What do you guys think of this? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 1 August 2015

What do you guys think of this?

A LIB reader sent this in. He wrote "Wanted to know people's reaction this. I'm a fabric and Gele seller on the island and this happened to me. This was weird or am I over reacting?". Thoughts?

254 comments:

1 – 200 of 254   Newer›   Newest»

Their cup of lemon not my business #onelovefromsnow#

To be frank the slp wey full my eye ryt nw no allow me understand anything i swear..

Maybe her mom has been asking for money frm her and not getting any. She saw it as a cool advantage. But whatever the reason is, not nice at all.

She will not understand. Some daughters let their mum suffer empty handed but they can travel to Dubai at will, party, buy expensive clothes etc.

APPLELIPX said...

Even the bible says a man's enemy,is within the family.

I think is wrong for the mother to do such.
But who knows?
Maybe the daughter is stingy to her.

Money! Money!! Money!!! The root of all evils... But its so unfortunate that we can't stop loving the sh*t tho... Whewww!!

The love of money is very very devilish and terrible

Maybe the daughter doesn't give her money or she is just being too greedy.

Tinytot said...

At least, she no use the daughter for money ritual.
Na so life dey now - blood is nothing!

Wonders shall never end

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Chai, too bad...the daughter myt be stingy to the mother... Maybe DATs d reason she's taking d money from her indirectly....

Wonders shall never end

Kaine Ifem Sophia said...

The daughter might be stingy to the mum Buh none the less the mother has stooped low for doing that

If mothers can kill their babies for no reason,this case is just moimoi.Maybe the daughter has been stingy to her mum who knows.But whatever her reasons may be,there's no moral justification for what she did.

Dis world is full of evil.....It is bad ooo

obietrezy said...

This post is pointless....... Jor oh

NMaa said...

After u v done d dirty deal u're now asking us. U wld v asked us b4 u did d deal. Ask ur conscience

Maybe u are very stingy to her oo...u dont give enuf.. Its nothin shes ur mum..

OMG! Dis world is becoming sth else and dis is sign of end time. Blood turning against blood. Dis one is even better wht abt father banging wife sister or father banginng daughter in law. Rubbish!

Hmn that is what happens in the world few months back I personally discovered that my own brother who I introduced into my line of business has been dealing with my clients behind my back he made so much money and rented an apartment without my knowledge now am waiting for him to inform me he is moving out. This is a boy I saw through school and bought a car for him before he even joined my line of business o. I cried for weeks when I discovered so my sister such is life o

Maybe the girl in question doesn't give money to her mum and son this is the best means to obtain money from her. But it's wrong tho.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF YOU CAN***

Hmmmmmmmmm I dn't knw wat to say to dat,it's really not gud tryna scam ur ur daughtr

Make your sales and move on. Its none of your business, u shouldn't judge her situation when u dont walk in it. The said daugther might not be taking care of her mother. No mother would go that low and petty if she is being taken care of. Bye!

Maybe her daughter is rich but stingy towards her mum or it could be that her mum is the greedy type.........any how na still business, she didn't nothing wrong

Hmmmn
O ga o!

Maybe her daughter is rich but stingy towards her mum or it could be that her mum is the greedy type.........any how na still business, she didn't nothing wrong

Our value system is dead. Simple. We celebrate money not integrity. Soo sorry about the experience but such is life. Don't feel hurt beyond measure. Just learn

yvejohn said...

God forbid. That woman is wicked...note that not all women can play d role of a good mother.

Two things involved... Either the said daughter is stingy or her mother is just so greedy that blood means nothing.

Lewis said...

Lol...She's doing business ni o

Too bad but she may have her reasons for doing that,but my won,t do that no matter what.

ANYA IKENGA said...

When a thief is mother to a stingy daughter.

bae said...

Maybe d gal in question is very stingy and her hungry mum doesn't hv a choice dan to use any opportunity she gets

Well I think its just plain weird but kinda allowed cos I could scam my mom like dat if I know she has the capacity to be scamed..if she scams me in a way I tink its not so bad...

