Police/DSS Operatives manhandle Governor Wike in failed attempt to abduct a Federal High Court Judge | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 8 October 2016

Police/DSS Operatives manhandle Governor Wike in failed attempt to abduct a Federal High Court Judge

Governor Wike alleges plot to declare state of emergency in Rivers State. According to a statement signed by Special Assistant to the Rivers State Governor, Electronic Media, Simeon Nwakaudu, the illegal siege on Rivers State by Federal eecurity agencies continued unabated during the early hours of Saturday as hundreds of Department of State Services (DSS) operatives and policemen attempted to illegally abduct a Federal High Court judge residing at Number 35 Forces Avenue in Port Harcourt.

The illegal failed abduction was led by Mr Tosin Ajayi, Rivers State Director of the Department of State Services (DSS) and Rivers State Police Commissioner, Mr Francis Odesanya.

The operatives of DSS reportedly rough-handled Governor Wike, pushing him around and injuring his hand. A few of the operatives cocked their rifles and threatened to shoot the Governor.
They were irked by Governor Wike's arrival at the scene shortly after the failed abduction process began. It was learnt that Governor Wike received security information on the illegal moves, minutes after the operation started.
The security operatives blocked the entrance of the residence of the Federal High Court judge at about 1am on saturday morning, claiming that they were acting on orders from above. As they dragged Governor Wike, they insisted that they must be allowed to leave with the judge.
However, the commotion attracted passers by and journalists who thronged the vicinity to know why hundreds of security agents in several Patrol vans had been mobilised.

Upon the arrival of the national media, the Rivers State Director of the DSS, Mr Tosin Ajayi jumped into his vehicle and fled the scene.

However, addressing journalists, Rivers State Police Commissioner, Francis Odesanya said the two security agencies were at the scene because they received privileged information.
Odesanya claimed he was at the scene as a peace maker. He declined comments on why the Police joined the DSS to abduct a serving Federal High Court judge.

In an interview with journalists at the scene of the failed illegal abduction of a Federal High Court judge by the Police and DSS, Governor Wike said it will not be under his watch that security agencies wiĺl be allowed to entrench needless impunity.
He declared that their reckless action portends danger to the nation's democracy, noting that he is convinced that President Buhari is not aware of the level of impunity being perpetrated by Federal Securiy agencies.
Governor Wike stated that whatever the situation, the rule of law must prevail in a democratic setting.

He said if the security agencies had a lawful directive to implement, they must follow due process .
According to him:
"Not under my watch wiĺl I allow this kind of impunity to take place. That is why we are here. I don't know which judge they were detailed to abduct. I didn't bother myself to know which judge. All I am interested in is that, at this level, it is not allowed.
"He is not a criminal and he is not an armed robber. If the person has committed an offence, invite him. It is only when he refuses to honour the invitation that you can adopt this commando style.
"The Commissioner of Police is here, the Director of DSS is here. Their operatives cocked their guns and threatened to shoot me. I have never seen that before. Again , this is to tell you what we are facing . We know that more will come. For us in this state, we shall continue to resist it."
Governor Wike added:
"It doesn't matter what it will cost. When you talk about liberty, sacrifices must be made. We are not trying to stop an arrest. All we are saying is that things must be done decently and in line with the rule of law.
"Rivers State is under siege. For you to see a governor out at this time of the day, something is wrong. A siege is an understatement. If this type of thing happens next time, the people wiĺl resist it to the last".
The governor stressed:
"They are trying to do something funny in this state, probably to declare a state of emergency.

71 comments:

I hardly feel sorry when I see these so called big men being rough handled by an institution of their creation. If it were a normal citizen like me now, not even the Governors gateman will bother to stop, talk more of the Governor himself
Good for them all

Terrorist buhari what did wike u huh?
WHAT KIND OF WICKEDNESS IS THIS HUH?
WHY WILL THEY try TO ABDUCT THE CHIEF JUDGE HUH?
i am happy that wike is an intelligent man.
TERRORIST BUHARI UR SCAM GOVERNMENT IS DEAD FOREVER BETTER LEAVE NIGER DELTA ALONE OOOO
Nigeria is dead forever.

Apc is at it again

Haba nau has it gotten to this

Now this is something to worry about. Nigeria needs to break up. This whole thing is annoying. When Mafians Run The Nation

APC Clueless parry

OJ said...

