Human-like robot with emotions, personality and mood unveiled in Singapore | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 2 January 2016

Human-like robot with emotions, personality and mood unveiled in Singapore

Scientists at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore have unveiled "Nadine," a socially intelligent, human-looking robot complete with "her own personality, mood and emotions," according to a university news release.
The humanoid "receptionist" was presented at a new media showcase Tuesday at NTU, where her human creator, professor Nadia Thalmann, predicted that "physical social robots such as Nadine are poised to become more visible in offices and homes in future."
Nadine was created to be a doppelganger of Thalmann, according to NTU's news release, which said the "humanoid" has "soft skin and flowing brunette hair. She smiles when greeting you, looks at you in the eye when talking, and can also shake hands with you."

The robot "can be happy or sad, depending on the conversation" and she "also has a good memory" with the ability to recognize people she's met and remember what those people have said before, NTU said. The university added that "Nadine is powered by intelligent software similar to Apple’s Siri or Microsoft’s Cortana."

Watch the robot interact in the video below: 

Source: ABC News

132 comments:

Wetin we no go See 4 dis life

Humm...them wan take style imitate baba God smh...things some people do with their time sha!

tsalz c.e.o said...

na so... wahala

Abeg aunty linda na dem gbege be that........or ask Davido's Driver...........

All DS robots...dey shld tk t easy ooo

Humm...them wan take style imitate baba God smh...things some people do with their time sha!

As for those LIBers complaining they aren't robot,well it's official there's human robot! So take a chill.

Ruthcindy said...

wow! am really impressed.

Nawaoooooo this people slf , abi them dey challenge God? I just wonderoooo ,I hope no be person skin them use for Thst thing?.

Na wa ..this science guys shaaaa

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

Wonders shall never end! *princezz*

Omo she behaves like ps2 players...good one tho.

Kurdor Peter said...

Chai!! end time things

Wonders of the world.. Later Later people will be getting married to robot

Na so one evil spirit go enter the robot...she go take slap...slap craze comot pson head

Hmmmm. I dnt knw if I shd say ds is gd or nt ooo. Good try tho.

emmymarshall said...

Wonder shall never end ooo...oyinbos nd der magic

Creativity..... Techinoloogee... This shildren

robot with emotions? nice 1

new comer

Cabrini said...

na wa

Nawoooo....good... really nice...but why use a robot for office work when humans dey find job

Cabrini said...

na wa

Nonsense robot na robot emotion my butt #sneh

Ntin persn no go see#slimmy

Lesser jobs for humans..

Lilian chinomso said...

Huh!

Jennis Mademoiselle said...

Me no like am at all

dats really a gud thing

Dan said...

Ok tadashi

Scientist no go kill person.

Linda's bestie...

Nwa Nnewi.

Rubbish!! Creating robots to act as receptionist when there are real human beings outthere clamouring for such jobs to put food on their table but can't fine one is Just absurd. Haba! What next? 'Robotphiles' will now emerge and start asking for their rights to marry Nadine. The world has lost it! Funds which would have been used to improve human lives are being wasted on such senseless projects.

LOL said...

that is the realest looking BOT i've seen in a while. Just that it's looking else where n it's still quite slow

hehehe saw something like this in the series 'Humans'

kingsareborn2rule said...

Enter your comment...Nawa ooo, Odi egwu

#Haveyouprayedfornigeriatoday

Dis people won't stop all dis rubbish
One day dey wil create de one dat wil start killing dem one by one
Why try 2 compete with God bikowanu
Linda dont take note!

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

praizpaulinus said...

Hmmmn oyibo has started again o... Now we wont know if we r talking to a human or robot... Its amazing

Na wa o

PEPSI ADDICT

This is why God will destroy the world soon. Human trying to create what God has created. May God have mercy. Linda hope u will order 4 Nadine. @least she will help u in getting news especially @ no go areas. Soon stupid men will start having sex with it.

No matter what it can never be like the real being #Abi#

The Robot is a fine one o.

PUBLIC tatafo said...

I don't even know how to react to this

Na waaa.,soon humans will prefer sleeping with robots than human beings. Signs of End time. May God have mercy on you.

End time Robot .....

This is cool

Hmmm.. I hope the robot doesn't fall in love oo, before it will decide to snatch someone's boyfriend and fight will occur. Lol. #howyouwantakekillrobot?

Damilola said...

We are in trouble

End time tinz.. Jesus Christ is coming soon!!!

Hppy new year Friends.

Izuben D gentle

Seriously?

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT mUst End iN prAise

Nawa oooh this scientists will create human being one day!!the things we see and hear this days wow just wow.

Wow!

ProudlyDeltan15 said...

Hmmm....ProudlyDeltan

Good to see.linda observe carefully

omobakujore said...

End time things

Babylawyer. said...

Whether u people like it or not u cannot create human so quit trying already.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

Mufliat said...

All these scientists trying to be like God,no matter how much you try Allah is still and will always be the Highest.

#Hajia Mufliat

Chei,oyibo pple. Nice anyway

God is so wonderful that he made men not to know the secret of blood,or breath of life

applegeniuz said...

innovative
#kpomkwem #

babatutuba said...

MMAKALA ALE EPO,AFLUSEN MKPO APUN OKA

I MUST WIN LINDA GIVEAWAY said...

