How Abuja NNPC topshot was killed. Driver captured | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 19 November 2011

How Abuja NNPC topshot was killed. Driver captured

If you didn't read the previous post on this story - read it HERE. The murderer, her driver, has since been captured. Read his chilling confession below...

A 21-year-old man, Amanya (other names withheld), some days narrated a chilling tale of how he allegedly plotted and murdered a female senior staff of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), barely a month after he was employed by the deceased as a driver.
The victim, whose name was given as Mrs. Afishetu Dupe Abdullahi, was strangled to death penultimate Friday, and her body dumped inside a deep freezer in her new apartment at Bade Close in the Garki District in Abuja.

Her assailants later went away with two Sports Utility Vehicles (SUV) belonging to her – a Nissan marked AY 456 KJA (Lagos), and Infinity with registration No. CE 96 RSH (Abuja) among several items, after allegedly celebrating their unholy act with some bottles of beer in her residence.
The euphoria, however, lasted barely a week as crack detectives at the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) police command picked up Amanya, the prime suspect, who confessed that prior to the incident, he suddenly developed a feeling of hatred for his boss who he claimed, did not treat him nicely within the short period he served her.

He said the situation was further compounded when he was involved in an accident in one of the deceased’s cars and was asked to fix the damaged part or risk being arrested by the police. “I told her I had no money to fix the car and begged her to allow me work with her so that she would use my salary to repair her car. And it was from that time I developed hatred for her, and started the plans which led to her death,” the suspect revealed while being paraded at the FCT police command headquarters.

In an uncommon display of courage, Amanya, a secondary school leaver, who hails from Ogba-Egbema in Rivers State, gave graphic details of how he conspired with a 19-year-old boy, Kenneth (other names withheld), whom he described as his younger brother, to murder the woman in cold blood after an unsuccessful attempt to rob her of a sum of N4 million. Police have launched a manhunt for the other suspect, who is at large.
Prior to the ill-fated day, he had plotted to drug his boss and abscond with her exotic cars as well as cash and other vital documents, but the plan was aborted as a result of the presence of a house maid who he eventually succeeded in tricking out of the apartment with a sum of N400 on the day Mrs. Abdullahi was murdered.
This is the tragic fate of his victim, as told by Amanye:

The beginning
Actually, I was doing car wash at Febson Hotel. It was there I first washed her car, and she has a business centre there. When I first met her, she told me she was looking for a driver, and I told her I knew how to drive, and that was how she employed me. That was about a month ago. Thereafter, I started working with her and unfortunately, there was a time I had an accident with the black Infinity, and she asked me to repair the damage, otherwise, she would get the police to arrest me.

So, I told her I didn’t have the money to fix the car, and I reminded her that I didn’t have any relation in Abuja, and that was why when she asked me to provide a guarantor when she was about employing me, I told her I had nobody in Abuja. So I begged to work for her for as many months as she desired so that she could use the money meant for my salary to fix her car. And that was how I instantly developed hatred for her. I started working for her as a driver and housekeeper, cleaning the environment, because she had just moved into a new apartment at Garki before the incident occurred.

How I planned her murder
Before I developed hatred for her, she wasn’t really that nice to me. But that was not the reason why I should kill her. I had first planned to make away with her cars, and at that time, there was this my younger brother staying with me in her premises at the Boys’ Quarters, without her knowledge. He is about 19 years old. I told him about my plan to move away with her Infinity but later, I changed my mind and decided to make away with the two cars.

And to actualise my plan, I first thought of drugging her meal with a sleeping tablet because I normally bought her food, but because the house girl lived with her in the main building, I felt the plan would not work, so I didn’t do it. Besides, there were some people who were working in the house.

So the next day, I called my brother and told him that as soon as the people working in the house closed for the day, he should hide himself inside the house before my madam returned from the office, and he did exactly as I instructed him. He was hiding at the back of the door when my madam came in at night, and immediately she entered, I switched off the light in the sitting room and locked the door. But as she was about asking what happened to the light, my brother, Kenneth, grabbed her and she attempted to shout for help. And because the security men were not far from the house, I assisted by brother and closed her mouth with my hands, and she bit one of my fingers.