The daughter is an AKA GUM...(Aradite)..she has 2 b Very stingy for her mother 2 do that 2 her

Mr 47 said...

When your own mother turn against you n rip u off. Very wrong, So very wrong. God safe her soul

ket said...

Definitely wierd

I think the lady did that cos that's the daughter is stingy and days the only possible means of her to collect money from her daughter.I did do DAT to my own aunty if I have DAT opportunity cow she is really stingy.my aunty would prefer to give to an outsider than her family.

Maybe she's stingy towards her mum.

That's sad!

Bad mother

Mind Treasures said...

Morals and integrity rapidly being eroded

Most times when we walk into big malls, boutiques, supermarkets, we never question their prices. We pay exactly what we see on the price tags and even hand out tips to the staff.
But the moment we are out of these shops and want to buy banana, our bargaining game gets off to the roof. Poor widow with 12 hungry children at home tells you banana is N100. She even takes out her time to explain how difficult it was for her to even buy it, how the economy is so tough.
But we insist that if it's not N50, we are not paying. Some of us even step back into our cars and make to drive away. But because 'half bread is better chin chin', this woman is forced to call you back and sell to you at little or no gain. In her heart, she cries, she's worried about how she'll survive with her children. She silently reassures herself that 'It's well.
God will definitely provide.'' While you happily chop the luscious banana. Take some seconds out and think about this, guys. Please don't bargain hard with small vendors like this. They do business not to buy designer bags, Gucci shoes but to LIVE and EAT!

My dear am a fabric and gele seller too and did happens at least once a week in my shop. Reasons could include the gal being too stingy and days d only way she can get money outta her which will most likely be spent on d wedding

Its not good tho, but many ladies do such, especially to their husbands.
The lady might have her reasons for doing that,it shouldn't make you loose sleep.

regio said...

Biz na Biz oooo. No brother for business. Maybe the daughter is stingy and that was the only way to get cash from her. Lol

Check google nor dy ask us

Na today my sister he don tey wey yansh dey back.

abisoye said...

Nothing is new in dis life

Maybe the daughter is very stingy or the woman is not her real mother, Some mothers are just not it sha!!!

First question that runs thru my mind is....is the daughter stingy to her mom? Or does she pretend not to have when she has excess moni?? If not then the mom is wicked but if yes then she's doing what she has to do....my opinion tho...

The husband is loaded I guess....the woman no send

Only God knows why she did that to her own daughter..maybe her daughter doesnt bring out money wen it comes to money issue.

relax, it is not her mother

Its very wierd.....strange actually

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB...

Only God knows why she did that to her own daughter..maybe her daughter doesnt bring out money wen it comes to money issue.

And we still insult only BH.if this us true,there isn't a difference between ritualists,murderers,armed robbers,Isis,BH and this mother.

She's warming up and will sell her daughters info to kidnappers one day.

AOI said...

Terrible!!!

Maybe Daughter is a selfish self centre baby,who will not let a kobo go for any situation favoring a third party ,unless 3rd party Is dying in an hospital. Any way it's business everybody is happy.Trader welcome to the real world .its a dog eat dog world we live in.

She dint start today

The mum must be having spiritual problems...

Call d daughter and tell her everything.....

AD said...

May be her daughter is too stingy...And she sees that as an opportunity..

It's terrible. There's nothing poverty will not cause. Blood really has to mean something. It's also possible that the Gele seller do not know the real story. It's possible that the daughter who's buying the Gele might be buying them for someone else who brought the money. The mother may not have ripped her own daughter off, but the person whom her daughter is buying the Gele for. It could also be a case of a stingy daughter who wouldn't give her mother some pocket money to take care of herself, so her mother saw an opportunity to get some money out of her and she took it. I mean, not like am defending her or something but we can never know the true reason why the woman did what she did. However, if truly it was her daughter she ripped off, then it's quite unfortunate and totally condemnable.

