Abuja NNPC Topshot Afshatu Abdullahi Murdered By Driver | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 16 November 2011

Abuja NNPC Topshot Afshatu Abdullahi Murdered By Driver

Photo of the lady not available because the family don't want that. But I am going to share the story so women who live alone are more careful and security conscious.

Hajia Afshatu Abdullahi was a top executive at NNPC Abuja. Her job required she lived mostly in Abuja while her immediate family lived in Auchi. She went home from time to time to spend time the family. Afshatu lived alone in a house located off Ladoke Akintola Boulevard, in Garki. The only other person who lived with her was a male house help. There were two other men around her, her driver, who didn't live with her, and a security man who lived inside her premises.

Last Sallah holiday, weekend before this last one, her family was expecting her home in Auchi. She called her husband and told him she was on her way to see them. She never showed up. All efforts to reach her on the phone proved abortive. Her husband tried to reach her at work, no one had seen her. He then set out for Abuja in search of his wife.

The search party got to Afshatu's house last week to find the house abandoned....aside from the security man, there was no else there. The security man said he hadn't seen his madam for a few days and assumed she had traveled. They broke into the home and found the place in disarray. Many expensive furniture missing, her jewelry gone, it was obvious the house had been burgled.

While searching, the husband opened the freezer in the kitchen and discovered Afshatu's body inside with lacerations on her neck and other parts of her body. They called the police.

Neighbours told police they had seen the house help driving the woman's SUV some days earlier but thought nothing of it. It was apparently an in-house robbery and murder, perpetuated by two men she trusted, her house help and her driver, who have since disappeared with her two cars, including a 2011 Toyota SUV, her cheque book, as well as cash she always kept in her home.

The security man found at her home is the only person being held for her murder at the Garki police station and he claims not to know anything about her murder. The two murderers are still at large. Investigations are still on.

If you are a woman who lives alone...mind the kind of people you allow into your home. You are vulnerable...people can take advantage.

58 comments:

omg this is just sad!! why would you want to take another persons life. may she R.I.P

the security guy is unlikely to have known. Simple detective 101 naija police, he woulda fled like the others if he was involved.

And i am also going to add, ladies especially single ladies should be very careful abt the men(toasters) they allow into their homes, infact u shouldnt even allow stranger(toasters) into ur home.

very sad, i heard they already caught one of the thieves and it wasnt the driver or househelp who perpetuated, but men who she let in to take measurement for curtain, as she was furnishing her home!

sakara said...

lawd have mercy...do you know something like this happened about 10 yrs ago in Ikoyi with one lady pilot who mas murdered by her mai guard and house boy after raping her...they made away wt all her stuff, wrapped her n a big bag and left her n d house, locked d door and made away wt all they needed, it was d stench from that house that made d neighbours call n d police before her decomposing body was found...uhn successful ladies r d target now, pls dont live alone, get a sibling to live wt u @ least a boy/girl...ts not so hard and u can train them...pls...quit living wt strangers only God knows their intentions and u r not God

May her soul rest in peace

i dont even want to believe this story is true..its too sad.The heart of man! the heart of man!

dis is just wickedness. human beings are becoming too wicked . what kind of world are we living in? so u cant be ur brother's keeper anymore??? i pray der get arrested and pay dearly for this

Amanda said...

Jeez!THIS IS BEYOND BELIEF...like what???.May her soulR.I.P.

this is so sad.

This is terrible. all for the love of money.
The warning goes to all single ladies. pls beware and trust no one

May her soul Rest in peace

May her soul rest in perfect peace. Amen.
Linda please for pete's sake it's not "family don't want.." rather "family doesn't want.."
It's called collective noun and it's singular.
You never know who is reading your blog.

They will say that their village people are witch and now trust an outsider so is the outsider now that is angel holy man, we have hear such a story some years back in VI lagos a woman pilot, may her soul rest in peace and is lesson to others who will understand

Femillionaire said...

'Live' Linda, not 'leave'

Jayjazzy said...

Its just so sad, one of her son is my good friend, i didnt sleep well when i heard the story, its a hard time for the family and i pray that God will console you guys... and linda, her family doesnt stay in auchi... two of her kids are out of the country....oh well.... such a pretty woman she was, rest ur soul ma!

Na wa oh! No kain tin person no go see and hear 4 dis Naija! Please, everyone should just be careful. It is well with us. Amen.

GeOrGiE said...