After a long struggle, she became unconscious and we took her to her room upstairs and tied her up. When she eventually regained consciousness, I told her to give me the sum of N4 million if she wanted me to spare her life. She said she had no such money but pleaded that we should allow her to go out and get the money for us. I told her no, that I could never do that because she would implicate us.

Then, I told her to give me an ATM card, containing such amount of money so that I would be withdrawing the money from the bank even if it means holding her hostage for the period it would take me to withdraw the N4 million. But she said she had no ATM card with such amount of money and offered to send me to the bank manager. But I refused.

So, she gave me two ATM codes for Intercontinental Bank and Fidelity Bank but it was only in the ATM card for Fidelity Bank that she had about a hundred and sixty thousand naira. When I returned that same night from checking the ATM card, I then asked her about her car particulars, but she told me they were in the office.
So, I took the keys to her other house in Citec Estate to search for the vehicle documents but I didn’t see them. What I found were some jewellery, which I took and returned to her house at Garki where she was tied. I told Kenneth what I saw and I had this feeling that if we left her alive, she would get me arrested when we had gone because she is a barrister. So, I told Kenneth that we should kill her. He agreed with me and that was how we killed her. I strangled her with a rope.

Escape with two SUVs
The next day, I hired two taxi drivers to help me move the two SUVs to Owerri in Imo State. I deceived them by telling them that the vehicles belonged to our mother, who lived abroad but was coming home for the Sallah holidays. I asked them the cost of their services, and they charged me N50, 000 for the two vehicles and I didn’t hesitate in paying them. Before then, I had already removed the cars from my madam’s house.
When we got to Owerri, I took them to a guest house so that they would not know that the cars were stolen. That same day, I took away the white Nissan from the guest house at night, and very early in the morning, I went to remove the second SUV before the drivers woke up from sleep. They didn’t see me again.

When I met my madam, because of the accident I had with her car just as I resumed work, we hadn’t discussed about how much she would pay me as monthly salary; I was just working seriously for her. I worked with her for about a month before I killed her but I really didn’t know what came over me because I just developed that hatred for my madam and I want Nigerians to forgive me.

While everything went on that night, I told the house girl that our madam travelled and gave her N400 to go to her people. Why I dumped my madam’s body in the fridge was because I thought it would take a long time for people to locate her and I didn’t want her to rot.

Culled from The Sun Online....

49 comments:

Black Man Burns KKK on Own Lawn to Keep Wife said...

Great Job being on top of this...

cold blooded murderer. of course now he will blame it on the devil but no be devil at all

grace said...

kia! jesus is lord oo! this guy is evil oh! kia is dis what poverty does to people?hmmn this is so sad!

Hang him by the balls...enuf said
This is the proper meaning of cold blooded murder!

may God purnish the generation of these guys

omggg wow this is like some home movie stuff.. some people r evillll, pur evil. all for money? may u rot in jail.
Ask God for forgiveness.
May her soul rest in peace. Doing a favour for some1 turned out to be her downfall, so sad. My thoughts goes out to her family.

Amazing grace! This is some real premeditated murder. See what happens when parents make babies and cannot provide for them and send them to college? They become a nuisance to society and the world. Someone who is only 21 years old (born 1990) and already a killer. I pity our country Naija! This is just the tip of the iceberg. If we as a people don't stop making too many babies knowing fully well that Naija has nothing to offer them when they are adults, then stuff like this is what we will have to contend with.

Hoping it wasn't going to be..but knew it had to be carried out by those boys from the EAST!!..would kill for material things very callous indeed..must be something in the water out there...of course now..to show off in the village during the Xmas season..its not even tribal..how many Yorubas/Hausas u find stealing outside their abode??..how predictable Beer parlour probably had one or two ashawos along the way..after drowning themselves in peppersoup!!

At anon 12•46 illetrate TRIBALIST• RIVERS IS NOT IN THE EAST OH. AND THE YORUBA GUY THAT MURDERED HIS WIFE WAS NOT FROM THE EAst too. Idiot.people like you cause chaos in the country with your preconceived notions and hatred. Bush pig.

a@ anon November 20, 2011 12:40 AM...
silence they say is the best answer for a confirmed born fool.
ezi ofia mmuo!

Magnetic!

Asampokoto said...

