Why we raided homes of some judges in Abuja, Port Harcourt, others – SSS | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 8 October 2016

Why we raided homes of some judges in Abuja, Port Harcourt, others – SSS

The Department of State Services DSS has given reasons for raiding the homes of some of the judges across the country over allegations of corruption leveled against them. An agent of the security agent, Garba Abdullahi, gave reasons at a press conference this afternoon. Read a copy of his press statement after the cut...

Good afternoon gentlemen of the Press.
The Department of State Services (DSS) in the past few days, has embarked on series of special sting operations involving some Judges of the Supreme, Appeal and High Courts. These operations were based on allegations of corruptions and other acts of professional misconduct by a few of the suspected Judges. The Service action is in line with its core mandate, as we have been monitoring the expensive and luxurious lifestyle of some of the Judges as well as complaints from the concerned public over judgment obtained fraudulently and on the basis amounts of money paid.
The judges involved were invited, upon which due diligence was exhibited and their premises searched. The searches have uncovered huge raw cash of various denominations, local and foreign currencies, with real estate worth several millions of Naira and documents affirming unholy acts by these Judges. Meanwhile, some of them have made useful statements while a few have declined even with the glaring evidences that were found against them in terms of material cash, documents and property recovered pointing to their compromise.
In one of the States where the Service operations were conducted, credible intelligence revealed that the Judge had Two Million United States Dollars ($2,000,000 USD) stashed in his house. When he was approached for due search to be conducted, he in concert with the State Governor, mobilized thugs against the Service team. The team restrained itself in the face of unbridled provocative activities by those brought in by the Governor. Unfortunately, the Judge and Governor also engaged the tacit support of a sister security agency.
The Service surveillance team noticed that upon frustrating the operation, the Judge with the active support of the Governor craftily moved the money to an unknown location which the Service is currently making effort to unravel.
Meanwhile, large amount including foreign/local currencies have been recovered. Summaries of these include:
SUMMARY OF RECOVERED MONEY
1. NAIRA – N93,558,000.00
2. DOLLARS – $530,087
3. POUNDS – £25,970
4. EURO – €5,680
Other foreign currencies were also recovered. This were recovered from just three (3) of the judges. These in addition to other banking documents, including real estate documents have been recovered. Meanwhile preparations are ongoing to arraign them in a competent court of jurisdiction in line with the laws of the nation. The Service would want to clearly state that it has never invited Justice Walter NKANU ONNOGHEN for investigation, neither is he being investigated by this Service. In addition the Service would like to put it on record, that it has tremendous respect for the Judiciary and would not do anything to undermine it or its activities. The Service will also join hands with this noble institution in its fight to rid it of few corrupt Judges whose actions is undermining not only the Judiciary but the common bond of our national life.
Ladies and gentlemen, this current operation will be sustained and followed till sanity and sanctity is restored to the esteemed third arm of government and public confidence is regained. Members of the public are also encouraged to avail the Service of any information which could assist in this drive to rid our nation of corrupt practices and tendencies.
THANK YOU.
Abdullahi GARBA,
Department of State Services,
Abuja.
8th October, 2016.

51 comments:

Una no get Wetin to do

Which corruption huh? Shameless government.
WHO AMONG U IN APC THAT IS NOT CORRUPT INCLUDE TERRORIST BUHARI HUH?
so no rule of law again in Nigeria for a sss to raid the home of a judge an destroye his property in the name of corruption allegation.
WHO ELSE IS RESPONSIBLE OF THIS RUBBISH IF NOT TERRORIST BUHARI AND MALLAM AMECH.
the world is seeing how terrorist buhari is destroying Nigeria.
Freeborn wept!

Which corruption huh? Shameless government.
WHO AMONG U IN APC THAT IS NOT CORRUPT INCLUDE TERRORIST BUHARI HUH?
so no rule of law again in Nigeria for a sss to raid the home of a judge an destroye his property in the name of corruption allegation.
WHO ELSE IS RESPONSIBLE for THIS RUBBISH IF NOT TERRORIST BUHARI AND MALLAM AMECH.
the world is seeing how terrorist buhari is destroying Nigeria.
Freeborn wept!

Akùkò na egwu Mike Ejeagha......

OBI LoVe said...

U people are stupid.... when will u guys investigate the president and family or do u think we re not aware of there looting???

Corrupt judges

The DSS is a bunch of thugs. Are we not in a democracy? Is there no more rule of law in Nigeria? There are procedures for entering people's homes. You can't just barge in like a bunch of animals that you are. Where is the search warrant? I blame all this thuggery on Buhari and APC and until they are kicked out Nigerians will know no peace

Why only Rivers State? And where is the search warrant? Without it whatever evidence is not admissible in court.

Na way ohhhh ! DSS Ke? This is not acceptable. See how Buhari is leading this country to doom. Thank God I never voted for this man. First Clueless president recorded in history.

No matter the crime of any individual they do have right

this is a welcome development i must say

Miss Boss said...

Talking trash.....

I believe them. Pls they should all be arrested asap!

Long Live LIB

Hmmmmm...I don't wanna put mouth for this ooo lie lie...whatever person sow,make him leap

Okay ooh

Word!!
Hang me a corrupt Judge.

chikaezez.blogspot.com said...

Story for d gods, raid ECOWAS judges, all dis for dasuki ruling at Ecowas court...