RIP! No man will commit such a crime and still stay back. Police! Let d poor and ignorant gate man alone.

Femillionaire said...

Just confirmed that they've been caught... Made to understand that the so called driver was one riffraff that used to wash cars for NNPC staff at Abuja. The woman even died a painful death as she was simply bound and thrown into the freezer alive and left to die... May these idiots be made to suffer a fate worse than hers...

bloglord said...

Trust! dat word! hmnn..
All these strangers in name of domestic help!I have never liked them! one has to be careful..that is how a househelp killed a lady banker's baby(threw the child from up to groundfloor, packaged the baby in her cot n told madam upon returning from work dat baby is sleeping; twas a neighbour that saw d inicident that came asking the lady how d baby was cos she saw that d baby fell...that was how madam knew baby had died n not supposedly sleeping...an only child after 7years of marriage)
BACK TO THE MATTER AT HAND....
how come the security is claiming he knows nothing bout the whole thing...
where was he when the driver n househelp where moving things into the car?
how did d two cars leave the compound with driver n househelp?
who opened d gate for them?
when u saw ur madam come home d previous evening, n you did not open the gate for her the next day to go out, how then did she travel without ur notice? did she vanish????
i feel the securityman isnt completely saying the truth.
Driver n househelp..u will surely meet ur waterloo
MADAM AFSHATU ABDUILLAHI...RIP

isi2cute said...

What a wicked world!! God rest her soul!!

kike said...

Oouuch. Still don't understand why some ppl can be so desperately wicked ehn....stuffed a woman in d freezer after killing her...

Its so sad that they killed her. Its very rampart in Abuja to see wives leaving alone,husbands leaving alone and they get used to it to the point that even when its convienient to have their family around they dont rather they prefer to keep living single,I just hope this serves a warning to most people who live like this especially in Abuja and can afford to have your people around to please do that instead of keeping your family away and living with strangers.

sleekreek said...

This is really sad........why would they take her life???cos of the cars,furniture,jeweleries..........may she RIP

isi2cute said...

What a wicked world!! God rest her soul!!

Kanyinulia said...

May her soul rest in peace..Amen

Wow.. People are so bloody desperate and heartless..

Maybe she wasn't a good boss to her domestic staff just saying.
For her house help and driver to hate her these much to butcher her is so extreme and wicked

I pray those bloody bastards are caught. What a gruesome way to die.

Michael Osagie Igbinovia said...

This is very pathetic, what is this life all about then? For what reason can a life be taken? For money, cars, cloths, jeweries or what? all these are vanities. This woman did not need to die at all for these to be taken from her, but God alone knows why he allowed it. May he grant the entire family the fortitude to bear the irreparable loss. This life is actually very short. Please ladies and gentlemen, always be in contact with your families

serious. very sad and tragic!

What a wicked world we live in

Nollywood Forever said...

ABSOLUTELY SHOCKING!!! Oh and in the first sentence you wrote LEAVE instead if LIVE.

Why employ a houseboy n not an house girl? Since she lives alone she doesn't need help, women of today r too lazy. I pray that her killers will not go unpunished.

Rihanna like you've never seen her b4 said...

SMH @ murdering someone just to steal...

Something similar happened to my mum. My mum was drugged and the house was looted.....whats important was she woke up and luckily not in the middle of the looting by the young man we employed.

so sad. Let us all take note, employing drivers, house helps etc should be more detailed so that they can easily be tracked. There are several organised agencies all around that offer this services and although is much expensive, i would rather pay more for my security that just employ someone by mere referral. May God console her family.

...hmmmm these days domestic workers wanna get quick wealth...May her soul rest in peace

The words security man should be inside qutation marks PLEASE. The gate openers in Naija are NOT security guards at all. They just open and close gates.
Sorry but this annoys me so much.... they dont even check who's there, theyve opened the gate or door putting lives at risk before they know who is outside. they are not armed or skilled at self defence and at any sight or smell of danger they will chop grass as in jump to the floor to save themselves first.....(maybe because they are not security guards)

What a sad sad story.

CLF said...

Domestic help = necessary evil. However, safeguards are necessary (agencies, traceability, references etc) before getting them. Perhaps, she should have had a female in the house and not a man. To the person who said why does she need help, I don’t think that’s a fair statement. She worked so hard that I’m sure at the end of the day, a domestic help is needed for sundry things around the house, going to the market etc. Extremely sad and brutish. We need to commit these people into the hands of God too.