Anon 12:46 please shut up already.. how is that relevant. Anyways .. the moral of this story is be good to your employees. i don't encourage what this man did. but some employers/ madams are extremely evil to their housegirls & drivers. they treat them like they are garbage. not nice at all. Anon 12:24 ummm how was she doing him a favour? and Anon 12:40 shutup. i sit only in Nigeria that young kids kill? clearly you dont check the news very much.
ok i've given my 2cents... bye.

Last commentator,if ua literate as you claim to be. Linda said he is from Rivers,otondo like you wif short memory. Gues u didnt read d article well. Pls, make sure ua 100% equipd wit d correct fact before you talk.

@anon 12:46am.May God punish u for cursing people from the EAST!being a murderer is an individual thing. it is not tribal. be guided!!!!!

There are just some ways not to die!
Strangled her and kept her in the freezer.Haba.
Though it is largely said that it is bad to speak ill of the dead,i blame the madam for taking up a driver who she just ran into at a car wash with no prior history of where he was from,who his people were and actually let him live in the house with her.Was she that desperate for a driver or for cheap labour?
These days,in case we haven't all noticed,there are so many mentally unstable people walking the streets o.
I have a friend who doesn't let her drivers into her house and very recently stopped taking maids after almost 7of them.Some of us actually make them think there is nothing we can do without them.This guy actually doubled as driver and houseboy,why?And was serving her food.
I feel so sorry for her,but the truth is we have to have the people we have around us examined and re-examined regularly before we let them come close.
I only recently had a baby,and with all these horror stories i hear,i drive several kilometres daily to leave her with my trusted mom and not in a creche or some old nanny.Now i see why some of our mothers like mine left their careers to take care of us.It isn't always possible,but its worth it ,in the long run.
Times are bad and of course the end times are obviously here,it is only God who protects.Lets do our part and let God do the rest.I pray she finds peace with God.As for the driver,........God will judge him!

@ 'anonymous 12.46am' u need serious flogging, rather than conderm evil, ur busy calling every EASTERN thieves.. with ur tribalistic fat head.

I guess all ur presidents were easterns 2 bah? Bornfool

And after we complain of racism, when we (nigerians/african)ourselves are our biggest enemies.. RUBBISH

Galore said...

I dont Bloody care what your Madam did to you......but you killing her is A CAPITAL sin.........and you must fuckin Pay for it dearly.........Abbeg officer Hang His Stupid Dick wt a Tiny Rope and Kiil him........Mtcheww............imagine somone tryin to help you,,save you from Poverty and you eventually Killed her...That Is GROSS!!!!!!!?

whoever said that it must be someone from d east that did this, is certainly ignorant of d geopolitical zones in Nigeria. ZOMBIE, Rivers state is in d south-south. Go to school, or u'd turn out a driver like d above n kill ur boss.....

@ Anonymous November 20, 2011 12:46 AM

'Silence is the best answer to fools', so they say. Having said that, I wonder what kind of education you have had and if you know about the 'hierarchy of evidence' used in drawing up best research evidence and if that was what you based your conclusions on or if you are trying to draw out an all hate war and in other words basing your conclusions on bias, confounding factors and chance. Your sampling methods are warped that is if you know of any and Nigeria remains backward today because of people like you who I pray are not in the majority( more like wishful thinking) . Imagine many more people like you having access to a computer and the internet.

Linda , You self can promote a more unified and forward/ less- restrictive thinking community on your blog . Anyways whatever... I'm out

Slimy29 said...

Dis is quite touchin, aw shud a woman be sent 2 her untimely death by an employee,, 4 barely aw many month he workd wif her... Dats boy is witout a heart n if forgiven as he is pleading, will cause more menace 2 d society n d world. Pls his brain shud b re-shaped in d prison.... God help us.

Temitope Omo Oduduwa said...

@ Anon 12:46, u're such a dumb ass, wht d fvck brings east or west to ds issue. U silly prat.

amazing grace person i am with you i said the same last night most nigerians keep having children they cannot take care of and this is what happens. it sad and sickening what a waste!! Lord have mercy

Dont agree with the action of the young man, but then i think a lesson can be learnt here. Employers should try and be nicer to those who work for them. Nigrian employers are very harsh and sometime inhumane.

bloglord said...

d greatest sin on earth is greed! so becos ur madam wasnt nice to u, u decided to kill her? why didnt u just quit d job n go back to ur car washing? boy, u have no case,,u deserve to be hanged without waste of time. u are a wicked soul.