Guineacar said...

Lmao
Maybe the dohta is stingy.

It doesn't sound weird in the least bit. My own biological mother is quite capable of that and even much more. You are not a mother simply because you gave birth to a child. Some of us have such mercenary biological mothers who wouldn't mind to trade their daughters in. Reading this piece didn't sound weird at all to me. If you are one of those who has a mother who would never dream of doing something like this to you, then count yourself very blessed.
Some of us aren't that lucky....

What's your bizness??? Shebi dey paid you for ur goods... pple sef..

That's the society we have now:DEALS,COMMISSIONS, WHAT IS MY CUT? etc ,etc

Business.

All na business

Hmmmmmm...what a mother

FRESH said...

Scratching my head.......that clearly shows the daughter has money & is probably not taking care of her mum enough.

Nawa oooo, dis kind mama no be am ooo

Na wa oo,is dat a mother, are u sure she is her real mother

The daughter is stingy, simple truth. That is the only way to get money out of her. I dont blame her mum tho. I can't stand stingy people!

It bothered her but she did it anyway. Says a lot abt the strength (weakness in the case) of her character.
The mother or friend that does this... I have nothing positive to say so lemme just keep quiet

Innocent girl said...

It really is weird her mum is a disgrace to mothers. A mother can give anything for her child's happiness. A tight bond

hans said...

LOL, this is hilarious, its a two way thing, either the girl in question is stingy+selfish towards family that she doesn't share or give anything to them or the mother is just a greedy woman whose lost for money cuts across bloods or family.either way it isnt just right

Bahybee said...

Na today,sm heartless-self-centered mom do dt.

Some children can be stingy thou

*Linda. Isn't that the norm in Nigeria. That's what we living here in the US experience from our families back home. I expect this to generate angers from LIBers. Nigerians have no morals

Nah you ain't over reacting bae....dat is how some parent are & which is bad, it's well with you....

WeALTHY ChIC said...

Wicked mother.

Maybe jer daughter is stingy and dats d only way she could get money from her.

Maybe her daughter is stingy and dats d only way she could get money from her.

Maybe u r a greedy daughter, and d only way to get money off u is through dat way. Cos I dnt see why ur mum wud do dat if she's well taken care of, mayb u always brush her off wen she ask u for money. #learntotakecareofurmum. #stopbeinggreedy #alwaysgivewithoutherasking

Dreezy the quidnunc said...

Shet !!!! Am short of words...

Ngozin said...

My friend stop it if u are principled or have a conscience you would have cancelled the transaction ,now run along and stop playing holier than thou

There are no values again, race to acquire every wealth has finished the black man(woman). If you don't stand for something, you will fall for nothing.

Possible, only if the daughter is a very difficult person to get a penny from..

Abdul Adepetu said...

Yes over reacting. Heheheheheheheheh

She is not a true parent. As a mother you want all the most and best for your children you should help and contribute. To underhandedly make money from a daughter is awful and mean spirited.
-my view-

It's not new Linda. My mum would do that. That's y I still wonder if she's my mum.bcos of that I'm not close to her n I'm happy. Her materialistic level is disappointing. Im away from her n don't call her in months n I'm fine. Sad but I'm fine being away from her.

bobchuka said...

Lol Nzama

Tins dey do 4 money.....dnt b surprised...u cn view it frm diff angles....d daughter might b stingy, nd d mother might b ova demanding.......nd d mother might b doing it 4 d sake of d daughter...u cnt rilli tell.

You should have sold to the lady at 2k. The Mother could not have done anything if you had sold at 2k. What you did made you an accomplice so I don't think you should complain.

big nd beaute said...

Maybe the daughter is d stingy type that wld not tk care of her mum.and d mother sees it as an opportunity to mk money of her.that does nt justify her action tho.

Gaddiel said...