If no by God e nor fit be God.... this one has emotions sometimes sad sometimes happy.... I am certain too the killing emotion will set in and u would find out ur robot killed a whole family.... let's see if they will send it to court or jail.... Bt isorraiiii strolls away after all nothing CONSIGN me

I MUST WIN LINDA GIVEAWAY said...

If no by God e nor fit be God.... this one has emotions sometimes sad sometimes happy.... I am certain too the killing emotion will set in and u would find out ur robot killed a whole family.... let's see if they will send it to court or jail.... Bt isorraiiii strolls away after all nothing CONSIGN me

Balogun Oluwaseun said...

End time... Tech.

Nice but can she suck dick tho?

NEW WIFE said...

Hmmm oyinbo and their inventions........

NEW WIFE SPEAKS
krellysestem@yahoo.co.uk

NEW WIFE said...

Hmmm oyinbo and their inventions........

NEW WIFE SPEAKS
krellysestem@yahoo.co.uk

Still doesn't equate to been a human. Nothing pass God....mary nwanmo

Na wa o...

Technology taking us to places n reducing job opportunities. It's good tho. But someone would hv been paid for her position.

You go fear na...hope say no be in go bring the new STD way we hear....
#sips orijiN#

Nah end tym b ds oo

fiction movies has come to reality

Enter your comment...

Endtime robot. #IamMe

Our God is still all powerful!

walter said...

Amazing! This is the sort of thing we should be discussing in Nigeria. More than half the social media discuss is only on soft social issues...until Asians come and take all the jobs meant for our youths
*sad.

Vickyfabulous adeleyevictor17@gmail.com said...

So, this is d tech we starting 2016 with.. Owwk oo

They tried,buh Gods creation is still above all. Science is no were to compare with Gods work.

Interesting.

Na waoooo

This is amazing

technology improving every day but its still a robot and can never be completely human...humans were created by God and nothing created by man can beat what was created by God.

this really look like human, den try

Hmmm takin d place of human being

SHORTEST DUDE said...

Gerrahia mehn!

Shit

kudos said...

This is wonderful but crazy,soon this kind of robot will be every were...Believe

Emmy Blu Modesto said...

And d robot is cuter than 80percent of nigerian gals

Ada Mbano said...

Otu Ocha! Nkea bu uwa mmebi

CHYGURL from CHYNA said...

Just Negodu Nadine, Singapore wil not kill us wt thier Hi Tech. Nadine wil deny alot of ppl jobs. When wl Nigerians in Nigeria become hi in Technology

This whites are at again , breaking new grounds each time , but as always na to cmmot battery and that doll baby don die

Hope she also have vagina? Gbengulo say sooooooo

well dats more like it!!

Well dats a break through!

Pearlie said...

Whites and their creativity...nice one. Welcome to the world Nadine

Golden nwa said...

All dis tins will still turn against them n kill them. It happened ones in Germany Lord help us.

Golden nwa said...

All dis tins will still turn against them n kill them. It happened ones in Germany Lord help us.

Amazing!!!

When unemployment is hugely becoming a problem, this guys are busy creating robots that will take the little available jobs.

Hope it won't malfunction o.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Delsu calling

Linda's pearl said...

Hmmmmm, wot won't we see in this technology age. Very soon we'll be needing human detecting machine. Happy new year. Libers.

Mr Jones said...

Hope this won't be the beginning of terminator

This is what we see in movies everyday the moment the robot will start acting like a real human and wage war against us hmm am waiting...

Wow

Popcorn time said...

Orisirisi tomorrow they will created one with p...y, trust naij men will go for it.But God pass them

This is just the beginning

End time people

Kaiser said...

Futuristic innovation.. Una try

Didi 3000 said...

6 billion people in the world, job scarcity everywhere, and the solution is to create human like robots to take up d available jobs.. Genius

What is the robots use now?

see technology.angelmakiz@yahoo.com

Nice initiative but why the robots

Na wa ooo see tech

Good one.... Technology

End time is here,trying to copy God

Enter your comment... Abeg make them the use am there

Eh trouble dey ooo

The future is here guys:)) gonna be some ex machina shot next

They shouldn't forget what happened on the day the tower of Babel was built!

End time thing...as knowledge is increasing every year...

Great tech

Great tech

How is this a senseless project? Don't just rant without much forethought. Technology ultimately seeks to make life better, yes it may lead to loss of jobs. So we should remain in the dark ages, as Luddites because of Jobs? When the plane was invented and cross Atlantic commecial flights began, I'm sure your "smart" logic would have had you clamouring for the abolition of such a "senseless project" because many able bodied people would lose their jobs as sailors of hitherto used ships.

Ndi ocha unu di egwu!

Stuffs like this gladdens my heart, though these inventions might be misused in the future, but I just feel happy that humans are this intelligent and daring, going against all odds to defile limitations.

Wild flowers!

my sister....nothing pass God

How's this going to improve human lives? When you think u are 'enlightened 'enough to accept every nonsense dev't in the name of technology, you should start by advancing evidence how this is going to improve human lives.

Michael Victor said...

I really appreciate this invention but I fear for humans because they are going to leave us unemployed in the future. Jus sayin

chyyy said...

Oyibo should take it easy ooo vary soon robots ll replace human in offices & workshops making things mor difficult 4 human beings.

Trying to be like GOD but they CAN NEVER be HIM

WHAT R THEY TURNING THIS WORLD INTO. GOD IS MERCIFUL