Photos show the deplorable state of villages & creeks in the Niger Delta | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 July 2015

Photos show the deplorable state of villages & creeks in the Niger Delta

These photos show the deplorable state of some villages and creeks in the Niger Delta where there's oil exploration. Some of the places are a mess due to the exploration. More photos after the cut...

118 comments:

Choi

KING Nwa AMAKA said...

They choose to live dat way. The government av given them everything they need. But they are allowing some certain individuals eat what belongs to them. Tompolo and Co.

Very bad
Government should look into this.

Go & watch BLACK NOVEMBER!

TOMJERRYSWIT said...

HMMMMM, SPEECHLESS...TOMJERRYSWIT

Thank you Linda.

And yet Shekau and his cohorts,who have no legitimate grievance whatsoever can boldly make demands on FG,kill & maim? The militants have reasons enough to make the govt grovel!

And thats the place that produce the billions this idiots always steal,Ah AFRIKA!

Dude u are stupid for such comment....

Jisos! Is that somebody's fingers?!

A.K.A LIB'ier
mercycruise@yahoo.com

IF GOODLUCK JONATHAN WAS SO FOOLISH NOT TO REVIVE HIS PPLE & THE COMMUNITIES AFTER HIS YEARS IN POWER, I WONDER IF IT WILL BE THIS SELFISH BUHARI THAT WILL HEAR THEM; EVEN IF THEY GONNA CRY OUT BLOOD. QUITE UNFORTUNATE!

Juliebabe said...

Chai! this people are really blessed with natural resource o but the oil wan come destroy them o, oil spillage every where. Some people will use the so-called money to shine while they villagers will be looking like hungry set of people(nothing to ride home).

Dis is where d wealth of d country lies and d people here r d poorest in Nigeria. Wht a shame!

The first picture is of an illegal Refinery from illegal bunkering which is the mail cause of the current pollution in the Niger Delta. This is called sabotage perpetuated by the owners of the land themselves.

But there son was the president for close to 6 yrs.

Northerners r nt meant to get 1naira 4rm d oil money,it shld go tto d ibos nd ibos alone,cos we suffer d consequences of d drillin

But there son was the president for close to 6 yrs.

TGI HOTELS said...

Wonderful blog & good post...............TGI Hotels Is a Best Hotel Management Company in India which manages hotels, restaurants, clubs, health & wellness, cultural and convention facilities, venue catering, visual and performing arts and entertainment – all with equal aplomb.

Best Hotel Management Company in India

Good luck should speak

AND WE HAVE A PRESIDENT SCREAMING CHANGE? PLS WHERE IS THE CHANGE?

Haba Bonita.most of your comments are usually intelligent.No disrespect please.

The communities were accounted for and the type of money that the oil companies and different governments released to the supposed chiefs and militants will build a mega city.

The greed of a few is what we see in these pictures.The pictures you are looking at are nothing compared to the actual state of living of the people.But you know who I blame?The people themselves.Asari,Tompolo,Ayiri and the rest of the leaders have collected billions and billions and continue to live large without investing in the lands that they are supposedly fighting for.

Lets not fool ourselves please.Later on they'll give arms,ammunitions and drugs to teens to fight their battles while they have family photo shoots in mansions or sponsor weddings of artists that aren't even from that region in Dubai and so on.

My pity is for the brain washed women that allow their children be used and killed while the militants kids are safe and sound and fresh.

The BH are a bunch of murderers and low life assholes.the cowardly shekaru is most likely infested with all manner of STDs from constantly raping girls that he can't talk to in several life times.I believe he's dead actually.not from the soldiers bullets but from diseases.My LORD will continue to cause confusion in their camps.IJN,they are defeated.

Well,am just wondering why such concern pictures didnt surface throughout Jonathan purposeless leadership. Send those pictures directly to Jonathan and make sure he drink from water.

Linda, get your facts right. That is a makeshift refinery by vandals or oil thieves.

The most annoying thing about this is they were busy enjoying the free cash during GEJ's tenure instead of addressing the issue at hand. Now they are crying wolf.

ROYALTY, if the government have done something, we will not be complaing. it just like instead of them providing social amenities, they decide to give money bcos they don't want to do what they supposed to do. even me am one of the victim were crude passes the back of our home but yet i can not get common security with my master and ICAN.