12.46AM says....The truth they say is bitter..beginning to sound like oyinbo people when blacks do well they British..when they commit a crime..they are Carbbean/African..
Didn't u claim e.g Genevive-Stepahnie
as Igbo??..aren't they from Rivers??..end of certain parts of Rivers are of Igbo extract..no different from Yorubas being Ondo-Ogun.. or Hausas..Kano-Adamnwa..Rivers and East what's the difference..not much..
it's a shame 9ja don't keep stats..this would have proved my point..live in denial..all u want..
And for the record no tribe is the gold standard but when it comes to random crime attached to money outside their boundary we know who comes 1st..

12.46AM says..
Surely the woman with her intellect made some very elementary mistakes..no Reference!!..his Age!!..but if he really hated his Madam he could have killed her in a fit of rage and left with nothing..but Murder and taking her hard earned material goods were uppermost in his mind..anyway this ain't for Linda's blog and sensitivity of this post..but couldn't help but notice this trend..u better find solutions to this hot mess..nuff said..i'm out!!

abisola said...

of we forgive u.bastard.omo ale jatijati

grace said...

anon 12:46am dont let me swear for you oh! yeye dey smell im sure its u gbenga disguising yourself as anon! mind urself oo, u see the reason why nigeria cannot move forward with people like u with ur village mentality! better educated urself oo! nonsense

grace said...

anon 12:40pm i feel u on the part where you said that nigerians give birth to children they cant train! i have seen some families in nigeria, living in wooden houses, yet they have over 8 kids and they have no source of income...they make their kids susceptible to crime....

God have merccccyyyyyyyy. All in the name material assets and cold blooded, then dump in the freezer to keep her fresh. Jesus hmmm.. May the fear of God be in us.

temsma said...

It's a really nasty piece of business, my heart goes out to the family of the diseased and i think we should all take some learning from this sad story.
Never employ anyone you or someone close to you know nothing about.(even when you know them, it doesn't mean they can be trusted, and never let your guard down when dealing with people who work close to your person.

RIP ma, may God give your family the strength to handle this. As for that driver and his bro, may the God of ISAAC JACOB ABRAHAM SHEDRACK MESHACK N ABEDNIGO, judge your lives....
They should suffer heavily and beg to die, then the death should be by strangling their necks with ropes like they did...TWATS....

Ada said...

Please tribalists stop going off on a tangent, this has absolutely nothing to do with region or ethnic group! Lets deal with the issue at hand, a woman got murdered in cold blood by her driver, she could be your mother, aunt, sister, friend! This can be done by even family members and relatives living with you!

My mumsie's close friend was almost killed by those working with her, and she had to escape into the neighbour's balcony!
I'm not a fan of others living with you, even driver, whether na boys quarters or something. I believe they should all come in and out daily, dont care for familiarity.

To have plotted all this in such a manner, which appears to have taken place over a day, in such a heartless manner, shows just how dangerous he was from the start.
My heart hurts for the woman's family. An aunt knew her, and was crying when she heard it, said the woman was actually a nice lady. No one deserves to die in such manner.

orange said...

This is a very pathetic story. I couldn't but think deeply of the events that led to this woman's death. I refuse to write anything out of fear or rage. I see the dead woman, ( God rest her soul) as a very careless woman. First and foremost, she is oblivious of the importance of her role in her family, first to her husband, then her children and then to her extended family and friends. If she was careful, she will think of the implications of picking up a semi- crazy guy from the street and making him to drive her everywhere and also serve her foods. She also also was not sensitive enough to know when to kick the fool out. She ought to have thrown him out when he crashed her car barely a week after employing him. I'm of the opinion also that that guy may not have a valid driver's license. If this guy had not murdered her, he probably would have killed her in a car cash because, I'm sure now that he is not a licensed driver. She didn't think of the pain and anguish her demise would cause her family. She also came out as one who want cheap things. (I'm sorry if my thoughts offend some people) why would a woman of her status not out-source the position of a driver, cook, gardener and even security man (gateman). This will allow for proper interview, investigations and background checks.
These are issues we all need to look at very closely and for a little more money, we can save ourselves from this kind of tragedy and our family members from anguish and sorrow. Due to her carelessness, she has thrown her children into a situation they may never be able to grapple or handle effectively for a long time.
As for the driver and his brother, they both represent the menace walking the streets of Nigeria. The government has a whole lot to do to help our youth discover themselves and stand on the party of dignity and self respect instead of looking for sudden wealth they may not even be able to handle. We parents need to teach our children from kindergarten, the importance of beadwork, truth, dignity and contentment. If we don't, the monsters we (parents & government) create will come back to devour. Just like the case of this woman and her domestic staffs. May God comforts her family and strengthen them at this time of their loss.