The gurl has bin starving her mom. So she had to fight for herself

She has a very greedy mother.

Its called family business

Jay said...

We live in a very unpredictable world. May God hlp us

Its best know to mama why she did what she did. Children of this days like to lavish money all in the name of wedding, so mama want to take her own share.

Tilda said...

D lady probably doesn't take care of her mum. maybe she wld rather buy clothes.

Haba! Too bad of her!

Meenora said...

It's sad
It's not right. The excuse will be, she doesn't take care of her.y friend did it to me and when I found out, but I was so mad, reason being that I trusted her. Whichever way, or from whoever it comes, it leaves a bitter taste.

That mom is a conniving witch, her daughter better be careful.

I doubt if the woman is really her biological mother. But there is recession in the country. Man must hustle

Jostus is here.. said...

You never knew if that's the only way she could get money out of her daughter.. She may be a stingy type and knowing she's got it, you will do this once in a while to get something from such people.. Not weird nor new to the ears..

It is business, considering the daughter was buying in bulk, so the mother thought it right to make some cool cash. or maybe the daughter is stingy and doesn't take care of mum financially. Don't judge the mum, until you are in her shoes. Mind your business and keep sell in your gele

Yes...relation do it alot

So much hunger in the land....

The hustle is real...

joystickextender@gmail.com said...

Not new the daughter must be very stingy

Meanwhile do u want to know how u can enlarge your joystick and stop premature ejac?? Check my profile n email me

Honestly u r nt overreacting, u r just surprised this is happening btw a mother n daughter but just know sumthin for sure, d world has turn into sumthin else, such mother can do worst things..

SMURF said...

That's just sad, maybe the daughter is stingy and the only way she could get money from her was thru that means, or the mother wants to show off by buying and expensive lace which she doesn't have the money for.

Loool...Seems her daughter is stingy,u just stay out of it after-all ur not related to them.

Some family membera are not loyal at all. I don't trust anyone.

It's either the mother is greedy and shameless or the daughter is stingy and selfish... Linda tell them.

Dats bad!

U better shhooop ur money jejely and act like u didn't notice anything.....plenty thins dey happen this days...is that worse than mother and daughter sleeping with same man?....

Too bad..or else the daughter is rich and gives no penny to her mother for upkeep

D mother sha.. too bad

Some mothers longer throat ehn no be 4 dis world again

People want to make money by any means necessary,that is the society we live in today.

Mayb the child doesn't give her mother money and she felt it was an opportunity for her...some child don't take care of their parent...so we should not judge coz we don't have full details about them...linda please post my comment.

Madam mind your business Jare

U are not over reacting my sis but it's part of the sign of end times" brothers will raise against brothers, mothers against daughters etc, dishonesty, cheating etc will be the norm. God help us all. Everyone should just hold on tightly to their faith and remain faithful. Have a blessed Sunday.

U r not over reacting, this is what Nigeria and Nigerians have become, it's really sad, we've lost our dignity, self discipline and respect, morals and ethics. Nobody can be trusted anymore. Imagine the shameless mother

rascal said...

Mayb d daughter dey stingy to am...wen u hv a stingy son or daughter u r free to eat of them anyway possible..

Madam sell ur market and forget issues. Maybe the daughter is stingy, married to a wealthy man, or reasons u don't knw. That 50k wil still be used for d daughters wedding stuff maybe. Let's not judge of put the mom on blast here

Sexylu said...

GREED......

omalichaspeaks.com said...

Not too surprised. There are 'mothers' and there are mothers. This one clearly has no shame, pride or integrity. Sounds like the kind of woman who can pimp her daughter out for money. Sadly it's the world we live in.

***7 Types Of Men Who Will Never Marry You - click my name to read more and share your thoughts.

the seller aided and abetted, shame on them too

Ayodele Jay said...

Wtf? dz cnt b true... hw can a mother do that?

Dearest1 said...

Mayb d daughter is stingy nd doesn't like given her mum cash bt prefer buying her things.

