A homeless man became a tech worker at Zenefits for 45 days | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 2 January 2016

A homeless man became a tech worker at Zenefits for 45 days

Paul Krantz moved to San Francisco five years ago with dreams of living in a city of artists and writing the great American novel.
He attended the University of San Francisco, and barely survived on odd-jobs, he wrote in an essay for The Bold Italic.
"When I arrived in San Francisco, it seemed that the majority of twentysomethings I met were in the same boat," he wrote. "However, today it seems that starving young artists and writers like myself are a dying breed."
He moved four times in five years, hanging on by sharing rooms with others.
 But in that same time, things shifted in the city of San Francisco.
Salesforce, Twitter, and dozens of other companies grew up, bringing tens of thousands of new tech workers into the city.
A small startup scene ballooned. Workers for the giant tech companies south of the city started to move to San Francisco and commute, often in luxury buses provided by their employers.

And the already expensive real-estate market in San Francisco became so unaffordable that Krantz found himself homeless, sleeping on the beach.
Until he landed a contract job at the San Francisco startup Zenefits. He was hired as a copy editor to answer questions related to human resources. For the first time, he could genuinely afford to rent a home in San Francisco, he writes. Now the problem was, he couldn't find one.

Talking to co-workers, I began to see that most of my fellow employees had moved to San Francisco within the last six months. So it appeared that many of my incoming counterparts were filling up potential rooms before I had a chance at them.
A month and half after starting the job, he "caught a break when a room opened up in a friend's household" and he "thought he had it made."

But two days later Zenefits ended his contract, letting him go.

That was it, game over. Not even spared a few minutes to say my goodbyes, I was promptly escorted out of the building. I went from homeless but employed to being housed but jobless in less than a week.
A taste of financial stability was enough to make him rethink his life, he writes. He doesn't want to live hand-to-mouth each month any more than he wants to work for a company "I don't believe in."
In the end, he's looking to leave San Francisco, he says, and write his novel, perhaps returning when he can really afford to live there.

72 comments:

Wonders shall Neva cease

Aunty linda pls post my comments oh

Very good.. Beautiful beginning for him..

Datz his miracle gud 4 him #sneh

YOUNG BUHARI said...

Oh.....Kay

Interesting

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT mUst End iN prAise

Babylawyer. said...

Sad for him.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN.

Mufliat said...

Good to know

#Hajia Mufliat

praizpaulinus said...

He'll sure find his way

Eyah. It is well. Dis life hard sha

It can only get better..linda observe carefully

Mo said...

Awww. Lucky him bt why jst 45days?

Heya,it is well

applegeniuz said...

Godwin for his side.
#kpomkwem#

BUSINESS PASTOR said...

Hmmm......

Goodluck to him

PEPSI ADDICT

Awesome! *princezz*

NEW WIFE said...

OK IYAFF SEEN IT

NEW WIFE SPEAKS
krellysestem@yahoo.co.uk

NEW WIFE said...

OK IYAFF SEEN IT

NEW WIFE SPEAKS
krellysestem@yahoo.co.uk

I can see every thing turning around #Abi#

I MUST WIN LINDA GIVEAWAY said...

Thats turning the negative into a positive..... I recognise new testament thoughts when I see one..... strolls away

Wow

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

I MUST WIN LINDA GIVEAWAY said...

Thats turning the negative into a positive..... I recognise new testament thoughts when I see one..... strolls away

wow congrat to him

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

CONGRATS TO US.

Awww

It is not easy out there

kingsareborn2rule said...

Enter your comment...Twist and turn

#Haveyouprayedfornigeriatoday

Lilian chinomso said...

Ok.....

*sips Orijin*

tsalz c.e.o said...

GOOD FOR HIM

Eeya

thats what i call the different turns in life, more is everly needed to get more. (get my natural traffic method; 20k traffic per day, call or whatsapp: 07064947676)

Hmmmmmm could it be people from his village at work lolz well is bad hope he gets up back on his feet.

Sorry Sir, such is life nothing is permanent in dis f***king world.

Linda's bestie...

Nwa Nnewi.

Hmmmm.#IamMe

And this is news?
Na wa!

Issokay...

Shhhhhhh

OK

new comer

Congratulations to him... greater height I wish him.

Its a new year, dats jst an old chapter, a new beta one is coming

Vickyfabulous adeleyevictor17@gmail.com said...

Its a new year, dats jst an old chapter, a new beta one is coming

Congratulation for d initial work.. I wish him a greater height. It's not easy to be a man jare.

kudos said...

What an adventure...Believe

SHORTEST DUDE said...

Chai!

Emmy Blu Modesto said...

Signs of rapture in 2016

JAMSMYTH said...

Mainlander

Uzosafetyblog said...

Great. #IRepLIB

A dreams come true.

I'm inspired

I'm nt a robot#slimmy

Wish him a lovely life.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Delsu calling

Eclectic said...

DBANJ CRUSH said...

Hmmmmm.......

Linda notify dbanj

Dan said...

Make do with ur life

keep pushing you will get there.angelmakiz@yahoo.com

Enter your comment... God will bless him one day

The first step makes the difference..

Favor

Hmmmmm.. Good one

Lilian chinomso said...

Eyaaahh

Humble beginning

nice motivation for the new year

This isn't news na, nothing extra ordinary about this post. Its a normal occurrence, nothing unique. With the comments I'm seeing, obviously majority didn't read the post through.

Wild flowers!

What is the moral of this story

Kk

DON'T WORRY MAN. LIFE HAS ITS UPS N DOWNS. GUYS IN HERE...PICK A CUR FROM THIS MAN,. LEAVE YOUR COMFORT ZONE AND XPLORE THE OPPORTUNITIES OUT THERE

Too bad! Just like hopeless hope...