Dis is bullshit. Dis boy shld be dealt wit. In d first place, u brought in yur broda to live wit u without yur madam's consent. Dat's a sign of disrespect. To d best of my knowledge, if truly dis woman was mean to dis boy, he wldnt hav d guts to bring some1 else to dat house. So saying dat she didn't treat u well after spending jst one month wit her is a bloody lie. Dis means frm d onset, u had bad intentions 4 dis woman. Secondly, though she's dead, pls anyone living shld mind d kind of pple u bring to yur place. Dis boy only agreed to wrk wit dis woman cos seeing her at d car wash, he felt he had met a big fish. He felt he cld extort some money frm d woman & run away, & dis was why he didn't provide any guarantor, cos he didn't want to be traced or implicate any1. Anoda mistake frm d boss, living wit a total stranger. 70% of Carwash boys r deadlier than high way robbers. Be vry careful wen washing yur car outside. Dis woman is a friend & colleague to my group leader in church. She told us dis story wen they discovered her colleague wasn't within reach during sallah. D victim has her kids schooling abroad & jst lives wit d driver, house maid, & security. Her house maid has spent more than 5years wit her, & did her secondary schl while living wit dis woman. At d moment, d house maid is waiting 4 her university admission. How come dis criminal cldnt wait to serve dis woman, b4 demanding 4million. D useless boy wanted fast money. A word is enuf 4 d wise. Be vry careful nt jst wit pple u dnt knw, even d ones u knw.

please popos, can you guys just blow up this guy with a bomb. Actually, no that's too quick, please set him on fire so he can die a slow painful death.

Me said...

orange12.18am i totally share your opinion. she was rather too careless and reckless. am not sure she valued her life that much. check out wat the bible says about such, n that is exactly wat happened to her.

in my place u dont speak evil of the dead,but let the truth be told she cld ve done better.

may her soul rest in peace.

the truth is that there wld always be bad people in our midst. we must be careful n protect ourselves even if we dont value ourselves but do it for ur children and loved ones.

He should be killed the way she was killed !!!!!! SHIKENA!!!!!!!!!! MURDERER OSHI!!!

sleekreek said...

This is really pathetic......am trying hard to think dis guy lost all his feelings while taking his madam's life....despite the fact that the woman pleaded yet all her pleas fell on their deaf ears..........where was his conscience????that his boss wasnt nice to him isnt an excuse,,,,i just pray he pays dearly for dis.....

Femillionaire said...

Na wah for you orange and iniebok... Not everybody is as suspicious of the next person as you lot. The woman probably chose to believe in humanity and she was let down. With the way you're blaming the woman, you're making it look as if she deliberately arranged for her murder. That boy is very wicked and I'm sure this was not his first crime. Women should however learn from this experience.

Wat's all this talk about her not treating him well?Dat's a BIG, FAT LIE! i know this bcos, i almost got killed by a houseboy who got the best of treatment u can imagine and had barely worked with us for 3wks. When asked why, he said something just posessed him and told to buy rat poison. Can u imagine that? This is a guy who has absolutely nothing to with the main house talkless of food cos he lives in the BQ. He devised a means of entry and got in while we at work to carry out his develish act.He poisoned every edible thing in my freezer! This guy is SIMPLY PUT A HEARTLESS CRIMINAL who knew very well from the start what he wanted to do( makeway with the womans possessions) shikena!There are so many wicked and possessed peolpe out there, let us all be very careful. May he die slowly and painfully.

Ifeanyi Okagbue said...