Oh shut up...machineries of a Tyrant.. hope u knw Buhari wunt remain in power for long.. by the way it is not the job of the Dss..dat is why we have the NJC..who is saddled with the responsibility of dealing with such cases.. power will soon change hands and you will drink from this very cup from which you pour out such reckless abuse of the rule of law.

Idiots, is that how to arrest someone, judges who aren't even charged guilty of the allegations were arrested in the wee hours like common criminals, who in his reasonable senses does that? #Tyrants

One day buhari will live office and all you dss will answer for your evil deeds

SmartphonesSupportBiz said...

100k Job For Graduate Engineers!!!

Don't be dissapointed if you just jumped on this post due to the caption. You see, that's what your over dependence on certificates instead of skills can do. A well packaged Samsung or Lebanese, Nigerian or other nationals or company cellphones support office would send out adverts like this caption, and young people would rush in applications in millions. But some, in fact many in that group have the capacity to learn and set up a similar outlet, making multiples of that same amount they expect to be paid! Why?

1. There, the company would give him an identity tag for his role that may not be tagged "phone repairer". So he feels 'cool' working there even for 50k.
2. He conditions his expectations to a guaranteed price tag at the end of the month.
3. I don't just know ...really

But you can make your own money!
Train hard, work simple and smart!
Become a smart Cellphone Technical support guru
Skill is the capital you need!
A book resource is yours to consult continuously; A seminar or workshop is time limited.
Get this best trending book on Mobile phones and Tablets Repairs including how to get started. See reviews by readers in the image.
Available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, eBay etc
Or Get Started

Issorite! Linda take note!

It's well

lies!! So every individual in dis country is corrupt xcept APC members? DSS make una dey Fear God small nah!

Tell me that person wey no corrupt for dis country .... High service everywhere... Keep deceiving ursef not me....

Hmmmmmmmm ok oooo

Post my comment

I wonder if dere will be any election by 2019,cus democracy is dead in Nigeria God Pls do smthng.

excuses...

Akuko!

Guess when the NJC will act against its corrupt members .... Never! What baffles me is how Nigerians are always so quick to defend those who contribute to the underdevelopment of their country yet they open their foul mouths to complain about the state of the country. Bad people truly deserve bad leadership. You better reconcile with your conscience and save your sentimemts for those who suffer the consequences of this massive corruption the most.

Buhari and the few honest people around him cannot do it alone of you people won't stand up for justice. Keep supporting them and you will never quit complaining and you will leave your children the same legacy.

Guess when the NJC will act against its corrupt members .... Never! What baffles me is how Nigerians are always so quick to defend those who contribute to the underdevelopment of their country yet they open their foul mouths to complain about the state of the country. Bad people truly deserve bad leadership. You better reconcile with your conscience and save your sentimemts for those who suffer the consequences of this massive corruption the most.

Buhari and the few honest people around him cannot do it alone of you people won't stand up for justice. Keep supporting them and you will never quit complaining and you will leave your children the same legacy.

Loyalty & Loyalty said...

Hmm!!! One day!

So the judges are pdp? Or what are you saying?

So when did DSS become a corruption agency?

They need to be arrested but not in this manner. I lost hope in the judiciary after Abia state election tribunal between Otti and the present governor

FUck yall corrupt MFs

nwachukwu ikejiofor said...

buhari is a tyrant so am not even a bit surprised by this actions, they should know that power is not forever or wait i think he is trying to a dictator, what a govt#APC#buhari#dss#

Dss do u pple actual count d money and ensure there was no mistake in d figure

Ekpenyong Bassey said...

Statement released and signed by Abdullahi GARBA...

From the same end as Buhari; the bigot with which God cursed Nigeria. And ALL the arrested judges are from the South. What else is there to see ?

me said...

This is ridiculous! Bihari and this government are shameless. But abt 270million in total for 3 judges is really not a lot of money for them. Ordinary chief of army staff that doesn't earn half as much as they do bought 2 houses in Dubai worth more than the combined worth of 3 judges. So what are we saying here. Bihari has destroyed democracy and the judiciary, period!!

May the Almighty God bless our DSS for once. Our current crops of judges are nothing more than robbers and extortionists. The Supreme Court has become a Supreme Curse to this country. The so called Temple of Justice is nothing better than a Temple of injustice. The Nigerian Bar Association may shout itself hoarse on the issue of the raids on these corrupt judges, the Nigerian people will not listen to them for they are hand in glove with these judges. Are our judges homes now Bureau de Change offices.By the time Buhari's time is done official corruption will be a thing of the past in this country. Amen.

Well said anonymous 9:33

No Sir. I don't think he'll ever want to leave office. Tyrants never give up power.

Very funny,this man is a competent fool.

Tell that to your children. Whst happens to Buratai who owns a real estate in Dubai worth more than all you got from the three Judges. Our God is not asleep...note that.

Waiting for the day ur father w get arrested for no reason under dis regm... den u will knw what's up.

All na wash wash, if dey were North now nothing will happen

Some governors that did not win elections are governors today because of these corrupt judges. Also, some politicians that looted Nigeria dry are walking freely on the streets today because of these corrput judges and some idiots are supporting the judges. This is why Nigeria can never move forward. Nigeria stinks. Tufiakwa!

"complaints from the concerned public over judgment obtained fraudulently and on the basis amounts of money paid" which complaints?