@royalty Your brain must be upside down. 40 years of destruction of the Niger Delta should be forgotten because GEJ gave Tompolo contract (albeit a daft thing to do) for 4 years? what is it compared to the damage done and the 100s of billions of $$$ Nigeria has made? HUNDREDS OF BILLIONS! And the people have no clean water to drink! Is that Tompolo's fault?!

When they were getting amnesty , they forgot about this issue then all of a sudden , it resurrect , instead of diverting funds to science and technology that will Minimize things like this , it is amnesty they are fighting for , Biko !!!!!!

Once I discussed it with my fellow westerner, he had this to say...I rephrase "the farmland is never a beautiful place". This is shocking as the bulk of wealth harnessed and enjoyed by the nation for a very long time, come from here. All thanks to bad government in these regions and in general.
This is inhumane! and seriously? If these people take laws into their hands? I WONT BLAME THEM A BIT!
If only we can put ourselves in people's shoes.....The world would be a better place!

ben said...

Are you okay or just foolish?

Ani J said...

Really sad, to think that this is the region of immediate past president!

Na wao,

U spoke exactly my mind....
Good one bro!

Lovely pics!!!!

They choose to live that way, seriously I am telling you. I am currently in bonny island those are illegal refinery, which is cause of the oil spilage

Timi Da Uyi said...

Suddenly photos like this are surfacing? We never saw anything like this in the past 6 years. Please Buhari is barely 2months in office. Infact tomorrow go make am 2months!!!

And dere Pikin was president for 6yrs...... hmmmmmm

Mademen said...

Luv ur grammar combo!

The Governor, LGA Chairman, Chiefs and political office holders should be held accountable. Instead of putting use the allocations and money gotten from community development to develop hideous areas like this, they sit down organizing how to destroy a pipeline.

God take away your gift of thought since you cannot use it well. Imbecile

Dia pikin rule 9ja for 6yrs. GEJ shame on u

This deprivation has been going on since the 60s. Do you think only 6yrs of GEJ will have solved it? If IBB the federal government of Nigeria could build Abuja in 20yrs then they could have developed that place if they wanted to.

where did all the money allocated for this region go?

Ochaimo+ said...

The oil in my community won't be touched until things are done right in this country

At least Obasanjo tried in this regard by making sure an Ijaw man who is from this region ascend into the highest office of the land. What did jonathan the Crook do to stop the disaster that is the niger delta, nothing. What did he do to stop the suffering of the people there, nothing. What did jonathan do to stop the illegal degradation of the means of livelihood like farming, fishing and the provision of social amenities that would make life easier for those people, NOTHING. Instead he continued to receive kickbacks from these oil companies, settling some greedy few all in the name of amnesty. These greedy few like Tompolo and Co who don't care about their people but stash billions of dollars in foreign countries. Have you heard of a white man steal money and come to deposit his loot in Africa, Never. If you steal, which I don't subscribe to, why not use the money to develop your area then to develop a foreign state. So, if buhari don't do anything to ameliorate the suffering of the niger delta, would you blame him?

Black November says it all

The people of Niger Delta put themselves in this state - illegal oil bunkering and local refinery at work! I feel sorry for dem as govt is busy stealing moni and not concerned, while the people allow criminals to damage their environment and shout wolf on the oil coys doing legitimate biz.

BLAME GEJ.

You are indeed very foolish for that statement. I wish Nigeria will practice true federalism so that the rest of you leeches will be on your own

its unbearable, govt shld pls look into it. abeg ooooooo b4 dis people flame up

Shut up, wch of the IBO states is oil explored??? Ijaws is understandable

Gosh look at the damage the oil has done to the water around these settlements, to think that they probably drink, cook and shower with it just sends shudders down my spine.

12:20,are you really daft or you are just playing at been so.Aren't you Nigerian?Or you simply have no clue what is actually under discussion here but you wanted to comment!

This is wickedness @ the highest level......

This is nothing but rubbish though....

odi eqwu oh.
just dey pass oh

All the while GEJ was there we didn't see all these photos. now we seeing photos, very soon they will say GMB did not do anything for the Niger Delta. are these not the thing GEJ was suppose to correct while he was in power? Smh

U just spoke like an idiot. who will choose to live in poverty??

