SEEN THEM!! YOU HAVE BEEN HEARD!! …LOL.

Now, may I say something? Can a brother get a word in?….LOL. Y’all gave me a new movie title, Tyler Perry’s “Diary of a Mad Black Woman Cause You Hired Kim Kardashian, Don’t Make Me Take Off My Earrings and Boycott Yo A**.”…LOL.

Some of my ladies are upset. Ok, all jokes aside, can I have my say? Will you at least here me out?

I was in a Mexican restaurant and the cutest little old woman stopped me and said, “I want to talk to you about KAR-DAT- CHA-NEM.” I said, “Ma’am?” She said, “What is wrong with you putting her in the lead role of your movie?” By the time I explained to her that she was not in the lead role and why I thought she should be in “The Marriage Counselor”, she said, “Oh, I see your point and I can’t wait to see the movie.” So, if you don’t mind, I’d like to share with you what I said to her then maybe you’ll see why I wanted her in the film.

This movie is about a young lady named Judith (Jurnee Smolett), who grew up in the countryside of Virginia in a trailer park. She was raised in the church by her mother Sarah (Ella Joyce). Judith married her childhood sweetheart Brice (Lance Gross) and had the perfect life until she graduated college and went to work in the big city. After college, all she wanted to do was be a marriage counselor, but the only job she could find was working for a matchmaker named Janice (Vanessa Williams). Janice has several employees that work for her, including a woman named Ava (Kim Kardashian). Ava is constantly trying to influence Judith on everything from her shoes to her hair. Judith meets a man at work named Harley (Robbie Jones).

Harley challenges everything in her life from her marriage to her husband to her faith. Meanwhile, Brice (Lance Gross), Judith’s husband works at a pharmacy owned by Mrs. Waco (Renee Taylor). Brice has just hired a coworker named Melinda (Brandy), who has some major demons that she is running from. In the end, the choices that both of these young women have made come crashing down on them and their lives will never be the same. I wish I could tell you more, but I don’t want to ruin it for you.

After I finished writing this movie, I sat back and re-read it. Half way through my read, the gravity of what I had written hit me. I knew that this message was not only for my age group, but for all audiences, especially the youth. ESPECIALLY THE YOUTH!! YOUNG FOLKS NEED TO SEE THIS!!! And not just the young people that follow me, but the young people that are following other young people, as well. I wanted a younger cast, that’s why I put Jurnee in the lead and invited Lance Gross, Robbie Jones and Brandy. About two months ago, long before I even heard about Kim’s marriage or divorce, I was trying to finish up the casting. I said to one of my producers, “who else is out there that young people are looking up to?” One of my producers showed me pictures that his daughter had taken of several hundred kids lined up around the corner to get into a Kardashian store. They wanted to meet Kim. I thought, what better person! She literally has millions of young people following her. I thought and still do think, that it would be very responsible of her to be a part of this film. To have the young people that look up to her, see her in a film that is about, what happens in life when you make the wrong choices. Whether you’re aware of it or not, to be honest with you I wasn’t, millions of young people adore her and are following her every move. If one of those young people see this film and find the strength to live a better life and not go through what these characters went through in this movie, then we have all done what I feel I’m being led to do here. I hope you understand. I really do!

And lastly, because I believe that my films speak from the inside out, why wouldn’t Kim Kardashian be invited into a film about Faith, Forgiveness and the healing power of God? What is wrong with that??

39 comments:

SORRY DUDE I DON'T BUY IT.
YA EXCUSE IS A LITTLE BIT LAME.

Elephant Fight Leads To Death At Zoo said...

Lol... Kim fits the role perfectly... Question is, can she act?

Chicanita said...

See defending, nobody can complain again after this. Nice marketing too. I can't wait to watch the movie now.

true that. no one has a right to deny her just cause she's a busy body or attention seeker. who knows? this may change her life

I thought there's already a Tyler Perry's film called Marriage Counsellor. A stage play featuring Loretta Devine or somebody like that

Kelechi said...