What???. God protect us the residents of Port Harcourt. The armored vehicle is not enough even drown. Now it's police and dss. Please make una remember the masses.

APPLE. said...

What do Y'all expect from APC??? This is what you get when you allow an uneducated mallam rule you. SMH. haven't Y' all noticed that any state APC lose election they make ungovernable? APC is only good at causing mayhem.

2019 please come
So that APC will go

Petterson said...

APC IS TURNING NIGERIA INTO A ZOO

Gov Wike, we are student of history and have not forgotten so soon. Remember, what goes around comes around. Don't forget you did same to former Gov Amaechi.

Wike is the same person who used police, army and militants to win the governorship election for Rivers state now he is talking about rule of law.

Bloody hypocrite like his brother Fayose. They would both reap from the violence they sowed.

Jesus pls we need u in Nigeria mbok

Quite sad, why would anyone do that to my Wike? APC at work obviously... #Shame

baba said...

Shut up
God take over

Na wa o....

Long Live LIB

Thunder fire you. Buhari

Karma can ba a b**ch....remember the ameachi days as governor? I can see a lot of people here suffer from short memory! #hypocrites

Dat na una wahala... dee

APC WHATS UP?

Hian! Na wa oooo

Post my comment

It's still all about the last governorship election
Let them publish the dirts they have on them

Livingstone C. is an airhead, he says little because he doesn't know what to say, if he says a little more, he veers off course, educated illitrate working very hard for Linda's hand out

nawao

Can you imagine Gov.Wike now cries out for the rule of Law. Nigerian politicians are such hypocrites, they remember rule of law only when it suits them

AGB said...

Mehn....power is sweet o. When you don't have power, you're as good as finished.

There's something dey are not telling us. Linda take note!

Seriously though, how desperate are these APC memebers??

Even PDP nvr acted wif ds kinda impunity...wah goes around comes around, if a judge get ds kinda treatment, wah hope z dia 4 d common man???
I Weep with Freeborn

Incredible India

U r a stupid fool.

When I see comment like yours it just shows the reason we are were we are........Even if Wike did alot ally of bad in the past or in the present does that mean as a nation we should remain in one place by repeating the same thing all over again......Me and alot spot of people are disappointed in people like you and this present government becos we expect better.......as a nation we need to grow.....Nomatter what the Judge did is it proper to abduct him at night like a thief......Does that make us a better country......Please give yourself sense...Thank you....

It's disgusting that government security agencies and operatives have continued to flout the law and behave without civility under this administration.This commando-style of DSS and its officials has kind of become the 'new normal'in law enforcement. If those who make or enforce the law, now break it with impunity,then what they're showing the rest of us is how not to be law-abiding.There's no two ways about that.The most effective leadership is by example,anything less won't work.A single action carry more effect than a million words.Our leaders should stop this "do as I say,not as I do"attitude of theirs,that's why we're not getting better.What in our statute book backs such a night raid on whoever they had gone to abduct,when the person is no common criminal?I hope we're not about to witness a replay of Nazi regime in our Nigeria.

Evelynking said...

Thanks so much for reminding Wike of his atrocities under GEJ with the help of Dame Patience. What goes around really do come around.

You are just à sick folk.

sucre said...

He deserves everything that happened to him that's to say the least. I would have appreciated if one of his ears was partially cut so just maybe he will be aware of the true function of the ear and hear the cries of teachers in the state that have not been paid for over five months.
If it is to fake kiss his wife everywhere, he knows how do that or is it to fix already good roads just to make some extra cash hr knows.
Bt to pay teachers, hr doesn't
I know some people will start saying am APC etc. Just to make it clear I am not
Neither APC or PDP or ABC NBC etc etc
I am just a concerned citizen being affected and airing opinions on the fact that he got way less than he deserves.

God help us in this country.

CHINYERE OKO.

Yusuf Kazeem can you be quiet.....

Thunder has to fire your generation for this post. This is democracy,NOT Wike or Amaechi nor Fayose!

We Clearly Remember The same Treatment Meted out to Predecessor Amaechi ......By Police Commissioner Mbu ..he Really Insulted Amechi sha ..Lol......and blocked Government house gate asking him to take the back entrance ..And so many other insults..lol ..what is the judge charged with sef??

