Two-year-old girl tragically dies just two days after Christmas from swallowing a battery | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 2 January 2016

Two-year-old girl tragically dies just two days after Christmas from swallowing a battery

The day after Christmas, 2-year-old Brianna Florer was laughing and jumping around with her older brother and two sisters opening presents at her grandparents' home. The next day the precocious blond-haired toddler was dead.
An X-ray of her tiny body showed the "killer" was a shiny, silver button battery.
“On Saturday she was fine,” maternal grandfather Kent Vice said. “It was a perfect Christmas.”
Brianna had not been feeling well for a couple of days, throwing up and running a low-grade fever, he said.
Late Sunday, Brianna threw up blood, and her body turned a blue color. Her parents, Brian and Stephanie Florer, who live in rural Delaware County, called the Jay ambulance, which met them at a convenience store to check Brianna's condition.
“She threw up again,” Vice said. “It was a massive amount of blood, and they rushed her to the Grove hospital.”
The Grove physicians quickly diagnosed Brianna's problem, and she was taken by ambulance to St. Francis Hospital in Tulsa, where she was rushed into surgery, he said.
Bad weather had grounded all medical transportation by helicopter, Vice said.
“They operated on her for 2½ hours, but they couldn't stop the bleeding,” Vice said. “They believed the battery ate through to her carotid artery by way of her esophagus.”
“One minute she is perfect, and the next minute she is dead,” Vice said. “We had no idea when she swallowed it (the battery).” 
The family learned Brianna probably swallowed the battery within six days of her death.
Vice said he wants to do something about button batteries. “I want to keep these things out of houses,” he said. “They are dangerous.”
A Go Fund Me account has been set up to help the family with funeral expenses.
Eddie Johnson with the state medical examiner's office said the child's autopsy is pending, and it would be two to four months before an official cause and manner of death is known.

There were 53 reported cases in Oklahoma of children and adults swallowing a button or disk battery this year, said Randy Badillo, Oklahoma Poison Control Center senior specialist. “No fatalities have been reported to us,” he said.
Normally the battery passes through the digestive system, he said.
“But, if the battery lodges in the esophagus or digestive tract, it can open and release an alkaline substance that can cause corrosive or burning injuries,” Badillo said.
From 2005 to 2014, there were 11,940 battery-swallowing incidents involving children under the age of 6 nationally, according to the National Capitol Poison Center in Washington, D.C. Of those cases, 15 children died, and another 101 suffered major medical problems.
“These devastating outcomes occur in small children when batteries get stuck in the esophagus,” said Dr. Toby Litovitz, center physician.
When a lithium button battery lodges in a child's esophagus, it causes an electrical current to go through the tissue, she said.
“The electrical current is causing more damage because it is splitting the water surrounding the button battery and forming hydroxide, which is an ingredient in lye. Imagine dropping little tiny drops of lye in one place in the esophagus,” Litovitz said.
The lye substance perforates the esophagus and goes into whatever tissue is nearby — it can be the aorta or the trachea.
Serious complications also have been seen when small batteries are placed in the nose or ear — another situation where urgent removal is critical, Litovitz said.
“The important thing to remember is,  these batteries are everywhere.”  
Vice was close to his granddaughter. He handled caretaking duties for Brianna when she was an infant for three weeks after her parents returned to work.
“She never — not one time — had a bad day,” Vice said, his voice cracking with emotion. “She was always happy and laughing. “I took care of her — she was just an angel.”  
Source: The Oklahoman

132 comments:

So sad!

These things should be kept away from lil kids.Jail the parents pls

very sad

So bad, parents should always look out for their kids at all times.

Wild flowers!

Rip little one

PEPSI ADDICT

Nawa o!

So sad. What a young, lively n beautiful girl. R.I.P to the dead. #IamMe

Mab said...

So sad, kids that age have to be watched all d time, cos they pick up anything and put into their mouth

Sad....

