Photo: Baby found abandoned in carton near a refuse dump in Akwa Ibom, cries to death | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 20 November 2016

Photo: Baby found abandoned in carton near a refuse dump in Akwa Ibom, cries to death

Residents were thrown into shock over the death of a baby found abandoned in biscuit carton along Ikot Ekpene Road in Uyo, Akwa Ibom state.

The baby girl, neatly dressed and abandoned near a refuse dump, supposedly cried herself to death
According to reports, the unidentified baby became pale after a long period of crying, before passing out.

One of the witnesses said the mother might have abandoned the baby because she considered it a witch or she might have been driven by poverty.

"There are lot of children being thrown away like this in recent times because the mothers think they're witches or plagued by demon spirits or maybe for lack of what feed the children." the witness said.

Mr. Okon Isaac, who was on his way to a fuel station along Ikot Ekpene Road, said he heard the cry of a baby near the refuse bin.

"I have been here since 5:47 am. I wanted to buy fuel from Total, which only sells the product when available between the hours of 4 and 6:20am. After this time, they stop selling pretending not to have the product. As I was passing, I heard the cry of the baby. I began to wonder where the baby was crying from, but when I got close to the refuse bin, just off the road, I saw a baby girl neatly dressed and dumped in a biscuit carton," said Mr Okon.

"I could not go to Total in search of fuel again. I stayed behind to observe if the mother of the baby might change her mind and come back for the baby. And before long, people started to troop in as they heard the cry of the baby. As we live in a period of child theft and selling of children for money, people were scared to touch the baby. They all stood helpless, should anyone risk lifting the baby, and the police happen to be around, the individual can be accused of child theft, or whatever." He added.

The police, who confirmed the incident said they were aware of the situation and had contacted the Ministry of Environment for necessary action.
Meanwhile, until the baby died; neither the police nor officials of the Ministry of Environment were seen at the scene.

Source: Child Right Rehabilitation Network (CRARN)

48 comments:

Lord have mercy.....hmmmmmmmm

Victor Kachi said...

People sha

Stop wasting money on data. Get free browsing cheats on all network @ Entclass.com

cried herself to death my ass! Who saw her when she was crying huh? Apc people every where.THE BABY DON DIE SINCE 1900 BEFORE THEY DUMP AM THERE. this is why freeborn keep advising boys to be fucking with condom avoid emergency babies.
Freeborn wept for baby mamas.

Sql 9ja said...

Akwa Ibom Girls, being representing since splitting from Cross River state.

Alibaba and Wire logins, PDF Silent Exploits, Email Blasting, Fresh Leads and Bank Logins visit my page
http://sql9ja.blogspot.com.ng/?view=flipcard

What a country!

Heartless human,too bad.

GOD have mercy.

**************************Geeeeeez !!!!! Cee the vry pretty baby sef***y do pipo keep doing dix ???????? God y ??????

yabsy said...

These people are crazy. So they all saw the baby alive and were helpless to puck her up and give hereven ordinary water to drink until she cried to death.

I hope they are all happy now.

Quite sad... Poor Helpless child fah, Rip Angel. #Cruel

Igbos.

Poor baby 👶 RIP

Hmm

This world is full of wicked people!

Sad

junia said...

What an excuse 2 leave a baby 2 cry 2 death, i'd rather be calld a thief than leave let d child cry 2 death. So painful

Other for your pinklips and stretch mark cream at an affordable price both for male and female, contact or whatsapp me 08183165717.....delivery nationwide.

Oh no 🙈
So sad

Meenah_wakil on Instagram

Ebunsco said...

Very very sad. May God forgive d mother.
After falling victim countless times to internet fraud, i have finally been rewarded. I can't stop viewing my credit alert. It pays faster and better MMM. http://crowdrising.net/ref/fredaidika

AND TOMORROW, IF GOD DOES NOT BLESS THE OWNER OF THIS CHILD WITH A CHILD OR PUNISH HER, THEY WILL START DISTURBING GOD!

PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI

Na wah o we live in a crazy country...RIP

"Earth Must Be

Warned" She Screamed Before Attempting Suicide - Female

Astronaut

MONDAY BUSINESS

KIT: 5 Steps for Achieving Unrivalled Success

Top 7 Secret societies that are

running the World

How sad.

Who knws wat happend to dis baby

Baby GOD ALMIGHTY loves you best may your soul rest in perfect peace

OMG,why not drop d baby in front of a motherless babies home...smh.

Get started winning from fixed sports betting this week!! message me on WhatsApp on 07052977125 for your fixed games or call me now to start winning!!! high stakers only

Wow! What a saddening situation.gone to be with the Lord. The dad n the mum that start the process of making this baby won't escape the wrath of God. Amen

All of u dat stood by & watched do baby cry 2 death are culpable in her death. None attempted to come 2 her rescue for ignorant fear of Police arrest .Backward people.

uniquechic said...

Oh my God!!! Ppl r wicked and hell is waiting for ds sort!!!
D mother should have rather resorted to begging so that this child can live instead of throwing away..a child dat many will die for.!I weep!!!!
Ds ppl dat gathered are unserious since they were many someone should have stood up to get warm milk for d baby no one will be accessed since there is crowd now...out of fear for this society sometimes we allow death to happen.
Even victims of accidents are left to die cos of fear...no one wants to help.
It's d kind of society we live in. D man dat discovered ds bab should have called emergency number

All of u dat stood by & watched d baby cry 2 death are culpable in her death. None attempted to come 2 her rescue for ignorant fear of Police arrest .Backward people.

Its so sad in this kind of world or country we live in,how can people just look on while a baby cried itself to death,what happens to taking the child to the hospital and report the case after why would people just stand by and do nothing till the child died,its jus sad so sad.May God help us all!

Hey guys I am Leonard i do zarfund which linda posted not long ago. Just in case u re interested in joining the zarfund team, u can contact mi tru this number 08131949648 for watsapp and any questions concerning zarfund. This will work best if u re any where near Edo state,benin or Rivers state, port harcourt to be precise. Thnk u guys i will be waiting for ur reply.serious minded people only.

Omg! And am here crying for this all this yrs, too bad, may her soul rip.

IF YOU ARE AN MMM PARTICIPANT, HERE IS A BETTER ALTERNATIVE FOR YOU. REGISTER AND ENJOY BETWEEN 30% TO 50% RETURN IN 30 DAYS.

See what our society is turning to,no one now can answer to a cry for help!Reason child theft,such a sad way to die,the position made her died.

Hmmmm....wat God will judge! Hmmm gals be careful oooooo

Eeeeeeeeeyah! Linda take note!

Kai, such a fine child

Foolish pple cannot rescue cos of fear or what?... dee

So they watched her die due to fear. It was the cold, odd position n thiat that killed her. U r all accomplice to murder.

Pls next time, drop her in front of my gate. I want another baby girl to give my daughter a sister. I don't want to get pregnant again after three children.

JOELLY MENSTRUAL CUPS said...

It d my heart that the rresponse team/ministry of environment people did not respond in time enough. Linda your blog is a powerful tool you can use to stir those people up and such a thing won't happen again, that child arrived at a country of heartless people and cried herself to death. Nigeria failed that poor child of a wicked wicked killer mum.

Why did they not carry the baby to the police station? 2 or 3 persons can go ogether. HABA.

HolySaint said...

Those who saw the baby should have taken her to the Police station. No one not even the Police will accuse you of doing that. At least to save the baby’s life. That was a very stupid excuse to look at the baby until she cried to death. The price of ignorant....