Bola Kuforiji Olubi Accuses House Girl of N8million Theft - Drags Her To Police Sation | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 17 November 2011

Bola Kuforiji Olubi Accuses House Girl of N8million Theft - Drags Her To Police Sation

Friends and family cry foul over false accusation and detention. Another story from Encomium magazine. Read below...
One of the domestic staffers of Otunba Ayora Bola Kuforiji Olubi, (Former minister and first woman chartered accountant in Nigeria) 23yr old Foluke Adeyemi, is in police net for an alleged theft of N8million and a collection of jewelry belonging to her boss. Olubi was said to have ordered the arrest and detention of Foluke three weeks ago after accusing her of the offense. The said Folake is now at Nigeria Police Force State Criminal Investigation Department (CID), Panti, Yaba, Lagos. 
More after the jump...

According to Mrs Kuforiji-Olubi: She is the only who has access to items declared missing.". However, those who privy to happenstances at the Otunba's Apapa household insist Foluke was unjustly accused and the lady, who had been working for Otunba for over two years, has been languishing in detention for more than the stipulated 48 hours.

All spirited efforts at securing her bail was frustrated. At some point, Folake was said to have contemplated suicide. Insiders claim Foluke is innocent of the matter.

According to sources, the melodrama started when Foluke wanted to quit as Otunba's domestic servant. It was then she was accused of stealing N300, 000 at the first instance. Later the amount was raised to N350, 000 and then to N8 million.

We were told that Foluke has been tortured in detention. A series of searches was conducted on her bags and room and no money or jewelry was found.

Sources say Foluke's arrest is not an isolated case. They claimed that some of the staffer of the former bank chief have also suffered the same fate, while leaving their job in Olubi's household.
"It's the same thing she did to other house girls. Immediately they signify their intention to leave the place, she (Otunba) will fake one allegation or the other and frame them up. That girl is innocent" our source insisted.
When we contacted Otunba's lawyer, he said: "What does Otunba stand to gain from witch hunting a house girl? Money and jewelry was missing, and she agreed she was the only one that had access. It is the police that are keeping the girl. No individual has the right to challenge the police on how to conduct their investigation. The lady was accused of theft and investigation is going on. If you think she needs to be released, let her relations charge the case to court, otherwise it is the police that will charge the matter to court after finalizing their investigation.

38 comments:

CLF said...

She still has 8 million naira? LOL!

why are Nigerians so wicked ehn? this Otunba woman looks so wicked even in d picture!

Peter said...

This woman must be a witch. I think she uses the destiny of these kids for something nasty. If the country was to be healthy, she should have been charged for money laundaring. How on earth could she have 8million Naira (probably more) in her house.

University of Calabar Second Choice Post-UTME Result 2011/2012 Released said...

Did you really say 8million naira?

HOW TO DOUBLE YOUR AIRTEL RECHARGE CARD said...

That is really really unbelieveable. 8k M?

The house help has taken her own share from what was stolen from her at national level. A thief that got rob by a thief-good for her
ME

another case of the rich abusing the poor.....this is why people in nigeria will go as far as killing their mother just to be rich. so as not to be treated in this manner.

An accountant by nature and profession keeps meticulous track of their money. The house girl better fess up!

this is UTTER CRAP!!!! there's no proof that the girl in question stole the money except the words of an annoying rich lady who thinks she can tread on the poor and get away with it. May God fight for the innocent girl and may the real perpetrator of the crime (if there was any) be found.....

the white enchantress said...

if its false accusation, Mrs.Bola, i promise you will die a miserable and perish in hell.... all dis pips dat managed to make money they go about accusing someone of theft. the real wealthy pips dont have time and energy to waste on such lies.....seriously if its a false allegation Mrs.bola you wont end well.

na dem sabi!

how old is this woman now? with her numerous husbands she has aged so much..the story isnt adding up..

dem say dem say no be story!those she maltreated should come out in the open and talk joor, this is a probably innocent young girl's integrity and even life at stake here. But then as her lawyer said,what will she stand to gain by being mean to her help?!And btw wetin she dey look wey odindin 8m miss for her house,tah!
On a lighter note,with all due respect,she actually looks like an 'iya aje'

notono said...

i pray God vindicates her{folake}n d woman{otunga} put to shame 4 accusing all her househelp

God pls intervene on dis matter i pray dee

no said...

for the house girl, the case should painstakingly investigated and punished if found guilty. however, truth be told, what is the woman doing with the wooping sum of 8 million at home? tax payer i guessed. the smartg girl tried to hurriedly cut out her own "National Cake".

Loudmouthed said...

This is just wickedness... besides why would someone keep that kind of money in the house?????

devour said...

people do keep that kind of money and yes its possible that the girl stole it

at her age and level she should be avoiding unnecessary attention to her life.