A young life gone..may her soul RIP.

Awww! May her soul rest in peace.

Awwww...this is sad! How tragic

YOUNG BUHARI said...

Sad! Parents should pay close attention to their kids environment

What a cute baby , rip

NEW WIFE said...

pity! such cuteness.......RIP

NEW WIFE SPEAKS

krellysestem@yahoo.co.uk

Shit! Only z small batty?

#linda give me 1bo#

RIP little one

PEPSI ADDICT

this year must not begin with a sad news. may her gentle soul rest in peace.
angelmakiz@yahoo.com

Too painful,may GOD strenght them,hmmmmm pain of child lost is too hard to go through.GOD is in control #Abi#

Kaiser said...

Really sorry about this..

Uzosafetyblog said...

What? #IRepLIB

Kai! So so sad! May God comfort the family! *princezz*

God hv mercy. Rip sweet

Oh no! Parents pls supervise toddlers ooo and keep it child friendly. See how carelessness and recklessness cost a beautiful ones life.

Kurdor Peter said...

Eyah RIP dear

Innocent child may her soul RIP

I am Coonett

Lord av mercy oo
Choi c cute kid oooo

Hannie said...

Sadden

May his soul rest in peace

***ECHOMASS***

SHORTEST DUDE said...

Chai!
Rip daughter

This hurts. What a sad way to start the year.
ALHAJI_NATTY

Oh so sad,rip

Subuhanallah

Ann Chetachukwu Ubah MD said...

Sad

Rest in peace lil one

Too sad,God rest her soul.....mary nwanmo

What a pity.

so sad...@Linda's bae

Comments section to be at the top of comments please.

Anyway, this child may have died two days after A Christmas, but not this Christmas. Some months ago, LIB ran this, unfortunate, story. Linda, please get your staff to confirm what the place on your blog.

Babylawyer. said...

R.I.P little one. Rest in peace. Guess God knows best. Parents and guardians should take note.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

May her soul rest in peace

OKORO UPGRADED

Chai...may her soul rip

BrainDoctor said...

Rest in peace little babe

So sard r i p litle child

So sad! May her soul rest in peace! Parents please take note ,things like this should be kept out of reach because anything this kids pick lands in their mouth.

optimisticlady said...

Mums be careful.
Dads join in.

These harmful objects are everywhere at home.

R I P ANGEL.

So sad! RIP Little angel.

Eya may her soul rest in peace............

So bad.

wisdomer said...

Rip

Eya

Eya

Golden nwa said...

Oh poor girl. RIP

how sad

R.I.P lil cutie

new comer

Very painful...rip little angel

So painful ...
May he innocent soul rest in peace!

Aww this is so sad. Lesson for parents to be extra watchful of their little kids.

Gosh!! R.I.P to her

Dman rip

RIP! so sad

So sad.rip

Soon sad

Soo sad

Whao a sad news indeed
My condolence to d family.

#my2k

Pearlie said...

Death can never have enough..RIP little one

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

This is really sad.. Chai.. Olorun gbawa o..

U can never be too careful wit kids around

RIP lil gal

U r very stupid

kudos said...

Mother take care of your offspring...Believe

Oh Little one! One reason i always feel uncomfortable leaving children on their own. RIP.

RIP little one

R I p

chyyy said...

What a loser! Children are too difficult dt u can never be all dt careful wth, we should keep trying our possible best 4 dm. RIP

OMG! One has to be extremely vigilant with kids. May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

Rip.....

Don't u know dis type of batteries can be found in toys n less power consuming appliances
#needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine

Rest in peace baby

Oh no....RIP.....

#JUSTPASSING

----WAY TO GET NOTICED ON LIB, TALK TRASH AND BE MEAN----

So bad, parents should always look out for their kids at all times.

Wild flowers!

Eyaaaaaa so sad rip little agel.