I know of a similar story of a woman who lived alone due to the nature of her job.They killed her and wrapped her in a rug too!

I hope they find the killers, what a gruesome murder

Linda, the word should be 'perpetrated' and not 'perpetuated'. Thanks.

Someone said (Anonymous)...
(...) Linda please for pete's sake it's not "family don't want.." rather "family doesn't want.." It's called collective noun and it's singular. You never know who is reading your blog.

Linda, you're spot on; you know your English grammar. Collective nouns like "department", "school", "group", or, indeed, FAMILY, take either singular or plural! So, saying "family don't want..."is perfectly grammatical.

It a true story she is my colleague's friend, the security guard no nothing about it it was perpetrated by the driver, the houseboy and another artisan that comes around to fix things in the house, they were caught at Owerri when they were trying to withdraw money from the woman's account

Na wa for all this grammar pple o! abeg leave linda alone with ur corrections, we are not in English class nor in cambridge, let us hear word joo. we re concern with d story not ur stupid lectures. What a sad way to end
Me

D murderer has bin apprehended as at dis evening network news

Thank God the murderers were apprehended! kia na so so bad news person go dey hear everyday for naija so? i reject am oo! All this while i was thinking that when i move bck to naija next may ild be leaving on my own but after this story i have changed my mind. Its better to leave with the parentals altho sometimes they can like to frustrate u but the frustraton comes with love i guess? so i just have to stick it out with them till i marry!

Point of correction Linda Ikeji, her kids r studying abroad. Just her husband is in Auchi. She's a close friend's colleague. All d same, it's a sad one.

Wht a sad 1,I pray dat d police come up with ways 2 capture d person involved 4rm there investigatn n may her soul rest in peace

na wa ooo.ile aye yi ma lewu ooo.ehn. May God grant the woman eternal rest...and as for the murderers, eh bara yin ni'bode.

To all our grammartologists, stop paying attention to what's
Irrelevant so u don't miss out on the relevant things. Instead of u to thank Linda for doing this u are there finding faults in her grammar. I sorry fo you. Linda coodles to you my dear. Thanks for such information that keeps us alert. Keep it up. God bless u.

So she was not a good boss, so was the lady pilot that was killed ten years ago. That still is not the ground to kill and end a life. Principled people are difficult to understand but should they be eliminated, there goes another soul that could have saved Nigeria......

Mama Ara 1 said...

For any reason it is not good to live alone. And may God deliver us from those who are after all and we are ignorant of their spy

Mama Ara 1 said...

Its not always good for a someone to be staying alone for whatever reason. May God help us all

THIS IS MY VERY FIRST COMMENT ON THIS BLOG, AND IT IS DIRECTED TO THOSE IDIOTS, OVER SABI, ITK, I KNOW MORE THAN U ANIMALS, WHO CHOOSES THIS FORUM TO EXPOSE THEIR EXPOSÉ ON ENGLISH GRAMMAR. EVEN IN UR SO CALLED CORRECTIONS U R WRONG. AND FORGIVE ME, THERE'S A WORD CALLED 'TYPO', CHECK THE MEANING. IF U MUST CORRECT OTHERS, BE KIND N HUMBLE. U MUST NOT BE SARCASTIC. Be nice, n convey ur thots nicely. A show of arrogance makes u sound almost like a fool. That being said, u can go hit ur head on the wall as u taste the bitter pill u dish to others...NDI ANU MPAM!

i dont think the security man knows anything about this.may she rest in peace.But what kind of world are we living in.You want to help someone and u end up dying.God protect us.

Bamisoro said...

Sounds like something from CSI. Such a big shame and very sad. My heart is pained by this news o.

So sad a story. May she rest in peace. Amen

I happen to stay in the apartment complex where this crime happened at bade close, ubiaja crescent, off ladoke akintola boulevard...Today I saw a lease advertisement for the said apartment in question and thats how i got to know about the crime...My uncle that I stay with , then told me of the incident, hence my decision to find out the whole story..........Anyways from what I gather in house, they have apprehended the culprits and there was no security man involved cos the apartment is guarded by about 4 security personnel any other day and by a contracted company too....

lastly there absolutely no need to be sarcastic or cynical about grammatical errors on here...this is a blog site run by somebody at their own spare time and not a paid job i guess so there is room for typographical errors and stuff just like you do on BB and FB....if u care some much about lexes and structure, why dont you run your own blog site and see how easy it is

keep up the good work linda