Chelsea pay £2m for 14-year-old Nigerian boy - Oluwaseyi Ojo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 17 November 2011

Chelsea pay £2m for 14-year-old Nigerian boy - Oluwaseyi Ojo

His name is Oluwaseyi Ojo, and he's 14 years old. Last month, one of the world's biggest football clubs, Chelsea FC, agreed to pay a staggering £2million to make him the most expensive 14-year-old in football.

Before Chelsea won the race to sign the midfielder, Manchester United, Liverpool, Arsenal and Manchester City had shown interest in Oluwaseyi, who is viewed as one of the hottest prospects in English football. Oluwaseyi plays with MK Dons youth-team.

Read more about him HERE

30 comments:

Tunde Raw said...

Thats nice but it seems he is Englsih afterall.

Priestess said...

Yeah ave heard abt him, gud luck 2 seyi n d life of his family has change ohh.

Eye Candy. Ms. DR. "I like..." said...

Good for him... Let's hope he justifies the advance...

CLF said...

Tunde Raw; how can you be black and English? Educate me please!

Are U Serious CLF??? Funny How we black people make "racist" remarks to ourselves & on the other hand form "upset" when a white person says same! @koleheth

@ CLF, Tunde Raw means Seyi is born in England,even though he has Nigerian born parents. I know a White dude from Kenya, and he proudly says he is from Kenya. Black or white don't matter.

@ CLF please stop exposing your ignorance

Wildkris said...

y chelsea??? Am sure he ll end up lyk mikeal. Chelsea fans oya react...

CLF, how can u be so ignorant ?

as so as i ve my baby n its a boy, i wld start massaging n stretching his leg n all his toys wld be football cs d rate @ which all ds young guys are making it ehn

R4 said...

@CLF November 17, 2011 12:11 PM
You are black and English if you are black British born in England. You are black and Welsh if you are black British born in Wales. You are black and Irish if you are black British born in Northern Ireland. You are black and Scottish if you are black British born in Scotland.

United Kingdom of Great Britain = England + Scotland + Wales + Northern Ireland.

@Tunde raw i got this one...(re-CLF)
The same way you can be black and American.

CLF said...

Sorry oh, you are the ignorant ones. I bet you have never crossed the borders before. LOL! How can he have such names and be English? Please get educated. We are British which is fine. We can never be English with those names. Get it!

Anon November 17, 2011 1:08 PM; thank you but that doesn't make us English.

Loudmouthed said...

@CLF, please ask. I still cannot understand how. But the truth is, these black people claim british and they are even more racist to black than white british.

CLF said...

Ignoramuses please read; http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/English_people

If you cannot read it all, take note here;
However, these groups are often still considered to be ethnic minorities and research has shown that black and Asian people in the UK are more likely to identify as British rather than with one of the state's four constituent nations, including England.[63]

The word ignorant is so 1960s!

CLF said...

Loudmouthed, isn't that stereotyping? There's a big Black-African versus Black-Caribbean divide.

There's also the Black-African born and bred (never lived in Naija) versus the Black-African (sometimes born and bred and sometimes born in the the UK but bred in Africa.)

Then there is the Ghana versus Nigeria divide.

Need i go on?

he's actually going to Liverpool

Congrats know the Young Aunty she was well chuffed!!..
@CLF..u last statement said it all really..that's the koko that happens in the UK...the good thing is Africans(all divisions included) have jealous tendencies but rarely go out to maim each other..but the US thats a whole different kettle of fish!!..

@CLF:Just accept u made a silly comment or simply shut it.U keep showin ur ignoranc wit further lines.U can be black and english...finish!

British yes English NO. Being english is like being yoruba, igbo, hausa ets so unless his parents are english then he is def not.

The white dude from kenya is kenyan by birth but he can never claim to be any of the tribes in kenya. Saying this boy is english is like saying a white/indian person born in Owerri is igbo. Nigerian they are by birth igbo hell no!

The boy is british born and bred but his ancestry/heritage lies in Nigeria. He is british but he cannot be English because he is neither white nor has white english people for parents. Finito!

Shakara said...

This guy is British and not English. We have moved away from the main story. There are so many misconceptions about these terms and the PC police is trying to change things. The pure white Englishman doesn't like associating englishness with colour so when they say someone like Oona King is English they will always add of West Indian descent. People felt it was racist to add these things so they now use the broad term British for everyone. I think for mixed race kids they can claim that englishness because of the white blood in them but someone somewhere will always highlight they are black and will call them British. It's strange how this issue isn't such a big deal with the Welsh, Scottish and Northern Irish. English superiority maybe. Just my two cents and let's chill on the abusing. It's unhealthy.

United Kingdom said...

Ethnicity
Nationality
Citizenship

Google the above 3.

• Black English. (a person from England)
• Black Welsh. (a person from Wales)
• Black Irish. (a person from Ireland)
• Black Scottish. (a person from Scottland)
= Black British.

You are English by birth, not by your given name.
You are Welsh by birth, not by your given name.
You are Irish by birth, not by your given name.
You are Scottish by birth, not by your given name.

I have a cousin who is black Nigerian but born in Scotland. He is Black, African, Nigerian, Scottish, British and European.

As a black Nigerian Brit in London, England, I am Black, African, Nigerian, English, British and European. Confused / Confusing? It's not. It's just the way it is. The alternative would be nativism, would set the clock back and would play into the hands of extremist and supremacist groups such as the British National Party (BNP). No. We don't want that.

HE SIGNED FOR LIVERPOOL NOT CHELSEA O!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In a few years, some joker in the NFA will invite him to Super Eagles camp, "afterall, his name is Ojo"

Y. Tee said...

If this dude is 14years, Then i am Santa Clause's half sista!!

@UNITED KINGDOM..give it a rest would ya!!..u not ENGLISH..unless u mixed..then can claim Half English I suppose..but all other Ethnicities are BRITISH...one or two generations in UK\US u start claiming..
Look at Jewish..Chinese..wherever they go they adapt to their new environs but still maintain their ethnicity..some wise 9jas learnt this the hard way!!
..Y'll bitched about not having a Black President..they gave u one..what really came out of it??..waging war all over the damn place..besides Blacks are the last thing on his mind!!..
Focus on the things that matter..PROGRESS\POWER..not mere tokenism..
yeah off topic..but some people!!

It is not chealsea its liverpool that signed him

chillysauce said...

Chim oh. See argument! Look, you don't even have to be born in Scotland or wherever to become Scottish. Asides that, I'm black, my parents r originally from Nigeria and I'm English.if óyibo man agrees that I'm English, I don't see who cares about your thoughts!