Parents Shld be very careful wit kids oh,rip gal

Keep out of the reach of children.
children must never be left unattended to. So so sad.

So sad rip.

kamsi Baby said...

RIP lily vice

Such a tragedy. RIP

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Delsu calling.

Adaobikamma said...

Eya aa rest in peace lil girl.

Eyah so sad

How sad

Oh what a waste rip

Ehya..RIP little princess

Am sad nw, RIP child #sneh

praizpaulinus said...

Awuuuch... So so sad... Parents can't possibly do all. But God will help.. Rip pretty

Nappyboychuchu@gmail.com said...

We love u cutie #Endlesslove

This is a really sad story #vikkiloveslinda #libnation

OMG! so sad. May her li2 soul RIP

Wat a tragic incidence, RIP

Hmm,it's so saddening.Parents biko,pay close attention to your kids ooo

So sad rest in peace parent Pls learn oo

Hmm,it's so saddening.Parents biko,pay close attention to your kids ooo

D'ANGELS said...

Thank u Chyyy, We just need to keep trying our BEST and trusting God for safety

Too bad... Rip Lil one

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Very unfortunate - rip girl

God protect our Little ones 4rm danger

Painfull

rip lil one

MISSVEE

What a waste

Frankie Nkk said...

May her soul rest in peace

Lilian chinomso said...

Ruby Owanate said...

so sad...RIP kid

D cherishable one said...

Eeyaah!! RIP little one.For those people that are busy blaming the parent, fyi; no parent can watch a child 'every second of the day' so quit saying it'was due 2 carelessness or neglect,it can happen 2 any child. Only God can protect our young ones

Lord how sad may her soul RIP amen

Peace nwadire said...

What a sad story! May his soul rest in peace

Eyahhh...too bad!!

waffymercyjohnson said...

Wow too bad
Such a pretty one
My her soul rest in peace

CUTE ONYII said...

So sad to say, RIP

RIP ANGEL. U DIDN'T KNOW ANY BETTER

cookiemillz said...

What a cute looking girl. May ur soul rest in peace

So sad.....

So sad! May God rest her soul....

u.p said...

May her soul rest in peace. An insensitive comment about jailing the parents, was it reported that they fed it to her? it takes the grace of God and watchful parents and carers to look after young children. One minute they are fine and the next, they get into mischief. We just have to be more vigilant.

u.p said...

May her sweet angelic soul rest in peace. An insensitive comment earlier on about jailing her parents. Was it reported that they fed her the battery? It takes the graceof aGod and wwtchful eyes of parents,carer givers and everyone involved to watch over children. One minute they are fine,the next, they get into mischief. Lets just keep dangerous items out of their reach.

u.p said...

May her sweet angelic soul rest in peace. An insensitive comment earlier on about jailing her parents. Was it reported that they fed her the battery? It takes the graceof aGod and wwtchful eyes of parents,carer givers and everyone involved to watch over children. One minute they are fine,the next, they get into mischief. Lets just keep dangerous items out of their reach.

You will understand better when you have kids, that it takes the Grace of God to take care of them'carefully'. You can never stop kids from putting their hands in their mouths, especially when teething

Pastor Tee said...

May God comfort your family.

God loves you and He wants you to be saved. John 3:16

So sad! Parents should monitor their toddlers well

Children and their habit of always putting everything in their mouth. She probably thought it was perpermint or sweet. You never know what kids are up to. It is only God that watches over them for us because no amount of nannies that you have will stop them from putting stuffs in their mouth or committing havoc. It is just God we should pray to for protection. And the sad thing is babies cant even talk when they are sick. We should commit our children in the hands of God to send an angel to always watch them. It is just prayers we need.

Ayaah and she's so cute. May her innocent soul rest in perfect peace. Amen!

bukola shobajo said...

how careful can one be, kids put almost anything in their mouths. they pick up stuff from the floor, they like to eat sand, put their hands into all kinds of things. I just really feel sorry for the parents