Amazing grace! This is some real premeditated murder. See what happens when parents make babies and cannot provide for them and send them to college? They become a nuisance to society and the world. Someone who is only 21 years old (born 1990) and already a killer. I pity our country Naija! This is just the tip of the iceberg. If we as a people don't stop making too many babies knowing fully well that Naija has nothing to offer them when they are adults, then stuff like this is what we will have to contend with.
November 20, 2011 12:40 AM

I over concur with this person. That is the singular reason for all our problems in this country because someone who went to a good school, is well brought up and comes out from a family where his basic needs are met wouldn't be thinking of things like this and nobody can convince him or her to carry ballot boxes, steal and others.

I humbly beg Nigerians if you cannot properly take care of a child and give him all his basic needs, please don't give birth. Especially to all the young girls and guys.

Asampokoto,
You shut the fuck up, silly piece of shit. This is exactly what annon 12:40 is saying. Having alot of kids and not being able to adequately provide for them leaves them no other choice but to dabble into crime. What is wrong in what was said that your rude diseased ass cannot disagree peacefully without being verbally abusive? Your parents probably made babies like rats and that is why they forgot to provide you with a sound upbringing. Just because your sorry black ass now has access to the internet does not mean you should be rude. You retarded fucktard from a set of baboons!

@Magnetic!
I hope you know it is annon 12:46 that made the tribalistic comment. If any of you morons dare insult me again, may the God I serve purnish you people severly. Rude fucking bastards. Anuofia efulefu. Ika gugom with all the insults. Nonsense! And I say it again, Nigerians keep breeding like fucking rabbits and your children will amount to nothing if you cannot take care of them. Who no like my comment, go jump off a fucking bridge! Nigerians make me sick hence the country will never amount to anything. Fucking demented Negros! Una no dey shame. Even Ghana is doing better than us! Giant of Africa by black ass.

Thank you Ifeanyi!
When I tell the truth some monkeys want to insult me. Bunch of losers. That is why Nigeria will continue to rot. It is you people still in there that will suffer not those of us who are lucky to have longed jumped shipped. Gbam!

Lacreme said...

May God Punish This Useless 21 Yrs Old Animal And Any Member Of his Family With Such Mind,....Oh And The Other 19 Yr Old Murderer , They All Dont Deserve Gods Forgiveness,...I Read This News And Wept,...GOD WILL NEVER FORGIVE THESE TWO, WHY ???....Madam May Your Soul Rest In Peace,, You Worked Hard for your money and I Dont Blame You For Asking him to repair your Jeep,....NO MATTER WHAT SHE DID, HE SHOULDNT HAVE KILLED HER.................MAY THUNDER STRIKE THEM BOTH TO DEATH !!!!

HISS said...

her soul rest in peace.

pls nobody should blame her!

the boy is a liar!

he is trying to 'play' the pity angle!

the woman was never 'wicked' to him!

he was simply greedy and a thief!

how come the security man never knew his younger brother was living with him?and reported to madam?

why should he serve her food if she had a maid living with her?

HE IS OBVIOUSLY LYING HE SHOULD BE HANGED O JARE!

Can sorry bring her back and wipe off the tears of her loved ones?

he is so WICKED!

When people can't get what they want from some people, they concoct lies!

the security man is definitely useless at his job! 2 cars driven out and he never questioned or ask to confirm from madam? He didn't see her come out or notice any activity in the house and didn't bother to look out of curiosity?

so N400:00 is enough to be used to trick a maid out of the house that had been with her for 5years and trained through secondary school awaiting admission?..WHERE IS THE LOYALTY AND GRATITUDE? and for how many hours abi days she was out of the house? it is possible she was having an affair with him....so many loop-holes in his story!

You can be good to someone but when he /she cannot get one particular thing they want from you, they begin to tell tales around! BASTARD!

HISS said...

agree with you anonymous on some nigerians breeding like chickens! they expect someone to train their children for them, as if one don't have their ow burden! it's so annoying! come to parks and see the agberos and hawkers along the streets! and the get-rich-quick syndrome is not helping matters!

Some of this people need to be injected with something to stop them breeding like bloddy rabbits..yet so poor and impoverished..even rich-middle class folks only very few..
Next thing they be coming to rob us!!
As for the house help..my mom educated her and actually took her to the UK on holiday..of course she turned out to be an ingrate..
They all involved..Housegirl..Security..useless things..