Shortage of medals, certificates mars national honours | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 15 November 2011

Shortage of medals, certificates mars national honours

The country’s most prestigious honours awards was marred by a shortage of medals and certificates in Abuja on Monday. The event, which held amid tight security at the International Conference Center in Abuja, saw President Goodluck Jonathan conferring various classes of national honours on 355 Nigerians.

Our correspondent reports that as a result of the shortages, many of the honourees were unable to get their medals and certificates as is the tradition. In his bid to defend the shortages, the Secretary to the Federal Government, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim, blamed it on the large number of recipients in the 2011 awards ceremony. He also promised those who could not receive their medals and certificates that they would have the materials “in the next one week. - Punch Newspapers

27 comments:

chigo said...

Sheeeeeeeeeewwwwwww!
Meanwhile Linda, you left too quickly on saturday (lifehouse) before i could grab you for photographs.
Im soooooooooo proud of you honey!
Keep up the good works....:)

WHAT A SHAME

Terry Teddy said...

Nigeria appears like a polio victim who finds movement very difficult. Is the world not passing us by?

AmEbO** said...

Datz naija 4 u..**imagine wat a whole PIUS wld say**when both of us knw wat happened 2 d remaining medals**...I didnt SAY anytin OOOO

What a pity. A confirmation of the ineptitude of the people in charge.

chichiluv said...

Naija, we hail thee!

Terry Teddy said...

The fools in the government dont know what to do with power. Are they stupid or acting stupid? Nigeria is an overgrown adult struggling to walk straight. A polio victim @ 51 trying to make a move.

Terry Teddy said...

Shame to the cheeky guys in government. President Goodluck Jonathan-led Federal Government has not shown any clear-cut policy direction, with regards to a number of issues, Nigerians must make it a duty to demand explanations and accountability from those who lead them. It is no longer a secret that the Jonathan presidency lacks colour, style, ambience, aura, charm and charisma. It also lacks the courage and experience to midwife the challenges confronting us as a nation. Can you imagine the shame?

From poor planning, shortage of medals, certificates. Our education and decrepit health facilities to decaying infrastructure and backward-looking economy, the nation is being bogged down by the burden of non-creative and phlegmatic leadership. Our schools are in shambles, security situation is remorseful, and unemployment rate has sky-rocketed, while the political space has been conscripted.

Aside from the above, the debt burden hanging on the noose of the government has also assumed a debilitating proportion, to the extent that the country was recently handed a negative rating by Fitch. According to the Fitch rating report, the country’s excess crude account has been depleted.
Public sector motivation has ebbed. The fear of the unknown grips everyone and kidnapping has become another ‘sector’ of the economy, while armed banditry has taken capital flight. All of these economic disincentives and investment repellents have taken away the shine from government business and the nation is dripping away in the fullness of time, like an awkwardly overgrown adult struggling to walk straight. And the level of profligacy in government circles worsens the entire scenario, thus making government inefectives. How are the mighty falling?

D honour has become like pure water...little wonder Honourable Chinua Achebe did not honour it.

Terry Teddy said...

It is instructive to note that the country truly needs an experienced and courageous leadership to contend with the numerous challenges enunciated above, particularly in the face of ongoing shortage of medals and misplaced priorities.

Every Nigerian desires good governance and accountable leadership. Can this happen in an organised society/advanced country? NO. If such ever happend, many heads will role. But in Nigeria, no one takes responsibility. A country of anything goes.

Myne said...

That's just an excuse for not doing their work well.

Congrats to the honorees, with or without certificates and medals, :)

Kay said...

Major embarrassment. It's simple, make more medals and certificates for the extra awardees, otherwise stick to what it used to be.

Me said...

wat else did u expect? didn't they say that Nigeria is a country of fools ruled by idiots?

Kemiismyrealname said...

Only in the jungle.

na today????

oral and visual soliloquy said...

why won't medals finish when they keep on dishing it out to every tom dick and harry?
how many people do the likes of uk and the united states give honours?

first we bastardised the armed forces by dashing out ranks to the extent that a nigerian general is not accorded due respect abroad because they believe it was not achieved fairly.

then the university degrees were so bastardised that even foreign universities will not accept our certificate for toilet paper

now its the turn of national degrees,we will soon be buying them in yaba 2 for ten kobo

the height of it,dangle the monopolist holding nigeria back being awarded a national honour hmmm

MagChuta said...

wat can we possibly do well in this our country??smh..

@ Terry Teddy, u such a good writer..Keep up the great job buddy!

"blamed it on the large number of recipients in the 2011 awards ceremony" didn't they know how many people they were honoring in the first place??? why didn't they make extra medals just in case??? abi someone can't count...or as time went on they added more people to the list??? i was surprised they didn't even call my name sef! lolol na wa o! Naija!
z

Oge (NR) said...

THEY WOULD HAVE 'FELL' MY HAND IF THEY DID NOT FALL THEIR HAND...

(doing something stupid has now become their trademark)

Artful Dodger said...

Planning or the lack of...nuff said!

This is typical Nigeria!!!!!.How can a nation run out of medals and certificates at their national honours award, its just beyond shameful, it doesnt matter how many people who are recieving the awards, the bottom line is, you bestowed these awards on these individuals, yet you could not come up ordinary certificates and medals,SHAME!!!!!. Professor Chinua Achebe, countinues to be right in rejecting your crappy award.

devour said...

but you knew before hand all d pips getin d awards ? okpo pius

i laugh in spanish!

disgraceful!

#longgggg hisssss#

sleekreek said...

Isnt dis funny??....shortage of medals and certificates to awardees,,,,What a shame???,,,,Jonathan and his crew are just people with dead brain cells.....mtchewwwwww...

Seems tuface, psquare , Dbanj and the rest musicians are not being recognised by the goverment to me nigerian musicians especially those three have are more qualified than most of the awardee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Terry Teddy, oko Linda, don't dissipate too much energy on Nigeria situation to the point that you will have no energy left to care for Linda's needs o. You are "lucky" you are abroad, what of we who have not slept with light for one week running. I beg go "love" Linda and leave Nigeria alone. When the oyibo people evict all their children and grand children from abroad, they will act. At least, kidnappers have started going in their direction.