Is Tyler Perry having a laugh? May this movie go straight to dvd. This is like casting Mahmoud Ahmadinejad in a jewish movie: Israel, Holocaust & Zionism. Jews won't watch it. Tyler Perry either has no idea how much hate the public have for the Kardashians or he simply don't care about his fans or the public.

I love you tyler :-)

galore said...

GBAMMM........He/she who has not Sin,,,,cast the first stone.......Pls lets liv Kim alone............Una been wan hear say her husband stab her bfor una go kno say make she luv husband house....At times,,in life wen u folliw the Mouth of pple,,u wud make a Big time Mistake.........@Kim i wish u all The Best...,,am not in ur shoes,,,so i dont know what you are going thru........U need healin,,GOD wud heal from every secret pain.....Amen.

RhapidKid said...

With all due respect, I respect Tyler and what he does, but what he doesn't know is that Kim Kardashian just wants to use this movie as another means to get more TV attention and promote one of her brands! That girl is like a already made version of Dencia. I mean, who on earth looks up to someone that has a sextape?(although I know some idiots do look up to her). I wish she could be taken off TV totally! I don't see how she's a role model to anyone, whether the stupid fans consider her one or not. All she wants is Money Money Money!!! I'm not sure I'll watch this movie, seriously. I have a whole collection of Tyler Perry's movies but I'm not going to get this one. Not when this whore is on it!

Gbam!!!

When so many people of color are looking for jobi n Hollywood, you are casting this fame whore wey over publicity syndrome dey worry !

I AM SO BOYCOTTING THIS MOVIE!Oshi at iranu

Tyler is looking at it from a financial point of view (kim will rake in millions at the box office....well, pre-divorce kim.Dont know about now) and that is not a bad thing since at the end of the day na money im wan make na..but he should stop with the cock & bull story....

Tyler perry, ur write up, is just all about the money...and I could read some admission to it. There are millions of hungry and talented actors/actresses that needs a chance and opportunity.....but ur choice just fell on Kim cos' what?she has no acting skills, the closest was her sex tape....she had to go for acting coach cos of this movie....oh yeah cos she had millions of misguided kids who look up to her and that could lead to some box office sales.....pls leave all the preaching about forgiveness, healing and Christian crap of an excuse....u r driven by money..time will tell how this will pan out.

He does not have to defend anything. It's his movie and he owes no one any explanation. Shioooor! Tyler, abeg do your thang!

I love Tyler Perry, he always produces mature films wt a clear msg, unlike most other films dat r either crazy or purely for entertainment wt no morals to them.

I'm wt Tyler Perry all d way - i believe it wld be "responsible" of Kim to feature in that film. It wld help to redirect many of her young 'worshippers'.
Ride on Tyler, God bless u!

@UgoChime1 said...

oh well

if DSTV shows the movie, i'll watch it sha

ETHAN said...

Nice one Tyler

I respect Tyler Perry, and I trust him on this.

brown said...

I love you Tyler....ur d boss..i just hope dis movie wl change her both spiritually and mentally.

another foolishness from kim i beg make she go sidon for somewhere

Abeg cast whoever you like. People are just being narrow minded. Its a movie.Its acting! Nobody said she should come and counsel people in thier homes. With all this the movie will so sell!

Guy do whatever you want jareee.

all of you lashing out on kim are fools.....u will still be d first to watch d marriage Councillor! not for anytin but just to watch her... so stop hating and face ur godforsaken lives.

Marketing.... what a joke!
its all about money and how many pple this controversy is draggin to the film to make money. Hes probably never had so much free marketing.

Dani

lmaoooo,yall r jus craa'y....
and asper the movie,well....hey he is trying to kill two birds with a stone ojare,make money at the same time pass a msg,bcos we all know tyler brings it....and no1 begged people to watch the kardashins,so y bash her,yall watched it and stayed glued to it,so common mehn..... whteva,the only comma is she no b actress,but hopefully,her role will b minimal,most important thing is to draw her audience and something can be learnt! sh(eeeee)ikena....seems like a movie to wait for,peace yuh...

well,kim cannot act to save her life. she couldnt evn act up her fake marriage 4 long..