End time dear end time. Men shall be lovers of money...

Madam u know how much d so called daughter done chop abi them tell u say na sge dey pay for her wedding abeg make ur tho leave matter for mathias.

It is not right at all. But there are two things that can provoke such act. It is either the daughter is stingy and does not take care of her mother as supposed or that her mother is too money conscious. She might be the type that can do anything for money.

seyi crown said...

It can't believe, are u sure she's her real mother?

Dis rilly bad

Well, yea. That's the the dynamics that go on in a family. Every family has their own, including ur own. Just chk. I hope things r well in their family, and they r holding their own.
Don't bother urself. U made ur deal, nd ur profit. That's all.

What if she is a stingy daughter and this is the only way the mother reaps the fruit of her nine womb plus many many shit packing

Typical Yoruba shameless woman will do dat... dee

Level of poverty and sick people we have around us... dee

S. said...

Perhaps if you knew d full story things may be clearer. What if her husband is aloof n doesn't cater to her needs? What if she's using d daughter to get money from her daughter's father( the woman's hubby)? Just saying- you never know.

If some mothers can tie their children's destiny, talk more of this. ..This one na baby compared to what happens everyday. This times are terrible times. ANYTHING CAN HAPPEN. Gay marriage an abomination in the bible is legalised. It's now mother duping daughter 50k that is weird. It isn't weird.

Perhaps if you knew d full story things may be clearer. What if her husband is aloof n doesn't cater to her needs? What if she's using d daughter to get money from her daughter's father( the woman's hubby)? Just saying- you never know.

Perhaps if we you got the full picture, things may be clearer. What if her daughter's father is aloof or not catering to her needs and she's using that as an avenue to get money from him. Just saying, these things- you never know

Well, i do not think its a nice thing especially if its your own mother, but at the same time what if the daughter is not supporting her mother (money wise) the only way she could exhort money from her her is through dubious means. Friends to that a los to one another. Make God help somebody jare.

Blood is not just what makes people family just know that.

Christina typearls said...

In the end times, mothers will sell their children. Children will betray their mothers. Some issues are no longer news, or shocking as before. Www.typearls.org

That's my mother in law for you. Always trying to cheat her son cos she's never satisfied with the much he does for her including paying all her children's (his step siblings) school fees, paying for the entire wedding of one of his step sisters and giving her an allowance. She will still tell him to bring 50k for something we all know costs 30k hoping to keep the extra 20k for herself.
It's definitely wrong but how person go do? You just have to identify their sharpness and inculcate it yourself.

Ade said...

It happens...I've seen it too, tho sad but not every human is cool enough to know what sharing blood means o

Lol....dis is something i see errday..its greed

Well, you are a party to the crime? Why you complaining now

That mother should be ashamed of herself, I can't just believe she would do that to her own baby,all because of 50k.

Haaaaa
Business

Allybrownny said...

That is wrong very wrong,a mother's love shld go beyond such n not doin dis evil act,thank God for my mother bcos she is d best n always ok with wateva she has..Dis is Hungry evil mother n do u know how many more she is willing to do?Such mother can kill her own child bcos of mother if possible,her greed for money will always be s root of evil in her heart..May God forgive us all,no one is perfect..Let it go,a day will come wen she'l get caught n she'l beg n say is d devil dat used her now d devil is sleeping wen it happens she'l use d devil as an excuse for dis act..

Bad anyway, to see a mother do that to her own daughter. But wetin concern you, no b market u dey find and want make ur own money, gboju

Na wa

Shouldisaymyname said...

Sad as it sounds, I've withnessed something similar to this before...Mother was trying to make a deal with me so that i tell her children to pay hospital bills higher than the real one so that she can keep the excess to herself...I'll always remember that lady

I gave family members money to buy things for themselves, instead of showing appreciation, rather they added to the cost in order to make more money. That is Nigeria's "Aprico o"

kemybaks said...