My dear ignorant Linda, only one accurately depicts the lives of the rural riverine communities in your portrayal. The majority of the pictures displayed are pictures of illegal oil refineries. That's whats caused most of the damage to the environment.

The government has been giving them amnesty money. People who truly their own would have used that money to develop their place but instead, it's going into the pockets of few. Wt a pity!

Ibos kwa?? Wt r u talking about?

Illegal refinery, pix 1

They choose to live dat way. The government av given them everything they need. But they are allowing some certain individuals eat what belongs to them. Tompolo and Ogunbus and co should be asked.. have u seen Tompolo's house? U will be shocked to ur bones

community torch said...

The government has given them all they want, even sending there youth abroad for different training and paying most of them allowances. Linda while posting such pictures. I think u should post what government has done as well

Dr Who said...

meanwhile the likes of tomopolo is buying private jets and stashing his $$$ abroad .....asari nko ...went all the way to our neighbours, benin republic to establish a university ....i can go on and on ...smh ...they refuse to invest in their own ..what a shame

@royalty u reason like a primary school pupil who has misplaced her school bag.. Grow up pls

Yet you have Asari Dokubo and his goons, among other thugs, who get paid by government and can't do anything for their region. Instead, they have decided to take the money they are being bribed to Cameroon where they build private schools for the elit.

One or more idiots are going to come here and blame this on Buhari when you had Goodluck Jonathan for 6yrs but did not do anything for these people. Instead he allowed his friends and those he appointed steal and loot billions of dollars of Nigeria's money. Its Buhari's fault again, abi? Idiot people that won't use their heads! Buhari is the best thing to happen to Nigeria otherwise, these looting would have gone on for another four years until another thief from PDP takes over and continue from where Ebele Jonathan stopped.

Idiot!Do you have sence at all? Was Buhari your president over the last 6 years? Goat!

Gosh! This is horrible.
They really are blessed but greed seems to have changed everything. Or the Govt have forgotten them in term of maintenance.
It so sad!

The ijaw leaders took the money to clear this rubbish and refuse to clear them but instead stock it in the monies in some foreign banks afterall everyone abuse oyinbo

No, Tompolo and Dokubo should look into the issue

Neemat said...

hmmm, may God help us, and heaven helps those who helps themselves

Asari Dokubo, Ayiri, Tompolo and the others get billions from the government each years but instead of investing it in their communities, they take the money out of the country and invest in places like Cameron. Anybody from this part of the country should be ashamed for letting this go on under their watch, especially the local thugs. If after all the monies the government have poured on your communities, you people still live like this, then there is no hope for you. How about you use your thuggin energy for something else?

Sharon Ogunleye said...

Hi Linda,

I respect you a lot, we have interviewed you in the past but you do some unethical things.
Some of these pictures were taken by my colleague, a Reuters photographer.
No credit given for these pictures you put on your site. But I notice when you post photographs of foreign photographers, you credit them. Why not do same for Nigerian photographers and even those who send you photographs you use. This is plagiarism and it is not fair. What is the justifiable reason for not being ethical in running your blog?

I. C. Eros said...

True. Illegal bunkering does exist in the ND. That's more of a social greviance issue (story for another day).

Oil Spill from the infrastructure of the MultiNational Corporations does happen. It does affect communities.

I hope you recall the Ogoni 9 (Ken Saro Wiwa and others) that were MURDERED (by the Military Government at the time) because they protested against the environmental damages and loss of livelihoods caused by oil exploitation in the region?

Don't judge GEJ tenure he was trying to put things in place that why he came up with amnesty programme some of them use d money to feed their family and small business. Then PMB want to stop paying them their right coz they can farm or fish in most of this area

GEJ should be stoned by his own people for this. For once in the history of this nation, power was placed in the hands of the wheels that move this nations: the Niger Delta. See what they did with it. They ignored the plight of their own people, turned deaf ears to the cries of their mothers and fathers. They empowered thugs in the name of amnesty, made a mockery of Niger Delta commission and turned governance into a frolicking adventure of squandering militants. Why should we feel sorry for them? Why? When there very own people use them as pawns and bargaining tools. I, personally, have had enough of them. Tompolo, Clark and most of all GEJ are to blame for their sorry predicament!