@raphid or warever u call yasef! even if she made a sex tape so??????
What law says she can't move on with her life? abi u no dey fuck??? pulease!!!!! live and let live

Omalicha said...

kim does not have any young followers..and more so even now...her 10 mins of fame is up...ppl don't want to see her anymore..so i wonder if tyler perry has made a sound business decision

he should give up cos i am not going to see the movie for this reason.

Okay,if you've nt hd sex b4 cast the ist stone. When will u guys get over people's past? @ least she gt to limelight via a sextape,make una go make una own make we see if una go be celeb,abi life of a celeb no they hungry una. I think kim k nids to send an amber rose kinda msg so y'all can leave her alone. Wise decision tyler,@ least all those who say she is popular for having no talents can shut up after the movie.

SORRY TYLER WE IN THE US ARE GONNA PASS ON THIS ONE. WE ARE OFFICIALLY DONE WITH THE KARDASHIANS

wether we like it or not, Kim Kardashian is already a brand. Wether you think her being part of the movie is for more publicity or not doesnt change anything. it wont stop people from liking or following her.Why havent you guys complained about lady gaga's subtle reference to the devil in her songs? why hasn't anyone carried a placard to stop all the other meaningless programmes on television. the answer is simple - jealousy about Kim's overwhelming popularity and likeness by people of all races. Leave the girl alone and shut your ears to anything that has to do with her. when the movie comes out, dont watch. If you, do, you are a bloody hypocrite.

I DON'T SEE ANY CAUSE FOR ALARM HERE. HE NEEDS THE GOOD SALES, SHE NEEDS THE FAME AND LIFE IS ALL ABOUT FREEDOM, SHE DOES NOT HAVE TO GO INTO OBLIVION JUST BECAUSE SHE DIVORCED HER EX-HUSBAND. SHE MUST HAVE A REASON FOR DOING THAT; EITHER SELFISH, STUPID, OR GOOD. I PRAY SHE DOES NOT REGRET IT TO MUCH.

You all need to get a Life...I bet all of you girls calling her a whore has slept with more men than she has. Why don't you guys release your sex tapes too?

Love you anonymous nov 18 2011. 4.10 pm. You have said it all.

Mena UkodoisReady said...

All Tyler wants is Return On Capital Invested. simplez

Mena
TGIF and as for those who party, watch your drinks oh ----> http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2011/11/gaga-about-popping-pills-at-strange.html

Blair said...

It's strictly business. With Kim's fame pre divorce, she would bring in millions. I don't know about the post divorce. All I know is, I don't see white folks casting her in any movie, so I guess we can say black people are OBSESSED with her. I sure don't want to see her BOTOX face in the movies...NEXT

@Raphidkid or Raphidadult watever..u better shutup dat mouth of urs and examine ur self well b4 u judge others..didn't u watch d sextape..and ur here ranting..plz package ur slf and ur holier dan thou attitude and get a hell out of here...Oga Tyler abeg use whoever u like..who cares anyway...

Is Tyler Perry kidding me, that is a very lame excuse, talking about young kids look up to her so he should cast her so they can learn...dude can u hear yourself? Whether you like it or not, when celebrities make stupid blunders, they deserve the proverbial timeout, this is not time for her to show her face more...It's like saying Tiger Woods should have been in more commercials about good relationships or marriage counselling after his incidence, or Chris Brown in domestic abuse campaigns right after brushing Rihanna...talking about his movies are about forgiveness and such so it's a good time to practice what he has been preaching, lest he has forgotten, the good book also says, "Spare the rod, and spoil the child", forgiveness/renewal can come from discipline too..as most naija pple would tell you, after they got their whooping or scolding from popsy or momsy, they knew they had been forgiven...:P...

PS: The world has heard enough about her so much so that someone invented this just so we could hear no more http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SzB5OQUcOU I will be installing this too, I can't stand seeing even a trailer to this "movie?"