Both Gov. U mentioned got full support and vote of their people..massive..blessisngs...Fayose won in ALL lg..an he wasn't even a sitting Gov. Shame? Why does a mugun with zoo mentality like u think every state must belong to APC by force?

Wike will definitely win the war...#APC#Amaechi and #Buhari is a scam!

Very true Kazeem, he just g served in his own dose of action. They are quick to forget that he once humilated a serving and sitting governor. As much as I condemn dis act in totality Wike should just know how it feels,just like how Asiwaju Tinubu is knowing how it feels like to betrayed and sidetracked

Stop spreading false story, Linda. There were 3 arrest warrants. 2 judges, one in Abuja, the other in Gombe were duly arrested. Wike should have been arrested for obstructing the course of justice. Stop condoning corruption in Nigeria.

The Governor himself is a trouble maker, when people were been kidnapped in Rivers state he couldn't go there to rescued them. But when one of his loyalist that he always used to manipulate judgement in his own favour was to be arrested for their wrong doings, he was there to protect him.

God bless you Yusuf

Idiot,why talking from the anonymous if u think u r smart,i know ur trying to minimise the heavy flow of ur dirty mouth odour,morons would always be a morons,fooooool.

Nawa o, we are back to military era, may God protect us all.

Wot goes around comes around

Nigeria is gradually going back to military regime... Buhari WHY?

anon said...

Aboki, abi Aboki apologist, abegi sharrapp that your mouth there before thunder go fire you. Anu mpama!

You're utterly stupid, sinfully and extremely hypocritical! Your bias is unparalleled and grossly putrid and grotesque!

walts05 said...

birds eat insects when alive and when they die, insects eat birds

I pity a lot of us Nigerians, some of us the grown ups reason like day old children, you allow party sentiments be cloud your judgement. I saw some photos of what these so called security agents did in the houses of these judges, it's so unfortunate we have security operatives with no procedural training at all. For crying out loud these security agents are not above the law, due process must be followed, this seriously mock the change begins with me nonsense.

Dont mind him. Karma is real. Wike enjoy !

My heart bleeds for Nigeria. Though I'm in diaspora, but I follow the news everyday because I love my country. May God wipe away all these calibers holding Nigeria at ransom. This has been going on for ages and they know themselves. Gov Wike! You are indeed a brave man and man of the people. I pity Enugu state the Governor needs to pass a bill for the Fulani's raring cows. Enough is Enough. I see the youths revolting one day. Buhari have it at the center of your mind that south east are Israelites and the more you try, the more they succeed and trying to turn Nigeria into an Islam country has failed. May God deliver his children in Jesus name.

FRESH said...

If not for meddlesomeness & executive rescaling,what is he doing at a scene of DSS & Police arrest? Can this rubbish happen in America or anywhere in the world? They would have handcuffed him straight for interfering with the law.If they had shot him,nothing! I repeat,nothing will happen. Nonsense!

This world is a circle way goes around comes bc around.I remember when same harassment was given to amaechi in which wike worn the election. Life na turn by turn

This man that has refused to pay his students on scholarship while he inflates money for road and other contracts. Tomorrow he will come to say he wants to occupy a higher office. Lets see that will happen! The protest will start from UK to Nigeria we can assure you that.

How can a man who was once a minister of education be so insensitive to the plights of students that are under him? How can you neglect students in a foreign land? Imagine him being in a higher office, how bad that might be.

Apart from that he should be respected as a governor of the state.

APC has turned this great nation to animal kingdom. This is condemnable and worrisome.

Try and shoot him and see something happen, I promise u that

What is the governor's businessin this?

Word!
Word Word!!

People based their comments without knowing the reason behind this, for rivers state DSS director and rivers CP to be fully on ground believe me there is more to it. It is lawful for DSS or police to investigate anybody no matter highly placed. Also it is lawful to carryout search on anybody's property provided a search warrant is issued. However, why did the judge resist searching of his property if truly he's clean or does being a judge makes u above the law. For wike I'm sorry for him you can't be obstructing law enforcement agents from carrying out their duty.

FRESH said...

What do you think procedural training is for law enforcement? When a Warrant of arrest is issued for an individual or individuals,if they fail to quietly comply by opening up their apartments to law enforcement, the law permits forceful entry.American FBI taught me this.Do not say what you do not know.

Oga wike thank God say u stand gidigba, dem dem don fell

U are a born fool to say that