Failed Coup: Turkish government detains 50 Nigerian Students in Istanbul | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 2 October 2016

Failed Coup: Turkish government detains 50 Nigerian Students in Istanbul

More than 50 Nigerians studying in Turkey have been reportedly arrested by the Turkish police over their alleged involvement in the failed military coup which took place in the country on July 15th.

According to Thisday, the detained Nigerians are mainly students of Fathi University, one of the private universities in Turkey.

A close relative of one of the students said
“Upon arrival at Ataturk International Airport in Istanbul, they were all escorted to a room and their passport confiscated by Turkish police. When they enquired why they were clamped in a dirty room, the police said they are students of a terrorist organisation. They offered to transfer them to government schools but on the condition that we will pay same fees as private universities,”.
The Fathi University is among the 2099 schools, dormitories and universities shut down in the wake of the July 15th failed coup in Turkey. The Turkish authorities said the schools and universities were terrorist schools because they have links with Islamic scholar Fethullah Gulen, whom the Turkish government had accused of being the mastermind of the failed coup attempt. It would also be recalled that the Turkish Ambassador in Nigeria Hakan Cakil, had requested the Federal government to close down 17 Turkish schools in Nigeria for alleged links to the Hizmet movement, a request which was turned down.

20 comments:

NAWA O

Some have been sent back home

Son of mercy!

Why must it b Nigerians evrytime

Dis oyibo pipol no well o

Na waoo

Hmmmmmmmm

But why?

SPOTLIGHT said...

If they are innocent, they will soon be released,but if found guilty then they should face the wrath of law

As simple as that

Nigerian disgracing and embarrassing me like MTN (Everywhere you go). Meanwhile,See what these 2 celebs were caught doing off camera . Watch this

They should release the students asap, what rubbish!!!

@Livingstone, it is Nigerians because they are the ones going to all of these countries. When you are black stick to democratic nations that have laws that protect you. Nigerians going all sort of places without doing proper research. I highly doubt any of the students participated in the coup, but when you are a black face in some places you are the first to be singled out for any and all crimes.

Hmmmmmmmmm

Did you read the news at all? With that rubbish link you are posting here that no1 bothers to open, you are the worst disgrace not only to nigerians but to humankind. Idiot.

If they were really students -- They should never or ever choose Asia or parts of middle east for schools .. They have no dignity for humanity and only worships white people ... If you are a parent/guardian and you reading this -- I urge you not to enroll your families into any of these regions >> If you can't fund them to any Western Schools just stick them to a more dominant school in Nigeria .. DONT RISK SENDING YOUR CHILDREN FOR EDUCATION AT THESE REGIONS .. OUR GOVERNMENT AND MEDIA should put this on and remind the parents ...

Please read the story over again .it is about the owner of the private university

What's all these, Nigerians.

coingiveaway.com/?r=232241 make 0.25 Bitcoin for free

why

Wetin concern agbero with overload kwanu??? Linda take note!

Did you even read what she wrote?

Linda, you need to work on your Ads. I'm sure you know that in any system, adverts should have little effect on customer experience. This your Davido advert pops up too often even without request. Its really annoying......