Actor, Richard Mofe Damijo writes an open letter to 'the boy child' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 26 November 2016

Actor, Richard Mofe Damijo writes an open letter to 'the boy child'

The veteran actor took to Instagram to write an open letter to the boy child.

In the letter, he addressed the effects of social media on the male gender, how to address a lady and the importance of respect and fear of God.  Read the beautiful piece below...

Dear Son, I'm writing to you today because there is no day "internationally" set aside for the "boy child", so, tired of looking on in horror as you constantly shock and embarrass me, this is from daddy to you.
I'm shocked at how many of you carry yourselves here on social media. I am shocked at the things you L O L at. I am worried at the way you speak
to and about women. I am frightened at the kinds of things that inspire and motivate you.
I am concerned that the women who get your attention are not the virtuous, brilliant types but the frivolous party, skimpily clad ones.
I am disappointed to see that the pictures you fall over yourselves double tapping are not the inspirational quotes or of clean, beautiful modest women but of women with their breasts, thighs and bottoms spilling over.
I cringe at how many of you blatantly use swear and curse words at women like it makes you cool.
I am distraught to see that many of you insinuate that a man who loves and stays with one woman is a wimp, that a man who publicly displays and speaks about his love for his woman is a "jew man", that a man who is more interested in deeply spiritual and intellectual pursuits should be shamed...
I am worried son, deeply worried.
My dear son, being uncouth, indecent, unintelligent is NOT cool and contrary to what you think, the man who stays on social media looking for naked ladies to validate, smart people to shame, brilliant people to tear down, celebrities to attack are NOT men but little boys battling low self esteem issues.
A real man loves God and is not ashamed to show it. He loves and respects women. He does not ask for nudes and if any misguided woman sends him her nudes respectfully deletes it and not use it as a blackmailing tool. A real man reads, yes, he reads a lot. He picks his mentors wisely, thinks before he speaks and reads his comments over and over before he hits send.
Dear son, do not let the "anonymity" of social media make you a fool rather use it to shine and be kind, reasonable and sensible at all times because that is the man I desire to see you be.
Love,
Daddy

38 comments:

GOOD TO SEE

PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI

Mabel said...

Wow!!!

Well said sir

This is really a nice write up RMD

Kiki said...

Great. I have a 17 year old and I can relate with what RMD just penned down. God help us parents.

Nice one! Linda take note!

Nice writeup sir

God bless u daddy RMD. I hope that these guys will borrow sense after reading this piece.
Follow me on LIS,@cherylglory

Long Live LIB

The real truth

Eziokwu

AIRBAG100 said...

Wow. what money can not buy

True

Thank you sir! The boys take note

Buttercup said...

RMD, please continue to tell them. Don't say it only once. Say it many times. You can create your own diary online and say it repeatedly. The men folk are in trouble. Imagine one telling me I don't have the right to choose my man. Only men have the right to choose a woman. So when any man asks a single woman out, it is her duty to say yes. Biko, keep telling them. Thank you sir.

Good for dem!

Gracie said...

Wise talk

Hmmmmm! Well said Sir

Soo cool

This is of the best messages I have seen a long while. Our young men and women now glorify the obscene. Pls tell them,tell us all. One love

Eyiuche said...

Very virtuous and intelligent write up. May God open the ears and hearts of many to listen and change their ways. Believe it or not, love it or not; heaven and hell are real. Everyone should make a conscious effort to amend their ways and stick to things that spiritually enrich the soul. Don't be deceived by the level of evil in world. People are aligning towards the supreme God. Don't be left out. SO PROUD OF THIS WRITE UP RMD. This is the first time I have truly admired you.

Pure Nonsense

FRESH said...

Hope he won't tell the boy how to start life by being a gigolo & living off women? Side yes at him.

gd 4 him

Bless you Mr Damijo. No wonder am still hopelessly in love with you.
His family are truly lucky to have you in their life.
Good wine they say taste betterror with age ,now am a believer !
I hope we digest this and live by it.

http://superjobs.xyz/?ref=26016 @shadduy ig

Well done man, keep it up

Pearl said...

Beautiful piece😊

Alexander Guru4rmzion said...

Well said .... a real man loves GOD... a real man attracts virtuous women...

Look at Father Theresa ,without different opinion there's no BRAINSTORMING ,and at your age you should know fingers are not equal, if you don't want to see or read garbage don.t subscribe to it. Freedom of speech and Freedom of expression is actually what make the world a unique and cool place . If you try to suppress the power of expression ,What you will have is closet-devils. Freedom of expression allow us to know every dimension of human thinking. I believe people call you an actor ,if that's correct ,then my friend your views should be more tolerant and liberal. Because by being tolerant a stage was giving to you to show your ARTISTIC-VIEW.

Then u must be a big fool to even think this is nonsense. But I'm not surprised, your name explains why.

Ur comment already shows d side of the fence u belong to. Y not help Urself

Abeg carry your bitter soul and get hit by a truck. Useless fool. It's been a while I ranted at someone but some of y'all with your stupidity makes one loose his cool. Compound fool.

Awesome RMD .

Very nice, pls write more. And let us have ur Twitter handle

GOD BLESS AND KEEP RMD... PRAY THIS MESSAGE GETS TO THE TARGET AUDIENCE.

OMG! This just sent shivers down my spine. Every word was worth the read, please keep writing more of this until the very last boy reads it till it sinks! looks like they have all lost track and swayed with the illusions that social media brings. Real men respect women, real men value morals, real men are attracted to decency. Teach them please! let them know.. coming from a respectable person like you i think it would go a long way to affect these young men.

Biko escuse me....
Beht uncle did not write this letter na!

I read this letter from another source some days ago.

He should have put #culled or #copied before posting it.
Why would uncle take the glory for someone else's words na.
ko da ooooooooooooooooooooooo