Bee said...

abegi I no fit make judgement. But i know naija housegirls could be evil so cant put it past her......same thing happened to my cousin, housegirl was stealing checks and giving to her bf to organize clearing it with his gang.

think the same like Peter,the woman is wicked

Looks like people just jump on the caption and never read the article..she said 8 million worth of JEWELERY!!...anything is possible didn't a driver and houseboy just killed their madam in Abuja..some of this househelps don open eye proper!!

Molara Brown said...

NA OLD AGE THEY WORRY THE WOMAN

if the girl stole, then she should have due process. File the charges and let it play out in court.

All lot of these supposed big people, do this and simply forget about the said offender...some of these victims end up spending years in jail. they can't be processed properly or released because, some madam or sir has decided to abuse the 99%

I hope this is resolved soon.

bloglord said...

madam bola abeg make we hear word! u sef how u take get the money? nor be tiff u tiff am? pot calling kettle black...n by the way what is 8million naira doing in ur haus? abi where did she get it from? she went to withdraw it from ur account. ~fat hiss~
yeye woman!just intimidating the poor girl.

verony said...

@ anon 5:28pm::::olodo ni e ni? I bet u need glasses. Go back & read d caption & the story therein. Na from back u dey read ur own abi???

she resembu winch sha. old glory

This story get as e be. I read this same story in the punch on tuesday. The paper said that the items were stolen last year as per the court charges.
How does somebody only notice 8 million naira is missing after 1 whole year especially if the person is an accountant. Why did it take a whole year for her to notice the missing sturves. If I had 8 million, I would notice the minute it goes missing. Something does not sound right.
And why is it that it is only when the servant wanted to go that the theft was noticed.
Why should somebody be held without charge for 4 weeks. That is illegal and corrupt. The laws of this country say that a person can only be held for 48 hours before bail must be granted as long as the person has not killed.
I am more interested in the police oga of panti. It clear that something corrupt is happening there.....most likely money is changing hands. Na wa o.

The girl probably stole it. All poor people are not virtuous and all rich people are not thieves.

galore said...

Fellow CHARTERD accountants(ICAN).........we kno dey use our Money Play,,,it has to be Accounted for.......hmm........Under Finacial Reporting and Ethics............@Mama Ejooorr........,,,Ebami tuuu sile,,,,Ori Owo eeh ni,,ko ji ooo

Iyaeto said...

Hmmm!!! N8m ogaa o.Awon olowo yi sha . Thief carry am thief collect am ..Ole gbe Ole gbaa ni jare . I just pity this girl and her family but on the other hand, if she did take it then she should open up quick otherwise. Dem go forget am for that place

Former bank manager.8million in d house,story,story.nothing is in impossible in dis our nija oo

Why do you people think that all rich people stole their money? What smallmindedness.

WINCH!!!!

Franklyyours said...

I'm sure this is not the whole story, lots are still pending to be revealed. Story's not flying with me..and ever since the mama told a paparazzi guy it was inconceivable for him not to know who she was, I've had my reservations about her. But then, not all paupers are necessarily saints, and not all the financially endowed are necessarily oppressors.

orange said...

Linda, I'm surprised at the intelligence level of some of your commentators. Come on! How can an adult with a conscience support a thief and claim, she's taking her own share of the national cake. That's ridiculous! When is this country going to be rid of parochial people like that.
That woman may not be lucky in marriage, but she has contributed her quota in no small measure to the development of Nigeria as a nation. She is a straight forward, disciplined and dogged professional. Why would she accuse her paid staff of theft if the girl was clean? All these people commenting without proper insight have not tasted mischief from housemaids, that is why they keep giving spurious and annoying comment. A house girl in Lagos connived with her armed robber boyfriend to go rob her madam, of hard currency worth $10,000. This money was sent by madam's sister who lives abroad to help complete a project. The robbers gained entrance into the house through the help of the house girl and she told them that her madam was upstairs. They went upstairs, killed the woman and took the money. The housegirl did not know that madam's mum saw her frm her room downstairs when she whispered to the robbers to go upstairs. She later confessed to the police that she was a member of the gang, and that one of thier strategy is to send their female gang members as house helps into people's houses to get information and gain enterance when they are ready to strike. Please beware of house helps. They may be your death sentence.
Also, let's be careful of our retorts. Most rich people in Nigeria make their money legitimately. Everybody is not a thief or pen robber.
Most poor people in Nigeria are more crazy aout money than the so called rich. Instead of getting busy and working hard, They will do anything and I mean anything to get their claws on other people's hard earned money and turn around to blame the rich for their woes and predicament.

orange pls dont say waht you dont know, how i wish u could interview people working for this woman and hear from them she treats them like slaves they work 24n hrs with small salaries, old men that have worked for her for 30yrs with nothing to show for it, no salary increase they earn less than 15,000 a family man pls u people shud find ur facts before writing take this from me foluke didnot steal anything please human rights activists should come and take up this case lets together put this woman to shame her cup is full: WICKED WOMAN