~HISS~ What nonsense?!! What did they do with all the finances handed to them during GEJ's government??? What sort of stupid stunt is this? Huge funds were allocated to their region for development... If the custodians of the funds did not do the needful... they should be imprisoned!! Silly goats..

Securing your future... The future of african businesses in the 21st century

Idiot are u d government dat gave they everything, use ur head o and not ur anus

They will still be blaming FG as if they dont get the highest allocation and still subsidy and also a whole ministry supporting them. If PMB should probe their leaders they will say he is witch hunting them, please what do you want. hold your governors accountable, Asari Dokubo and co have been holding you for ransome, their children enjoy the best of life, be wise, my dear NIGER DELTA PEOPLLE.

Mr or will I call u Mrs know all na for ur big office and big house u take know say na illegal bunkering . God will punish all of u hausa and yoruba foools

The ibos! For what na

Propaganda is all I see!

GEORGE VIVIAN OKEIBUNOR said...

poverty is not an excuse for failure. let them do something , because one day oil go finish.

Typical of ourselves to blame our so called government and before that we know dont care if the southest south people drown in oil swomp. ... na today.
The foreign companies that are responsible for pulling out the old have their headquarters abroad.....Oya take them to human rights court
Sha una fit pay for lawyers with at kidnapping money you have gained SMH

una sorry o, its one of dose tinx

Excuse me!! Ibos gat no oil. South south isn't ibo territory. D only oil ibos have is palm oil.

getnnenna said...

Ever commenting ROYAL PRIESTHOOD man! your are either bored of your job or jobless! u got so much time to comment on all article on linda tho...and most times lacking in deep intelligibility! well....enjoy, u have been noticed. lol

They choose to live that way??? Were you there when they did? Yes, a select few greedy bastards have stolen everything for themselves and caused the rot you see but please don't say the people brought this to themselves. Many of them are not privileged to know how things are done and what they can do to demand change

Real pity!

FRESH said...

You hit it right on the button dear.Illegal crude refining, pipeline vandalisation leading to oil spillages & destroying their farmlands & fishing waters.Have they asked their leaders to stop 'wacking' their allocations & give them a better life? Oil is gotten from other places all over the globe.Why is Niger Delta like this?

FRESH said...

You hit it right on the button dear.Illegal crude refining, pipeline vandalisation leading to oil spillages & destroying their farmlands & fishing waters.Have they asked their leaders to stop 'wacking' their allocations & give them a better life? Oil is gotten from other places all over the globe.Why is Niger Delta like this?

These are pictures of backdrops of illegal refining of our sabotaged crude oil from oil coys' pipelines. All done by militants that live in the communities where these activities are carried out. Linda, do not inform your readers wrongly!

Looks like u r having a very painful Menstruation.
What have they done with the huge allocations including NDDC, 13% extra allocation, Ministry of Niger Delta and not forgetting the internally Generated revenue from the Oil Companies among other cash flows.
The people of that region are simply Retarded.
The Mumus have never ever thought of Questioning their Leaders like Edwin Clerk, Tompolo, Odili, Jona'pat', among other greedy Crooks.
Pathetic Fucks.
Let em all perish jare.

WORD!!!
Me likey.
WORD Again.

Dey should go and hold Tompolo and his cohorts that have been receiving relief packages from the government, no be only dem dey naija. Linda take note!

Ade said...

Ur arguments and reasons are on point. But we don't have to be too hard on them, and don't say they will perish,bcos these ones are the less privileged ones that are only finding a means to survive. We are all victims of bad governance, leadership and ineffective government and political institutions.

Take a look at the first picture. Thats illegal bunkering going on there, and they are the ones bringing the oil out of the Pipeline and polluting the environment. I wish they knew what this was doing to their land.

@Rare Specie Z, you're obviously an imbecile and a fool for insulting the niger delta region. Retard that lacks home training. Fool. Retarded goat. You sit with your big mouth to spew rubbish about a people you know nothing about, while wanting to enjoy the wealth from the region. Fool, castrated monkey. You shall be the one to perish in your foolishness. Monkey. Olodo. Unlike you fool, the Niger Deltans are a group of hardworking, intelligent group of people. It's unfortunate the "Oil Curse" has plagued the region, but don't you dare insult the people of the region. You can't match them in anything. Idiotic fool!!