Well it can't b d real mother probably all those women that refers to anybody my daughter or probably the daughter is stingy n doesn't take care of her mother... I'm not in support...just saying

It depends, sometimes business will just have to be business as usual and at the same time when we were young, stealing and increasing prices for our parents was normal and no one see that as a bad thing o, now wey ELEGBO dey eat ESINSIN, it has become unusual...abi?

Then the girl may have tot the mother,by not giving her mother anything before,so must have seen it as opportunity to get back at her .

dorothy said...

Ds is crazy . No one to be trusted again. Ds woman can kill her daughter for money . D mother is insane cos of 50k she jst embarrased herslf . Jeez

Bad! Just bad!

Wow! My heart broke as I read this. What can one say. You must only put your trust in God because family can betray you

D mother is irresponsible and greedy

The daughter might not be treating her mother well or the mother is just a greedy mother. My opinion.

Probably d daughter might be stingy to her mum, u neva can tell, to mi it's a personal issue btwn mother nd daughter, she gat herr reason

The daughter doesn't take care of the mother. Wicked woman devised means. What a mess

The buyers are yorubas and the seller is igbo!

Ps : im yoruba

My sister you are not over acting.. It's d world we ve find ourselves... Trust nobody

Abdulmalik Yusuf said...

How weird, he better stop complaining, if he feel uncomfortable about it, he shouldn't be doing it, how different is it with friends? As far as am concerned it's all dsame, if he don't like it, he should not accept d deal.....

Damm that's cold, but guess the mum has her reason, possibly the dota would b stingy as hell to have pushed for such action..

Weird

can a mother do that to her own child even if the daughter and son in law are the most stingy person on earth. i guess maybe its her step mum who claims to love her so much. am sure she did it for things they bought. not just the gele. all these overzealous step mum who tries to gain approval of her husbands children so they can accept her into the family and call her mum.

Toyo Cavalli said...

She is simply a commission agent. In Nigeria a lot of Older women refer to young gals or guys as "My daughter or my son " despite absence of biological relation. She could also be an Iya Alaso who sells aso ebi but does not have specific color of headtie the young buyer wanted at that time.so she researched for her. And help you sell your product. smh
N.B.
Most Mothers would pay Millions in Naira to cater and send their wards to school up to Tertiary.

The girl wud see it here tho... so thank u for posting this

Am sorry,but the writer has no moral ground to report this story,because she par took in the fraud by agreeing to sell at 250 K instead of 200K, so pls u are just as bad as the mother as far as I am concerned. The proper thing the writer should have done was refuse the mum's offer and stand by her price,if it means losing the business,that is integrity. Well for the mum,she is just a greedy,slefish mother who doesn't deserve the daughter

If the daughter takes care of her as she's supposed to there would be no room for this.

What's wrong with you? Do you want me to hate my mum? Should everything be social media? Thank you, aa ni ya si igba yii mo. How hard is it to put 1 and 1 together to know, it's us you are taking about. Ese gan

cyndy said...

Probably the daughter is stingy and that's the only way to get money off her. Or the mother is greedy. Can't say though but it's crazy.

Hmmmm... Serious case

berry said...

Mayb d daughter is stingy, lol or might b her step daughter

To me its normal na, maybe the daughter no dey give im mama money, or the mother needed money badly, i do it to my sisters everytime, the mum will still tell her one day nd they laugh over it.

Just tells you the daughter must be very stingy and this is one of the ways the mum can get mother from her. At least she did not steal it.

Some children are stingy.

It means nothing to some..dat mother wicked fa!

Dats too bad of de mother, or maybe shaa de daughter na stingy girl so de mama say make en use dat way collect some cash from her.

Jide Lagos said...

This is another clear example of the life we live in now...we've lost touch of what's important..the love of money superceding honesty

Daniel Eteng said...

Hmmm! Nothing much to say.

ur mom is a hustler dats all..

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 254   Newer› Newest»