Dani said...

Please I feel no pity for these people they don't want to help themselves they were in power for 6 years the made so much money ministry were created for them government gave them much more than any other region but they did nothing for themselves so please

Lol.
Lol lol.
Nothing Personal u Dumb Fuck @faceless cunt 6:47 PM.
It is what it is.
My apologies for the "Perish" line though.

Jolof Hearts said...

The last picture, the one with the lady in a canoe is beauuuutiful. Regarding the environment, one can only blame the people, we know how long several governments and multinationals had wanted to bring development to those places but the people would rather be given the money than let them fix their environment. I remember an incident where some infrastructure was going to run through two sections of two major ethnic groups, the objections where the facility will obstruct the worship of their local god so the contractors needed to bring money to appease the gods and when niger delta people demand money they don't call small figures. Eventually the project was abandoned.

Abeg Shut thehell up!!!! is it not the militants exploding and destroying the pipelines causing all the nonsense, now they want to blame who now?????

Somebody spells Ibo instead of Igbo and you still fell for the silly trap?

Quit Whining Fool.
Go put ur House together.
Sick Fucks.

Henry26 said...

I beg to disagree with the tag placed on this pic. This is obviously some folks running illegal refineries in the creeks of the Delta.

While I admit there are cases of environmental pollution from bad pipelines which I have personally witnessed, this particular picture is far from it

God thunder the heads of all the idiots saying illegal bunkering is the cause of oil polution in the niger delta. You obviously work for shell or some other oil company. As for the idiot that said at least Obassanjo tried as he put one of our people there, he really tried - when he also razed a whole village and had everybody in sight killed b/c some youth from the village killed 5 policemen. For those that have been abusing Goodluck - I say to them, if he had built and tarred a road to his village, you would have abused him; if he had spent the bulk of the nations money just addressing the problems of the country, you would have abused him; if he was corrupt as you say he was he would have dammed how it looked and made sure in the years he was there all he did was address the needs of his people. AS for those abusing him that he gave the militants security contracts and got them to chill the oil companies could operate - shebi it is because he did not give the contract to a hausa man you are complaining? He gave a major contract to someone from the oil producing area which empowered people that are the most affected and allowed the country continue operating but you are not happy. You would rathere it was given to the navy so the Northern oil mafia could be the ones to benefit or just straight out give it to a Northern contractor abi? You are incensed that he did not empower them with the normal jobs of boat drivers capenters and labourers. In fact these jobs are not even given to people from the areas as the non Niger delta oga's bring in their extended family members to carry out these jobs.
Idiot, all of you!!!!! That is all I have to say. As for Royalty Purplish ivy that said "They choose to live dat way. The government av given them everything they need. But they are allowing some certain individuals eat what belongs to them. Tompolo and Co."
Please name your state so we know your one of a kind state in Nigeria where the people have decided not to live that way and have made their governors and politicians accountable, such that no looting is taking place. Anofia like you.....

I beg to differ Blogger RareSpecie Z, as I think you are the retard. Pray tell which state you are from in order that we may learn lessons/techniques from your state on how to make our leaders accountable.
If you don't have any contribution to make why don't you STFU!!!!
You have absolutely no idea what life is like in these areas, how isolated they are and uneducated. You come from a state that was built with the money made from regions like this and you dare sit on your high horse making stupid comments like that. You are all parasites and I pray this oil dries up quickly so you can all pack up your bags and head back to your various villages and lets see if your mouths are still sharp to be criticizing the Niger delta when your only option is farming - you strike me as a mouth bold, work shy person.

Idiotic imbecile with a vulgar mouth. Obviously an idiot with really low mentality, I see. Go get an education dude, rather than stupidly acting gangster. Low life monkey with a fake name, rare specie, i.e idiotic rat with no brain, imbecile with really low IQ. What a waste to society.

@rarespecie z, aka stupid dullard, go get an education rather than acting ghetto. Everyone has made comments without spewing hate words on the niger deltan, it is only you retard that thinks you can talk because you have a cheap Nokia phone with 10MB data right? Go get an education, fool, and make something out of your life, stupid!

most of the impacts are as a result of crude oil stealing activities and illegal crude oil refining activities. Residue from such illegal refining activies are dump indiscrimately with total disregard to the environment